Monitoring Programs

In Quebec, 58 Fisheries Officers are mandated to enforce fisheries legislation, regulations and measures to manage fisheries plans. Commercial fisheries do not all have the same control measures, but the objective remains the same: to ensure fishery sustainability.

To fulfill this mandate, the Department has equipped itself with fishery control, monitoring and surveillance tools.

Fisheries Officers also play a crucial role in the Monitoring Program. They create a substantial presence in the field for control, monitoring and surveillance purposes to detect and address problems as and when they arise. To do this, Officers conduct patrols on the land, on the sea and in the air, carry out verifications at fish landing stations and conduct seizures.

Dockside Monitoring Program

The Dockside Monitoring Program (DMP) provides accurate, timely, thirty party verification of fish landings. It is the primary and, in some areas the only, source of landing information on which Fisheries and Oceans Canada bases fisheries management. The fishing industry and the Department are therefore dependent on the accurate verification of landings by dockside monitoring companies. The Program is also an extremely valuable management tool used by the Department to monitor the fisheries within its scope.

Designated Dockside Monitoring Ports

Dockside monitoring companies and the dockside observers they employ are designated by the Department to perform the duties related to the Dockside Monitoring Program, as indicated in the Fishery (General) Regulations. They are either private companies or not-for-profit corporations.

Four dockside monitoring companies have been designated in Quebec:


Vessel Monitoring System

The Vessel Monitoring System (VMS) transmits regular individual vessel position information to Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The VMS improves the Department’s ability to monitor vessel positions and compliance with current fisheries regulations (such as closed areas).

In Quebec, more than 200 vessels are equipped with a Vessel Monitoring System. This management measure is mandatory for certain groups that harvest snow crab, shrimp, scallops, sea urchins and sea cucumbers. Some groundfish fleets (harvesting Atlantic halibut, black turbot, redfish and cod) must also have such a system for their fishing operations.

The Vessel Monitoring System

Units approved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Vessel Monitoring System Registration Form (PDF)

Programmes de surveillance

Au Québec, 58 agents des pêches ont comme mandat de faire respecter les lois, les règlements et les mesures de gestion des plans de pêches. Les pêches commerciales n’ont pas toutes les mêmes mesures de contrôle, mais l’objectif demeure le même, celui d’assurer la pérennité de la ressource.

Pour parvenir à remplir ce mandat, le ministère s’est doté d’outils de contrôle, de suivi et de surveillance des pêches.

Les agents des pêches jouent également un rôle crucial dans le programme de surveillance. Par leur présence sur le terrain, ils assurent un contrôle, un suivi et une surveillance afin de déceler et de traiter les problèmes au moment où ils se présentent. Pour se faire, les agents effectuent des patrouilles terrestres, des vérifications aux postes de débarquement du poisson, des arraisonnements et patrouilles en mer, de même que des patrouilles aériennes.

Programme de vérification à quai

Le Programme de vérification à quai (PVQ) assure une vérification exacte, en temps opportun et par des tiers des débarquements de poisson. Il constitue la source principale et, dans certaines régions, l'unique source d'information sur les débarquements sur laquelle se base Pêches et Océans Canada pour la gestion des pêches. L'industrie de la pêche et le Ministère dépendent donc d'une vérification précise des débarquements par les entreprises de vérification à quai. Le programme est aussi un outil de gestion de grande valeur utilisé par le Ministère pour appuyer la surveillance des pêches qui y sont assujetties.

Liste des ports désignés pour les vérifications à quai

Les entreprises de vérification à quai, et les observateurs à quai qu'elles emploient, sont désignées par le Ministère pour exécuter des fonctions liées au programme de vérification à quai, tel qu'il est indiqué dans le Règlement de pêche (dispositions générales). Ce sont soit des entreprises privées, soit des entreprises sans but lucratif.

Quatre entreprises de vérification à quai sont désignées au Québec :

 


Système de surveillance des navires

Le système de surveillance des navires (SSN) transmet périodiquement de l'information sur la position d'un navire particulier à Pêches et Océans Canada. Le SSN améliore la capacité du ministère à surveiller la position des bateaux et la conformité des activités de pêche aux règlements en vigueur (contrôle des zones fermées).


Au Québec, plus de 200 navires sont munis d’un système de surveillance des navires. Cette mesure de gestion est obligatoire pour certains groupes pêchant le crabe des neiges, la crevette, le pétoncle, l’oursin et le concombre de mer. Certaines flottilles de poisson de fond (flétan Atlantique, flétan du Groenland, sébaste et morue) doivent également avoir un tel système pour pratiquer leur activité de pêche.


Le système de surveillance des navires

Unités approuvées par Pêches et Océans Canada

Formulaire d’inscription d’un système de surveillance des navires (PDF)