Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 11– Number 4 – August - September 2008



Appointment of the Regional Director, Oceans, Habitat and Species at Risk, Quebec Region
Picture - Gordon Walsh

On June 20, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the appointment of Gordon Walsh as Director General, Oceans, Habitat and Species at Risk.

Gordon Walsh has a BA in biology and an MA in aquatic ecology from Laval University in the City of Québec. He began his career in 1987 at Fisheries and Oceans Canada as a biologist in the Fish Habitat Division before taking the position of Section Head, Fish Habitat Division, and then Section Head, Marine Environment Assessment and Evaluation Section. He was promoted to Director, Fish Habitat Management, in 1996, a position that he held until his most recent appointment.

With more than 20 years of experience at Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Gordon Walsh has acquired considerable expertise in the management and implementation of a variety of programs related to aquatic habitat studies, environmental impact assessment, fish habitat protection and conservation, integrated management, protected marine areas and information management.

“I am convinced that a more judicious use of aquatic habitats is one of the greatest challenges we must meet if we want to preserve the integrity of productive aquatic habitats and make them accessible for future generations.”

“The protection of resources and the integrated management of uses are essential. I believe it is important to increase the participation and co-operation of people, communities and other players involved in the conservation of the ecological diversity and health of coastal ecosystems, while encouraging initiatives that could benefit both the aquatic environment and the economy.”

“With the support of my team at the Oceans, Habitat and Species at Risk Branch, I hope to help maintain productive and healthy aquatic ecosystems, and in so doing, the ongoing economic activities that are crucial to communities.”

Back

 

Proposed Amendment to Section 17 of the Atlantic Fishery Regulations, 1985

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is proposing an amendment to section 17 of the Atlantic Fishery Regulations, 1985 which will provide flexibility in payment methods for multi-year licences.  The proposed amendment will not impact current licence fees.

The purpose of the proposed amendment is to autho-rize, in regulation, the payment of licence fees for multi-year licences by installments, consistent with the Interest and Administrative Charges Regulations under the Financial Administration Act and relevant Treasury Board Policies. 

This amendment is intended to come into force by the end of 2008.

If you would like to provide comments on this regulatory proposal, please send your comments to Dave.Luck@dfo-mpo.gc.ca or 613-990-0199 by September 12, 2008

The Atlantic Fishery Regulations, 1985 can be viewed at the following web site: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/F-14/SOR-86-21/index.html.

Back

 

New Science Advisory Reports on the Internet

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, in the “Publications” section, 2008 series: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Advice on the stock definition of redfish (Sebastes fasciatus and S. mentella) in Units 1 and 2 (2008/026)

• Assessment of the estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence (divisions 4RST) capelin stock (2008/037)

• Assessment of the Atlantic Mackerel stock for the Northwest (4RST) Atlantic (Subareas 3 and 4) in 2007 (2008/041)

Back

 

Convictions for Fisheries Act Violations

By Martin Bourget

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act. DFO continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy on violations of the Fisheries Act. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

Offender

Home

Offence

Sentencing date and fine

Judge

Lucien Lebel

Port-Cartier

Permitting unauthorized use of own fishing gear.

May 6, 2008
$300

Louise Gallant

Uren Etheridge

Brador Bay

Fishing for snow crab without a licence.

May 21, 2008
$300

Michel Dionne

Samuel Hobbs

Brador Bay

Fishing for snow crab without a licence.

May 21, 2008
$300

Michel Dionne

Jean-Richard Joncas

Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon

Breaching of conditions of scallop fishing licence by fishing in an unauthorized area on July 7, 2005

Breaching of conditions of scallop fishing licence by fishing in an unauthorized area on July 27, 2005 .

May 21, 2008
$1,000

 


May 21, 2008
$489 + forfeiture of seized scallops having a value of $511

Michel Dionne

 

 



Michel Dionne

Riley Lavallée

Blanc-Sablon

Breaching of conditions of turbot fishing licence in 2007 by retaining Atlantic halibut smaller than the legal size of 81 cm.

May 21, 2008
$750

Michel Dionne

Peter Wellman

Old Fort Bay

Possession of four lobster smaller than the legal size of 82 mm.

May 21, 2008
$500

Michel Dionne

Albert Corey

Port-Cartier

Using commercial fishing gear for fishing without the licence holder’s authorization.

May 22, 2008
$250

François Kouli

Richard Organ

Mutton Bay

Breaching of conditions of lumpfish licence in 2007 by fishing with nets with a mesh size smaller than 267 mm.

May 22, 2008
$500

Michel Dionne

Christopher Roberts

Harrington Harbour

Breaching of conditions of cod fishing licence in 2006 by exceeding daily quota of 1,522 pounds.

 

Breaching of conditions of cod fishing licence in 2006 exceeding daily quota of 535 pounds.

May 22, 2008
$750

 





May 22, 2008
$250

Michel Dionne

 

 




Michel Dionne

Fernand Hautcoeur

Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé

Lending the boat to a person who is not authorized to fish.

June 2, 2008
$1,500

Luc Marchildon

Roger Pinel

Grande-Rivière

Lending the boat to a person who is not authorized to fish.

June 2, 2008
$1,500

Luc Marchildon

Albert Corbey

Port-Cartier

Using fishing gear without a permit.

June 5, 2008
$250

Michel Parent

Bertrand Bénard

Fatima

Fishing lobster and rock crab without a licence.
Possession of lobster that were smaller than the legal size.

June 11, 2008
$600
+ 90 days of community service

Michel Dionne

Jean-Yves Blais

Chandler

Fishing for lobster without a licence.
Fishing during closed season.

Possession of undersized lobsters.

June 16, 2008
$3,000 + 3 years’ probation (prohibited from being on the
Chandler and Newport wharves, ordered to keep the peace and be of good behaviour.

Lucie Morissette

Pierrot Bouchard

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

Clam harvesting in a closed area.

June 17, 2008
$200

Louise Gallant

Marc Couture

Percé

Refusing to allow an observer to carry out duties aboard the vessel.

June 17, 2008
$1,500

Lucie Morissette

Marcel Bond

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

Fishing for rock crab with untagged traps.

June 18, 2008
$1,750

Michel Parent

Arnaud Landry

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Removing crab without it being weighed.

June 18, 2008
$1,000

Michel Parent

Guy Maloney

Mingan

Fishing for crab during a closed time.

June 18, 2008
$1,000

Michel Parent

Bruno Pelletier

Colombier

Harvesting more than the allowable daily limit of 300 softshell clams while sport fishing.

June 19, 2008
$200

Louise Gallant

Back

 

2008: a Banner Spawning Year for Capelin!

By Sylvi Racine

The 2008 capelin spawning season has barely ended and already the Capelin Observers Network (CON) is declaring it a success.

Highlights

The 2008 season is the second best recorded by the CON, after the 2007 season, when 175 observations were made. This year, 48 observers reported a total of 136 spawning events at 62 different locations.

A number of new spawning sites were recorded in 2008. Capelin were observed for the first time on the beaches in St. Flavie and Métis sur Mer on the south shore of the St. Lawrence, and at Kégaska on the North Shore. The first report of spawning came from Cap de l’Hôpital in Fatima, Magdalen Islands. As in previous years, the capelin that rolled on the beaches east and west of the Brochu River in Gallix (Sept Îles) gave rise to the most reports (34).

Efforts to track capelin spawning events on the North Shore were initiated in 2002 after capelin was recognized as a key species in the St. Lawrence ecosystem. In 2003, the ZIP (areas of prime concern) committees and the integrated coastal zone ma-nagement committees, supported by Fisheries and Oceans Canada, created the Capelin Observers Network. The CON’s main objective is to identify capelin spawning sites and the dates on which they spawn. The Network is also an excellent tool for promoting community awareness of and involvement in protecting the species’ habitat. With the capelin data gathered, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is able to issue recommendations for the management of the coastal zone and the St. Lawrence ecosystem.

Back

 

Marine Search and Rescue: It's not a Job. It's and Adventure.

By Simon-Pierre Goulet

Picture - Mathieu Vachon, Hubert Desgagnés and Daniel Tremblay - specialists SAR officers in Quebec.

Each year in Quebec, the Search and Rescue Centre of the Canadian Coast Guard responds to an average of 1,300 marine incident calls and comes to the assistance of nearly 3,000 souls.  This represents an increase of more than 15% over the last ten years.

In this field, Quebec is fortunate in having on its strength three pioneers.  With the longest service record in search and rescue (SAR) co-ordination in Canada, Mathieu Vachon, retired, Hubert Desgagnés and Daniel Tremblay (left to right) have become the first specialist SAR officers in Quebec.

The techniques used today differ little from those of yore.  However, the adoption of improved working tools, such as computers and satellite tracking systems, and especially cell phones and 911 emergency call centres, have supplemented VHF radio.  Conventional tools, such as marine charts, have been upgraded, shortening search and rescue response times.

Even with better working tools, nothing can replace the skills of experienced officers like Mssrs. Vachon, Desgagnés and Tremblay.

Key Dates

1947:  The Royal Canadian Air Force is officially assigned responsibility for search and rescue (SAR) operations for aircraft in distress in Canada.  Opening of Rescue Co-ordination Centres in Halifax , Torbay (NFL), Edmonton , and Victoria ; Trenton opened a little later.

 

1951: The Air Force’s mandate is extended to ships in distress.

 

1960: A marine advisor from the Coast Guard is assigned to each Rescue Co-ordination Centre. 

 

1970: The Torbay centre closes and the Halifax centre is mandated to serve eastern Canada. The Trenton centre serves Ontario and part of Quebec.  The Edmonton centre covers the Prairies and Arctic, while the Victoria centre serves the Pacific.

 

1977: Two Emergency Search and Rescue Centres operated by the Canadian Coast Guard are authorized in St John’s and the City of Québec (the name was changed to Marine Rescue Service Centres in 1998).

 

July 4, 1978 : First permanent search and rescue co-ordinators appointed to the City of Québec Emergency Search and Rescue Centre.

 

Logo - Carreer

Back

 

Reporting Poaching Incidents is Important
Picture - Report poaching

Fisheries and Oceans Canada wants to raise awareness among the people living in the North Shore, Lower St. Lawrence, Gaspé and Magdalen Islands regions about the importance of marine resources. The Department is also counting on the public’s co-operation to counter poaching activities.

The poaching of marine resources in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada has a significant impact on fish, crustacean and mollusk species. As a result, it poses a threat to the future of commercial and recreational fishing and the livelihood of many people working in the fishing industry.

Marine resources constitute public property that we must all strive to protect. For this reason, we are encouraging people to report any poaching activities by calling 1 800 463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

Back

 

Investigation Into Capsizing of l'Acadien II Continues

The report of Transportation Safety Board (TSB) into the capsizing and subsequent sinking on March 26 of the L'Acadien II should be available for public release later in the fall.

The TSB investigation also ga-thered electronic information from chart systems aboard the Sir William Alexander, and recordings of telecommunications from Marine Communications and Traffic Services in Sydney and Port aux Basques, and information from the Canadian Coast Guard as well as the Joint Rescue Coordination Centre Halifax.

Two separate sets of post-occurrence sea trials  were done to simulate the actual towing arrangements as accurately as possible to better understand the interaction between the two vessels and the dynamics of the capsize.

The Transportation Safety Board is an independent agency that investigates marine, pipeline, railway and aviation transportation occurrences. It is not the function of the Board to assign fault or determine civil or criminal liability.

Back

 

Recreational Groundfish Fishery in the Gulf of St. Lawrence

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), Quebec Region, wishes to inform the details of the 2008 Recreational Groundfish Fishery in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

The hand line recreational groundfish fishery does not require a licence. DFO will closely monitor fishing activities and the catch rates to estimate removals. Any abuse of the management measures will result in a review of the closure dates and potential early closures to fishery areas. The public is reminded to follow safe boating practices when fishing. For more information, contact a Fisheries Officer at your local DFO office.

Back

 

Ban on Trade of Seal Products: Canada Will Review the Proposition

The federal government - along with our provincial and territorial governments and sealing industry leaders - will be reviewing how the proposed regulations and any exemptions would apply to Canada. Canada expects the European Union to quickly begin discussions on the conditions for exemption from the draft regulations so that any trade restriction would have no impact on market access for products from Canada’s humane, regulated and responsible hunt.

Back

 

When Harvesting Shellfish, don't Forget to Check that the Area is Open!

For more information on the status of shellfish beds (open and closed areas), you can consult the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program’s Web site at www.mollusca.gc.ca

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is advising the public that shellfish harvesting is prohibited in closed areas or in areas located within 200 metres of a wharf, due to the risk of contamination. Eating contaminated shellfish is dangerous and may lead to paralysis and even death.

This program is managed by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. You can also find the latest information on shellfish harvesting by calling one of the following numbers:

CHARLEVOIX, NORTH SHORE AND ANTICOSTI   ISLAND
From Ile-aux-Coudres to Baie-Trinité : (800) 463-8558
From Baie-Trinité to Blanc-Sablon : (800) 463-1736  

MAGDALEN ISLANDS : 418-986-388

LOWER ST. LAWRENCE AND GASPE
From Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies to Cap Gaspé:
(800) 463-0607
From Cap Gaspé to the Matapédia River:
(800) 463-4204

Back

Infoceans

August - September 2008
Volume 11
Number 4

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Quebec Region
Communications Branch
104, Dalhousie St.
Quebec (Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: (418) 648-7747

Director:
Caroline Hilt

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 11 – Numéro 4 – Août - Septembre 2008



Nomination du directeur régional des Océans, de l'Habitat et des Espèces en péril, région du Québec
Photo - Gordon Walsh

Le 20 juin dernier, Pêches et Océans Canada annonçait la nomination de Gordon Walsh au poste de directeur régional, Océans, Habitat et Espèces en péril. Gordon Walsh est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en biologie et d’une maîtrise en écologie aquatique de l’Université Laval de Québec. Il a débuté sa carrière à Pêches et Océans Canada en 1987 à titre de biologiste à la Division de l’habitat du poisson, avant d’accéder aux postes de chef, Division de l’habitat du poisson et de chef, Section de l’évaluation et du bilan de l’environnement marin. Il a été promu directeur de la Gestion de l’habitat du poisson en 1996, poste qu’il occupait au moment de sa récente nomination.

Avec plus de 20 ans d’expérience au sein de Pêches et Océans Canada, Monsieur Walsh a acquis une solide expertise dans la gestion et l’exécution de divers programmes liés à l’étude du milieu aquatique, l’évaluation environnementale, la conservation et la protection de l’habitat du poisson, la gestion intégrée, les aires marines protégées et la gestion de l’information.

« Je demeure convaincu qu’une utilisation plus judicieuse des milieux aquatiques est un des grands défis que nous devons relever pour préserver l’intégrité des milieux aquatiques productifs et en garantir l’accès aux générations futures ».

« La protection des ressources et la gestion intégrée des usages deviennent des incontournables. Il m’importe d’accroître la participation et la collaboration des citoyens, des collectivités et de tous les acteurs impliqués à la conservation de la diversité écologique et de la santé des écosystèmes côtiers tout en favorisant les initiatives qui pourront bénéficier conjointement à l’économie et à l’environnement aquatique. »

«En m’appuyant sur l’équipe de la direction des océans, de l’habitat et des espèces en péril, j’espère contribuer au maintien d’écosystèmes aquatiques sains et productifs et, ce faisant, à la poursuite d’activités économiques cruciales pour les collectivités.»

Retour

 

Projet de modification de l'article 17 du Règlement de pêche de l'Atlantique de 1985

Pêches et Océans Canada propose de modifier l’article 17 du Règlement de pêche de l’Atlantique de 1985, ce qui favorisera une certaine flexibilité dans les modes de paiement pour les permis pluriannuels. Le projet de modification n’aura aucune répercussion sur les droits de permis actuels.

Le projet de modification vise à autoriser, dans la réglementation, le paiement par versements des droits de permis pluriannuels, conformément au Règlement sur les intérêts et les frais administratifs, en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et des politiques pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor.

Cette modification devrait entrer en vigueur d’ici la fin de 2008.

Si vous souhaitez faire part de vos commentaries à l’égard de cette proposition réglementaire, veuillez les acheminer d’ici le 12 septembre à Dave.Luck@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou en composant le 613-990-0199 .

Vous pouvez consulter le Règlement de pêche de l’Atlantique de 1985 à l’adresse suivante: http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/F-14/SOR-86-21/index.html.

Retour

 

Nouveaux avis scientifiques sur Internet

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, dans la section « Publications », série 2008 : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Avis sur la définition des stocks de sébastes (Sebastes fasciatus et S. mentella) des unités 1 et 2 (2008/026)

• Évaluation du stock de capelan de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent (Divisions 4RST) (2008/037)

• Évaluation du stock de maquereau du nord-ouest de l'Atlantique (sous-régions 3 et 4) en 2007 (2008/041)

Retour

 

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Par Martin Bourget

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches. Le MPO continue d’appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l’égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels. 

Contrevenant

Domicile

Infraction

Date de la sentence et amende

Juge

Lucien Lebel

Port-Cartier

Avoir permis l’utilisation de ses engins de pêche sans autorisation.

6 mai 2008

300 $

Louise Gallant

Uren Etheridge

Brador Bay

Avoir pêché le capelan sans permis.

21 mai 2008
300 $

Michel Dionne

Samuel Hobbs

Brador Bay

Avoir pêché le crabe des neiges sans permis.

21 mai 2008
1000 $

Michel Dionne

Jean-Richard Joncas

Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon

Avoir dérogé à ses conditions de permis de pêche au pétoncle en pêchant dans une zone non autorisée le 7 juillet 2005.

Avoir dérogé à ses conditions de permis de pêche au pétoncle en pêchant dans une zone non autorisée le 27 juillet 2005.

21 mai 2008
1000 $





21 mai 2008
489 $ + confiscation de la saisie de pétoncle d’une valeur de 511 $

Michel Dionne





Michel Dionne

Riley Lavallée

Blanc-Sablon

Avoir dérogé en 2007 à ses conditions de permis de pêche au turbot en gardant des flétans de l’Atlantique de taille inférieure à la limite permise de 81 cm.

21 mai 2008

489 $ + confiscation de la saisie de pétoncle d’une valeur de 511 $

Michel Dionne

Peter Wellman

Old Fort Bay

Avoir eu en sa possession quatre homards de taille inférieure à la limite permise de 82 cm.

21 mai 2008
500 $

Michel Dionne

Albert Corey

Port-Cartier

Avoir pêché avec des engins de pêche commerciale sans l’autorisation du titulaire du permis.

22 mai 2008
250 $

François Kouli

Richard Organ

Mutton Bay

Avoir dérogé en 2007 à ses conditions de permis de pêche à la grosse poule de mer en pêchant avec des filets dont le maillage était inférieur à 267 mm.

22 mai 2008
500 $

Michel Dionne

Christopher Roberts

Harrington Harbour

Avoir dérogé en 2006 à ses conditions de permis de pêche à la morue en dépassant son quota hebdomadaire de 1552 livres.

Avoir dérogé en 2006 à ses conditions de permis de pêche à la morue en dépassant son quota hebdomadaire de 535 livres.

22 mai 2008
750 $

 



22 mai 2008
250 $

Michel Dionne

 



Michel Dionne

Fernand Hautcoeur

Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé

Avoir laissé utiliser son bateau par une personne qui n’était pas autorisée à pêcher.

2 juin 2008
1500 $

Luc Marchildon

Roger Pinel

Grande-Rivière

Avoir laissé utiliser son bateau par une personne qui n’était pas autorisée à pêcher.

2 juin 2008
1500 $

Luc Marchildon

Albert Corbey

Port-Cartier

Avoir pêché avec des engins de pêche sans être autorisé par un permis.

5 juin 2008
250 $

Michel Parent

Bertrand Bénard

Fatima

Avoir pêché le homard et le crabe commun sans permis.
Possession de homards de taille inférieure à la limite légale.

11 juin 2008
600 $ + 90 jours de services communautaires

Michel Dionne

Jean-Yves Blais

Chandler

Avoir pêché le homard sans permis.
Avoir pêché pendant une période de fermeture.
Possession de homard de taille inférieure à la limite légale.

16 juin 2008
3000 $ + 3 ans de probation (interdiction de se trouver en tout temps sur les quais de Chandler et New-Port, ne pas troubler l’ordre public et avoir une bonne conduite)

Lucie Morissette

Pierrot Bouchard

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

Cueillette de myes dans une zone fermée.

17 juin 2008
200 $

Louise Gallant

Marc Couture

Percé

Ne pas avoir permis à un observateur d’effectuer ses fonctions à bord de son bateau.

17 juin 2008
1500 $

Lucie Morissette

Marcel Bond

Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan

Avoir pêché le crabe commun avec des casiers non étiquetés.

18 juin 2008
1750 $

Michel Parent

Arnaud Landry

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Avoir débarqué du crabe sans l’avoir pesé.

18 juin 2008
1000 $

Michel Parent

Guy Maloney Mingan Avoir pêché le crabe pendant une période de fermeture.
18 juin 2008
1000 $
Michel Parent

Bruno Pelletier

Colombier

En pratiquant la pêche récréative des myes, a gardé au cours d’une même journée une quantité supérieure à celle permise.

19 juin 2008
200 $

Louise Gallant

Retour

 

2008... Très bonne année de fraie pour le capelan!

Par Sylvi Racine

Photo - Capelans

La saison 2008 de la fraie du capelan est à peine terminée que déjà le Réseau des observateurs du capelan peut conclure que ce fut une très bonne année de fraie.

Quelques faits saillants

La saison 2008 est la deuxième meilleure saison du réseau après celle de 2007, alors qu’on rapportait 175 observations. En 2008, 48 observateurs ont rapporté un total de 136 observations sur 62 sites différents.

Cette année, plusieurs nouveaux sites de fraie ont été enregistrés. Pour la première fois, le capelan a été observé sur les plages de Sainte-Flavie et de Métis-sur-Mer sur la rive sud et de Kégaska sur la Côte-Nord. Une première mention de fraie a été rapportée au Cap de l’Hôpital à Fatima, aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Comme par les années passées, c’est le capelan qui roule sur les plages situées à l’est et à l’ouest de la rivière Brochu à Gallix (Sept-Îles) qui a mérité le plus grand nombre de mentions, avec un total de 34.

Rappelons que c’est sur la Côte-Nord, en 2002, que des efforts pour suivre la fraie du capelan, reconnu comme une espèce-clé de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent, ont été amorcés. C’est ce qui explique pourquoi, en 2003, les comités ZIP (zone d’interventions prioritaires) et les comités de gestion intégrée de la zone côtière, appuyés par Pêches et Océans Canada, ont mis sur pied le Réseau des observateurs du capelan. Ce réseau a pour objectif principal d’identifier les sites de reproduction et les dates au cours desquelles le capelan fraie. C’est aussi un des outils privilégiés pour la promotion de l’engagement communautaire et la sensibilisation à la protection de l’habitat de cette espèce. Les données sur le capelan permettent à Pêches et Océans Canada d’émettre des recommandations pour la gestion de la zone côtière et de l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent.

Retour

 

Recherche et sauvetage maritime : C'est plus qu'un travail. C'est une aventure.

Par Simon-Pierre Goulet

Photo - Mathieu Vachon, Hubert Desgagnés et Daniel Tremblay premiers officiers spécialisés SAR

Chaque année, au Québec, le Centre de recherche et sauvetage de la Garde côtière canadienne répond en moyenne au signalement de 1300 incidents maritimes et vient en aide à près de 3000 personnes. Il s’agit d’une augmentation de plus de 15% depuis les 10 dernières années.

Dans ce domaine, le Québec a la chance de compter trois pionniers parmi ses rangs. Cumulant le plus long état de service dans la coordination des opérations en recherche et sauvetage maritime (SAR) au Canada, Mathieu Vachon, retraité, Hubert Desgagnés et Daniel Tremblay (de gauche à droite) sont devenus les premiers officiers spécialisés SAR au Québec.

Les techniques utilisées aujourd’hui sont sensiblement les mêmes qu’autrefois. Toutefois, l’arrivée d’outils de travail plus performants, tels que les ordinateurs, les systèmes de détection par satellite, plus particulièrement les cellulaires et les centres d’urgence 911, sont venus appuyer l’utilisation de la radio VHF. Des outils traditionnels, tels que les cartes marines, ont été adaptés, augmentant ainsi la rapidité d’intervention en recherche et sauvetage.

Même avec l’apparition d’outils de travail plus performants, rien ne pourra remplacer le savoir faire d’officiers d’expérience comme messieurs Vachon, Desgagnés et Tremblay.

Quelques dates importantes

1947 : La Force aérienne du Canada est officiellement    responsable des opérations de recherche et sauvetage (SAR) pour les aéronefs en détresse au Canada. Ouverture des Centres de coordination de sauvetage à Halifax, Torbay (TNL), Edmonton et Victoria; Trenton ouvre ses portes quelque temps plus tard.

 

1951 : Le mandat de la Force aérienne est étendu aux navires en détresse.

 

1960 : Un conseiller maritime de la Garde côtière est assigné pour chaque Centre de coordination de sauvetage.

 

1970 : Le centre de Torbay ferme ses portes et celui de Halifax hérite du mandat de desservir l’est du pays. Le centre de Trenton dessert l’Ontario et une partie du Québec. Celui d’Edmonton couvre les Prairies et l’Arctique et enfin celui de Victoria dessert le Pacifique.

 
1977 : Deux Centres d’urgence de recherche et sauvetage opérés par la Garde côtière canadienne sont autorisés à St. John’s et Québec (le nom est changé pour sauvetage maritime en 1998).

4 juillet 1978 : Premiers coordonnateurs en recherche et sauvetage nommés pour le Centre d’urgence de recherche et sauvetage de Québec.

 

Logo - Carrière

Retour

 

Signaler les actes de braconnage, c'est important
Photo

Pêches et Océans Canada veut sensibiliser la population de la Côte-Nord, du Bas-Saint-Laurent, de la Gaspésie et des Îles-de-la-Madeleine à l’importance de la protection des ressources marines. Le Ministère compte également sur la collaboration du public pour contrer les actes de braconnage.

Le braconnage des ressources marines au Québec et ailleurs au Canada a un impact réel sur les espèces de poissons, de crustacés et de mollusques. Par le fait même, il menace l’avenir des pêches commerciales et récréatives et le gagne-pain de nombreuses personnes œuvrant dans le domaine de la pêche.

Les ressources marines représentent un bien public que nous devons tous protéger. C’est pourquoi la population est invitée à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels.

Retour

 

Poursuite de l'enquête sur le chavirement de l'Acadien II

Le rapport du Bureau de la sécurité des transports du Canada (BST), sur le chavirement et le naufrage de L'Acadien II le 26 mars dernier, devrait paraître à l’automne.

L'enquête du BST a permis de recueillir de l'information des Services de communication et de trafic maritimes à Sydney et à Port aux Basques, ainsi que de l'information de la Garde côtière canadienne et du Centre conjoint de coordination des opérations de sauvetage-Halifax.

Deux séries d’essais ont également permis de simuler le plus exactement possible les dispositifs de remorquage existants afin d'aider à comprendre l'interaction entre les deux navires et la dynamique du chavirement.

Le Bureau de sécurité des transports est un organisme indépendant qui mène des enquêtes sur des événements maritimes, de pipelines, ferroviaires et aéronautiques. Le Bureau n'est pas habilité à attribuer ni à déterminer les responsabilités civiles ou pénales.

Retour

 

Pêche récréative du poisson de fond 2008 dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rappelle les détails de la pêche récréative du poisson de fond dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent en 2008.

La pêche récréative au poisson de fond à la ligne à main peut se pratiquer sans permis. Le MPO effectue un suivi étroit des activités de pêche et des taux de captures pour estimer les prises. Le non-respect des mesures de gestion entraînera la révision des dates de fermeture et au besoin une fermeture hâtive des zones de pêche. On rappelle au public de suivre les pratiques de sécurité en matière de navigation durant les activités de pêche. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec un agent des pêches de votre bureau local. Plus de renseignements à www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Retour

 

Interdiction de l'importation des produits dérivés du phoque : le Canada examine la proposition

Le gouvernement fédéral, de concert avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, ainsi qu’avec les représentants principaux de l’industrie, examinera comment le projet de décret interdisant l’importation de produits dérivés du phoque s’applique au Canada. Le Canada s’attend à ce que l’Union européenne entame rapidement des discussions au sujet des conditions d’exemptions incluses dans le projet de décret, afin d’établir que toute restriction au commerce n’aurait pas d’incidence sur l’accès aux marchés des produits du phoque canadiens, provenant de la chasse sans cruauté, réglementée et responsable de notre pays.

Retour

 

Cueillette de mollusques : zones ouvertes et fermées

Pour connaître les zones ouvertes et fermées, appelez les numéros ci-dessous ou consultez le site Web du Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques : www.mollusca.gc.ca

Pêches et Océans Canada avise la population que la cueillette de mollusques est interdite dans des zones fermées ou situées à moins de 200 mètres d’un quai en raison des risques de contamination. Le Ministère tient à rappeler que la consommation de mollusques contaminés est dangereuse pour la santé et qu’elle peut occasionner la paralysie et même causer la mort.

Ce programme est administré par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada. On peut également obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la cueillette de mollusques en composant l’un des numéros de téléphone suivants :

CHARLEVOIX, CÔTE-NORD ET ÎLE D’ANTICOSTI
De l’Île-aux-Coudres à Baie-Trinité : 1-800-463-8558
De Baie-Trinité à Blanc-Sablon : 1-800-463-1736

ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE : 418-986-3882

BAS SAINT-LAURENT ET GASPÉSIE
De Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies à cap Gaspé : 1-800-463- 0607
De cap Gaspé à la Rivière Matapédia :
1-800-463-4204

Infocéans

Août - Septembre 2008
Volume 11 - numéro 4

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-648-7747 


Directrice : 
Caroline Hilt

Rédactrice en chef : 
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard