Saguenay Fjord Winter Recreational Groundfish Fishery

Season 2018

Fisheries and Oceans Canada would like to advise the public that in accordance with Variation Order 2017-090 , the Saguenay Fjord winter recreational groundfish fishery, commonly known as ice fishing, will be opened on January 13, 2018 and will end on March 4, 2018 at midnight.

Regulations

The recreational groundfish fishery is practised without a licence. However, you must comply with the applicable regulations:

  • Each person engaged in recreational groundfish fishing can, in any day, catch and retain 5 groundfish of all species in the aggregate. The recreational fishery of the following groundfish is however forbidden. Those species must be returned to the water:
    Halibut
     
    Brochet
    Northern wolffish
     
    Bar rayé
    Atlantic wolffish
     
    Bar rayé
    Spotted wolffish
     
    Loup tacheté
    Skate
     
    Loup tacheté
  • It is the responsibility of each person to insure that all fish harvested can be retained. Every fish that cannot legally be retained must be released where it was caught, and if it is alive, in a manner that causes it the least harm. The Greenland shark, crustaceans and shellfish must mandatory be returned to the water.

    Discussion between fishery officers and anglers

  • No person shall engage in recreational fishing for groundfish by any means other than by hand-line or by angling.
  • No person shall possess fish that were caught by any person while fishing for recreational purposes and that have been skinned, cut, packed or otherwise dealt with in such a manner that the species and number of fish cannot be readily determined.
  • No person shall buy, sell, trade, barter or offer to buy, sell, trade or barter any fish that was caught while fishing for recreational purposes.
  • No person who is fishing for recreational purposes shall waste any fish that is suitable for human consumption.

Offences and Poaching

Fisheries and Oceans Canada whose mandate is to protect and conserve marine resources, strictly enforces the Fisheries Act and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

People guilty of offences may be fined up to $100,000 under the Fisheries Act. Anglers must abide by the regulations in force.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to inform fisheries officers of illegal or suspicious activities related to marine fisheries or the protection of fish habitat. You can report poaching by using the online form, which can be completed from any mobile device or computer and to which photos can be attached, or by calling 1-800-463-9057. Your call is confidential.

 

Poaching Alert

Ice Safety

For safety reasons, Fisheries and Oceans Canada may delay the opening of the winter recreational fishing season or close it early depending on ice conditions.

During the winter season, the Canadian Coast Guard provides an ice breaking service and escorts commercial vessels on the Saguenay River between Île Saint-Louis and Port-Alfred, including through the Grande Anse area.

When an icebreaker goes by, the movement of water and shifting ice can be dangerous. The Canadian Coast Guard invites you to adopt safe practices and recommends that you leave the ice when you see an icebreaker in the vicinity.

A Canadian Coast Guard icebreaker can be identified by its red hull bearing a diagonal white band and its white smoke stack emblazoned with a red maple leaf.

CCG icebreaker

Spring icebreaking manoeuvres will begin on the Saguenay River on or around March 12, 2018.

Status of Fish Populations

Gathering data on the iceEvery two years, DFO biologists conducte gillnet research surveys in April to estimate abundance trends for the main species of groundfish caught in the Saguenay River during the winter recreational fishing season: Redfish, Atlantic Cod, Greenland Cod and Greenland Halibut (also known as turbot).

Since 1995, the Department has also coordinated a sampling program conducted in collaboration with a number of partners to determine the volume of catches recorded during the winter recreational fishing season.

These data are used to profile abundance trends. The Department's most recent science advisory report indicates that the medium-term outlook is encouraging for winter recreational fishing. However, in the short term, Fisheries and Oceans Canada maintains a level of effort and catch similar to recent years.

Contact Us

For more information about Saguenay Fjord winter recreational groundfish fishery:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
1-855-812-3255

(RQ0027- Posted: December 14, 2017, 10:00 am)

Pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay

Saison 2019

Pêches et Océans Canada avise la population qu’en vertu de l’ordonnance de modification numéro 2018-096, la pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay, communément appelée pêche blanche, sera ouverte le 12 janvier 2019 et se terminera le 10 mars 2019 à minuit.

Réglementation

La pêche récréative au poisson de fond se pratique sans permis. Vous devez toutefois respecter les règles applicables :

  • Chaque personne qui pratique la pêche récréative peut prendre et garder un total de 5 poissons de fond par jour, toutes espèces confondues. La pêche récréative des poissons de fond suivants est toutefois interdite. Ces espèces doivent être remises à l’eau :
    Flétan atlantique
     
    Brochet
    Loup à tête large
     
    Bar rayé
    Loup atlantique
    Bec de lièvre
    Loup Tacheté
     
    Loup tacheté
    Raies
     
    Loup tacheté
  • Il est de la responsabilité de chaque personne de s'assurer que le poisson capturé peut être gardé. Tout poisson capturé qui ne peut être gardé doit obligatoirement et immédiatement être remis dans l'eau où il a été pris, et s'il est encore vivant, de manière à le blesser le moins possible. Le requin du Groenland, les crustacés et les mollusques doivent obligatoirement être remis à l'eau.

    Agents des pêches

  • Il est interdit de pratiquer la pêche récréative au poisson de fond autrement qu'à la ligne ou au moyen d'une ligne à main.
  • Il est interdit d’avoir en sa possession des poissons pris par quiconque dans le cadre de la pêche récréative s'ils sont dépiautés, coupés, emballés ou autrement transformés au point qu'il est difficile d'identifier l'espèce et de déterminer le nombre de poissons.
  • Il est interdit d'acheter, de vendre, d’échanger, de troquer, d'offrir d'acheter ou d'offrir pour la vente, l'échange ou le troc des poissons capturés lors de la pêche récréative.
  • Il est interdit à quiconque pratique la pêche récréative de gaspiller du poisson propre à la consommation humaine.

Infractions et braconnage

Pêches et Océans Canada, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, applique avec rigueur la Loi sur les pêches et surveille de très près le braconnage des ressources de la mer.
La Loi sur les pêches prévoit des amendes pouvant atteindre 100 000 $ selon l'infraction. Les pêcheurs doivent se conformer à la réglementation en vigueur.
Pêches et Océans Canada invite la population à transmettre aux agents des pêches des renseignements à propos des activités illégales ou suspectes sur les pêches en milieu marin ou sur la protection des habitats dans lesquels ces pêches sont pratiquées. Vous pouvez dénoncer un acte de braconnage en remplissant le formulaire en ligne ou en composant le : 1-800-463-9057. Le formulaire peut être utilisé à partir de n'importe quel appareil mobile ou ordinateur et permet de joindre des photos. Votre signalement est confidentiel.

Braconnage-Alerte

Sécurité sur les glaces

Pour des raisons de sécurité, Pêches et Océans Canada peut retarder l’ouverture de la pêche récréative hivernale ou la fermer prématurément selon les conditions de glace.

Durant la saison hivernale, la Garde côtière canadienne assure un service de déglaçage et d’escorte des navires commerciaux sur la rivière Saguenay entre l’île Saint-Louis et Port-Alfred, incluant Grande Anse.

Lors du passage d’un brise-glace, le mouvement de l’eau et de la glace peut représenter un danger réel. La Garde côtière canadienne vous invite à adopter des comportements sécuritaires et vous recommande de ne pas demeurer sur la glace lorsque vous apercevez un brise-glace dans les environs immédiats.

Les brise-glace de la Garde côtière canadienne sont reconnaissables à leur coque rouge ornée d’une bande transversale blanche et à leur cheminée blanche arborant une feuille d’érable.

Brise glace

Le déglaçage printanier de la rivière Saguenay débutera vers le 12 mars 2019.

État des populations de poissons

Prise de données sur les glacesUne année sur deux, des biologistes du Ministère réalisent en avril un relevé de recherche au filet maillant afin d’estimer les tendances d’abondance des principales espèces de poisson de fond capturées dans la rivière Saguenay pendant la saison de pêche récréative hivernale : le sébaste, la morue franche, la morue ogac et le flétan du Groenland (aussi appelé turbot).

Le Ministère coordonne également, depuis 1995, un programme d’échantillonnage mené en collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires, pour connaître le volume de captures enregistrées pendant la saison de pêche récréative hivernale.

Ces données permettent de dresser un portrait des tendances d’abondance. Le plus récent avis scientifique produit par le Ministère indique que les perspectives à moyen terme sont encourageantes pour la pêche récréative hivernale. Cependant, à court terme, Pêches et Océans Canada maintien un niveau d’effort et de capture similaire aux années récentes.

Nous joindre

Pour plus de renseignements sur la pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay :
Pêches et Océans Canada
1-855-812-3255

(RQ0032 - Diffusion : 20 Décembre 2018, 10h)