Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 11 – Number 2 – April - May 2008



Nomination of the Regional Director of Fisheries and Aquaculture Management, Quebec Region

On February 18, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced the nomination of Patrick Vincent to the position of Regional Director, Fisheries and Aquaculture Management.

Patrick Vincent holds a degree in Economics. He joined Fisheries and Oceans Canada in 1989 as an Economist at the Economics Division and later held the position of Development Officer at the Gaspe sector office. He pursued his career as an Economist at the Regional Policy and Economics Branch until 1999.

He then assumed various coordinating and planning functions at the Canadian Coast Guard before becoming Director of Human Resources and, more recently, Director of the Resource and Aboriginal Fisheries Mana­ge­ment Branch.

“I am convinced that the sustainable use and management of marine resources still constitute exciting challenges nowadays” explains M. Vincent.

“I am counting on the cooperation of all ­players involved to ensure the sustainable development of fisheries resources in the Quebec Region, from commercial fishermen to aquaculturists, from Aboriginal communities to recreational fishermen, from fishery officers to experts responsible for licensing and statistics, from resource managers to biologists with Science.”

“With the support of the Fisheries and Aquaculture Management team, I hope to contribute to the improvement of the ­sustainability of marine resources and to the prosperity of fisheries and aquaculture activities in Quebec.”

Picture - Patrick Vincent

Back

 

Farley Mowat: The Government of Canada Takes Enforcement Action

On April 12, the Government of Canada took enforcement action against the Farley Mowat for alleged Fisheries Act violations off the west coast of Newfoundland.

The Farley Mowat was boarded in the Gulf of St. Lawrence in Canadian waters by the RCMP who, along with the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG), were assisting Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) in this operation. The boarding was in relation to an alleged violation of the Marine Mammal Regulations on March 30, which is an alleged offence under the Fisheries Act.

While the Farley Mowat was warned repeatedly to exit and remain out of Canadian waters, it re-entered on April 10, 2008 . The Minister of Transport, the Honourable Lawrence Canon, then issued a Ministerial Direction under provisions of the Marine Transportation Security Act which instructed the Farley Mowat to proceed immediately to the Port of Sydney, Nova Scotia. It did not comply.

The Farley Mowat will be kept in DFO custody until such time as the court orders the release of the vessel upon posting of reasonable security. The vessel will also be inspected by Transport Canada and law enforcement officials to ensure the vessel and crew pose no safety or security threat.

The Government of Canada continues to monitor and assist in ensuring the 2008 seal hunt unfolds safely and securely. Its priority is to ensure a lawful seal hunt, protecting the safety of participants, including hunters, permitted observers and law enforcement officers.

Picture - Farley Mowat

The Farley Mowat closes in on a sealing vessel (photographed on ­ April 11, 2008, off the east coast of Cape Breton, Nova Scotia).

Back

 

New Science Advisory Reports on the Internet

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, in the “Publications” section, 2007 and 2008 series: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/

• Assessment of Softshell Clam Stocks in Quebec’s Coastal Waters in 2007  (2007/051)

• Assessment of Shrimp Stocks in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2007  (2008/002)

• Assessment of Cod Stock in the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (3Pn, 4RS) in 2007 (2008/003)

• Assessment of Cod in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence  (2008/004)

• Assessment of Snow Crab in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence (Areas 12, E and F)  (2008/006)

Back

 

Convictions for Fisheries Act Violations

By Martin Bourget

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act. DFO continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy on violations of the Fisheries Act. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential. 

Offender

Home

Offence

Sentencing date and fine

Judge

Wayne R. Bobbit

Sept-Îles

Possession of five lobsters smaller than the legal size of 82 mm.

Non-compliance with cod licence conditions for the 2006 season by exceeding weekly quota of 1,071 lbs.

February 5, 2008

$500

 

February 5, 2008

$500 + a fine of $357.75 for exceeding cod quota

Louise Gallant

Donny Morency

Kégaska

Fishing herring without a licence.

February 5, 2008

$750

Louise Gallant

Stephen Mc Kinnon

Chandler

Possession of undersized lobsters.

February 8, 2008

$1,000

Lucie Morissette

Yves Turcotte

Chandler

Fishing lobster without a licence and possession of undersized lobsters.

February 8, 2008

$600 + 80 hours of community service + 3 year’s probation (ordered to keep the peace and be of good behaviour and prohibited from being within 200 metres of Chandler and Newport wharves)

Lucie Morissette

Charlie Roberts

Harrington Harbour

Non-compliance with cod licence conditions for the 2006 season by exceeding weekly quota of 954 lbs.

February 13, 2008

$750 + a fine of $250 for exceeding cod quota

Nathalie Aubry

Michel Marcoux

Tête-à-la-Baleine

Non-compliance with sealing licence conditions for the 2006 season by possessing a firearm not authorized for hunting.

February 14, 2008

$500

Nathalie Aubry

Robert Lebel

Port-Cartier

Fishing snow crab without a licence.

February 15, 2008

$6,500 + a fine of $277 equivalent to the proceeds of the fish

Louise Gallant

Poissonnerie Boréalis

Matane

Possession of egg-bearing female lobsters.

February 26, 2008

$500

Lucie Morissette

Poissonnerie du Phare oust Inc.

Matane

Possession of egg-bearing female lobsters.

February 26, 2008

$500

Lucie Morissette

Daniel Scherrer

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Fishing for crab during a closed time.

March 4, 2008

$1,200

Michel Parent

Raynald Thériault

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Fishing for lobster without a licence and possession of berried females.

March 4, 2008

$2,000

Michel Parent

Guy Thibault

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Fishing for Atlantic halibut during a closed time.

March 6, 2008

$1,000

Louise Gallant

Réjean Labillois

Miguasha

Groundfish fishing without a licence.

March 10, 2008

$500

Jean Bécu

Pierre Raymond

Atholville (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

March 10, 2008

$300

Jean Bécu

Richard Roy

Pointe-à-la-Croix

Clam harvesting in a closed area.

Clam harvesting in a closed area. Retaining more than the permitted number of clams. Possession of clams under legal size.

March 10, 2008

March 10, 2008

$450

Jean Bécu

Back

 

Lake Portneuf: a Very Popular Fishway for Brook Trout

By Jean-Guy Jacques, Simon Trépanier and Sylvi Racine

In 1997, Hydro-Québec was planning to build a dam at the outlet of Lake Portneuf as part of its project to divert the Portneuf River to the Bersimis complex on the North Shore. During the assessment of the impact of the project on fish habitat, Fisheries and Oceans Canada asked Hydro-Québec to include the construction of a fishway on the dam to ensure that Lake Portneuf, a productive foraging, wintering and spawning habitat, remained accessible to brook trout, a species that is highly prized in the region.

In 2002, Hydro-Québec carried out the work in accordance with DFO’s requirements and, after three years of follow-up, impressive results were reported: over 25,000 juvenile and 8,700 adult brook trout had successfully ascended the fishway to Lake Portneuf.

A few technical details about the diversion project

The diversion of approximately 65 percent of the waters of the Portneuf River watershed required the construction of a dam between Lake Portneuf and Lake Itomamo.  A second dam (control structure) was also required at the outlet of Lake Portneuf to maintain the area of the lakes and to capture part of the spring runoff, which is impounded and released in summer during periods of lower flows.   

The initial project also involved the installation of deflectors and jetties to conserve as much habitat favourable to brook trout in the river as possible.  In addition to the construction of the fishway, the habitat loss compensation measures requested by DFO included developments aimed at creating or enhancing brook trout habitat both in the river and in certain lakes used by the fishery in this watershed.  

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for the administration and enforcement of the Fisheries Act (FA), the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act (CEAA). The FA and SARA apply to all projects and activities carried out in or near water and that are likely to affect fish habitat.

Picture - Portneuf dam

Back

 

Farmers Improve Fish Habitat

By Sylvi Racine

The Union des producteurs agricoles (the Quebec farmers union) and the Quebec Wildlife Foundation, in collaboration with Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Ressources naturelles et  faune Québec, have published a special edition of their newsletter, Le Riverain, devoted to fish.  It describes various initiatives taken by farmers to improve the water quality and biodiversity of our rivers and streams.

The enhancement of aquatic wildlife habitats is a priority of the Agricultural Stream Biodiversity Enhancement Program. Focused on three areas of action (agriculture, environment and wildlife), the program supports a dozen agricultural organizations that are developing an innovative watershed-based integrated water resources management approach.  Some 500 farmers are actively participating in the program by making improvements to their practices and implementing lasting solutions in cooperation with local stakeholders.

Le Riverain is read by close to 1,000 participants and partners of the Agricultural Stream Biodiversity Enhancement Program, including agricultural producers, watershed organizations, agri-environmental advisory clubs, municipalities, departments, educational institutions, etc.

The special edition of the newsletter devoted to fish (available in French only) can be downloaded from the following web site: www.fondationdelafaune.qc.ca/initiatives/projets_pilote/

(the link to the special edition is at the bottom of the page)

Back

 

L'ACADIEN II - Independent Investigator Appointed

The Honourable Loyola Hearn, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, appointed Retired Rear Admiral Roger Girouard to lead a Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) investigation of the events and circumstances leading to and following the capsizing of L’Acadien II on March 29th.

This investigation began on April 4 and Rear Admiral Girouard has been asked to present his final report to Minister Hearn and the Commissioner of the Canadian Coast Guard in the fall. The report will be shared with the families of those who were lost in this tragic incident, after which it will be made public.

Specifically, the investigation will determine:

• The sequence of events that led to and followed the occurrence.

• Compliance with CCG policies, procedures and work practices including the CCG’s towing policy and general non-Search and Rescue assistance to vessels, and their application.

• The contribution of CCG policies, procedures and work practices to the events.

• How the incident occurred, why the incident occurred, direct causes and contributing factors.

The report will include safety-oriented recommendations to prevent similar incidents in the future.

Rear Admiral Girouard may choose to speak to anyone who may be of assistance to him and to his team. Rear Admiral Girouard and his team will also provide their assistance and any information requested to the Transportation Safety Board of Canada and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police as they move forward with their own investigations.

Back

 

Are Your Nautical Charts Up-to-Date?

By Robert Dorais

Before venturing out into unknown waters or waters with which you think you are familiar, it is critical to have up-to-date nautical charts. Updates to nautical charts are essential to fishermen who set out fishing gear: they warn them of buoy changes, the discovery of a wreck or the installation of an aerial or underwater cable,.

Pursuant to the Charts and Nautical Publications Regulations, 1995, the master of a ship is required to have on board the most recent editions of charts and publications and to keep them up-to-date. The charts must have been published by the Canadian Hydrographic Service. An exception exists for ships of less than 100 tons if the master has sufficient knowledge of the characteristics of the area, such that safe navigation is not compromised (a 12-metre fishing vessel is the equivalent to about 15 tons).

The Canadian Hydrographic Service has published a pamphlet describing how to update charts in five easy steps. For more information, visit www.charts.gc.ca or www.notmar.gc.ca.

Map - Sample chart patch
Example of a chart patch that is printed and affixed to a chart to correct it. This patch adds information on an intertidal breakwater and private buoys.

Back

 

Use Caution when Harvesting and Eating Shellfish

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is advising the public that shellfish harvesting is prohibited in closed areas or in areas located within 200 metres of a wharf, due to the risk of contamination. Eating contaminated shellfish is dangerous and may lead to paralysis and even death

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent shellfish harvesting in closed areas and to protect public health. The Department is also asking the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

For more information on the status of shellfish beds (open and closed areas), you can consult the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program’s Web site at www.mollusca.gc.ca/. This program is managed by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Environment Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

You can also find the latest information on shellfish harvesting by calling one of the following numbers:

CHARLEVOIX, NORTH SHORE AND ANTICOSTI ISLAND  
From Ile-aux-Coudres to Baie-Trinité:
(800) 463-8558
From Baie-Trinité to Blanc-Sablon:
(800) 463-1736

MAGDALEN ISLANDS: (418) 986-3882

LOWER ST. LAWRENCE AND GASPE
From Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies to Cap Gaspé: (800) 463-0607
From Cap Gaspé to the Matapédia River:
(800) 463-4204

Back

 

New Fishery Officers

On March, twenty-one new fishery officers, among whom ten will be posted to the Quebec Region, graduated from the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) fishery officer training program. This brings to 105 the number of new officers hired by DFO since August 2006. These new officers will boost DFO’s monitoring and surveillance capacity on Canadian waters.

Fishery officers have multiple responsibilities: they must enforce the Fisheries Act and other related Acts and Regulations, protect the fishery resources and the fish habitat by doing patrols on land, by sea and air; and participate in public education and awareness programs.

During the thirty-six months of field and classroom training, fishery officers acquire skills acquired in areas such as fish identification, conducting patrols, communications, negotiations and enforcement methods.

Back

 

2008 Management Measures for Atlantic Seal Hunt

On March 10, Fisheries and Oceans Canada announced management measures for the 2008 Atlantic seal hunt. The harp seal total allowable catch (TAC) has been set at 275,000, out of a herd of more than 5.5 million. This one-year TAC includes allocations of 2,000 seals for personal use, 4,950 seals for Aboriginal initiatives and a carryforward of 16,186 seals for those fleets who did not capture their quota from 2007. Once the carry forward is deducted, existing sharing arrangements remain in place, with the Front receiving about 70% of the TAC and about 30% for the Gulf. The 2008 hooded seal TAC has been set at 8,200 animals out of a herd of 600,000.

To ensure that the sustainability of the seal hunt is based on the most up-to-date science, the Department has already started its population survey instead of waiting until 2009, as originally planned.

Back

Infoceans

April - May 2008
Volume 11
Number 2

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Quebec Region
Communications Branch
104, Dalhousie St.
Quebec (Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: (418) 648-7747

Director:
Caroline Hilt

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 11 – Numéro 2 – Avril - Mai 2008



Nomination du directeur régional à la Gestion des pêches et de l'aquaculture, région du Québec
Patrick Vincent - directeur régional, Gestion des pêches et de l’aquaculture
Patrick Vincent - MPO A. Kedl

Le 18 février dernier, Pêches et Océans Canada annonçait la nomination de Patrick Vincent au poste de directeur régional, Gestion des pêches et de l’aquaculture.

Patrick Vincent est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en économie. Il a débuté sa carrière à Pêches et Océans Canada en 1989 à titre d’économiste à la Direction de l’économique avant d’agir comme agent de développement au bureau de secteur de Gaspé. Il a poursuivi sa carrière comme économiste à la Direction régionale des politiques et de l’économique jusqu’en 1999.

Par la suite, il a occupé des fonctions de coordination et de planification à la Garde côtière canadienne, il a été directeur des Ressources humaines et plus récemment, directeur de la Gestion de la ressource et des pêches autochtones.

«Je suis convaincu que l’exploitation et la gestion des ressources marines représentent encore aujourd’hui des défis passionnants » indique M. Vincent.

« Je mise sur la collaboration de tous les acteurs impliqués pour assurer un développement durable de la ressource halieutique de la région du Québec : du pêcheur commercial à l’aquaculteur, des peuples autochtones au pêcheur sportif, de l’agent des pêches à l’expert responsable de l’émission des permis et des statistiques, du gestionnaire de la ressource au biologiste des Sciences. »

« En m’appuyant sur l’équipe de la Gestion des pêches et de l’aquaculture, j’espère contribuer à améliorer la pérennité de la ressource et la prospérité des activités de pêche et d’aquaculture au Québec.»

Retour

 

Farley Mowat : Le gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures d'application de la loi

Le 12 avril dernier, le gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures d’application de la loi contre le Farley Mowat au large de la côte ouest de Terre-Neuve, parce qu’il aurait enfreint la Loi sur les pêches.

Le Farley Mowat a été arraisonné dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent à l’intérieur des eaux canadiennes par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada qui, avec la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), apportait son soutien à Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) dans cette opération. Cette intervention a été effectuée parce qu’il y aurait eu infraction au Règlement sur les mammifères marins le 30 mars, ce qui contrevient à la Loi sur les pêches.

Le Farley Mowat avait été averti maintes fois qu’il devait sortir des limites des eaux canadiennes et rester au large de ces limites, mais il est revenu dans les eaux canadiennes le 10 avril 2008 . Le ministre des Transports, l’honorable Lawrence Canon, a ensuite donné comme instruction au Farley Mowat, en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la sûreté du transport maritime, de se rendre immédiatement au quai du port de Sydney, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le navire ne s’est pas conformé à cet ordre.

Le navire est sous la garde du MPO jusqu’à ce qu’une ordonnance du tribunal demande que le navire soit relâché une fois que sera donnée une garantie raisonnable. Transports Canada et les autorités d’application de la loi inspecteront le navire afin de veiller à ce que le bâtiment et ses membres d’équipage ne présentent aucune menace à la sécurité.

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de surveiller la situation et de faire sa part pour veiller à ce que la chasse aux phoques de 2008 se déroule en toute sécurité. Sa priorité est de protéger les activités légitimes de chasse aux phoques en assurant la sécurité des par­ticipants, parmi eux les chasseurs, les observateurs autorisés et les agents d’application de la loi.

Photo - Bateau Farley Mowat
Le Farley Mowat se rapproche trop près d’un bateau utilisé pour la chasse au phoque (photo prise le 11 avril 2008 , au large de la côte Est du cap Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse).

Retour

 

Nouveaux avis scientifiques sur Internet

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultationscientifique, dans la section  « Publications », séries 2007 et 2008 : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Évaluation des stocks de mye commune des eaux côtières du Québec en 2007  (2007/051)
• Évaluation des stocks de crevette de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent en 2007  (2008/002)
• Évaluation du stock de morue du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (3Pn, 4RS) en 2007  (2008/003)
• Évaluation de la morue du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent  (2008/004)
• Évaluation du crabe des neiges du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (zones 12, E et F)  (2008/006)

Retour

 

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Par Martin Bourget

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches. Le MPO continue d’appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l’égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels. 

Contrevenant

Domicile

Infraction

Date de la sentence et amende

Juge

Wayne R. Bobbit

Sept-Iles

Possession de 5 homards de taille inférieure à la limite légale de 82 mm.

Dérogation aux conditions de permis pour la pêche à la morue pour la saison 2006, en dépassant le quota hebdomadaire de 1071 lb.

5 février 2008

500 $ + une amende de 357,75 $

pour la morue en trop

Louise Gallant

Donny Morency

Kégaska

Avoir pêché le hareng sans permis.

5 février 2008

750 $

Louise Gallant

Stephen Mc Kinnon

Chandler

Possession de homard de taille inférieure à la limite légale.

8 février 2008

1 000 $

Lucie Morissette

Yves Turcotte

Chandler

Avoir pêché le homard sans permis et possession de homard de taille inférieure à la limite légale.

8 février 2008

600 $ + 80 h de service communautaire + 3 ans de probation (ne pas troubler l’ordre public, avoir une bonne conduite et interdiction d’être présent à moins de 200 m des quais de Chandler et de Newport)

Lucie Morissette

Charlie Roberts

Harrington Harbour

Dérogation aux conditions de permis pour la pêche à la morue pour la saison 2006, en dépassant le quota hebdomadaire de 954 lb.

13 février 2008

750 $ + une amende de 250 $ pour la morue en trop

Nathalie Aubry

Michel Marcoux

Tête-à-la-Baleine

Dérogation aux conditions de permis de chasse au phoque pour la saison 2006 en ayant en sa possession une arme à feu non autorisée pour la chasse.

14 février 2008

500 $

Nathalie Aubry

Robert Lebel

Port-Cartier

Avoir pêché le crabe des neiges sans permis.

15 février 2008

6 500 $ + une amende de 277 $ équivalent au produit de la pêche

Louise Gallant

Poissonnerie Boréalis

Matane

Possession de homards femelles oeuvées.

26 février 2008

500 $

Lucie Morissette

Poissonnerie du Phare ouest Inc.

Matane

Possession de homards femelles oeuvées.

26 février 2008

500 $

Lucie Morissette

Daniel Scherrer

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Avoir pêché le crabe pendant une période de fermeture.

4 mars 2008

1 200 $

Michel Parent

Raynald Thériault

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Avoir pêché le homard sans permis et possession de homards femelles oeuvées.

4 mars 2008

2 000 $

Michel Parent

Guy Thibeault

Havre-Saint-Pierre

Avoir pêché le flétan de l’Atlantique pendant une période de fermeture.

6 mars 2008

1 000 $

Louise Gallant

Réjean Labillois

Miguasha

Avoir pêché le poisson de fond sans permis.

10 mars 2008

500 $

Jean Bécu

Pierre Raymond

Atholville (Nouveau-Brunswick)

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

10 mars 2008

300 $

Jean Bécu

Richard Roy

Pointe-à-la-Croix

Cueillette de myes dans une zone fermée.

Cueillette de myes dans une zone fermée. Avoir gardé plus de myes que le nombre permis. Possession de myes de taille inférieure à la limite permise.

10 mars 2008

200 $

10 mars 2008

450 $

Jean Bécu

Retour

 

Lac Portneuf : une passe migratoire pour omble de fontaine très populaire

Par Jean-Guy Jacques, Simon Trépanier et Sylvi Racine

En 1997, Hydro-Québec prévoyait la construction d’un barrage à la sortie du lac Portneuf, dans le projet de dérivation de la rivière Portneuf vers le complexe Bersimis sur la Côte-Nord. Lors de l’étude des impacts de ce projet sur l’habitat du poisson, Pêches et Océans Canada a demandé à Hydro-Québec d'inclure la construction d'une passe migratoire à même le barrage afin de s’assurer que le lac Portneuf, un habitat productif (alimentation, hivernage, frai) demeure accessible à l'omble de fontaine, une espèce très prisée dans la région.

En 2002, Hydro-Québec a effectué les travaux conformément aux exigences du Ministère et après trois années de suivi, d'impressionnants résultats ont été enregistrés : plus de 25 000 juvéniles et 8700 adultes d’omble de fontaine avaient franchi la passe migratoire vers le lac Portneuf.

Quelques données techniques sur le projet de dérivation

La dérivation d’environ 65% des eaux du bassin versant de la rivière Portneuf nécessitait la mise en place d’un barrage entre le lac Portneuf et le lac Itomamo. Un autre barrage (ouvrage régulateur) était également requis à l’exutoire du lac Portneuf afin de maintenir les superficies lacustres et d’absorber une partie de la crue printanière qui, conservée en réserve, est distribuée en été, lors des périodes de plus faible débit.

Le projet initial comportait également l’aménagement de déflecteurs et d’épis afin de conserver le plus possible des habitats aquatiques favorables à l’omble de fontaine en rivière. Outre la construction de la passe migratoire, les mesures de compensation des pertes d’habitat demandées par le MPO comportaient des aménagements visant la création ou l’amélioration d’habitats pour l’omble de fontaine, tant dans la rivière que dans certains lacs utilisés par la pêche dans ce bassin versant. 

Pêches et Océans Canada a la responsabilité d’appliquer la Loi sur les pêches (LP), la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (LCÉE). La LP et la LEP s’appliquent à tous les projets et activités réalisés dans l’eau ou à proximité de l’eau, et qui sont susceptibles de perturber l’habitat du poisson.

Photo - barrage passe migratoire à la sortie du lac Portneuf
Trois années de suivi ont démontré que la construction de la passe migratoire a permis de maintenir un habitat productif fréquenté par l’ombre de fontaine.

Retour

 

Les producteurs agricoles améliorent l'habitat du poisson

Par Sylvi Racine

L’Union des producteurs agricoles et la Fondation de la faune du Québec, en collaboration avec Pêches et Océans Canada et le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la faune du Québec, a publié un numéro «Spécial poissons» du bulletin d’information Le Riverain. On y présente différentes interventions réalisées par les producteurs et productrices agricoles afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’eau et la biodiversité de nos cours d’eau.

L’amélioration des habitats de la faune aquatique constitue une priorité du Programme de mise en valeur de la biodiversité des cours d’eau en milieu agricole. Basé sur trois volets d’intervention (agricole, environnemental et faunique), ce programme permet de soutenir une dizaine d’organismes agricoles qui développent une approche novatrice de gestion intégrée de l’eau par bassin versant. Quelque 500 producteurs y participent activement en améliorant leur pratique et en mettant en place des solutions durables, de concert avec les intervenants du milieu.

Le Riverain rejoint près de 1000 participants et partenaires du Programme de mise en valeur de la biodiversité des cours d’eau en milieu agricole : producteurs agricoles, organismes de bassin versant, clubs conseil en agroenvironnement, municipalité, ministères, maisons d’enseignements, etc.

Le numéro « Spécial poissons » peut être téléchargé à l’adresse www.fondationdelafaune.qc.ca/initiatives/projets_pilote/

(le lien vers le numéro « Spécial poissons » est au bas de la page)

Retour

 

L'Acadien II - Un enquêteur indépendant est nommé

L’honorable Loyola Hearn, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, a nommé le contre–amiral à la retraite Roger Girouard pour mener une enquête de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) sur les circonstances entourant le chavirement de L’Acadien II, le 29 mars dernier.

Cette enquête a débuté le 4 avril et le contre–amiral Girouard doit présenter son rapport final au ministre Hearn et au commissaire de la Garde côtière canadienne à l’automne. Le rapport sera communiqué aux familles de ceux qui ont péri dans ce tragique accident, et sera rendu public par la suite.

L’enquête permettra d’établir et d’évaluer :

• le fil des événements entourant l’accident, aussi bien avant qu’après;

• le respect et l’application des politiques, procédures et méthodes de travail de la GCC, y compris la politique de remorquage de la GCC et l’aide prodiguée aux navires en dehors des opérations de recherche et de sauvetage;

• l’apport des politiques, procédures et méthodes de travail de la GCC aux événements; et

• comment l’accident est survenu, pourquoi il est survenu, ses causes directes, ainsi que les facteurs qui y ont contribué.

Le rapport comprendra des recommandations en matière de sécurité pour éviter que pareil accident ne se répète.

  Le contre–amiral Girouard et son équipe pourront entendre les témoignages de toute personne qui pourrait contribuer au progrès de l’enquête. Ils offriront également leur appui au Bureau de la sécurité des transports et à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada qui mènent leurs propres enquêtes, en leur fournissant toute l’information qu’ils demanderont.

Retour

 

Vos cartes marines sont-elles à jour?

Par Robert Dorais

Avant de s’aventurer dans des eaux inconnues ou qu’on croît connaitre, il est primordial de disposer de cartes marines à jour. Qu’il s’agisse du changement d’une bouée, de la découverte d’une épave ou de l’installation d’un câble aérien ou sous-marin, la mise à jour des cartes marines est essentielle pour le pêcheur qui déploie ses engins de pêche.

Le règlement sur les cartes et les publications nautiques (1995) stipule que le capitaine doit avoir à bord la dernière édition des cartes et publications et qu’il doit les maintenir à jour. Ces cartes doivent avoir été émises par le Service hydrographique du Canada. Une exception existe pour les navires de moins de 100 tonneaux  lorsque le capitaine connaît suffisamment les caractéristiques de la région pour ne pas compromettre la sécurité de la navigation (un bateau de pêche de 12 mètres de longueur équivaut à 15 tonneaux environ).

Le Service hydrographique du Canada a publié un dépliant qui indique comment mettre ses cartes à jour en 5 étapes faciles. Consultez les sites web www.cartes.gc.ca ou notmar.gc.ca pour en savoir davantage. 

Carte - Service hydrographique du Canada
Exemple d’une annexe graphique que l’on imprime et que l’on colle sur la carte pour la corriger. Cette annexe permet d’ajouter de l’information à jour sur un brise-lames asséchant, ainsi que sur des bouées privées.

Retour

 

Nouvelles brèves - Mise en garde sur la cueillette et la consommation de mollusques

Pêches et Océans Canada avise la population que la cueillette de mollusques est interdite dans des zones fermées ou situées à moins de 200 mètres d’un quai en raison des risques de contamination. Le Ministère tient à rappeler que la consommation de mollusques conta­minés est dangereuse pour la santé et qu’elle peut occasionner la paralysie et même causer la mort.

Le Ministère exerce une surveillance des zones fermées et invite la population à rapporter les actes de braconnage en composant le numéro 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les zones ouvertes ou fermées, consultez le site Web du Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques à l’adresse suivante : www.mollusca.gc.ca/. Ce programme est administré par l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, Environnement Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada.

On peut également obtenir des renseignements à jour sur la cueillette de mollusques en composant l’un des numéros de téléphone suivants :

CHARLEVOIX, CÔTE-NORD ET ÎLE D’ANTICOSTI
De l’Île-aux-Coudres à Baie-Trinité : 1-800-463-8558
De Baie-Trinité à Blanc-Sablon : 1-800-463-1736

ÎLES-DE-LA-MADELEINE : 418-986-3882
BAS SAINT-LAURENT ET GASPÉSIE

De Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies à Cap Gaspé : 1-800-463-0607
De Cap Gaspé à la Rivière Matapédia : 1-800-463-4204

Retour

 

Nouveaux agents de pêches

En mars dernier, vingt-et-un nouveaux agents des pêches, dont dix seront affectés à la région du Québec, ont reçu leur diplôme du programme de formation des agents des pêches du MPO. Ceci porte à 105 le nombre de recrues embauchées par le Ministère depuis août 2006. Ces nouveaux agents renforceront la capacité de contrôle et de surveillance du MPO dans les eaux canadiennes.

Les agents des pêches ont des responsabilités variées : ils doivent  appliquer la Loi sur les pêches, ainsi que d’autres lois et règlements connexes, protéger les ressources halieutiques et l’habitat du poisson en effectuant des patrouilles terrestres, maritimes et aériennes, et participer à des programmes d’éducation et de sensibilisation du public.

Durant les 36 mois de formation sur le terrain et en classe, les agents des pêches acquièrent des compétences dans plusieurs domaines, notamment l’identification de poissons, la conduite de patrouilles, les communications, la négociation et les méthodes d’application des règlements.

Retour

 

Mesure de gestion 2008 pour la chasse au phoque dans l'Atlantique

Pêches et Océans Canada a rendu publiques le 10 mars dernier des mesures de gestion pour la chasse au phoque dans l’Atlantique. Le total admissible des captures (TAC) des phoques du Groenland a été établi à 275 000 , sur un troupeau de plus de 5,5 millions. Ce TAC d’un an inclut une allocation de 2000 phoques pour la chasse à des fins personnelles, une autre de 4950 bêtes pour les initiatives autochtones et un report de 16 186 individus pour les flottilles qui n’ont pas atteint leur quota en 2007. Une fois qu’on soustrait le report, les modalités de partage existantes demeurent telles quelles, le Front recevant quelque 70 % du TAC et le Golfe, environ 30 %. Le TAC des phoques à capuchon pour 2008 a été établi à 8200 animaux sur un troupeau de 600 000 .

Afin de disposer de l’information scientifique la plus à jour pour maintenir une chasse au phoque durable, le Ministère a déjà commencé le recensement de la population de phoques au lieu d’attendre à 2009, comme c’était prévu au départ.

Retour

Infocéans

Avril - Mai 2008
Volume 11 - numéro 2

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-648-7747 


Directrice : 
Caroline Hilt

Rédactrice en chef : 
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard