Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 11– Number 3 – June - July 2008



Federal Investment in the Rivière-au-Tonnerre Fishing Harbour on the North Shore

On May 5, Denis Lebel, Member of Parliament for Roberval–Lac-Saint-Jean, announced, on behalf of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, a federal investment in the Rivière-au-Tonnerre fishing harbour on the North Shore.

“This significant investment will help restore the levels of service of all Rivière-au-Tonnerre harbour facilities,”  stated Mr. Lebel. “Today’s announcement clearly shows that the Government of Canada recognizes the importance of regional social and economic development and highlights the important contribution of local volunteers in the community.”

“The excellent co-operation we have enjoyed with the Department of Fisheries and Oceans is what has made this major announcement in our region possible,” said the municipality’s mayor, Jeannot Boudreau. Mayor Boudreau went on to say that “Minister Hearn and his department were key in ensuring that the Rivière-au-Tonnerre project got off the ground.”

This large-scale project involves demolishing the existing northern wharf and replacing it with a new structure on pilings, including a concrete slab. A system of fenders, mooring cleats and bollards, ladders, electrical service pedestals and proper lighting will be installed along the wharf. The tendering process for the project will be launched shortly with a view to an anticipated contract award around June 20. The construction work is expected to begin this summer.

From left to right, Guy Descôteaux, Small Craft Harbours, Martin St-Gelais, North Shore Area Director, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Pierre Cormier, Reeve of the Minganie Regional County Municipality, Denis Lebel, MP for Roberval - Lac-St-Jean, Jeannot Boudreau, Mayor of Rivière-au-Tonnerre, Anne-Marie Boudreau, councillor at Rivière-au-Tonnerre, and Gérard Asselin, MP for Manicouagan. - DFO : L. Morency

Back

 

Government of Canada Invests in Quebec Small Craft Harbour Improvements

On May 23, the Honourable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, Minister of Labour and Minister for the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec, announced, on behalf of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, federal investments for planning and repair projects at several Quebec fishing harbours.

“This Government understands that the fishery has always played a key role in Quebec’s success,”said Minister Blackburn, “We believe investing in harbour infrastructure will go a long way to helping fish harvesters maintain the important contribution they make to their communities, their province and to our country”

The $4.5 million in funding will be allocated as follows: the Gaspé Peninsula will receive $1,010,000, the Magdalen Islands will receive $880,000 and the North Shore will receive $2,610,000. This announcement is in addition to the $2,065,000 for dredging announced on April 25, but includes the funding for the project to rebuild the wharf at Rivière-au-Tonnerre.

Projects to be funded include wharf maintenance, slipway repairs, installation of electrical service and handling equipment, repairs to floating pontoons, some maintenance dredging on the North Shore and the preparation of plans and specifications for future projects. These projects are being undertaken under the Small Craft Harbours Program, in close collaboration with the harbour authorities that manage and operate the facilities for local users.

The Government of Canada understands the importance of small craft harbours to communities across the country. Since February 2006, the permanent annual funding for the Small Craft Harbours Program has been increased by $20 million, with a further $10 million commitment made in Budget 2008 over two years for repairs and environmental cleanup at recreational and non-core fishing harbours to permit the transfer of these harbours to interested parties.

Back

 

New Science Advisory Reports on the Internet

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, in the “Publications” section, 2007 and 2008 series: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/

• The Saguenay Fjord Winter Sport Fishery in 2007 (2007/050)
  • State of the Ocean 2007: Physical Oceanographic Conditions in the Gulf of St. Lawrence (2008/016)
  • Assessment of Herring in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence (NAFO Div. 4T) (2008/019)  

Back

 

People Everywhere Participate in World Oceans Day

By Sylvi Racine

Sixteen years ago, at the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, June 8 was proclaimed World Oceans Day. Since then, this international celebration has taken on increasing importance in promoting awareness about the health of the oceans.

By exploring our links to the oceans, we learn about how our actions and those of our communities can have positive or negative effects on the oceans. For a number of years, non-governmental organizations concerned about ocean-related issues have mobilized hundreds of people in various regions of Quebec to take part in stewardship actions. With the help of Fisheries and Oceans Canada staff, they have undertaken to make people aware that local actions can have repercussions on the world’s oceans. This awareness creates ideal conditions for maintaining healthy and productive aquatic ecosystems, which is an important part of DFO’s mandate.

Once again this year, DFO biologists participated in activities organized by ZIP committees and by integrated inland water management committees: one activity took place in the Magdalen Islands on June 2, 4 and 5 and another, in the bay of Rimouski, on June 5. The two activities were intended for groups of secondary school students, who had the opportunity to discover the rich diversity of life inhabiting eelgrass beds by using fishing gear to carry out sampling. The activity in Rimouski was followed by a shoreline clean-up.

Back

 

Recreational Fisheries Awards

The Quebec Wildlife Federation is one of the recipients of the 2008 Recreational Fisheries Awards that were honoured on May 5. This year, two individuals and three organizations received the prestigious award. Fisheries and Oceans Canada created Canada’s Recreational Fisheries Awards in 1989 to recognize the outstanding efforts of individuals and groups working to ensure that Canada’s recreational fishery remains healthy and abundant.

The Quebec Wildlife Federation (QWF) is one of the oldest wildlife organizations in Quebec. The QWF has worked to establish programs and youth education projects that protect the environment while promoting conservation.

In 2002, the QWF initiated the "Operation Renaissance" project to reintroduce the once abundant striped bass back into the St. Lawrence River. This is one of the most ambitious wildlife projects in Quebec. The striped bass saw a dramatic decrease in its population in the early 1960’s and finally disappeared completely toward the end of that decade. Because of a unique combination of unfavourable conditions, it was the only species of fish to disappear from the St. Lawrence. More than one million bass of all sizes have since been reintroduced into the river.

Back

 

The Capelin Observers' Network Needs You

If you witness capelin spawning or find evidence of the species’ presence, such as marine mammals feeding at the surface or capelins beached on the shore, call the toll-free number below to report it. Thank you for helping to increase our knowledge about this small fish that is so important to the St. Lawrence ecosystem! 1-877-227-6853

Back

 

Convictions for Fisheries Act Violations

By Martin Bourget

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act. DFO continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy on violations of the Fisheries Act. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

Offender

Home

Offence

Sentencing date and fine

Judge

Danny McCormick

Port-Menier

Fishing for lobster without a license.

April 8, 2008

$500 + confiscating a kayak

Louise Gallant

Eddy Boudreau

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Landing crab without it being weighed.

April 9, 2008

$3,000

Louise Gallant

Marc Boudreau

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Landing crab without it being weighed.

April 9, 2008

$3,250

Louise Gallant

Joseph Yves Fournier

Atholville (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

April 9, 2008

$300

Lucie Morissette

Mario Leblanc

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Landing crab without it being weighed.

April 9, 2008

$3,250

Louise Gallant

 

Dominic Leblanc

Carleton

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

April 10, 2008

$300

Lucie Morissette

Back

 

Unveiling of Commemorative Map "Champlain's Voyages and Explorations"

By Karina Laberge

Picture - Québec Mayor Régis Labeaume and Steven Blaney
Québec Mayor Régis Labeaume admires a detail of the commemorative map along with Lévis-Bellechasse MP, Steven Blaney. - DFO : J.Beardsell

On May 30, a commemorative map of the voyages and explorations of Samuel de Champlain was unveiled by Steven Blaney, Member of Parliament for Lévis-Bellechasse, on behalf of the Honourable Loyola Hearn, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, to celebrate the 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec.

The founder of Québec, Samuel de Champlain, is also recognized as one of the first cartographers of New France. The mapping of the St. Lawrence River and its tributaries played an important role in the development of Canada.

“For more than 100 years, the Canadian Hydrographic Service has been mapping our country’s navigable waterways. Through its work, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has maintained the safety of navigation on the St Lawrence River, thus contributing to the history and development of Quebec,” said MP Blaney.

At the unveiling, MP Blaney presented a numbered reprint of the map to the Mayor of Québec, Régis Labeaume, to highlight the Government of Canada’s contribution to the festivities surrounding the 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec. The map illustrates Champlain’s main voyages in New France, from 1603 to 1615, in a style reminiscent of his original maps. Former place names from that era are juxtaposed with their modern-day equivalents. Also included are a few anecdotes relating Champlain’s encounters with Aboriginal peoples, as well as images taken from his writings.

The publication of the “Voyages and Explorations of Samuel de Champlain” commemorative map is one of the activities organized by the federal government to draw attention to the 400th anniversary of the founding of Québec. The map may be purchased for $14.95 from Canadian Hydrographic Service authorized chart dealers (www.charts.gc.ca). The map is printed in English on one side and in French on the other and measures 84 cm x 119 cm.

Map - Voyages and Explorations of Samuel de Champlain
Based on the maps compiled by Champlain, this map incorporates images representing Champlain’s various talents as an explorer, hydrographer, cartographer, illustrator, ethnographer, author and navigator. It makes reference to his 23 Atlantic crossings and identifies the sites that he mapped.

The map contains the following:

•  First detailed map of Québec published in Champlain’s travelogue in 1613 (Voyages du Sieur de Champlain Xaintongeois, capitaine ordinaire pour le Roy, en la marine [1604-1612] )
Excerpt from Traitté de la marine et du devoir d’un bon marinier, published in appendix to his last travelogue entitled Voyages de la Nouvelle France occidentale, dicte Canada faits par le Sieur de Champlain in 1632.

Back

 

Set Sail with the Canadian Coast Guard

From June 21 to September 1, come and see the Passages exhibit in the former Customs building on the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) Base. Visitors can take a walk through history in this exhibit featuring artifacts, photographs and texts. They will learn the extent to which the CCG has contributed to the development of the city of Québec and shipping on the St. Lawrence River. Theme rooms and an interpretive program will also reflect what the Coast Guard does today, thereby generating interest in careers with the CCG

Back

 

Come and see a Period Hydrographic Survey Ship, the Surveyor

From July 23 to August 2, 2008, the period hydrographic survey ship Surveyor will be visiting Espace 400e in the Old Port of Québec. The Surveyor is a replica of a vessel powered by oars and sails used by the British Admiralty circa 1792 to conduct hydrographic surveys.

Back

 

Canada and Norway Sign MOU on Fisheries

On May 22, the Honourable Loyola Hearn, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Honourable Helga Pedersen, Minister of Fisheries and Coastal Affairs of Norway, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to advance fisheries cooperation between the two countries.

The Canada-Norway MOU on Fisheries Cooperation, Aquaculture and International Governance Issues will promote opportunities for technical, scientific, environmental, and enforcement collaboration on fisheries issues, particularly in the North Atlantic Ocean. A Joint Committee will oversee implementation of the MOU, meeting annually to promote mutual cooperation and to facilitate information sharing on any matter related to fisheries, aquaculture and the oceans, including common challenges in the North and international governance.

Picture - Minister Hearn and Ms. Helga Pederson, Norway's Minister of Fisheries and Coastal Affairs, shaking hands
Minister Hearn and Ms. Helga Pederson, Norway's Minister of Fisheries and Coastal Affairs, shake hands after signing the MOU on Fisheries Cooperation in Malta on May 22, 2008

Back

 

Dredging in the Gaspé Peninsula and Magdalen Islands

On April 25, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced an investment of $2,065,000 for annual maintenance dredging at 13 fishing harbours in the Gaspé Peninsula and Magdalen Islands.

In the Gaspé Peninsula, $1,085,000 is being invested in dredging the fishing harbours of L’Anse-à-Beaufils, L’Anse-à-Brillant, Port Daniel East, Saint-Godefroi, Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé, Bonaventure, Gascons (Ruisseau Chapados) and Rivière-au-Renard.

In the Magdalen Islands, $980,000 is being invested to dredge the fishing harbours of Grosse-Île (Cap du Dauphin), Île d’Entrée, Millerand, Pointe-aux-Loups and Pointe-Basse.

The dredging is necessary to ensure that vessels have adequate water depth in basins and channels. Dredging began in early April and will continue over the following months.  A work schedule will be provided to all Harbour Authorities so that they may inform fishermen of the planned dredging dates for each harbour.

Back

 

New Fisheries and Aquaculture Map for Quebec

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is proud to officially launch a new map of the Quebec Region. The previous version of the map was published in 1994. Fisheries and aquaculture have changed considerably since then. The 2008 edition of the map has a more modern style and shows fisheries and aquaculture areas in Quebec based on 2006 data. A copy of the map can be obtained free of charge at local DFO offices or by contacting the Quebec regional office at 418-648-7747 .

Map - Fisheries and aquaculture

Back

 

Shellfish Harvesting: Open end Closed Areas

To find out which areas are open and closed, call one of the following numbers or visit the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program’s Web site at www.mollusca.gc.ca/

MAGDALEN ISLANDS : (418) 986-3882

LOWER ST. LAWRENCE AND GASPÉ
From Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies to Cap Gaspé: (800) 463-060
From Cap Gaspé to the Matapédia River: (800) 463-4204

CHARLEVOIX, NORTH SHORE AND ANTICOSTI ISLAND
From Ile-aux-Coudres to Baie-Trinité: (800) 463-8558
From Baie-Trinité to Blanc-Sablon: (800) 463-1736

Back

Infoceans

June - July 2008
Volume 11
Number 3

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Quebec Region
Communications Branch
104, Dalhousie St.
Quebec (Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: (418) 648-7747

Director:
Caroline Hilt

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 11 – Numéro 3 – Juin - Juillet 2008



Investissement fédéral au port de pêche de Rivière-au-Tonnerre sur la Côte-Nord

Le 5 mai dernier, Denis Lebel, député de Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean, annonçait, au nom du ministre des Pêches et des Océans, un investissement fédéral au port de pêche de Rivière-au-Tonnerre sur la Côte-Nord.

« Cet investissement considérable permettra de rétablir le niveau de service de l’ensemble des installations portuaires de Rivière-au-Tonnerre », a affirmé M. Lebel. « L’annonce d’aujourd’hui démontre bien que le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l’importance du développement socio­économique des régions et met en lum­ière l’importante contribution des béné­voles locaux dans leur communauté. »

« C’est une excellente collaboration avec le ministère des Pêches et des Océans qui a permis cette importante annonce dans notre région » a déclaré le maire de la municipalité, monsieur Jeannot Boudreau. « Le ministre Hearn et son Ministère ont grandement contribué à ce que le projet de Rivière-au-Tonnerre voit le jour aujourd’hui » a poursuivi le maire Boudreau.

Ce projet d’envergure consiste à démolir le quai Nord actuel et à le remplacer par un nouvel ouvrage sur pieux avec dalle de béton. Un système de défenses, des taquets et bornes d’amarrage, des échelles, des îlots électriques, de même qu’un éclairage approprié, seront mis en place le long de ce quai. Le processus d’appel d’offres pour la construction sera initié sous peu en vue d’une adjudication du contrat prévue vers le 20 juin. Les travaux de construction devraient débuter au cours de l’été.

Photo - Guy Descôteaux, Martin St-Gelais, Pierre Cormier, Denis Lebel, Jeannot Boudreau, Anne-Marie
De gauche à droite, Guy Descôteaux, Ports pour petits bateaux, Martin St-Gelais, directeur, secteur Côte-Nord, Pêches et Océans Canada, Pierre Cormier, préfet de la MRC de la Minganie, Denis Lebel, député de Roberval - Lac-St-Jean, Jeannot Boudreau, maire de Rivière-au-Tonnerre, Anne-Marie Boudreau, conseillère à Rivière-au-Tonnerre, et Gérard Asselin, MP pour Manicouagan. - MPO: L. Morency

 

Retour

 

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans des ports pour petits bateaux du Québec

Le 23 mai dernier, l’honorable Jean-Pierre Blackburn, ministre du Travail et ministre de l’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec, a annoncé un investissement fédéral pour la planification et la réalisation de travaux dans plusieurs ports de pêche au Québec, au nom du ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

« Le gouvernement est conscient du rôle essentiel des pêches dans la prospérité du Québec », a déclaré le ministre Blackburn. « Nous croyons que les investissements dans les infrastructures portuaires feront beaucoup pour permettre aux pêcheurs de poursuivre leur importante contribution à leurs communautés, à leur province et à leur pays. »

L’investissement de 4 500 000 $ sera réparti comme suit : 1 010 000 $ en Gaspésie, 880 000 $ aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine et 2 610 000 $ sur la Côte-Nord. Ce montant inclut l’investissement pour le projet de reconstruction du quai de Rivière-au-Tonnerre, mais s’ajoute à l’investissement de 2 065 000 $ annoncé le 25 avril dernier pour des travaux de dragage.

Les projets incluent des travaux d’entretien de quais, de réparations de cales de halage, l’installation de services électriques et d’équipement de manutention, des réparations de quais flottants, quelques travaux de dragage d’entretien sur la Côte-Nord, ainsi que la préparation de plans et devis de projets futurs. Les travaux seront entrepris dans le cadre du programme des Ports pour petits bateaux, en collaboration avec les administrations portuaires, qui gèrent et exploitent les installations au profit des utilisateurs locaux.

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance des ports pour petits bateaux pour les collectivités de tout le pays. C’est pourquoi, depuis février 2006, il a majoré de 20 millions de dollars le financement annuel permanent du programme des Ports pour petits bateaux.

De plus, dans le Budget 2008, il a prévu un investissement supplémentaire de 10 millions de dollars pour des travaux de réparation et de dépollution qui seront réalisés sur deux ans à des ports de pêche non essentiels et à des ports de plaisance en vue du transfert de ces actifs à des parties intéressées.

Retour

 

Nouveaux avis scientifiques sur Internet

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, dans la section « Publications », séries 2007 et 2008 : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas  

• La pêche sportive hivernale dans le fjord du Saguenay en 2007 (2007/050).
• État de l'océan en 2007 : Conditions océanographiques physiques dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent (2008/016).
• Évaluation du hareng du sud du golfe du Saint Laurent (Div. 4T de l’OPANO) (2008/019).

Retour

 

Des gens d'ici et du monde entier participent à la journée mondiale des océans

Par Sylvi Racine

C’est il y a 16 ans, au Sommet de la Terre de Rio de Janeiro, que le 8 juin a été proclamé Journée mondiale des océans. Depuis lors, cette célébration internationale a connu un essor fulgurant sur le plan de la sensibilisation à la santé des océans.

C’est en explorant nos liens avec les océans que l’on découvre que les activités que nous menons chez nous et au sein de notre communauté peuvent avoir des répercussions sur la santé des océans. Depuis plusieurs années, des organisations non gouvernementales préoccupées par la santé des océans ont mobilisé des centaines de personnes de différentes régions du Québec. Appuyées par les employés de Pêches et Océans Canada, elles se sont donné comme mission d’informer les gens qu’une action locale a des répercussions sur la santé des océans à l’échelle planétaire. Cette prise de conscience crée les conditions idéales pour le maintien des écosystèmes aquatiques sains et productifs, un mandat important du MPO.

Encore cette année, des biologistes du Ministère participent à des projets organisés aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, les 2, 4 et 5 juin, et dans la baie de Rimouski, le 5 juin, par les comités ZIP et les comités de gestion intégrée des plans d'eau intérieurs. Les deux activités s’adressent à des groupes d’élèves de niveau secondaire; ces jeunes sont invités à découvrir la richesse de zostéraies à l’aide d’un protocole d’échantillonnage et d’engins de pêche. À Rimouski, l’activité est suivie d’un nettoyage des berges.

Retour

 

Prix de la pêche récréative

La Fédération québécoise de la faune fait partie des récipiendaires du Prix de la pêche récréative 2008 qui ont été honorés le 5 mai dernier. Cette année, deux personnes et trois organismes ont reçu ce prix prestigieux. Pêches et Océans Canada a créé les Prix de la pêche récréative du Canada en 1989 pour souligner le travail remarquable de personnes et de groupes qui ont à cœur le dynamisme de la pêche récréative au Canada.

La Fédération québécoise de la faune (FQF) est l’une des plus anciennes organisations de protection de la faune du Québec. La FQF a contribué à l’établissement de programmes et de projets de sensibilisation de la jeunesse qui protègent l’environnement tout en faisant la promotion de la conservation.

En 2002, la FQF a lancé le projet « Opération Renaissance » visant à réintroduire le bar rayé autrefois abondant dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Il s’agit d’un des projets les plus ambitieux du Québec en matière de protection de la faune. La population de bar rayé a connu une diminution draconienne au début des années 1960, et l’espèce a finalement complètement disparu à la fin de cette décennie. En raison d’une combinaison unique de conditions défavorables, le bar rayé est la seule espèce de poisson qui a disparu du Saint-Laurent. Depuis, plus d’un million de bars de toutes tailles ont été réintroduits dans le fleuve.

Retour

 

Le Réseau des observateurs du capelan a besoin de vous

Si vous êtes témoin de la fraie du capelan ou que vous observez des indices de la présence de l’espèce, tels que des mammifères marins qui s’alimentent en surface ou encore des capelans échoués sur la plage, appelez le numéro sans frais ci-dessous pour le signaler. Merci de contribuer à accroître le niveau de connaissances sur ce petit poisson bien important pour l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent!  1-877-Ça roule (227-6853)

Image - Capelan

Retour

 

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Par Martin Bourget

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches. Le MPO continue d’appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l’égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels. 

Contrevenant

Domicile

Infraction

Date de la sentence et amende

Juge

Danny McCormick

Port-Menier

Avoir pêché le homard sans permis.

8 avril 2008

500 $ + confiscation d’un kayak

Louise Gallant

Eddy Boudreau

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Avoir débarqué du crabe sans l’avoir pesé.

9 avril 2008

3 000 $

Louise Gallant

Marc Boudreau

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Avoir débarqué du crabe sans l’avoir pesé.

9 avril 2008

3 250 $

Louise Gallant

Joseph Yves Fournier

Atholville

(Nouveau-Brunswick)

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

9 avril 2008

300 $

Lucie Morissette

Mario Leblanc

Rivière-au-Tonnerre

Avoir débarqué du crabe sans l’avoir pesé.

9 avril 2008

3 250 $

Louise Gallant

Dominic Leblanc

Carleton

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

10 avril 2008

300 $

Lucie Morissette

Retour

 

Dévoilement de la carte commémorative Voyages et explorations de Samuel de Champlain

Par Karina Laberge

photo - Régis Labeaume et Steven Blaney
Le maire de Québec, Régis Labeaume, admire un détail de la carte commémorative en compagnie du député de Lévis-Bellechasse, Steven Blaney. - MPO: J. Beardsell

Le 30 mai dernier, une carte commémorative des voyages et explorations de Samuel de Champlain a été dévoilée par Steven Blaney, député de Lévis-Bellechasse, au nom de l’honorable Loyola Hearn, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, pour célébrer le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville de Québec.

Fondateur de la ville de Québec, Samuel de Champlain est aussi reconnu comme l’un des premiers cartographes de la Nouvelle-France. La cartographie du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de ses tributaires a joué un rôle important dans le développement du Canada. « Depuis plus de 100 ans, le Service hydrographique du Canada cartographie les voies navigables de notre pays. Par ce travail, Pêches et Océans Canada a maintenu la sécurité de la navigation sur le Saint-Laurent, contribuant ainsi à l’histoire et à l’essor socio-économique de la ville de Québec », a indiqué monsieur Blaney.

Lors du dévoilement, le député Blaney a remis un tiré à part numéroté de la carte au maire de la ville de Québec, monsieur Régis Labeaume, afin de souligner la contribution du gouvernement du Canada aux festivités du 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville. La carte illustre les principaux voyages de Champlain en Nouvelle-France, de 1603 à 1615, dans une facture graphique rappelant ses cartes d’origine. Elle juxtapose les anciens toponymes des lieux du temps de l’explorateur aux noms sous lesquels ils sont connus aujourd’hui. On y retrouve également quelques anecdotes relatant ses rencontres avec les peuples autochtones, de même que des images tirées des écrits de Champlain.

La publication de la carte commémorative « Voyages et explorations de Samuel de Champlain » est l’une des activités organisées par le gouvernement fédéral pour souligner le 400e anniversaire de la fondation de la ville de Québec. La carte commémorative est disponible au coût de 14,95 $ auprès des dépositaires autorisés de cartes marines du Service hydrographique du Canada (www.cartes.gc.ca). Elle est imprimée recto-verso en version française et anglaise (dimensions : 84 cm x 119 cm).

carte commémorative - « Voyages et explorations de Samuel de Champlain »
Inspirée des cartes compilées par Champlain, cette carte intègre des images représentant les divers talents de Champlain, que ce soit comme explorateur, hydrographe, cartographe, illustrateur, ethnographe, auteur ou navigateur.  Elle mentionne les 23 traversées de l'Atlantique effectuées par Champlain et identifie les sites qu'il a cartographiés.  Elle comprend, entre autres, les éléments suivants :
  • Première carte détaillée de Québec publiée dans le récit de voyage de Champlain en 1613 (Voyages du Sieur de Champlain Xaintongeois, capitaine ordinaire pour le Roy, en la marine (1604-1612).

  • Extrait du Traitté de la marine et du devoir d'un bon marinier, publié en annexe de son dernier récit Voyages de la Nouvelle France occidentale, dicte Canada faits par le Sieur de Champlain en 1632.

Retour

 

Levez le voile sur la Garde côtière canadienne

Du 21 juin au 1er septembre, venez voir l’exposition Passages à l’ancien édifice de la Douane situé à la base de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC). À travers un parcours historique ponctué d’artéfacts, de photographies et de textes, les visiteurs seront à même de constater à quel point la GCC a contribué à l’essor de la ville de Québec et à l’évolution de la navigation sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Des salles thématiques et un programme d’animation décriront également les activités contemporaines de la Garde côtière, stimulant du même coup un intérêt pour les carrières à la GCC.

Retour

 

Venez voir le bateau hydrographique historique Surveyor

Du 23 juillet au 2 août 2008, le bateau hydrographique historique Surveyor sera de passage au Vieux-Port de Québec, plus spécifiquement à l’Espace 400e. Le Surveyor est la réplique d’une embarcation à rames et à voiles qui était utilisée par l’Amirauté britannique vers 1792 pour des relevés hydrographiques.

Retour

 

Signature d'un protocole sur les pêches entre le Canada et la Norvège

Le 22 mai dernier, l'honorable Loyola Hearn, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, et l'honorable Helga Pedersen, ministre des Pêches et des Affaires côtières de la Norvège, ont signé un protocole d’entente pour faire progresser la collaboration dans le domaine des pêches entre les deux pays.

Le Protocole d’entente sur la collaboration dans le domaine des pêches entre le Canada et la Norvège suscitera des possibilités de collaboration aux plans technique, scientifique, et environnemental, ainsi que dans le domaine de l'application des règles dans le secteur des pêches, particulièrement dans l’Atlantique Nord. Un comité conjoint supervisera la mise en application du protocole. Il se réunira chaque année pour favoriser la collaboration et faciliter l'échange d’information sur tout dossier touchant les pêches, l'aquaculture et les océans, notamment la gouvernance internationale et les défis auxquels sont confrontés les deux pays dans le Nord.

photo - le ministre Hearn et Mme Helga Pederson, ministre des Pêches et des Affaires côtières de la Norvège
À Malte le 22 mai 2008, le ministre Hearn et Mme Helga Pederson, ministre des Pêches et des Affaires côtières de la Norvège, échangent une poignée de main après la signature du protocole d’entente sur la collaboration dans le domaine des pêches.

Retour

 

Dragage en Gaspésie et aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Le 25 avril dernier, Pêches et Océans Canada a annoncé un investissement de 2 065 000 $ pour des travaux de dragage d’entretien annuel à treize ports de pêche en Gaspésie et aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, au Québec.

En Gaspésie, 1 085 000 $ seront investis pour des travaux de dragage aux ports de pêche de L’Anse à Beaufils, L’Anse-à-Brillant, Port Daniel Est, Saint-Godefroi, Sainte-Thérèse-de-Gaspé, Bona­ven­­ture, Gascons (Ruisseau-Chapados) et Rivière-au-Renard.

Aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, 980 000 $ seront investis pour des travaux de dragage aux ports de pêche de Grosse-Île (cap du Dauphin), L’Île- d’Entrée, Millerand, Pointe-aux-Loups et Pointe-Basse.

Des travaux de dragage sont nécessaires afin d’assurer aux bateaux des profondeurs d’eau adéquates dans les bassins et les chenaux. Les travaux ont commencé au début d’avril et se poursuivront au cours des prochains mois.  Un échéan­cier des travaux sera remis aux admi­nistrations portuaires qui pourront informer les pêcheurs des dates prévues pour les travaux de dragage à chacun des ports concernés.

Retour

 

Nouvelle carte de pêches et de l'aquaculture au Québec

Pêches et Océans Canada est fier de lancer officiellement une nouvelle carte de la région du Québec.  La dernière version de cette carte date de 1994 : depuis ce temps, les pêches et l'aquaculture ont considérablement évolué.  L’édition 2008 de la carte, d'une facture plus moderne, présente sous forme imagée le profil des pêches et de l'aquaculture au Québec à partir des données de 2006.  On peut obtenir un exemplaire gratuit de cette carte aux bureaux de secteur du MPO ou en contactant le bureau régional de Québec (418-648-7747).

Carte - Pêhces et aquaculture au Québec

Retour

 

Cueillette de mollusques : zones ouvertes et fermées

Pour connaître les zones ouvertes et fermées, appelez les numéros ci-dessous ou consultez le site Web du Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques : www.mollusca.gc.ca

CHARLEVOIX, CÔTE-NORD ET ÎLE D’ANTICOSTI
De l’Île-aux-Coudres à Baie-Trinité : 1-800-463-8558
De Baie-Trinité à Blanc-Sablon : 1-800-463-1736 

ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE : 418-986-3882

BAS SAINT-LAURENT ET GASPÉSIE
De Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies à cap Gaspé : 1-800-463- 0607
De cap Gaspé à la Rivière Matapédia : 1-800-463-4204

Infocéans

Juin - Juillet 2008
Volume 11 - numéro 3

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-648-7747 


Directrice : 
Caroline Hilt

Rédactrice en chef : 
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard