Fishing Harbours

Small Craft Harbour

In Quebec, several thousand jobs, in particular in the Gaspe, the Magdalen Islands and on the North Shore, are dependent on activities related to the commercial fishery and aquaculture. In this context, the regional Small Craft Harbours Branch operates and maintains a system of harbours to provide commercial fishers and recreational boaters with safe and accessible facilities. Its primary objective is to keep operational and in good repair harbours critical to the commercial fishing industry.

The network of fishing ports is managed so as to promote operating efficiency while supporting the economic development of coastal communities. Thus, certain ports are today defined as vital to the conduct of commercial fishing activities in Quebec. Owned by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, they are managed in conjunction with local harbour authorities and have budgets adapted to their economic and social importance.

Fishing Harbours

Harbour Authorities Network

Efficient management of a network of harbour facilities is greatly facilitated by partnerships with local authorities. For that purpose, the Department set up the Harbour Authorities Network in 1990.

Volunteer Harbour AuthorityA Harbour Authority is a non-profit corporation that operates and manages a fishing port in accordance with local needs and government directives. It is made up of volunteers who keep the facilities running smoothly and act as advocates for users interests vis-à-vis the Department in the area of harbour services and operational priorities. Some fifty fishing ports and numerous coastal communities in the Gaspe, the Magdalen Islands and on the North Shore are benefiting from the expertise and dedication of the volunteers of the local harbour authorities.

In Quebec, the Regional Harbour Authority Advisory Committee counsels and advises the Department. Three of its members represent the interests of Quebec users on the National Harbour Authority Advisory Committee.

To Contact the Harbour Authorities

Navigators wishing to enter a commercial fishing port must contact the local harbour authority to check what moorings are available and what services are offered, as well as water depths and usage fees.

How to reach us

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Regional Small Craft Harbours and Real Property Services Branch
104 Dalhousie Street
Québec (Quebec) G1K 7Y7
Telephone: 418-648-6569
Fax: 418-648-4470

Ports de pêche

Plaisanciers

Au Québec, plusieurs milliers d’emplois, notamment en Gaspésie, aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine et sur la Côte-Nord, dépendent des activités reliées à la pêche commerciale et à l’aquaculture. Dans cette optique, la Direction régionale des ports pour petits bateaux exploite et entretient un réseau de ports afin de fournir des installations sécuritaires et accessibles aux pêcheurs et aux plaisanciers. Son objectif premier est de garder opérationnels et en bon état les ports qui sont considérés essentiels pour l’industrie de la pêche commerciale.

Le réseau des ports de pêche fait l’objet d’une gestion éclairée qui favorise une efficacité opérationnelle tout en soutenant le développement économique des communautés côtières. Ainsi, certains ports sont aujourd’hui définis comme vitaux à la bonne marche des activités de pêche commerciale du Québec. Propriétés de Pêches et Océans Canada, ils sont gérés en collaboration avec des administrations portuaires locales et bénéficient de budgets adaptés à leur importance économique et sociale.

Carte ports de pêche

Le réseau des Administrations portuaires

La gestion efficace d’un réseau d’installations portuaires est grandement facilitée par un partenariat avec les autorités locales. À cette fin, le Ministère a créé, en 1990, le réseau des Administrations portuaires.

Bénévole adm. portuaireUne administration portuaire est une société sans but lucratif qui exploite et gère un port de pêche en fonction des besoins locaux et selon les directives gouvernementales. Chacune d’elles est composée de bénévoles qui veillent à la bonne marche des installations et qui représentent auprès du Ministère les intérêts des usagers en matière de services portuaires et de priorités opérationnelles. Une cinquantaine de ports de pêche et de nombreuses collectivités côtières de la Gaspésie, des Îles-de-la-Madeleine et de la Côte-Nord tirent profit de l’expertise et du dévouement des bénévoles des administrations portuaires locales.

Au Québec, le Comité consultatif régional des administrations portuaires fournit avis et conseils au Ministère. Trois de ses membres représentent les intérêts des usagers du Québec auprès du Comité consultatif national des administrations portuaires.

Les navigateurs désirant se rendre dans un port de pêche commerciale doivent communiquer avec l’administration portuaire locale afin de connaître la disponibilité d’espaces à quai et les services offerts, de même que les conditions de bathymétrie et les droits exigibles.

Nous joindre

Pêches et Océans Canada
Direction régionale des ports pour petits bateaux
104, Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-649-6569
Télécopieur : 418-648-4470