Shellfish Harvesting

Harvesting bivalve shellfish (which include, among others, soft-shell clams, blue mussels and Atlantic razor clams) is very popular with residents and Aboriginal peoples from Quebec's coastal regions. Fisheries and Oceans Canada closely monitors shellfish harvesting and the shellfish areas closed to harvesting.

Human Health Risks

Bivalve shellfish (oysters, mussels, soft-shell clams, etc.) filter water to feed on the micro-organisms it contains. Thus they can amass high concentrations of certain toxic organisms such as toxic algae or pathogenic bacteria. Two toxins are particularly dangerous: Paralytic Shellfish Poisoning (PSP) toxin and domoic acid. Both are produced naturally by microscopic algae living in plankton. Shellfish accumulate them in their flesh by eating these algae.

Humans that consume shellfish containing these toxins may suffer nervous system problems that can lead to death. While not fatal, other biotoxins produced by algae in the St. Lawrence River can cause serious digestive or intestinal problems.

With the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program, the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada work together to monitor shellfish safety and to close shellfish areas that pose a risk to human health.

Before harvesting shellfish, check the shellfish areas' status and comply with any regulations in effect.

The Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program

The DANGERS of Illegal Harvesting

Areas Closed Off to Harvesting

Harvesters wishing to harvest shellfish must first check the shellfish areas status and comply with the regulations in effect.To find out which harvest sites are safe, you can visit the www.mollusca.gc.ca 1 (Interactive map of shellfish areas status or the complete list of shellfish areas) or call one of the following telephone numbers:

General enquiry: 418-648-2239 (call during business hours)

24-hour recorded information lines:

  • LOWER ST. LAWRENCE AND GASPÉ PENINSULA
    From St-Roch-des-Aulnaies to Cap-Gaspé: 1-800-463-0607 *
    From Cap-Gaspé to the Matapédia River: 1-800-463-4204 *

  • CHARLEVOIX, NORTH SHORE AND ANTICOSTI ISLAND
    From Québec to Baie-Trinité: 1-800-463-8558 *
    From Baie-Trinité to Natashquan: 1-800-463-1736 *
    From Kegaska to Blanc-Sablon: 1-800-463-8558 *

  • MAGDALEN ISLANDS: 418-986-3882

    * Number not available outside of this area.

In addition, the harvesting of shellfish less than 125 metres from a wharf is banned at all times because of the contamination risk.

Shellfish harvesting areas can be closed off for public health reasons or for conservation purposes. Under the Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations, it is forbidden to harvest shellfish in closed off areas. Shellfish areas closed off for public health reasons are identified by interdiction posters in the harvesting areas. Fisheries officers patrol closed beds to ensure that no unsafe shellfish are taken; if necessary, violators are ticketed.

The most recent area closures are posted in the In the News section on our Regional Home Page.

Regarding www.mollusca.gc.ca
Although many efforts have been made to develop the website, Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency offer no guarantees, either express or implied, as to the accuracy, exhaustiveness, validity or timeliness of the provided information. Use of the information on these pages is at the reader's own risk. In the event of any divergence between the data posted on this site and the order made under the Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations, these last have precedence.

Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency retain the right, at its sole discretion and without prior notice, to remove, modify or update all or part of the contents of the site.

Commercial Hand Harvesting

In Quebec, commercial harvesting of bivalve shellfish (soft-shell clams, mussels, Atlantic surfclams, Atlantic razor clams) plays a key role in the economy of coastal regions. Just over 300 commercial harvesting licences are granted for bivalve shellfish. The industry's annual landing values represent between 2.5 and 4-million dollars.

For information on commercial harvesting (landings, licence issuing rules, authorized gear, etc.), contact the Fisheries and Oceans Canada office in your sector.

Recreational Hand Harvesting

Shellfish harvesting is regulated to ensure resource conservation. As a result, harvesters must comply with the following regulations:

  • Recreational harvesting should be carried out with manual tools only.
  • Recreational harvesting of Iceland scallop, giant scallop, whelks, oysters and Stimpson's surfclams is forbidden at all times.
  • The species and daily catch limits permitted vary according to sector. Obtain information from the Fisheries and Oceans Canada office in your sector to find out the rules in force.

 

In sectors where it is permitted to fish these species, harvesters should respect the following minimum sizes:

Species

Minimum size permitted*

Soft-shell clam (cockle)

51 mm

Atlantic clam (clams)

76 mm
(90 mm in the Magdalen Islands)

Blue mussel

40 mm

Atlantic razor clam

100 mm

* The minimum size is measured at the longest part of the shell.

End of recreational whelk fishing pilot project: Fisheries and Oceans Canada advises the public that the recreational whelk fishing pilot project which took place from April 9 to May 1, 2016, in an area of the Municipality of Longue-Rive is now over.

Issuing of Special Licences for Harvesting Contaminated Shellfish

Fisheries and Oceans Canada can issue shellfish licences to harvest contaminated shellfish for decontamination or scientific purposes under the Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations.

Management of Contaminated Fisheries Regulations
Justice Canada

To apply for a licence to harvest contaminated shellfish, please contact the Fisheries and Oceans Canada office in your sector.

Research on Coastal Shellfish

Assessment of Softshell Clam Stocks in Quebec’s Coastal Waters
Science Advisory Report 2011/022

Cueillette de mollusques

La cueillette des mollusques bivalves (qui regroupent, entre autres, la mye, la moule bleue et le couteau de l'Atlantique) est une activité très populaire pour les résidents et les autochtones des régions côtières du Québec. Pêches et Océans Canada surveille de très près la cueillette de mollusques et les secteurs coquilliers fermés à la récolte.

Risques pour la santé humaine

Les mollusques bivalves (huîtres, moules, myes, etc.) filtrent l’eau pour se nourrir des micro-organismes qu’elle contient. Certains organismes toxiques, tels que des algues toxiques ou des bactéries pathogènes, peuvent se retrouver en concentration importante dans les mollusques. Deux toxines sont particulièrement dangereuses : la toxine paralysante et l'acide domoïque. Ces deux toxines sont produites naturellement par des algues microscopiques vivant dans le plancton. Les mollusques les accumulent dans leur chair en se nourrissant de ces algues.

L'ingestion de mollusques contenant ces toxines peut engendrer chez l'humain des troubles du système nerveux pouvant provoquer la mort. Sans être mortelles, d'autres biotoxines produites par les algues du fleuve Saint-Laurent peuvent occasionner des troubles digestifs et intestinaux graves.

Grâce au Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques, l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada travaillent de concert afin de surveiller de près la salubrité des mollusques et de fermer les secteurs coquilliers qui présentent un risque pour la santé humaine.

Si vous souhaitez cueillir des mollusques, vous devez préalablement vérifier l’état des secteurs coquilliers et respecter la réglementation en vigueur.

Le Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques (PCCSM) 

Renseignements sur la sécurité

Zones fermées à la cueillette

Les personnes qui souhaitent cueillir des mollusques doivent préalablement vérifier l’état des secteurs coquilliers et respecter la réglementation en vigueur. Pour connaître les secteurs ouverts à la cueillette de mollusques, vous pouvez consulter le site www.mollusca.gc.ca 1  (cartographie interactive de l'état des secteurs ou liste complète des secteurs coquilliers) ou composez l’un des numéros de téléphone suivants :

Information générale : 418-648-2239 (pendant les heures normales d’ouverture de bureau)

Lignes d’information automatisées disponibles en tout temps :

  • BAS-SAINT-LAURENT ET GASPÉSIE
    De Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies à Cap-Gaspé : 1-800-463-0607 *
    De Cap-Gaspé à la rivière Matapédia : 1-800-463-4204 *

  • CHARLEVOIX, CÔTE-NORD ET ÎLE D’ANTICOSTI
    De Québec à Baie-Trinité : 1-800-463-8558 *
    De Baie-Trinité à Natashquan : 1-800-463-1736 *
    De Kegaska à Blanc-Sablon : 1-800-463-8558 *

  • ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE : 418-986-3882

    * Service non offert à l'extérieur de ce territoire.

De plus, la cueillette des mollusques à moins de 125 mètres d’un quai est interdite en tout temps en raison des risques de contamination.

Les secteurs coquilliers peuvent être fermés pour des raisons de santé publique ou pour des motifs de conservation. En vertu du Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé, il est strictement interdit de cueillir des mollusques dans des secteurs coquilliers fermés à la récolte. Les secteurs coquilliers fermés pour des raisons de santé publique sont identifiés par des affiches d’interdictions sur les lieux de cueillette. Les agents des pêches patrouillent les secteurs fermés et s’assurent que personne n'y cueille des mollusques. Au besoin, ils émettent des avis d’infraction.

Les ordonnances de fermeture les plus récentes sont annoncées dans la section Actualités de notre page d'accueil régionale.

À propos de www.mollusca.gc.ca
Bien que des efforts soutenus soient consacrés au développement et à la mise à jour du site Web sur la cueillette de mollusques, Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments ne fournissent aucune garantie, expresse ou implicite, quant à l'exactitude, à l'exhaustivité, à la validité ou à l'actualité des renseignements affichés. Le lecteur utilise les données de ces pages à ses propres risques. En cas de divergence entre les données affichées sur ce site et les ordonnances prises en vertu du Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé, ces dernières ont préséance. Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada de même que l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments se réservent la possibilité, à leur seule discrétion et sans préavis, de retrancher, modifier ou mettre à jour, en tout ou en partie, le contenu de cette section.

Cueillette commerciale manuelle

Au Québec, la récolte commerciale des mollusques bivalves (mye, mactre, couteau de l’Atlantique) joue un rôle important dans l’économie des régions côtières. Un peu plus de 300 permis de cueillette commerciale sont attribués pour la récolte commerciale de mollusques bivalves. Cette industrie représente entre 2,5 millions et 4 millions de dollars annuellement en valeur des débarquements.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur la cueillette commerciale (débarquements, règles d’émission de permis, engins autorisés, etc.), communiquez avec le bureau de Pêches et Océans Canada de votre secteur.

Cueillette récréative manuelle

La cueillette de mollusques est réglementée de façon à assurer la conservation de la ressource. Les cueilleurs qui récoltent à des fins récréatives doivent donc respecter les règles suivantes en tout temps :

  • La cueillette récréative doit se faire avec des outils manuels seulement.
  • La cueillette récréative au pétoncle d’Islande, au pétoncle géant, au buccin (bourgot), à l’huître et à la mactre de Stimpson est interdite en tout temps.
  • Les espèces et les limites quotidiennes de prises permises varient selon les secteurs. Informez-vous auprès du bureau de Pêches et Océans Canada de votre secteur pour connaître les règles en vigueur.

 

Dans les secteurs coquilliers où la récolte de ces espèces est permise, les cueilleurs doivent respecter les tailles minimales suivantes :

Espèces

Longueur minimale permise*

Mye (coque)

51 mm

Mactre de l’Atlantique (palourde)

76 mm
(90 mm pour les Îles-de-la-Madeleine)

Moule

40 mm

Couteau de l’Atlantique

100 mm

* La taille minimale est mesurée dans la partie la plus longue de la coquille.

Fin du projet pilote de pêche récréative au buccin : Pêches et Océans Canada informe la population que le projet pilote de pêche récréative au buccin qui se déroulait du 9 avril au 1er mai 2016, dans un secteur de la municipalité de Longue-Rive, est maintenant terminé.

Émission de permis spéciaux pour la cueillette de mollusques contaminés

Pêches et Océans Canada peut émettre des permis de cueillette de mollusques contaminés pour des fins de décontamination ou scientifiques en vertu du Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé.

Règlement sur la gestion de la pêche du poisson contaminé
Justice Canada

Pour toute demande de permis de cueillette de mollusques contaminés, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de Pêches et Océans Canada de votre secteur.

Recherche sur les mollusques côtiers

Évaluation des stocks de mye commune des eaux côtières du Québec
Avis scientifique 2011/022