Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
December 2015-January 2016/Volume 18/Number 6

Dispatches

Historic Agreement Between the Eight Arctic Nations

On October 30, 2015, the eight Arctic nations, namely Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Russia and the United States, signed a historic agreement to increase cooperation between their respective coast guards in the increasingly accessible Arctic seas.

This agreement is the result of a process undertaken in 2014 and officially establishes the Arctic Coast Guard Forum, whose core mandate includes strengthening coast guard cooperation and coordination in the Arctic.

Creating this forum enables Arctic coast guards to share information about their available resources and work methods. This cooperation will prepare the Arctic nations to work together, notably during search and rescue operations or environmental emergencies.

Far left, Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard, during the signing of the agreement. Photo credit: Maggie DeHaan.
Far left, Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard, during the signing of the agreement.
Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard, and Julie Gascon, Assistant Commissioner, Central and Arctic Region. Photo credit: Maggie DeHaan.
Mario Pelletier, Deputy Commissioner, Operations, Canadian Coast Guard, and Julie Gascon, Assistant Commissioner, Central and Arctic Region.

Victor Chiasson-LeBel
Canadian Coast Guard

A Good Working Relationship Between the Listuguj Mi'gmaq and Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Listuguj Ranger Chief Peter Metallic and Fishery Officer Pierre Gagnon during a joint patrol.
Listuguj Ranger Chief Peter Metallic and Fishery Officer Pierre Gagnon during a joint patrol.

Rangers from the community of Listuguj and Fisheries and Oceans Canada fishery officers have had a very good working relationship over the past few years.

Every fall, the Listuguj Mi’gmaq in the Gaspe carry out their social and ceremonial lobster fishing in Chaleur Bay. This fishery, protected under section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982, which recognizes and confirms the ancestral and treaty rights of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada, is authorized under an agreement between the Mi’gmaq community and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. A monitoring protocol was established, with DFO fishery officers and Rangers from the community of Listuguj joining forces to monitor activities on a regular basis.

Pierre Gagnon
Fisheries Management

Gaspe Peninsula: Fishery Officers for a Day

This fall, four young people had the chance to become fishery officers for a day, thanks to the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Conservation and Protection Branch, Southern Gaspe District. The lucky students chosen for this activity took part in a sea patrol.

This activity, highly enriching for the young participants, was made possible through the conservation and protection school program. The purpose of this program is to inform Grade 6 students about the work of fishery officers and raise their awareness about the protection of marine resources and fish habitat. The participants were chosen by means of a draw among all the students who took part in the conservation and protection school program.

Gaspe Peninsula: Fishery Officers for a Day
From left: Fishery Officer Amélie Roberge and fishery officers for a day Antoine Poirier and Emmy Querry Arsenault from École Cap Beau-Soleil de Caplan. (Missing from photo: Fishery Officer Alexandre Poliquin.)
Gaspe Peninsula: Fishery Officers for a Day
From left: Fishery Officer Amélie Roberge and fishery officers for a day Anthony Woods and Megan Jones from Shigawake Port-Daniel School. (Missing from photo: Fishery Officer Jacques Boudreau.)

Jury’s Choice Award Winners in Wanted: Young Cartographers Contest

Every summer for the past five years, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has been presenting its Jury's Choice Awards to Secondary I and II students as part of the provincial Wanted: Young Cartographers contest.

Bernadette Ng (2014 winner), and Hakim Biskri and Camille Côté (2015 winners) participated in a hydrographic mission on the St. Lawrence River aboard the CCGS F.C.G. Smith, leaving from Trois-Rivières.

Over the course of two beautiful days, the winners, accompanied by their parents, had the opportunity to learn about the work of hydrographers and the crew aboard a scientific research vessel operated by the Canadian Coast Guard. After familiarizing themselves with safety procedures and observing the departure manoeuvres and deployment of booms containing the echo sounders, they watched the hydrographers at work and asked them questions. They were also able to observe the variety of river users, from canoes to cargo boats, plying the waters near the port of Trois‑Rivières.

During the mission, the winners were able to see the actual depths of the river, measured and displayed in 3D on the hydrographers' screens, They also learned what it takes to do their job, inclusing collecting data, processing it and turning it into useful tools for safe navigation. The visitors also witnessed the crew demonstrate its expert skills during buoy and docking approach manoeuvres. According to the parents, this award is unique because it helps young people get a better idea of a little known line of work. It cannot be purchased in a store.

The Wanted: Young Cartographers contest is organized by the Canadian Institute of Geomatics and CEGEP Limoilou. Thanks to this contest, more than 10,000 students have had the opportunity to learn about different careers in geomatics. The Department takes this opportunity to promote the marine aspect of geomatics as well as marine careers.

Young Cartographers Contest
Bernadette Ng, Secondary II student, 2014 winner. Logistical problems prevented boarding last year.
Young Cartographers Contest
André Hardy, Hydrographer, and Hakim Biskri, Secondary I student, 2015 winner.

Robert Dorais
Science

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Décembre 2015-janvier 2016/volume 18/numéro 6

Dépêches

Entente historique entre les huit pays de l’Arctique

Le 30 octobre dernier, les huit pays de l’Arctique, soit le Canada, le Danemark, la Finlande, l’Islande, la Norvège, la Suède, la Russie et les États-Unis, ont signé une entente historique afin que leurs gardes côtières respectives travaillent de concert dans les eaux de plus en plus accessibles de l'Arctique.

Cette entente résulte d’un processus entamé en 2014 et concrétise le Forum des gardes côtières de l’Arctique, dont les principaux mandats sont de renforcer la coopération et la coordination des gardes côtières dans l’Arctique.

La création de ce Forum permet de partager de l’information sur leurs ressources disponibles et leurs façons de travailler. Cette collaboration préparera les nations de l’Arctique à travailler ensemble, principalement lors d’interventions de recherche et de sauvetage ou d’urgences environnementales.

À l’extrême gauche, Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne, lors de la signature de l’entente. Mention de source : Maggie DeHaan
À l’extrême gauche, Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne, lors de la signature de l’entente.
Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne, et Julie Gascon, commissaire adjointe à la région du Centre et de l’Arctique. Mention de source : Maggie DeHaan
Mario Pelletier, sous-commissaire aux opérations à la Garde côtière canadienne, et Julie Gascon, commissaire adjointe à la région du Centre et de l’Arctique.

Victor Chiasson-LeBel
Garde côtière canadienne

Bonne collaboration entre les Mi’gmaqs de Listuguj et Pêches et Océans Canada

Le chef des Rangers de Listuguj, Peter Metallic, et l’agent des pêches Pierre Gagnon, lors d’une patrouille conjointe.
Le chef des Rangers de Listuguj, Peter Metallic, et l’agent des pêches Pierre Gagnon, lors d’une patrouille conjointe.

Depuis quelques années, les Rangers de la communauté de Listuguj et les agents des pêches de Pêches et Océans Canada collaborent de belle manière.

En effet, chaque automne, les Mi’gmaqs de Listuguj en Gaspésie pratiquent une activité de pêche au homard alimentaire, sociale et rituelle dans la baie des Chaleurs. Cette pêche, protégée par l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 qui reconnaît et confirme les droits existants – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des peuples autochtones du Canada, est autorisée par une entente entre la communauté mi’gmaq et Pêches et Océans Canada. Un protocole de surveillance a été établi et les agents des pêches du Ministère effectuent, en collaboration avec les Rangers de la communauté de Listuguj, la surveillance régulière des activités.

Pierre Gagnon
Gestion des pêches

Agent des pêches d’un jour en Gaspésie

Cet automne, la Direction de la conservation et de la protection de Pêches et Océans Canada, district de Gaspé-Sud, a permis à quatre jeunes d’être agent des pêches d’un jour. Au cours de cette journée, les heureux élus ont participé à une patrouille maritime.

Cette activité très enrichissante pour les jeunes a été rendue possible grâce au Programme scolaire de conservation et protection, dont l’objectif est de faire connaître le travail des agents des pêches et de sensibiliser les élèves de sixième année à la protection des ressources marines et de l’habitat du poisson. Les agents des pêches d’un jour sont choisis par tirage au sort parmi tous les élèves rencontrés.

Agent d'un jours
De gauche à droite : L'agente des pêches Amélie Roberge et les agents des pêches d’un jour Antoine Poirier et Emmy Querry Arsenault  de l’école Cap Beau-Soleil de Caplan. (Absent de la photo : l’agent des pêches Alexandre Poliquin.)
Agent d'un jours
De gauche à droite : L'agente des pêches Amélie Roberge et les agents des pêches d’un jour Anthony Woods et Megan Jones de l’école Shigawake Port-Daniel School. (Absent de la photo : l’agent des pêches Jacques Boudreau.)

Coups de cœur du concours Jeunes cartographes recherchés

Chaque été, depuis cinq ans, lors du concours provincial Jeunes cartographes recherchés, Pêches et Océans Canada remet ses prix coups de cœur à des élèves de 1re et 2e secondaire.

Bernadette Ng (gagnante édition 2014), Hakim Biskri et Camille Côté (gagnants édition 2015) ont participé à une mission hydrographique sur le Saint-Laurent à bord du NGCC F.C.G. Smith, à partir de Trois-Rivières.

C’est par deux très belles journées que les gagnants, accompagnés de leurs parents, ont eu la chance de se familiariser avec le travail des hydrographes et de l’équipage, à bord d’un navire de recherche scientifique de la Garde côtière canadienne. Après avoir écouté les procédures de sécurité, et assisté aux manœuvres de départ et au déploiement des bras sur lesquels se trouvent les échosondeurs, ils ont pu observer et questionner les hydrographes à l’œuvre. Ils ont aussi pu constater la diversité des utilisateurs du fleuve, du canot au cargo, qui sillonnent les eaux dans les parages du port de Trois-Rivières.

Au cours de la mission, les gagnants ont pu voir les profondeurs réelles du fleuve, mesurées et affichées en 3D sur les écrans des hydrographes, et en apprendre sur leur travail, particulièrement sur leur rôle dans la collecte, le traitement et la transformation des données en outils utiles pour assurer la sécurité de la navigation. Les visiteurs ont pu apprécier le savoir-faire de l’équipage lors des manœuvres d’approche des bouées et des accostages. Selon les commentaires reçus des parents, ce prix est unique : il aide les jeunes à se faire une idée concrète d’un travail méconnu. Il ne peut s’acheter dans une boutique!

Le concours Jeunes cartographes recherchés est organisé par l’Association canadienne des sciences géomatiques et par le Cégep Limoilou. Ayant comme objectif de faire connaître aux jeunes les différentes carrières en géomatique, le concours a déjà rejoint plus de 10 000 élèves. Le Ministère profite de cette occasion pour faire valoir l’aspect marin de la géomatique ainsi que les carrières maritimes.

jeunes cartographes
Bernadette Ng, secondaire 2, gagnante 2014. L’an dernier, des problèmes logistiques avaient empêché l’embarquement.
jeunes cartographes
André Hardy, hydrographe, et Hakim Biskri, secondaire 1, gagnant 2015.

Robert Dorais
Sciences