Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 10 – Number 5 – October - November 2007



The Maurice Lamontagne Institute: 20 Years of Achievements Benefiting the Community

By Sylvi Racine

A number of activities have been held since June to mark the 20th anniversary of the Maurice Lamontagne Institute. Touring the freshwater and marine sectors of the Quebec Region, Ariane Plourde, Director of the Institute and Regional Director, Science, and Louise Deschênes, Regional Director, Oceans and Habitat, took the opportunity to meet clients and partners and to take stock of 20 years of presence in Quebec. Their tour has taken them to Trois-Rivières, Mont-Joli, Blanc Sablon, Grande-Rivière and Cap-aux-Meules. A meeting is to be organized in Sept-Îles by the end of the year. The Institute has also been involved in events for the general public in Rimouski, Matane and Grande-Rivière.

Open House

On October 19, 20 and 21, some 2 500 visitors took advantage of the open house organized for the 20th anniversary of the Maurice Lamontagne Institute (MLI) of Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Ongoing activities at MLI were presented to visitors by means of a circuit of 37 exhibits. The teams based at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute are particularly interested in fisheries, aquaculture, marine mammals, navigation, and in the management and protection of aquatic environments, habitats, resources and ecosystems.

The research projects conducted by the Institute are of vital importance to the Department and are extremely helpful for the coastal communities because they provide essential data that contribute to the understanding of aquatic ecosystems, to the assessment and to a more effective management of the impact of human activity on these ecosystems, and to the safety of waterways. With an annual budget of 32 million dollars, the MLI employs some 400 people, including 29 scientific researchers.

Picture - MLI Open house
DFO F. Servant

Some thirty species of fish and invertebrates are sampled each year during research missions at sea. Although a few of them are fished commercially, most are virtually unknown to the general public. During the open house, visitors got to see and touch very diversified marine species.

Picture - MLI Open house
DFO F. Servant

back

 

New Science Advisory Reports on the Internet

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, in the 2007 list: www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Stock Assessment on Scallops of the inshore waters of Quebec in 2006
• Rock Crab of the Coastal Waters of Quebec in 2006
• Accounting for Changes in Natural Mortality in Gulf of St. Lawrence Cod Stocks
• Ecologically and Biologically Significant Areas (EBSA) in the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence: identification and characterization

back

 

Convictions for Fisheries Act Violations

By Martin Bourget

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act. DFO continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy on violations of the Fisheries Act. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057 . All calls are confidential.

Offender

 

Home

Offence

Sentencing date and fine

Judge

Elphège Arseneau

Québec

Carrying out work resulting in the disruption or destruction of fish habitat.

August 8, 2007
$1,000

Jean-Paul Décoste

Pierre-Luc
Gaudet-
Monnier

Le Gros 
Cap

Fishing lobster without a licence, fishing lobster during a closed time, lobster fishing in a lagoon.

August 8, 2007

$1,500 + 18-month probation with the specific condition of staying away from Magdalen Island lagoons that period.

Jean-Paul Décoste

Pierre 
Monnier

Fatima

Fishing lobster without a licence, fishing lobster during a closed time, lobster fishing in a lagoon and obstructing fisheries officers in the performance of their duties.

August 8, 2007
$2,750 + 18-month probation with the specific condition of staying away from
Magdalen Island lagoons during that period.

Jean-Paul Décoste

Sébastien Audet

Carleton

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007 - $300 + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Léopold 
Cyr

Carleton

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007 - $300 + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Ivan Deslauriers

Carleton

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007 - $300 + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Jean-Sébastien Landry

Saint-Omer

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007 - $300 + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Eric 
Michaud

Le Bic

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007
$600 + confiscation
Probation: 24-month prohibition against entering areas closed to shellfish harvesting (distance of no less than 20 metres from the banks).

Lucie Morissette

Philibert Michaud

Le Bic

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 20, 2007
$350 + confiscation
Probation: 20-month prohibition against entering areas closed to shellfish harvesting (distance of no less than 200 metres from the banks).

Lucie Morissette

Paul-André Poirier

Caplan

Shellfish harvesting in a closed area.

August 27, 2007

$300 + confiscation

Lucie Morissette

Roberto Blanchette

Saint-Anaclet-
de-Lessard

Non-compliance will hail-out requirements.

August 29, 2007

$1,000

Suzanne Bousquet

Roger Blanchette

Pointe-au-
Père

Non-compliance will hail-out requirements.

August 29, 2007

$2,100

Susanne Bousquet

Daniel Gignac

Saint-
Godefroy

Non-compliance will hail-out requirements.

August 30, 2007

$1,000

Lucie Morissette

Jean-Marie Girard

Pointe-aux-
Outardes

Non-compliance with commercial clam licence conditions (failing to wear a security vest with fishing licence number)

August 22, 2007

$200

 

Louise Gallant

Rolland Beaudin

Grande-
Rivière

Non-compliance with hail-out requirements.

September 5, 2007

$750

Luc Marchildon

Sylvio Cloutier

Percé

Non-compliance with hail-out requirements.

September 5, 2007

$1,250

Luc Marchildon

Christian Daraiche

Pabos

 

Unlawful snow crab landings.

September 5, 2007 - $1,200 + confiscation

Luc Marchildon

Phyllis Jonhson

Saint-Georges-
de-Malbaie

Lobster under 82 mm.

September 5, 2007 + confiscation

Luc Marchildon

Robert Lebel

Port-Cartier

Taking Atlantic halibut during closed season.

September 7, 2007 - $1,050

Louise Gallant

Jean-Claude D’Auteuil

Forestville

Breach of clam licence conditions. Failure to wear a vest.

September 18, 2007

$200

Louise Gallant

Jason Gagnon

Saint-Marc-
de-Latour

Taking clams in a bed closed because of contamination.

September 18, 2007

$200

Louise Gallant

Pierrot Cyr

Étang du 
Nord

Possession of lobsters smaller than the legal size.

 

 

 

Contravened conditions of lobster fishing licence by starting activities before 5 a.m.

October 17, 2007

$1,000 + suspension of fishing licence for the first two days of the lobster fishing season

October 17, 2007

$750 + suspension of fishing licence for the first two days of the lobster fishing season  

Jean-Paul Décoste

Donald Bourgeois

Bassin

Possession of lobsters smaller than the legal size.

October 17, 2007 - $500

Jean-Paul Décoste

Raynald Bourgeois

Bassin

Possession of an egg-bearing female.

October 17, 2007 - $500

Jean-Paul Décoste

Réal Chevarie

Havre-aux-
Maisons

Possession of lobsters smaller than the legal size.

October 17, 2007 - $1,000

Jean-Paul Décoste

André Leblanc

Étang du 
Nord

Possession of lobsters smaller than the legal size.

October 17, 2007 - $500

Jean-Paul Décoste

Bernard Leblanc

Fatima

Contravened conditions of lobster fishing licence by starting activities before 5 a.m.

October 17, 2007 - $750

Jean-Paul Décoste

Jeffrey Weeks

Grosse-
îles

Possession of an egg-bearing female.

October 17, 2007 - $500

Jean-Paul Décoste

back

 

Connected to Marine Science at www.osl.gc.ca

By Joanne Hamel

The St. Lawrence Observatory (OSL), a Fisheries and Oceans Canada Internet portal launched in January 2000, is dedicated to the presentation and distribution of scientific data and information on the St. Lawrence. These data, widely used by communities, are essential to a better understanding and a well-informed use of the marine environment and coastal areas.

Online: data on the environment and living resources
Data collection activities provide facts, observations and measurements that form the basis of our knowledge of the St. Lawrence ecosystem. The products and services offered on the OSL portal are the results of numerous collaborations, not only within the governmental and academic scientific community, but also with other areas of activity such as shipping and fisheries.

In May 2000, the OSL presented real-time oceanographic and environmental data (salinity, temperature, wind, etc.) transmitted by a first oceanographic buoy anchored in the estuary off the Maurice Lamontagne Institute (MLI). Since then, data from a network of 5 buoys are available on the OSL, two of them jointly operated by the MLI and the Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski (ISMER).

 

Map - OSL

Also on the OSL are data gathered by scientific equipment installed aboard commercial ships under the Shipboard Thermosalinographs program and those of the Sentinel Fisheries program. The latter program, conducted in conjunction with inshore and offshore fishers in the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence, provides information on groundfish abundance and distribution.

The data sources available also include the MLI remote sensing laboratory, the oceanographic monitoring program and the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS), which provides data such as tides, water levels, as well as hourly forecasts of surface currents and sea ice concentration and thickness for the estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Picture - Sentinel fisheries program

Drawing attention to marine science
The OSL enables the Department to share its views and expertise on marine science information with the wide community of portal users coming from every continent and engaged in a variety of areas of activity: commercial shipping and pleasure boating, government agencies, educational and research institutions, industry (ecotourism, coastal zone management, fisheries, etc) and the general public.

Towards the St. Lawrence Global Observatory
Since the end of 2005, DFO has been part of a network of 11 organizations—federal, provincial, academic and community-based—working to implement the St. Lawrence Global Observatory (SLGO), an initiative intended to provide quick and transparent integrated access to data and information from member organizations for the sustainable management of the global St. Lawrence ecosystem. This pooling of means and expertise will translate into an efficient access to the collective data assets and will promote co-operation and synergy.

Chart - Users of the St. Lawrence Global Observatory

back

 

Carrefour Maritime: DFO's Dynamic Presence in Grande-Rivière

For the seventh straight year, Fisheries and Oceans Canada was present at the Carrefour maritime. The Department notably took part in a series of lectures on new technologies at the service of marine interests, eco-certification of seafood products, and sharing Quebec’s coastal environments.

The Department took advantage of the event to promote marine careers and occupations among hundreds of high-school and college students and the general public, with stands on resource conservation and protection, careers in the Coast Guard, the products and services of the Canadian Hydrographic Service, Harbour Authorities and invasive species.  Visitors were welcomed aboard both the fisheries conservation and protection vessel CCGS Louisbourg and a fisheries patrol aircraft.

Picture - Carrefour Maritime 1
Danielle Dorion, Habitat Biologist, introduces a few students to aquatic invasive species. Research carried out by scientists is providing information about how these species spread and how they affect the environment. - DFO M. Plamondon
Picture - Carrefour Maritime 3
Normand Tremblay, Chief Officer aboard the NGCC Louisbourg, explains his work to young Carrefour maritime participants and demonstrates that the Coast Guard has exciting and diversified jobs to offer, be it on ships or on land. - DFO M. Langlois

 

Picture - Carrefour Maritime 2
Guy Tremblay, a DFO Fishery Officer, describes his job and explains the importance of conservation and protection-related work for the future of marine resources. - DFO M. Plamondon

back

 

New Activities to Protect the Health of the Oceans

A new Government of Canada investment of $42.5 million over three years will fund activities to conserve and protect Canadian oceans, under the National Water Strategy. This funding is in addition to the $19.0 million over two years announced in the 2007 Budget, bringing the five-year commitment for the health of the oceans to $61.5 million.

This funding will enable Fisheries and Oceans Canada to create four new national Oceans Centres of Expertise, to enhance its spill response capacity and emergency planning in the Arctic Ocean and to conduct scientific research for the designation of new marine protected areas.

Transport Canada , Environment Canada, Parks Canada and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada will also participate in this five-year plan which aims at improving the health of Canada ’s three oceans.

back

 

Erratum: Aquatic Species at Risk in Quebec

In the Infoceans August-September issue, an article stated that the aquatic species that the Government of Canada intends to add to the list of wildlife species at risk, located in Quebec are the Copper Redhorse, the Shortnose Cisco and the Deepwater Sculpin. This should have been “the Copper Redhorse (endangered), the River Redhorse (special concern) and the Deepwater Sculpin, Great Lakes and Upper St. Lawrence population (special concern)”. Our apologies for this error.

back

Infoceans

October - November 2007
Volume 10
Number 5

Published by:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Quebec Region
Communications Branch
104, Dalhousie St.
Quebec (Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: (418) 648-7747

Director:
Caroline Hilt

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 10 – Numéro 5 – Octobre - Novembre 2007



L'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne : 20 ans de réalisations au profit des collectivités

Par Sylvi Racine

Plusieurs activités ont été organisées depuis juin pour souligner le 20e anniversaire de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne. En tournée dans les secteurs fluvial et maritime de la région du Québec, Ariane Plourde, directrice de l’Institut et directrice régionale des Sciences et Louise Deschênes, directrice régionale Océans et Habitat, ont eu l’occasion de rencontrer clients et partenaires et de dresser le bilan de 20 ans de présence au Québec. Cette tournée les a menées à Trois-Rivières, Mont-Joli, Blanc Sablon, Grande-Rivière et Cap-aux-Meules. Une rencontre sera organisée à Sept-Îles d’ici à la fin de l’année. L’Institut a également participé à des événements destinés au grand public à Rimouski, Matane et Grande-Rivière.

Portes ouvertes

Les 19, 20 et 21 octobre, quelque 2500 personnes ont profité des portes ouvertes marquant le 20e anniversaire de l'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML) de Pêches et Océans Canada. Les travaux qu'on y mène ont été présentés aux visiteurs dans un circuit de 37 stands d'exposition. Les équipes basées à l’Institut s’intéressent particulièrement aux pêches, à l’aquaculture, aux mammifères marins, à la navigation, à la gestion et la protection de l’environnement, de l’habitat, des ressources et des écosystèmes aquatiques.

Les travaux de l’IML sont d’une importance cruciale pour le Ministère et d’une grande utilité pour les collectivités côtières car ils fournissent des données essentielles qui aident à comprendre les écosystèmes aquatiques, à évaluer et à mieux gérer les impacts de l’activité humaine sur ces écosystèmes, et à garantir la sécurité des voies navigables. Doté d’un budget annuel de 32 000 000 $, l’IML fournit de l’emploi à quelque 400 personnes dont vingt-neuf chercheurs scientifiques.  

Photo - IML
Une trentaine d'espèces de poissons et d'invertébrés sont échantillonnés chaque année lors des missions de recherche en mer. Bien que quelques-unes d'entre elles soient pêchées commercialement, la plupart restent peu connues du public. Lors des portes ouvertes, les visiteurs ont eu l'occasion de voir et de toucher des espèces marines très diversifiées. - MPO F. Servant
Photo - IML
MPO F. Servant

Retour

 

Nouveaux avis scientifiques sur Internet

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, dans la série 2007 : www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas

• Évaluation des stocks de pétoncles des eaux côtières du Québec en 2006
• Le crabe commun des eaux côtières du Québec en 2006
• Prise en considération des changements dans la mortalité naturelle au sein des stocks de morue du golfe du Saint-Laurent
• Zones d'importance écologique et biologique (ZIEB) de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent : identification et caractérisation

Retour

 

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Par Martin Bourget

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches. Le MPO continue d’appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l’égard des contrevenants à la Loi sur les pêches. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057 . Les appels sont confidentiels.

Contrevenant

 

Domicile

Infraction

Date de la sentence et amende

Juge

Elphège Arseneau

Québec

Avoir effectué des travaux ayant perturbé ou détruit l’habitat du poisson.

8 août 2007
1 000 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Pierre-Luc Gaudet-
Monnier

Le Grop 
Cap

Pêché au homard sans permis, pêche au homard en période de fermeture, pêche au homard dans une lagune.

8 août 2007
1 500 $ + probation de 18 mois avec la condition particulière de ne pas se retrouver dans une lagune des Îles-de-la-Madeleine pendant cette période.

Jean-Paul Décoste

Pierre 
Monnier

Fatima

Pêche au homard sans permis, pêche au homard en période de fermeture, pêche au homard dans une lagune et entrave au travail des agents des pêches.

8 août 2007
2 750 $ + probation de 18 mois avec la condition particulière de ne pas se retrouver dans une lagune des Îles-de-la-Madeleine pendant cette période.

Jean-Paul Décoste

Sébastien Audet

Carleton

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007 – 300 $ + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Léopold 
Cyr

Carleton

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007 – 300 $ + confiscation

Jean Bébu

Ivan Deslauriers

Carleton

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007 – 300 $ + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Jean-
Sébastien Landry

Saint-
Omer

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007 – 300 $ + confiscation

Jean Bécu

Éric
Michaud

Le Bic

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007 – 300 $ + confiscation
Probation : 24 mois d’interdiction de se trouver à une distance de 200 mètres des berges de toutes zones interdites à la pêche aux mollusques.

Lucie Morissette

Philibert Michaud

Le Bic

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

20 août 2007
350 $ + confiscation
Probation : 12 mois d’interdiction de se trouver à une distance de 200 mètres des berges de toutes zones interdites à la pêche aux mollusques.

Lucie Morissette

Paul-André Poirier

Caplan

Cueillette de mollusques dans une zone fermée.

27 août 2007
300 $ +confiscation

Lucie Morissette

Roberto Blanchette

Saint-Anaclet-
de-Lessard

Appel de sortie en mer non-conforme.

29 août 2007
1 000 $

Susanne Bousquet

Roger Blanchette

Pointe-
au-Père

Appel de sortie en mer non-conforme.

29 août 2007
2 100 $

Susanne Bousquet

Daniel 
Gignac

Saint-Godefroy

Appel de sortie en mer non-conforme.

30 août 2007
1 000 $

Lucie Morissette

Jean-
Marie 
Girard

Pointe-aux-
Outardes

Avoir dérogé à ses conditions de permis de myes commerciales (ne portait pas son dossard sur lequel apparaît son numéro de permis).

22 août 2007
200 $

Louise Gallant

Rolland Beaudin

Grande-Rivière

Appel en sortie en mer non-conforme

5 septembre 2007 – 750 $

Luc Marchildon

Sylvio Cloutier

Percé

Appel de sortie en mer non-conforme.

5 septembre 2007 – 1 250 $

Luc Marchildon

Christian Daraiche

Pabos

Débarquement illégal de crabe des neiges.

5 septembre 2007 – 1200 $ + confiscation

Luc Marchildon

Phyllis 
Johnson

Saint-Georges-
de-Malbaie

 

Homard inférieur à 82 mm.

5 septembre 2007 – 500 $ + confiscation

Luc Marchildon

Robert Lebel

Port-Cartier

Avoir pêché le flétan de l’Atlantique en période de fermeture.

7 septembre 2007 – 1 050 $

Louise Gallant

Jean-Claude D’Auteuil

Forestville

Dérogation aux conditions de permis de pêche à la mye. Ne portait pas de dossard.

18 septembre 2007
200 $

Louise Gallant

Jason Gagnon

Saint-Marc-
de-Latour

Avoir pêché des myes dans un secteur fermé pour contamination.

18 septembre 2007
200 $

Louise Gallant

Pierrot Cyr

Étang du 
Nord

Possession de homards inférieurs à la taille légale.

 

 

 

Dérogation aux conditions de permis pour la pêche au homard pour avoir débuté ses activités avant 5 h.

17 octobre 2007
1 000 $ + suspension du permis de pêche pour les deux premiers jours de la saison de pêche au homard

 

17 octobre 2007

750 $ + suspension du permis de pêche pour les deux premiers jours de la saison de pêche au homard

Jean-Paul Décoste

Donald Bourgeois

Bassin

Possession de homards inférieurs à la taille légale.

17 octobre 2007
500 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Raynald Bourgeois

Bassin

Possession d’un homard femelle oeuvée.

17 octobre 2007 – 500 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Réal Chevarie

Havre-
aux-Maisons

Possession de homards inférieurs à la taille légale.

17 octobre 2007 – 500 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

André Leblanc

Étang du 
Nord

Possession de homards inférieurs à la taille légale.

17 octobre 2007 – 100 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Bernard Leblanc

Fatima

Dérogation aux conditions de permis pour la pêche au homard pour avoir débuté ses activités avant 5 h.

17 octobre 2007 – 750 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Jeffrey Weeks

Grosse-
Îles

Possession d’un homard femelle oeuvée.

17 octobre 2007 – 500 $

Jean-Paul Décoste

Retour

 

Branché sur les sciences de la mer à www.osl.gc.ca

Par Joanne Hamel

L'Observatoire du Saint-Laurent (OSL), un portail Internet de Pêches et Océans Canada lancé en janvier 2000, est dédié à la diffusion et à la mise en valeur des données et de l'information de nature scientifique portant sur le Saint-Laurent. Ces données, largement utilisées par les collectivités, sont nécessaires à une meilleure compréhension et à une utilisation éclairée du milieu marin et des zones côtières.

Photo - Pêche sentinelle

Les pêches sentinelles contribuent au développement des séries temporelles d’indices d’abondance de stocks de poissons de fond et de poissons pélagiques, en collaboration avec l’industrie de la pêche.   - MPO A. Fréchet

En ligne : des données sur l’environnement et les ressources vivantes

La récolte de données fournit les faits, les observations et les mesures qui constituent la base de notre connaissance de l'écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Les produits et services offerts sur l’OSL sont le fruit de nombreuses collaborations, non seulement au sein de la communauté scientifique gouvernementale et académique, mais aussi avec d'autres secteurs d'activité comme la navigation et les pêcheries.

En mai 2000, l’OSL a diffusé en temps réel les données océanographiques et environnementales (salinité, température, vents, etc.) récoltées par une première bouée océanographique ancrée dans l’estuaire en face de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML). Depuis, l’OSL diffuse les données d’un réseau de stations comptant 5 bouées, dont deux sont exploitées conjointement par l’IML et l’Institut des sciences de la mer de Rimouski (ISMER).

 

Carte - OSL

On retrouve également sur l’OSL les données récoltées par des appareils de collecte installés à bord de navires commerciaux dans le cadre du programme Thermosalinographes en route ainsi que celles du programme Pêches sentinelles. Ce dernier, mené en collaboration avec des pêcheurs côtiers et hauturiers du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, permet d’obtenir des renseignements sur l’abondance et la distribution de poisson de fond.

Les sources de données disponibles incluent aussi le laboratoire de télédétection de l’IML, le programme de monitorage océanographique et le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC), qui fournit les marées et niveaux d’eau ainsi que les prévisions horaires de courants de surface, de concentration et d’épaisseur des glaces de mer pour l'ensemble de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Un rayonnement pour les sciences de la mer
L’OSL permet au Ministère de partager son point de vue et son expertise en matière d'information sur les sciences de la mer puisque les utilisateurs du portail proviennent de tous les continents et sont issus de secteurs d'activité tels la navigation commerciale et de plaisance, les organismes gouvernementaux, les institutions d’enseignement et de recherche, l'industrie (éco-tourisme, gestion de zone côtière, pêcheries, etc.) et le public en général.

Vers l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent
Depuis la fin de 2005, le MPO fait partie d’un réseau de 11 organismes fédéraux, québécois, universitaires et communautaires qui travaille à la mise en œuvre de l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent (OGSL), une initiative visant à offrir un accès intégré, rapide et transparent à l’ensemble des données et informations récoltées par les membres du réseau pour une gestion durable de l’écosystème global du Saint-Laurent. Cette mise en commun des moyens et de l’expertise permettra l’optimisation de l’accès à un ensemble de données et favorisera la collaboration et la concertation.

Graphique - Nombre d'utilisateurs fréquentant l'OSL

Le nombre d’utilisateurs fréquentant l’OSL est passé de quelques milliers à plus de 100 000 en 2006. Le nombre d’accès au contenu du portail a suivi la même tendance pour atteindre un total de près de 14 millions l’an dernier.

Retour

 

Carrefour maritime : Présence dynamique du MPO à Grande-Rivière

Par Sylvi Racine

Pour une septième année consécutive, Pêches et Océans Canada était présent au Carrefour maritime en participant, notamment, à une série de conférences sur les nouvelles technologies au service du monde maritime, l’éco certification des produits de la mer et la cohabitation en milieux côtiers du Québec.

Le Ministère a profité de l’événement pour promouvoir les carrières et professions liées au secteur maritime auprès de centaines d'étudiants des niveaux secondaire et collégial ainsi que du grand public. Il a présenté des stands sur la conservation et la protection de la ressource, les carrières à la Garde côtière, les produits et services du Service hydrographique du Canada, les administrations portuaires et les espèces envahissantes. Les visiteurs ont pu monter à bord d’un navire de conservation et de protection des pêches, le NGCC Louisbourg, de même qu’à bord d’un avion de surveillance des pêches.

Photo - Carrefour maritime
Danielle Dorion, biologiste de l’habitat, initie quelques étudiants aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes. Les recherches menées par les scientifiques sur ces espèces permettent de connaître leur mode de dispersion et d'évaluer leurs impacts sur l'environnement. - MPO M. Plamondon
Photo - Carrefour maritime
Normand Tremblay, chef officier sur le navire NGCC Louisbourg, explique son travail à des jeunes participants au Carrefour maritime et démontre que la Garde côtière offre des emplois stimulants et diversifiés, tant à bord des navires que sur terre. - MPO M. Langlois
Photo - Carrefour maritime
Guy Tremblay, agent des pêches du MPO, décrit le métier d'agent des pêches et explique l'importance du travail de conservation et de protection pour l'avenir des ressources marines. - MPO M. Plamondon

Retour

 

Nouveaux projets pour protéger la santé des océans

Un nouvel investissement du gouvernement du Canada de 42,5 millions de dollars sur trois ans financera des activités de conservation des océans du Canada, dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale sur l’eau. Cette somme, qui s’ajoute aux 19 millions de dollars sur deux ans annoncés dans le budget 2007, porte à 61,5 millions de dollars le financement alloué à la santé des océans dans les cinq prochaines années.

Cet investissement permettra à Pêches et Océans Canada de créer quatre nouveaux centres d’expertise nationaux sur les océans, d’améliorer la planification des mesures d’urgence et des capacités d’intervention en cas de déversement dans l’océan Arctique, et de réaliser des recherches scientifiques en vue de la désignation de nouvelles zones de protection marines.

Transports Canada, Environnement Canada, Parcs Canada et Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada participeront également à ce plan quinquennal qui vise à améliorer la santé des trois océans du Canada.

Retour

 

Erratum : espèces aquatiques en péril au Québec

Dans l’édition août-septembre 2007 d’Infocéans, on indiquait que les espèces aquatiques que le gouvernement du Canada a l’intention d’ajouter à la liste des espèces en péril et qui sont présentes au Québec étaient le chevalier cuivré, le cisco à museau court et le chabot de profondeur. Il aurait fallu lire « le chevalier cuivré (en voie de disparition), le chevalier de rivière (préoccupante) et le chabot de profondeur, population des Grands Lacs et du haut Saint-Laurent (préoccupante) ». Toutes nos excuses pour cette erreur.

Retour

Infocéans

Octobre - Novembre 2007
Volume 10 - numéro 5

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7
Téléphone : 418-648-7747 


Directrice : 
Caroline Hilt

Rédactrice en chef : 
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard