Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
February-March 2016/Volume 19/Number 1

Dispatches

Official Opening of Canadian Coast Guard Regional Office

On December 2, 2015, the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) officially opened its Central and Arctic Regional Office in Montréal. The region covers Quebec, Ontario and Nunavut.

The event was an opportunity for many marine industry clients and stakeholders to meet the CCG’s various managers. Among those invited were representatives from Fednav, Nunavut Eastern Arctic Shipping, Petro-Nav, Desgagnés Transarctik, the St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation, the Montreal Port Authority, the Québec Port Authority and the United States Coast Guard.

The CCG chose Montréal as the site for its regional office both because of its geographic location and its bilingual character. Located in the heart of the Great Lakes network and the St. Lawrence Seaway—a maritime gateway vital to the Canadian economy—this location allows the CCG to be close to its many clients and partners, many of whom have their headquarters downtown. The CCG’s regional office also houses the Regional Operations Centre and the Ice Office.

Julie Gascon, Assistant Commissioner of the Central and Arctic Region, and Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner of Operations with the Canadian Coast Guard.
Julie Gascon, Assistant Commissioner of the Central and Arctic Region, and Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner of Operations with the Canadian Coast Guard.
Many of the CCG’s clients and partners were able to attend the official opening of the regional office in Montréal.
Many of the CCG’s clients and partners attended the official opening of the regional office in Montréal.

Victor Chiasson-LeBel
Canadian Coast Guard

Saguenay Fjord Winter Recreational Groundfish Fishery

Fishery Prohibited on Tuesdays

Pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond

Fisheries and Oceans Canada would like to advise the public that the Saguenay Fjord Winter Recreational Groundfish Fishery, usually called the ice fishing season, is open starting on January 16, 2016, and will end at midnight on March 6, 2016.

It is important to note that the recreational fishery is prohibited every Tuesday in January and February. The recreational groundfish fishery is under federal jurisdiction; therefore, the prohibition of fishing every Tuesday in January and February does not apply to species under provincial jurisdiction such as Smelt. It is everyone's responsibility to check the applicable measures for this species.

Each person engaged in recreational groundfish fishing can catch and retain a total of 5 groundfish per day, of all species with the exception of halibut, Atlantic wolffish, northern wolffish, spotted wolffish, skates and white hake, which must be returned to the water.

For more information: Saguenay Fjord Winter Recreational Groundfish Fishery

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Février-mars 2016/volume 19/numéro 1

Dépêches

Inauguration du bureau régional de la Garde côtière canadienne

Le 2 décembre 2015, la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) a inauguré à Montréal son bureau régional du Centre et de l’Arctique. Cette région couvre le Québec, l’Ontario et le Nunavut.

Cette inauguration était l’occasion d’inviter les nombreux clients et partenaires du domaine maritime à rencontrer les différents gestionnaires de la GCC. Parmi les invités, notons des représentants de Fednav, Nunavut Eastern Arctic Shipping, Petro-Nav, Desgagnés Transarctik, la Corporation de gestion de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, l’Administration portuaire de Montréal, l’Administration portuaire de Québec et la Garde côtière américaine.

Pour la GCC, le choix d’établir son bureau régional à Montréal s’est fait tant pour sa localisation que pour son bilinguisme. Située au cœur du réseau des Grands Lacs et de la voie navigable du Saint-Laurent – une voie maritime vitale pour l’économie canadienne – cet emplacement facilite le rapprochement de la GCC avec ses nombreux clients et partenaires, dont plusieurs ont leur siège social au centre-ville. Le bureau régional de la GCC regroupe notamment le Centre des opérations régionales et le bureau des glaces.

Julie Gascon, commissaire adjointe à la région du Centre et de l’Arctique, et Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne.
Julie Gascon, commissaire adjointe à la région du Centre et de l’Arctique, et Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne.
De nombreux clients et partenaires de la Garde côtière canadienne ont tenu à assister à l’inauguration du bureau régional de Montréal.
De nombreux clients et partenaires de la Garde côtière canadienne ont tenu à assister à l’inauguration du bureau régional de Montréal.

Victor Chiasson-LeBel
Garde côtière canadienne

Pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay

Interdiction de pêcher les mardis

Pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond

Pêches et Océans Canada avise la population que la pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay, communément appelée pêche blanche, est ouverte du 16 janvier au 6 mars 2016 à minuit.

Il est important de noter que cette pêche récréative est interdite tous les mardis de janvier et de février 2016. Comme la pêche récréative au poisson de fond est de compétence fédérale, l’interdiction de pêche les mardis ne s’applique pas aux espèces de compétence provinciale, dont l’éperlan. Il est donc de la responsabilité de chacun de vérifier les mesures applicables à ces espèces.

Chaque personne qui pratique la pêche récréative peut prendre et garder un total de cinq poissons de fond par jour, toutes espèces confondues, à l’exception du flétan atlantique, du loup à tête large, du loup atlantique, du loup tacheté, des raies et de la merluche blanche, que les pêcheurs devront obligatoirement remettre à l’eau.

Pour plus de renseignements : Pêche récréative hivernale au poisson de fond dans le fjord du Saguenay