Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Infoceans
The Quebec Region Bulletin
Volume 9 – Number 1 – February – March 2006



NEW MINISTER OF FISHERIES AND OCEANS : THE HONOURABLE LOYOLA HEARN
Picture - Loyola Hearn, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

 On February 6, 2006, Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the appointment of Loyola Hearn as Minister of Fisheries and Oceans.

Loyola Hearn was elected as a Member of Parliament in a federal by-election in 2000 in the riding of St. John’s South–Mount Pearl (Newfoundland and Labrador). He was re-elected in 2004 and 2006.

Mr. Hearn most recently served as Official Opposition Critic for Fisheries and Oceans. Prior to this, he was Critic for the Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, for Public Works and Government Services and for Canadian Heritage.

Mr. Hearn also served as Conservative Party House Leader and was a member of a number of standing committees and parliamentary subcommittees.

Prior to his election to the House of Commons, he served in the Newfoundland House of Assembly as the Member for the riding of St. Marys–The Capes from 1982 to 1993, and was Minister of Education from 1985 to 1989.

Mr. Hearn was born in the fishing village of Renews, where he received his early education. He studied at Memorial University of Newfoundland and the University of New Brunswick. After graduating from Memorial University in 1969, he returned to Renews to teach.

Mr. Hearn lives in Renews with his wife, Maureen, and they have two children.

Back

 

COMMERCIAL FISHING RESULTS IN QUEBEC: 2005 SEASON

By Richard Lessard

Picture - Commercial fishing

By the end of November 2005, 57,000 tonnes of fish and shellfish had been landed in Quebec, for a total value of $140 million. These results are in line with the averages for the last 15 years.

The aggregate volume of landings posted for all species is close to the average of 59,000 tonnes for the last 15 years. The landed value of $140 million is slightly higher than the average of $134 million recorded for 15 years.

Results for the various species harvested are positive. The 2005 season saw an increase in the landings and landed value of cod, scallops and Atlantic halibut. Snow crab catches also rose by 8%, in terms of volume.

The landed prices for lobster, shrimp, scallops, Atlantic halibut, herring and mackerel were all higher than in 2004, but snow crab prices suffered a sharp drop of 43%.

 

Graphic - Trends in Quebec landings, 1990-2005(p)

Results for Areas

GASPE

Aggregate landings for all species in the Gaspe were 36,000 tonnes, worth $73 million. This represents a drop in both volume and value from the 2004 season, whose results were 40,000 tonnes with a value of $108 million. However, both volume and value were higher than the Gaspe average for the last 15 years.

In 2005, 64% of total Quebec marine resources harvested were landed at Gaspe harbours. This was made up of 45% shrimp and 27% snow crab. Close to 60% of all snow crab catches and 92% of all shrimp catches were landed at Gaspe harbours.

In 2005, Gaspe landings represented 52% of total Quebec landing values, made up of 44% snow crab and 29% shrimp.

MAGDALEN ISLANDS

Aggregate landings for all species in the Magdalen Islands were a little over 9,000 tonnes, worth over $44 million. This represents a decline from the 2004 season, whose results were 11,000 tonnes with a value of $55 million. While the volume of Magdalen Islands landings was lower than the average for the last 15 years, their value exceeded the average by nearly $8 million.

In 2005, 16% of total Quebec marine resources harvested were landed at Magdalen Islands harbours. This was made up of 26% lobster and 24% snow crab. Nearly 75% of total Quebec lobster catches were landed at Magdalen Islands harbours.

In 2005, Magdalen Islands landings represented 31% of total Quebec landing values, made up of 73% lobster and 19% snow crab.

 

NORTH SHORE

Aggregate landings for all species on the North Shore were 11,400 tonnes, worth $24 million. This represents a rise in volume, but a drop in values relative to the 2004 season, whose results were 10,000 tonnes with a value of $35 million. Both volume and values for North Shore landings were below the average of the last 15 years.

In 2005, 20% of total Quebec marine resources harvested were landed at North Shore harbours. This was made up of 39% snow crab and 13% groundfish. Nearly 70% of total Quebec scallop catches were landed at North Shore harbours.

In 2005, North Shore landings made up 17% of total Quebec landing values, and of this 61% was snow crab.

SPECIES HARVESTED IN QUEBEC IN 2005

Canada remained the world's main supplier of snow crab, with landings of 95,250 tonnes, more than 85% of which was exported to the United States. Snow crab prices decreased by 30% on the U.S. market and by 25% on the Japanese market owing to the combined effect of reduced demand and the higher Canadian dollar.

Despite the drop in the landed value of lobster from the 2004 level, 2005 proved to be an excellent year for this species. In the Magdalen Islands, prices and landings remained stable. The Gaspe region posted a decrease in landed volume but its effect was softened by the higher landed price.

Landings of shrimp decreased by 22% despite the record level of the total allowable catch. This decline is attributable to a dispute over landed price that arose between fishers and processors in the middle of the season. The value of scallop landings rose, primarily because of the decline in U.S. landings. Landed volume also increased, thanks mainly to the 72% increase in scallop landings in the Magdalen Islands.

The value of cod landings in the Gaspe totalled $1.3 million, or nearly 64% of the total landed value in Quebec. On the North Shore, cod landings generated $606,000, or close to 29% of the total for Quebec. Cod landings in the Magdalen Islands brought $150,000, accounting for 7% of the total landed value in Quebec.

On the topic of other groundfish species, the 2005 results show that the 3,000 tonnes of turbot (Greenland halibut) landed in the Gaspe generated $4.8 million, accounting for nearly 76% of total landed value in Quebec. With regard to Atlantic halibut, the value of Gaspe landings stood at $548,000, or nearly 64% of the total value landed in Quebec ports.

In terms of pelagic fish, herring landings fell sharply in the Magdalen Islands, but rose in the Gaspe. Landed value stood at $981,000 in the Gaspe, representing nearly 68% of the total for Quebec. The year 2005 saw a decline in mackerel landings in the Gaspe and in the Magdalen Islands, where the landed value totalled $381,000, or close to 69% of the total for Quebec.

 

Table - Graphics of 2005 season - Quebec

 

 

Back

 

MORE INFO ON MARINFO!

For several years now, the Canadian Coast Guard, Quebec Region has been building up its Internet presence with Marinfo, its marine data portal, and providing clients with yet more useful information.  A wealth of material is now accessible through this portal, such as notices to shipping, notices to mariners, the buoyage program, positions of Coast Guard vessels and ice information.  In addition, georeferenced data mean that all this information can be obtained in real time, superimposed on charts.

We invite you to visit the Marinfo portal regularly and use it as a prime reference source for marine information on the St. Lawrence.

(P.F.)

www.marinfo.gc.ca

 

Picture - Marinfo web site

Back

 

2005 SURVEY OF RECREATIONAL FISHING IN CANADA

On January 25, Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) announced the launch of the 2005 Survey of Recreational Fishing in Canada, in cooperation with provincial and territorial governments.

The survey is the most comprehensive assessment of recreational fishing conducted in Canada. It has been conducted every five years since 1975. The results are used by fisheries management agencies as a primary source of information about recreational fishing in all provinces and territories.

Survey questionnaires will be mailed to 82,000 Canadian residents and anglers from other countries by provincial and territorial agencies and DFO over the coming weeks. The purpose of the survey is to obtain reliable, up-to-date information on the importance and popularity of recreational fishing in Canada. Recipients are being asked questions such as where they fish and how often, what fish they catch and retain, their opinions on specific management issues and the amount of money they spend in pursuit of their fishing activities.

The results of the 2000 survey showed that angling in Canada is a popular outdoors activity. In 2000, there were 3.6 million active adult anglers who fished for a total of 48 million days. Of the fish caught, nearly two-thirds were released. The success of catch and release programs is a testament to the importance of conservation to Canada’s anglers. Overall, the angling population spent an estimated $6.7 billion in Canada in 2000.

A final report on the 2005 survey, with Canada-wide results as well as those for each jurisdiction, will be published next year.

More information on the results of the previous Surveys of Recreational Fishing in Canada is available on the Statistics link of DFO’s homepage at

www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Back

 

SPECIES AT RISK ACT: CONSULTATIONS ON THE PROPOSED LISTING OF WINTER SKATE

By Chantale Thiboutot

Picture - Winter skate

In recent months, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has made recommendations to the government on adding certain species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is currently holding consultations to seek input from the public on COSEWIC’s recommendation to add the following populations to this List:

 

•   Winter Skate, Eastern Scotian Shelf population (threatened)

•   Winter Skate, Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population (endangered)

COSEWIC has indicated that the listing of these populations is necessary because the species possesses life history characteristics that make it vulnerable to exploitation, that reduce the recovery rate and that increase the risk of extinction. These characteristics include delayed sexual maturity, long generation time, low fecundity and slow population growth rate.

The COSEWIC report states that since the early 1970s, the abundance of mature individuals is estimated to have declined by more than 90% on the eastern Scotian Shelf and by 98% in the southern Gulf of St.Lawrence. As well, the area occupied by the two populations appears to have declined significantly since the mid-1980s.

According to COSEWIC, one probable cause of the decline is the unsustainable rate at which these fish are taken as by-catch in fisheries directed at other groundfish species, especially flatfish.

When a species is included on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, management and/or recovery measures are implemented. Species listed as extirpated, endangered or threatened are automatically protected by the prohibitions set out in the Act.

Other consultations in process

Consultations are currently being held regarding the addition of other aquatic species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Candidate species include the Striped Bass, St. Lawrence Estuary population (extirpated); the Striped Bass, Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence population (threatened) and the Copper Redhorse (endangered).

You can provide your views on the proposed listing of the above populations by using the consultation workbooks provided on the SARA Public Registry (www.sararegistry.gc.ca) or by contacting the Species at Risk Co-ordination Office, Quebec Region:

Tel.: 1-877-775-0848

E-mail: especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Back

 

2006 DFO CONSULTATIONS WITH THE FISHING INDUSTRY

Each year, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, holds a series of consultations with fisheries stakeholders in order to develop the fisheries plans and management measures that will be in force for the following fishing season. The calendar below presents the dates and locations of these meetings.

Note: Consultation dates are subject to change without notice. Please check with your local DFO office.

Species Advisory Committees Responsibility Location Date
         
Groundfish Gulf Groundfish Regional Moncton April 11-12, 2006
         
Pelagics Atlantic mackerel Area N/D April (TBD)
  Small pelagics North Shore (herring 4S) Area Sept-Îles Week of April 17, 2006
         
Crustaceans Snow crab area 13 Interregional N/D TBD
  Magdalen Island toad crabs Area M.I. March 1, 2006
  Magdalen Island rock crabs Area M.I. March 1, 2006
  Snow crab area 12 Interregional Moncton March 14, 2006
  Snow crab area F Interregional M.I. March 21, 2006
  Gaspé rock crab Area Gaspé March 22, 2006 AM
  Snow crab area E Interregional Moncton March 23, 2006
         
Molluscs Magdalen Islands scallops Area M.I. March 2006 (TBD)
  M.I. Extended Integrated management committee of Bassin aux huîtres Area M.I. March 6, 2006
  M.I. whelk Area M.I. March 7, 2006 PM
  M.I. Atlantic quahog, Stimpson clam and razor clam Area M.I. March 7, 2006 AM
         
Echinoderms Gaspé sea urchins Area Gaspé TBD
         
Species Others meetings Responsibiliy Location Date
         
Groundfish Greenland halibut Regional + Area Québec March 2006
         
Pelagics Long term vision for herring and mackerel fisheries, Southern Gulf Area Moncton March 20-21, 2006

Back

 

NEW EDITIONS OF NAUTICAL CHARTS

By Karina Laberge

The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) recently produced new editions of nautical charts for the Lower North Shore region and the Magdalen Islands:

• Chart 4473, Île de la Grande Passe to Îles Bun

• Chart 4957, Havre-Aubert

The new editions of these charts update all information appearing on the previous versions: depths, positions and characteristics of buoys, underwater obstacles, place names and any other data of use to mariners. The charts incorporate survey data newly acquired by the Canadian Hydrographic Service.

Mariners should therefore purchase these new editions from their authorized chart dealer. The charts will be updated through Notices to Mariners.

The 2006 Tide and Current Tables of Canada are now available. This year, the Pointe-au-Père lighthouse in Rimouski has been chosen as the cover illustration for the four volumes of tide tables covering eastern Canada.

For more information on CHS products and services, please visit

 www.charts.gc.ca

Picture - Canadian tide and current tables

Back

Infoceans

February - March 2006
Volume 9
Number 1

Published by:
Communications Branch
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
104
Dalhousie St.
Quebec
(Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone:
418-648-7747

Acting Director:
Marcel-M. Boudreau

Editor:
Viviane Haeberlé

Production Coordinator:
Karina Laberge

Visual Coordinator:
Denis Chamard

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Infocéans
Bulletin d'information de la région du Québec
Volume 9 – Numéro 1 – Février - Mars 2006



NOUVEAU MINISTRE DES PÊCHES ET DES OCÉANS : L'HONORABLE LOYOLA HEARN
Photo - Loyola Hearn

 

Le 6 février 2006, le Premier ministre Stephen Harper annonçait la nomination de Loyola Hearn en tant que ministre des Pêches et des Océans.

L’honorable Loyola Hearn a été élu pour la première fois à la Chambre des communes en 2000 dans la circonscription de St. John’s South–Mount Pearl à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Il a été réélu en 2004 et 2006.

Jusqu’à tout récemment, M. Hearn était porte-parole de son parti pour les pêches et les océans. Auparavant, il avait été porte-parole pour les questions liées au portefeuille du leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, ainsi que pour les travaux publics et les services gouvernementaux et le patrimoine canadien.

En outre, M. Hearn a agi à titre de leader parlementaire du Parti conservateur et a siégé au sein de nombreux comités permanents et sous-comités parlementaires.

Avant d'être député au Parlement, M. Hearn a siégé à l’Assemblée législative de Terre-Neuve de 1982 à 1993 comme député de St. Mary's–The Capes, et a été ministre de l’Éducation de 1985 à 1989.

M. Hearn est né dans le village de pêcheurs de Renews, où il a fait ses premières années d’études. Après son secondaire, il a étudié à l’Université Memorial et à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1969, il a obtenu son diplôme de l’Université Memorial et est retourné à Renews pour y entreprendre une carrière en enseignement.

M. Hearn et sa femme, Maureen, ont deux enfants, et vivent à Renews.

 

Retour

 

BILAN DES PÊCHES COMMERCIALES AU QUÉBEC : SAISON 2005

Par Richard Lessard

Photo - Crabes

 

À la fin de novembre 2005, 57 000 tonnes de poissons, de mollusques et de crustacés avaient été débarquées au Québec, pour une valeur de 140 millions de dollars. Ces résultats respectent la moyenne des 15 dernières années.

Le volume des débarquements, toutes espèces confondues, est similaire à la moyenne de 59 000 tonnes des 15 dernières années. La valeur des débarquements, atteignant 140 millions de dollars en 2005, est légèrement supérieure à la moyenne de 134 millions de dollars sur 15 ans.

Au chapitre des espèces capturées, on note des résultats positifs. La saison 2005 révèle en effet une hausse des débarquements et de la valeur de la morue, du pétoncle et du flétan de l’Atlantique. Le volume de capture du crabe des neiges a aussi connu une augmentation de 8 %.

Les prix au débarquement du homard, de la crevette, du pétoncle, du flétan de l’Atlantique, du hareng et du maquereau ont tous connu une hausse par rapport à 2004. Le prix du crabe des neiges a chuté de 43 %.

Graphique - Évolution des débarquements de l'industrie de la pêche au Québec, entre 1990 et 2005(p)

 

Résultats selon les secteurs maritimes

La Gaspésie

Les débarquements, toutes espèces confondues, pour la Gaspésie s’élèvent à 36 000 tonnes pour une valeur de 73 millions de dollars. Ceci constitue une baisse du volume et de la valeur par rapport à la saison 2004, dont les résultats étaient de 40 000 tonnes pour une valeur de 108 millions de dollars. Cependant, volume et valeur sont supérieurs à la moyenne des 15 dernières années.

En 2005, 64 % de toute la ressource marine récoltée au Québec a été débarquée dans des ports gaspésiens. Les débarquements en Gaspésie sont constitués à 45 % de crevette et à 27 % de crabe des neiges. Près de 60 % de tout le crabe des neiges et 92 % de toute la crevette du Québec ont été débarqués dans les ports de la Gaspésie.

La valeur des débarquements en Gaspésie représente 52 % de la valeur totale des débarquements pour le Québec. Ce résultat est notamment constitué à 44 % de crabe des neiges et à 29 % de crevette.

Les Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Les débarquements, toutes espèces confondues, pour les Îles-de-la-Madeleine s’élèvent à un peu plus de 9 000 tonnes pour une valeur de plus de 44 millions de dollars. Ceci constitue une baisse du volume et de la valeur par rapport à la saison 2004, dont les résultats étaient de 11 000 tonnes pour une valeur de 55 millions de dollars. Même si le volume des débarquements est inférieur à la moyenne des 15 dernières années, la valeur quant à elle la dépasse largement de près de 8 millions de dollars.

En 2005, 16 % de toute la ressource marine récoltée au Québec a été débarquée dans les ports des Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Ce résultat est notamment constitué à 26 % de homard et à 24 % de crabe des neiges. Près de 75 % de tout le homard du Québec a été débarqué dans les ports des Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

En 2005, la valeur des débarquements aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine représente 31 % de la valeur de tous les débarquements pour le Québec. Ce résultat est notamment constitué à 73 % de homard et à 19 % de crabe des neiges.

 

La Côte-Nord

Les débarquements, toutes espèces confondues, pour la Côte-Nord s’élèvent à 11 400 tonnes pour une valeur de 24 millions de dollars. Ceci constitue une hausse du volume débarqué, mais une baisse de la valeur des débarquements par rapport à la saison 2004, dont les résultats étaient de 10 000 tonnes pour une valeur de 35 millions de dollars. Le volume et la valeur des débarquements sur la Côte-Nord sont inférieurs à la moyenne des 15 dernières années.

En 2005, 20 % de toute la ressource marine récoltée au Québec a été débarqué dans les ports de la Côte-Nord. Ce résultat est notamment constitué à 39 % de crabe des neiges et à 13 % de poisson de fond. Près de 70 % de tout le pétoncle du Québec a été débarqué dans les ports de la Côte-Nord.

Pour 2005, la valeur des débarquements sur la Côte-Nord représente 17 % de la valeur de tous les débarquements pour le Québec. Ce résultat est notamment constitué à 61 % de crabe des neiges.

Les espèces récoltées au Québec en 2005

Le Canada est demeuré le principal fournisseur mondial de crabe des neiges avec des débarquements de 95 250 tonnes, dont plus de 85 % ont été exportés vers les États-Unis. Le prix pour ce crustacée a baissé de 30 % sur le marché américain et de 25 % sur le marché japonais en raison de l’effet combiné d’une baisse de la demande et de la chute du dollar canadien.

Malgré une diminution de la valeur des débarquements de homard par rapport à 2004, l’année 2005 constitue statistiquement une excellente année. Aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, les prix et les débarquements sont demeurés stables. En Gaspésie, le volume récolté a diminué, mais cette situation a été atténuée par une augmentation du prix au débarquement.

Malgré un total admissible de captures record, les débarquements de crevette ont diminué de 22 %. Cette baisse est attribuable à une mésentente sur le prix au débarquement survenue en mi-saison entre pêcheurs et transformateurs. La valeur du pétoncle a connu une hausse en raison notamment de la baisse des débarquements aux États-Unis. Son tonnage a lui aussi augmenté, principalement à cause d’une hausse de 72 % des débarquements aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

La valeur des débarquements de morue en Gaspésie s’est élevée à 1,3 millions de dollars, soit près de 64 % de la valeur totale débarquée au Québec. Sur la Côte-Nord, elle est évaluée à 606 000 $, soit près de 29 % du total québécois. Finalement, les débarquements de cette espèce aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine ont rapporté 150 000 $, ce qui équivaut à 7 % de la valeur totale débarquée au Québec.

Toujours du côté des poissons de fond, les résultats pour 2005 montrent que les 3 000 tonnes de flétan du Groenland débarquées en Gaspésie ont généré 4,8 millions de dollars, soit près de 76 % de la valeur totale débarquée au Québec. Quant au flétan de l’Atlantique, sa valeur en Gaspésie s'élève à 548 000 $, ce qui représente près de 64 % de la valeur totale débarquée dans les ports du Québec.

En ce qui a trait aux poissons pélagiques, on a observé aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine une forte baisse des débarquements de hareng alors qu’ils ont augmenté en Gaspésie. La valeur des débarquements en Gaspésie s'élève à 981 000 $, soit près de 68 % de la valeur totale pour le Québec. L’année 2005 a vu diminuer les débarquements de maquereau en Gaspésie et aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine. La valeur des débarquements dans l’archipel s'élève à 381 000 $, soit près de 69 % de la valeur totale pour le Québec.

Tableau - Bilan de la saison 2005 au Québec

Retour

 

PLUS D'INFO SUR MARINFO !

Depuis quelques années, la Garde côtière canadienne, région du Québec, renforce sa présence sur Internet avec Marinfo, son portail d’information maritime, et offre encore plus de renseignements utiles à ses clientèles. Une multitude d’informations sont maintenant disponibles par ce portail, tels les avis à la navigation, les avis aux navigateurs, le programme de balisage, la position des navires de la Garde côtière ainsi que des renseignements sur les glaces. De plus, des données géoréférencées permettent d’obtenir toute cette information, en temps réel, sur fond cartographique.

Nous vous invitons à consulter régulièrement le portail Marinfo et à en faire un site de référence pour les renseignements maritimes sur le Saint-Laurent.

(P.F.)

www.marinfo.gc.ca

Image - Site Marinfo

Retour

 

ENQUÊTE SUR LA PÊCHE RÉCRÉATIVE AU CANADA 2005

Le 25 janvier dernier, Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) lançait l’Enquête sur la pêche récréative au Canada de 2005, en collaboration avec les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires. 

Cette enquête est l’évaluation la plus exhaustive de la pêche récréative à être menée au Canada. Elle est réalisée tous les cinq ans depuis 1975, et ses résultats sont la principale source d’information dont les organismes de gestion des pêches disposent sur la pêche récréative dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires.

Au cours des semaines à venir, des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que le MPO enverront par la poste des questionnaires à 82 000 Canadiens et pêcheurs d’autres pays. Cette enquête vise à recueillir de l’information fiable et à jour sur l’importance et la popularité de la pêche récréative au Canada. Les répondants seront interrogés sur les endroits où ils pêchent et la fréquence à laquelle ils le font, les poissons qu’ils capturent et qu’ils conservent, le montant qu’ils dépensent pour mener leurs activités de pêche et leur opinion sur des questions de gestion précises.

Selon les résultats de l’enquête de 2000, la pêche à la ligne est une activité de plein air très pratiquée au Canada. En effet, en 2000, 3,6 millions de pêcheurs adultes actifs ont effectué 48 millions de jours de pêche. Près des deux tiers des poissons capturés ont alors été relâchés. La réussite des programmes de pêche avec relâche des prises illustre l’importance que les pêcheurs récréatifs accordent à la conservation. Dans l’ensemble, on estime que ces derniers ont dépensé 6,7 milliards de dollars au Canada en 2000.

L’an prochain, un rapport final sur l’enquête de 2005 sera publié et présentera les résultats obtenus partout au Canada ainsi que dans chaque province et territoire.

Pour plus d’information sur les résultats des enquêtes précédentes sur la pêche récréative au Canada, veuillez cliquer sur le bouton Statistiques qui se trouve dans la page d’accueil du site du MPO à

 www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Retour

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL : CONSULTATION SUR L'INSCRIPTION DE LA RAIE TACHETÉE

Par Chantale Thiboutot

 

Image - Raie tachetée

Au cours des derniers mois, le COSEPAC (Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada) a recommandé au Gouver-nement d’inscrire certaines espèces à la Liste des espèces en péril. 

Pêches et Océans Canada consulte actuelle-ment en vue d’obtenir vos commentaires concernant la recommandation du COSEPAC d’ajouter les popula-tions suivantes à cette liste :

•   La population de raie tachetée de l’est du plateau néoécossais (menacée)

•   La population de raie tachetée du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (en voie de disparition)

Le COSEPAC justifie la désignation de ces populations en précisant que l'espèce est vulnérable à l'exploitation en raison des caractéristiques de son cycle biologique (âge tardif de maturité, longue durée de génération, faible fécondité, lent taux de croissance), ce qui réduit le taux de rétablissement de l'espèce et augmente les risques de disparition.

Le rapport du COSEPAC signale que depuis le début des années 1970, l'abondance d'individus matures aurait diminué de plus de 90 % dans l'est du plateau néo-écossais et de 98 % dans le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent. La zone occupée par les deux populations semble également avoir diminué considérablement depuis le milieu des années 1980.

Toujours selon le COSEPAC, une des causes probables du déclin est le taux non-viable de raies capturées en prise accessoire lors de pêches dirigées vers d'autres espèces de poissons de fond (en particulier les poissons plats).

Lorsqu’une espèce est inscrite à la Liste des espèces en péril, des mesures de gestion et/ou de rétablissement sont mises en œuvre. De plus, les espèces inscrites comme étant disparues, en voie de disparition ou menacées sont automatiquement protégées par des interdictions prévues à la Loi.

D’autres consultations en cours

D’autres espèces aquatiques sont aussi en processus de consultation pour l’ajout à la Liste des espèces en péril. Notons, entre autres, la population de bar rayé de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent (disparue au Canada); la population de bar rayé du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (menacée) et le chevalier cuivré (en voie de disparition).

Vous pouvez nous faire connaître votre opinion sur l’inscription de ces populations en vous procurant les cahiers de consultation sur le site du registre public (www.registrelep.gc.ca) ou en contactant le Bureau de coordination des espèces en péril, région du Québec :

Tél. :  1-877-775-0848

Courriel : especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Retour

CONSULTATION 2006 DU MPO AVEC L'INDUSTRIE DES PÊCHES

Chaque année, Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, tient plusieurs rencontres de consultation avec les intervenants de la pêche dans le but d’élaborer les différents plans de pêches et mesures de gestion qui seront en place pour la prochaine saison de pêche. Le calendrier ci-dessous présente les dates et les endroits de ces rencontres.

Note : Les dates des consultations sont sujettes à changement sans préavis.  Prière de vérifier avec votre bureau local du MPO.

Espèces Comités consultatifs Responsabilité Lieu Date
         
Poissons de fond Poisson de fond du golf Régional Moncton

11-12 avril 2006

         
Pélagiques Atlantique maquereau Sectoriel N/D Avril (à détérminer)
  Petits pélagiques, Côte-Nord (hareng 4S) Sectoriel Sept-Îles Semaine du 17 avril 2006
         
Crustacés Crabe de la zone 13 Interrégional N/D À déterminer
  Crabe hyas des Îles-de-la-Madeleine Sectoriel I.M. 1er mars 2006
  Crabe commun des Îles-de-la-Madeleine Sectoriel I.M. 1er mars 2006
  Crabe des neiges de la zone 12 Interrégional Moncton 14 mars 2006
  Crabe de neiges zone F Interrégional I.M. 21 mars 2006
  Crabe commun de la Gaspésie Sectoriel Gaspé 22 mars 2006 AM
  Crabe des neiges zone E Interrégional Moncton 23 mars 2006
         
Mollusques Pétoncles des Îles-de-la-Madeleine Sectoriel I.M. Mars 2006 (à déterminer)
  Comité élargi de gestion intégrée du bassin aux Huîtres des I.M. Sectoriel I.M. Lundi, mars 06, 2006
  Buccin des Îles-de-la-Madeleine Sectoriel I.M. 7 mars 2006 PM
  Mactre de l'Atlantique, mactre de Stimpson et couteau de mer des I.M. Sectoriel I.M. 7 mars 2006 AM
         
Échinodermes Oursin de la Gaspésie Sectoriel Gaspé À déterminer
         
Espèces Autres rencontres Responsabilité Lieu Date
         
Poissons de fond Flétan du Groenland Régional + Sect. Québec Mars 2006 (à déterminer)
         
Pélagiques Atelier vision à long terme hareng et maquereau du sud du golfe Sectoriel Moncton 20 et 21 mars 2006

Retour

NOUVELLES ÉDITIONS DE CARTES MARINES

Par Karina Laberge

Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) a produit récemment de nouvelles éditions de cartes marines pour la Basse-Côte-Nord et les Îles-de-la-Madeleine :

• Carte 4473, Île de la Grande Passe aux Îles Bun

• Carte 4957, Havre-Aubert

Les nouvelles éditions mettent à jour l’ensemble des données apparaissant sur ces cartes : profondeurs au large et le long des quais, position et caractéristiques des bouées, obstacles sous-marins, toponymes et toutes autres données pertinentes pour les navigateurs. Elles incorporent des données de sondages récemment acquises par le Service hydrographique du Canada.

Les navigateurs auront donc à se procurer les nouvelles éditions qui les concernent auprès de leur dépositaire habituel. Les cartes seront maintenues à jour grâce aux Avis aux navigateurs.

Les Tables des marées et courants du Canada 2006 sont maintenant disponibles. Cette année, le phare de Pointe-au-Père à Rimouski a été choisi pour illustrer les quatre volumes des tables des marées qui couvrent l’est du Canada.

Pour plus d’information sur les produits et services du Service hydrographique du Canada, consultez le site

www.cartes.gc.ca.

 

Photo - Cartes marines - Tables des courants et marées du Canada

Retour

Infocéans

Février - Mars 2006
Volume 9 
Numero 1

Publié par :
Pêches et Océans
Canada
Région du Québec
Direction des communications
104, rue Dalhousie
Quebec
(Québec)  G1K 7Y7
Telephone: 
418- 648-7747

Directeur intérimaire :
Marcel-M. Boudreau

Rédactrice en chef :
Viviane Haeberlé

Coordonnatrice de production :
Karina Laberge

Coordonnateur visuel :
Denis Chamard