Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 11– Number 1 – February - March 2008



Divestiture of Government of Canada Wharf at Portneuf-sur-Mer

On February 1st, the Government of Canada announced the divestiture of the federal wharf at Portneuf-sur-Mer. The agreement in principle concluded with the municipality will allow the latter to ensure the management and development of the wharf for the benefit of its citizens. A transfer of $600,000 to the municipality will allow repairs to the wharf facilities.

The divestiture, a result of close cooperation between Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the municipality, will help the development of tourism in the region. This project is implemented under the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Divestiture Program administered by the Small Craft Harbours Branch.

Picture - Martin St-Gelais, Jean-Marie Delaunay, Denis Lebel and Gervais Bouchard
Martin St-Gelais, North Shore Area Director, North Shore, Mr. Jean- Marie Delaunay, mayor of Portneuf-sur-Mer, Mr. Denis Lebel, Member of Parliament for Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean, who announced the divestiture, and Mr. Gervais Bouchard, Regional Director of the Small Craft Harbours Branch of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. - DFO M. Loiselle

Back

 

A World Première in Oil Dispersion in Waters with Broken Ice

By Martin Blouin, Bernard Doyon and Nathalie Letendre

From January 27 to February 1, a novel experiment was conducted off the coast of Matane from the CCGS Martha L. Black. A team of scientists from the Canadian Coast Guard and Fisheries and Oceans Canada poured 600 litres of crude oil into the icy waters of the estuary!  The purpose of this unprecedented exercise was to field-test an innovative response method that minimizes the impact of oil spills in waters containing ice by reducing the environmental impacts of the pollution.

This method accelerates natural biodegradation processes and helps disperse the oil (light crude oil) in the form of very fine particles, using only non-toxic, environmentally neutral products.  These particles, called clay-oil aggregates, generally consist of oil droplets covered with fine minerals that prevent the oil slick from reforming on the water surface.  The formation of aggregates by strong wave action along shoreline environments is a well-known natural process. During the experiment off the coast of Matane, an attempt was made to enhance the formation of aggregates by deploying energy from the action of the propellers of the icebreaker, combined with the addition of fine clay minerals.

The results of the study will be known in several months, but the initial observations confirm the formation of clay-oil aggregates. The Canadian Coast Guard is constantly endeavouring to improve its oil spill response methods. The success of this experiment could mean an international breakthrough in the area of oil spill response in waters associated with ice.

Scientists had observed that, in some cases, oil spilled near coasts interacted with suspended particulate matter and was naturally dispersed by wave action over time. The natural process was known, but efforts had yet to be made to use it as an operational oil spill countermeasure. That is what the Canadian Coast Guard has done.

Picture - Recovery of measurement instruments (particle counter and turbidity meter) and of the underwater camera.
Recovery of measurement instruments (particle counter and turbidity meter) and of the underwater camera. - DFO M. Blouin

Back

 

Freshwater Fish SARA Consultations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is currently considering whether two freshwater fish, the Northern Brook Lamprey and the Lake Sturgeon, should be protected under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has recommended that the Northern Brook Lamprey be listed as a species of special concern. As for the Lake Sturgeon, COSEWIC designated 8 units, of which two are in Quebec. It recommended that the Great Lakes - Western St. Lawrence populations be listed as threatened and that the Southern Hudson Bay – James Bay populations be added as special concern. When a threatened species is added to the List of the Species at Risk Act, certain prohibitions come into effect and a recovery strategy must be developed in the two years following the listing. When a species of special concern is added to the list, a management plan must be prepared in the three years following the listing. 

You are invited to comment on whether the Northern Brook Lamprey and the Lake Sturgeon should be protected by the Species at Risk Act. For more information, or to provide comments, download the consultation workbooks at www.sararegistry.gc.ca or contact:

Species at Risk Coordination Office
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Email: especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
1-877-775-0848

Please provide your comments by April 25, 2008 .

Back

 

DFO Reports Online

The Council of Fisheries and Oceans Canada Librarians is pleased to announce that over 1,000 departmental reports have been digitized and are now available online! For a list of all available online reports, go to: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca and click on “Libraries” in the left-hand vertical menu bar.

Digitized report series:

  • Canadian data reports of fisheries and aquatic sciences

  • Canadian data reports of hydrography and ocean sciences

  • Canadian industry reports of fisheries and aquatic sciences

  • Canadian manuscript reports of fisheries and aquatics sciences

  • Canadian technical reports of fisheries and aquatic sciences

  • Canadian technical reports of hydrography and ocean sciences

For more information, please contact Christine Lemay,
at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute Library:
418-775-0551
or Christine.Lemay@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Back

 

New Science Advisory Reports on the Internet

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, in the “Publications” section, 2007 series:

• Recovery Potential Assessment Report of Copper Redhorse (Moxostoma hubbsi) (2007/043)

• Assessment of the Greenland Halibut Stock in the Gulf of St. Lawrence   (4RST) in 2006 (2007/044)

Back

 

Convictions for Fisheries Act Violations

By Martin Bourget

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act. DFO continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy on violations of the Fisheries Act. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

Offender

Home

Offence

Sentencing date and fine

Judge

Guylaine Cloutier

Dominique Cloutier

Gaspé

Harvesting shellfish in a closed area.

December 3, 2007

$200 each

Julie Dionne

Robert Y. Arsenault

Bonaventure

Harvesting shellfish in a closed area.

December 18, 2007

$300

Luc Marchildon

Keaven Hovington

Sainte-Anne-de-Portneuf

Harvesting softshell clams under the legal size of 51 mm.

January 7, 2008

$300

François Kouri

Guy Lafrance

Alain Poitras

Forestville

Possession of softshell clams under the legal size of 51 mm.

January 7, 2008

$300 each

François Kouri

André Parent

Cap-Chat

Fishing for Greenland halibut using nets with mesh smaller than the minimum legal size.

January 9, 2008

$500

Luc Marchildon

Rosaire Ross

Matane

Non-compliance with 2007 whelk licence conditions by harvesting whelk using whelk traps without valid tags.

Non-compliance with 2006 whelk licence conditions by keeping whelks under the legal size of 70 mm.

January 10, 2008

$700 + a fine of $556.57

representing the percentage of illegal whelks, namely 67%.

François Kouri

Patrice Cyr

Chandler

Possession of lobsters smaller than the legal size.

January 28, 2008

$750

Luc Marchildo

Back

 

Marine Commercial Fisheries in Quebec - 2007 Season Highlights

By Richard Lessard

At the end of October 2007, the value of landings, all species combined, at all Quebec ports, was $137 million, a rise of 18% from the same period the year before. The total volume of landings was approximately 53,000 tonnes, a decrease of 9%. The rise in value is due mainly to an increase in landed prices
for snow crab and lobster. The decrease in volume is due to a decrease in catches of a number of species, including snow crab, Gulf shrimp, molluscs and pelagic fish.

 

Table - Marine Commercial Fisheries in Quebec - 2007 Season Highlights

Back

 

Underwater Discoveries in the St. Lawrence

By Karina Laberge

The 2007 bathymetric survey season, carried out from April to December by hydrographic teams from the Canadian Hydrographic Service led to the discovery of some very interesting underwater topographic features, as well as of a number of new wrecks. 

The discovery of the underwater remains of what is very likely a landslide near Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive is very convincing.  The remnants of the slide stretch into the middle of the estuary.

Four wrecks were discovered near Île aux Coudres and Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies.  One is thought to be the Donnacona No. 1, a barge that had been transporting wood and disappeared with six crew members under mysterious circumstances on October 29, 1942 .  Located about 3.5 nautical miles (6.5 kilometres) off Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, it measures about 45 metres by 10 and lies at a depth of 17 metres.  The wreck’s size and position closely match those mentioned in various historical documents, but until now, its exact location was unknown.  The other three wrecks have yet to be identified, but all have been reported to Transport Canada’s Receiver of Wrecks.

Finally, the Canadian Hydrographic Service observed that the bow of the wreck of the Nipigon had shifted a distance of about 25 metres from its original position.  A Canadian Navy destroyer, the Nipigon was deliberately scuttled in 2003 to form an artificial reef off Sainte-Luce in the Lower St. Lawrence. 

Several such discoveries have been made in the course of a seafloor-mapping project undertaken under Canada’s Oceans Action Plan, by Fisheries and Oceans Canada and Natural Resources Canada.  Surveys were carried out aboard the science vessel Frederick G. Creed and the Guillemot, a hydrographic survey launch.  The goal of the project is to gain a better understanding of the marine environment and identify areas for protection.

Picture - Ship
DFO R. Côté

Back

 

Proposed Recovery Strategy for the Blue Whale

By Hugues Bouchard

A recovery strategy for the blue whale will soon be available for comments on the public registry of the Species at Risk Act. Developed by the blue whale recovery team, comprised of a dozen members from various departments or organizations, this strategy identifies what must be done to stop or reverse the decline of the species. The goal of the recovery strategy is to reach a population of at least 1,000 mature blue whales.

The blue whale population in the Northwest Atlantic was added to the Species at Risk Act (SARA) list as an endangered species in January 2005. At this time, it is estimated that the number of mature animals of this population does not exceed 250 individuals. Commercial whale hunting historically carried out in the Atlantic reduced the population by about 70%; at least 1,500 blue whales were killed before the 1960s in eastern Canada waters.

In addition to historic hunting and natural sources of mortality (i.e., ice entrapments and predation), a total of nine threats to the recovery of blue whales are listed in this recovery strategy. Because of this population’s small size, even the activities affecting a small number of individuals can have a significant impact on the species’ survival in the Atlantic.

The recovery strategy identified a number of measures to stop the decline of the blue whale. Here are some of them:

• Ensure that all man-made activities that include intense acoustic sources (e.g., seismic exploration, military operations, explosions, drilling) be subject to rigorous examination in order to evaluate their direct and indirect impact on blue whales, and implement mitigation measures when required;

• Identify overlapping areas between shipping lanes and marine mammal concentration areas and assess the options in order to minimize blue whale exposure to vessel noise and risk of collisions;

• Promote the continuation of the moratorium on forage species until better knowledge is available in terms of their ability to sustain the blue whale population;

• Implement a blue whale carcass necropsy programme in eastern Canada in order to systematically identify the causes of mortality.

To comment on the proposed recovery strategy, visit www.sararegistry.gc.ca or contact the Species at Risk Coordination Office, at 1-877-775-0848 or especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Picture - Blue whale
MPO J.F. Gosselin

RISKS

Among the threats described, two could represent a high risk for the blue whale population due to their probability of occurrence or acuity:

• Man-made noise which potentially alters blue whale habitat and behaviour;
• Food availability

Three could represent a medium risk:

• Persistent marine contaminants;
• Collisions with ships;
• Disturbance caused by touristic or scientific whale-watching activities.

Four could represent a lower risk:

• Physical damage caused by noise;
• Accidental entanglements in fishing gear;
• An epizootic;
• Toxic product spills.

Epizootic

This word is used when a disease affects an animal species or a group of species as a whole in a more or less extensive area. An epizootic can be defined as an epidemic that affects animals.

Back

Infoceans

February - March 2008
Volume 11
Number 1

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Quebec Region
Communications Branch
104, Dalhousie St.
Quebec (Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: (418) 648-7747

Director:
Caroline Hilt

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 11 – Numéro 1 – Février - Mars 2008



Le gouvernement du Canada se dessaisit du quai de Portneuf-sur-Mer

Le 1er février dernier, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le dessaisissement du quai fédéral de Portneuf-sur-Mer. L’entente de principe conclue avec la municipalité permettra à cette dernière d’assurer la gestion et le développement du quai pour le bénéfice de ses citoyens.  Un montant de 600 000 $ sera remis à la municipalité afin de permettre la réhabilitation des installations. 

Le dessaisissement, qui découle d’une étroite collaboration entre Pêches et Océans Canada et la municipalité, favorisera le développement touristique de la région. Ce projet a été entrepris dans le cadre du Programme de dessaisissement de Pêches et Océans Canada administré par la Direction générale des ports pour petits bateaux du Ministère.

Photo - Martin St-Gelais, Jean-Marie Delaunay, Denis Lebel, Gervais Bouchard
Martin St-Gelais, directeur Secteur Côte-Nord, monsieur Jean-Marie Delaunay, maire de Portneuf-sur-Mer, monsieur Denis Lebel, député de Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean, qui a procédé à l'annonce, et monsieur Gervais Bouchard, directeur régional des Ports pour petits bateaux à Pêches et Océans Canada. - MPO M. Loiselle

Retour

 

Une première mondiale en matière de dispersion d'hydrocarbures dans les eaux encombrées de glace

Par Martin Blouin, Bernard Doyon et Nathalie Letendre

Du 27 janvier au 1er février dernier, au large de Matane, une expérience inédite a été menée à partir du NGCC Martha L. Black. En effet, un groupe de scientifiques de la Garde côtière canadienne et de Pêches et Océans Canada a déversé 600 litres de pétrole brut dans les eaux glacées de l’estuaire! Cet exercice visait à tester sur le terrain une méthode novatrice d’intervention qui minimise l’impact des déversements d’hydrocarbures dans des eaux encombrées de glace en diminuant les risques de pollution de l’environnement.

Cette méthode accélère les processus naturels de biodégradation et permet de disperser des hydrocarbures (pétrole brut de type léger) sous forme de particules très fines en n’utilisant que des produits non toxiques et neutres pour l’environnement. Ces particules, appelées agrégats pétrole-argile, sont généralement constituées de gouttelettes de pétrole recouvertes de minéraux fins qui préviennent la reformation de la nappe d’hydrocarbures à la surface de l’eau. La formation des agrégats par de fortes vagues le long des côtes est un processus naturel bien connu. Lors de l’exercice au large de Matane, on a tenté d’accroître la formation d’agrégats par un déploiement d’énergie venant de l’action des hélices du brise-glace, combiné à l’ajout de minéraux argileux fins.

Les résultats de l’étude seront connus dans quelques mois mais les premières observations confirment qu’il y a eu formation d’agrégats pétrole-argile. La Garde côtière canadienne cherche à améliorer ses méthodes d'intervention en cas de déversements d'hydrocarbures. Le succès de cette expérience laisse présager une percée internationale en matière d’intervention environnementale dans les eaux couvertes de glace morcelée.

Des scientifiques avaient constaté que dans certains cas, les hydrocarbures déversés près des côtes interagissent avec des particules en suspension et, avec le temps, sont dispersés naturellement par le déferlement des vagues. Le procédé naturel était connu, encore fallait-il tenter de l'utiliser de façon opérationnelle, et c'est ce que la Garde côtière canadienne a fait.

Photo - Récupération des instruments de mesures (compteur de particules et turbidimètre) et de la caméra sous-marine.
Récupération des instruments de mesures (compteur de particules et turbidimètre) et de la caméra sous-marine. - MPO M. Blouin

Retour

 

Consultations LEP pour poissons d'eau douce

Pêches et Océans Canada étudie actuellement la pertinence de protéger deux espèces de poissons d’eau douce, la lamproie du Nord et l’esturgeon jaune, en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a recommandé que la lamproie du Nord soit inscrite comme espèce préoccupante. Pour ce qui est de l’esturgeon jaune, le COSEPAC a désigné 8 populations dont deux se retrouvent au Québec. Il a recommandé que la population des Grands Lacs et de l’ouest du fleuve Saint-Laurent soit inscrite comme espèce menacée et que celle de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James soit inscrite comme espèce préoccupante. Lorsqu’une espèce menacée est ajoutée à la Liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, certaines interdictions s’appliquent et un programme de rétablissement doit être développé dans les deux années suivant l’inscription. Lorsqu’une espèce préoccupante est inscrite, un plan de gestion doit être préparé dans les trois années suivant l’inscription.

Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de votre avis sur la pertinence de protéger la lamproie du Nord  et l’esturgeon jaune en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pour de plus amples renseignements ou pour nous faire parvenir vos commentaires, procurez-vous les guides de consultation sur le site www.registrelep.gc.ca  ou communiquez avec :

Bureau de coordination des espèces en péril
Pêches et Océans Canada
Courriel : especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
1-877-775-0848

Veuillez nous faire parvenir vos commentaires d’ici le 25 avril 2008  

Retour

 

Les rapports du MPO en ligne

Le Conseil des bibliothécaires de Pêches et Océans Canada est fier d’annoncer que plus de 1000 rapports ministériels ont été numérisés et sont maintenant disponibles en ligne! Pour une liste complète de ces rapports, consultez le www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/ et cliquez sur « Bibliothèques » dans la barre de menu verticale à gauche.

Séries de rapports numérisés :

  • Rapports canadiens à l'industrie sur les sciences halieutiques et aquatiques

  • Rapports manuscrits canadiens des sciences halieutiques et aquatiques

  • Rapports statistiques canadiens des sciences halieutiques et aquatiques

  • Rapports statistiques canadiens sur l'hydrographie et les sciences océaniques

  • Rapports techniques canadiens des sciences halieutiques et aquatiques

  • Rapports techniques canadiens sur l'hydrographie et les sciences océaniques  

Pour plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec Christine Lemay, Bibliothèque de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne :

  418-775-0551 ou Christine.Lemay@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Retour

 

Nouveaux avis scientifiques sur Internet

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, dans la section “Publications’’,  série 2007 : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement du chevalier cuivré        (Moxostoma hubbsi) (2007/043)

• Évaluation du stock de flétan du Groenland du golfe du Saint-Laurent (4RST) en 2006 (2007/044)

Retour

 

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Par Martin Bourget

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches. Le MPO continue d’appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l’égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.
 

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels. 

Contrevenant

 

Domicile

Infraction

Date de la sentence et amende

Juge

Guylain Cloutier

Dominique Cloutier

Gaspé

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

3 décembre 2007

200 $ chacun

Julie Dionne

Robert Y. Arsenault

Bonaventure

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

18 décembre 2007

300 $

Luc Marchildon

Keaven Hovington

Sainte-Anne-
de-Portneuf

Avoir pêché des myes dans une zone fermée.

7 janvier 2008

300 $

François Kouri

Guy Lafrance

Alain Poitras

Forestville

Possession de mye de taille inférieure à la limite permise de 51 mm.

7 janvier 2008

300 $ chacun

François Kouri

André Parent

Cap-Chat

Avoir pêché le flétan du Groenland avec des filets dont le maillage était inférieur à la grandeur permise.

9 janvier 2008

500 $

Luc Marchildon

Rosaire Ross

Matane

Dérogation de ses conditions de permis de pêche au buccin pour l’année 2007 pour avoir pêché avec des casiers à buccins sans étiquette.

10 janvier 2008

700 $ + confiscation des 23 casiers à buccin

François Kouri

Dérogation de ses conditions de permis de pêche au buccin pour l’année 2006 pour avoir gardé des buccins de taille inférieure à la limite permise de 70 mm.

10 janvier 2008

700 $ + confiscation de 556,57 $, représentant le pourcentage des buccins illégaux, soit 67%

François Kouri

Patrice Cyr

Chandler

Possession de homard de taille inférieure à la taille légale.

28 janvier 2008

750 $

Luc Marchildon

Retour

 

Pêches commerciales maritimes au Québec - Faits saillants de la saison 2007

Par Richard Lessard

À la fin d’octobre 2007, la valeur des débarquements toutes espèces confondues dans les ports du Québec atteignait 137 millions de dollars, une hausse de 18 % par rapport à la même période l’an dernier. Le volume total des débarquements s’élevait quant à lui à environ 53 000 tonnes, soit une diminution de 9 %. La croissance de la valeur s’explique principalement par une hausse des prix au débarquement du crabe des neiges et du homard. La baisse du volume découle d’une diminution des captures de plusieurs espèces dont le crabe des neiges, la crevette du golfe, les mollusques et les poissons pélagiques.

Le Bilan des pêches 2007 est disponible sur www.qc.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Tableau - Blian des pêches

Retour

 

Découvertes sous-marines dans le Saint-Laurent

Par Karina Laberge

Menée d’avril à décembre 2007, la campagne des travaux de levés bathymétriques réalisée par des équipes d’hydrographes du Service hydrographique du Canada a permis de découvrir des entités topographiques sous-marines très intéressantes ainsi que plusieurs nouvelles épaves. 

La découverte des vestiges sous-marins d’un glissement de terrain près de Saint-Joseph-de-la-Rive est très probante. Ce glissement a laissé ses marques jusqu’au milieu de l’estuaire.

Quatre épaves ont été découvertes près de l’île aux Coudres et de Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies. Une d’elles serait la Donnacona no 1, une barge transportant du bois, disparue avec 6 membres d’équipage dans des circonstances mystérieuses le 29 octobre 19 42. Située à environ 3,5 milles marins (6,5 kilomètres) au large de Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, elle mesure environ 45 mètres de long par 10 mètres de large et repose à une profondeur de 17 mètres. La taille et la position de l’épave correspondent bien à ce qui a été rapporté dans différents documents historiques, mais on ignorait, jusqu’à récemment, l’endroit précis du naufrage. Les trois autres épaves n’ont pas encore été identifiées, mais elles ont été rapportées au Receveur des épaves de Transports Canada.

Enfin, le Service hydrographique du Canada a pu observer que la proue de l’épave du Nipigon s’était déplacée sur une distance d’environ 25 mètres par rapport à sa position initiale. Le Nipigon est un destroyer de la marine canadienne qui a été volontairement sabordé en 2003 au large de Sainte-Luce, dans le Bas-Saint-Laurent, pour créer un récif artificiel.

Plusieurs de ces découvertes ont été faites dans le cadre du projet de cartographie des fonds marins du Plan d’action du Canada pour les océans, mené conjointement par Pêches et Océans Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada. Les relevés ont été faits à partir du navire scientifique Frederick G. Creed et de la vedette hydrographique Guillemot. Ce projet vise à mieux connaître le milieu marin et à identifier les zones à protéger.

Photo - Bateau
MPO R. Côté

Retour

 

Proposition de programme de rétablissement du rorqual bleu

Par Hugues Bouchard

Photo - Rorqual Bleu
MPO J.F. Gosselin

Un programme de rétablissement du rorqual bleu sera bientôt disponible, pour commentaires, sur le registre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Développé par l’équipe de rétablissement du rorqual bleu, qui comprend une douzaine de membres provenant de différents ministères et organisations, ce programme identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin de l’espèce. Le but de ce programme de rétablissement est d’atteindre une population d'au moins 1000 rorquals bleus matures.

La population de rorquals bleus de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest a été inscrite sur la Liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) à titre de population en voie de disparition en janvier 2005. On estime qu’à l’heure actuelle, le nombre d’animaux matures de cette population n’excède pas 250. La chasse commerciale historique à la baleine dans l’Atlantique a réduit la population initiale d’environ 70 %; au moins 1500 rorquals bleus ont été tués avant les années 1960 dans les eaux de l’est du Canada.

Outre la chasse historique et les mortalités d’origine naturelle (i.e., emprisonnement dans la glace et prédation), neuf menaces au rétablissement des rorquals bleus ont été répertoriées dans ce programme. Étant donné la petite taille de la population, même les activités affectant un faible nombre d’individus peuvent avoir une incidence importante sur la survie de l’espèce.

Le programme de rétablissement a identifié plusieurs mesures pour arrêter le déclin du rorqual bleu. En voici quelques-unes :

• S’assurer que toutes les activités humaines faisant appel à des sources sonores intenses (p. ex., exploration sismique, opérations militaires, explosions, forages) soient soumises à des examens rigoureux pour évaluer leurs impacts directs et indirects sur les rorquals bleus, et mettre en place des mesures d’atténuation le cas échéant;

• Identifier les zones de superposition entre les voies maritimes et les aires de concentration des mammifères marins et évaluer les options afin de minimiser l’exposition des rorquals bleus au bruit des navires et au risque de collision;

• Favoriser le maintien du moratoire sur les espèces fourragères jusqu’à ce que de meilleures connaissances soient disponibles sur la capacité du milieu à soutenir la population de rorquals bleus;

• Mettre en place un programme de nécropsie des carcasses de rorqual bleu dans l’est du Canada afin d’identifier systématiquement les causes de mortalité.

Pour commenter la proposition de programme de rétablissement, visitez le www.registelep.gc.ca ou communiquez avec le Bureau de coordination des espèces en péril, au 1-877-775-0848 ou especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

 

MENACES

Parmi les menaces identifiées, deux pourraient présenter un risque élevé pour la population de rorquals bleus, que ce soit en raison de leur probabilité d’occurrence ou de la gravité de leur effet théorique :

•Le bruit provenant d’activités humaines qui modifie potentiellement l’habitat et le comportement du  rorqual bleu;
•La disponibilité de la nourriture.

Trois menaces pourraient présenter un risque moyennement élevé:

• Les contaminants marins persistants;
• Les collisions avec les navires;
• Le dérangement causé par l’observation des baleines à des fins touristiques ou scientifiques.

Quatre menaces pourraient présenter un risque moins élevé :

• Les dommages physiques causés par le bruit;
• Les prises accidentelles dans les engins de pêche;
• Les épizooties;
• Les déversements de produits toxiques.

Épizootie

On parle d’épizootie lorsqu’une maladie touche une espèce animale ou un groupe d’espèces dans son ensemble dans une région plus ou moins vaste. L’épizootie se définit comme une épidémie qui frappe les animaux.

Retour

Infocéans

Février -  Mars 2008
Volume 11 - numéro 1

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-648-7747 


Directrice : 
Caroline Hilt

Rédactrice en chef : 
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard