Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
August-September 2015/Volume 18/Number 4

Dispatches

Listing Species Under the Species at Risk Act: Also a Matter of Economics!

Atlantic Sturgeon
Atlantic sturgeon.

Did you know? Socio-economic factors play a role in the process of listing species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

Before deciding whether or not to list a species under SARA, the government is required to assess the potential socio-economic impacts the listing could entail. This requirement stems from the Cabinet Directive on Streamlining Regulation which stipulates that any proposal to amend an act must undergo a cost–benefit analysis in accordance with Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat requirements. Economists are tasked with estimating the scope and distribution of costs and benefits associated with listing a species under SARA. More specifically, these economists identify the affected stakeholders and quantify the effects—both positive and negative—that the listing would have on each stakeholder. For example, the economists will quantify the costs that the private sector would need to absorb to comply with SARA requirements, such as costs associated with closing a commercial fishery or with introducing speed reduction measures for vessels.

As for the economic benefits, these can be estimated, for example, by calculating the amount that Canadians would be willing to pay to implement conservation programs for species at risk. These socio-economic analyses help guide the decision-making process with regard to the listing recommendation; they also guide consultations with stakeholders.

Economists are also called upon at the recovery stage of species at risk. Section 49 of the Species at Risk Act states that an action plan must include an evaluation of the socio-economic costs of its implementation. This evaluation must be updated every five years.

Sarah Larochelle
Strategic Services

Another Step for Wild Atlantic Salmon Conservation

Atlantic salmon.
© Dominique Danvoye
Atlantic salmon.

The 32th Annual Meeting of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization (NASCO) was held in June 2015 in Happy Valley–Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador. Richard Nadeau, Regional Director General for Fisheries and Oceans Canada at the time, served as head of the Canadian delegation.

The Organization achieved many important goals, one of which was for Greenland—which did not have a wild Atlantic salmon fishing quota—to establish a management and control plan. This plan was put in place with a maximum catch quota set at 45 tonnes. For Canada, this quota may be disappointing; but considering the declining salmon stocks in the Atlantic, it is still an improvement over the 58 tonnes of reported catches last year. The meeting also brought about another victory: talks were held with France to have the Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon archipelago join NASCO and set its own fishing quotas as well.

Like many other aquatic resources, the wild Atlantic salmon is a major part of Canada's economy, history and culture. Without losing sight of the socio-economic challenges Greenland is facing, we can be proud of the progress made in recent years for the conservation of this species.

Lucie Milot
Regional Director General’s Office

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Août-septembre 2015/volume 18/numéro 4

Dépêches

L’inscription d’espèces en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril : c’est aussi une question économique!

Esturgeon noir.
Esturgeon noir.

Le saviez-vous? Les considérations socio-économiques jouent un rôle dans le processus d’inscription d’espèces en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Avant de décider d’inscrire ou non une espèce en vertu de la LEP, le gouvernement a l’obligation d’évaluer les impacts socio-économiques qui pourraient découler de l'inscription. Cette obligation provient de la Directive du Cabinet sur la gestion de la réglementation qui stipule que toute proposition de modification à une loi doit faire l’objet d’une analyse coûts-avantages conforme aux exigences du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. Ce sont des économistes qui sont chargés d’estimer l’ampleur et la répartition des coûts et des avantages liés à l’inscription d’une espèce en vertu de la LEP. Plus précisément, les économistes identifient les intervenants affectés et quantifient les effets, autant positifs que négatifs, qu’aurait l’inscription sur chacun d’entre eux. Par exemple, les économistes quantifient les coûts de conformité qui seraient absorbés par le secteur privé afin de respecter les exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril comme les coûts liés à la fermeture d’une pêche commerciale ou à l’implantation de mesures de réduction de vitesse pour les navires.

Les bénéfices économiques peuvent être estimés, entre autres, en calculant le montant que les Canadiens seraient prêts à payer pour la mise en œuvre de programmes de conservation pour les espèces en péril. Ces analyses socio-économiques orientent le processus décisionnel par rapport à la recommandation d’inscription et guident les consultations avec les intervenants.

Le travail des économistes se poursuit également au stade du rétablissement des espèces en péril. L’article 49 de la Loi précise qu’un plan d’action doit comporter l’évaluation des répercussions socio-économiques de sa mise en œuvre. Cette évaluation doit être mise à jour tous les cinq ans.

Sarah Larochelle
Services stratégiques

Un autre pas pour la conservation du saumon de l'Atlantique

Saumon atlantique sauvage.
© Dominique Danvoye
Saumon de l'Atlantique.

La 32e réunion annuelle de l’Organisation pour la conservation du saumon de l’Atlantique Nord (OCSAN) s’est tenue en juin 2015 à Happy Valley–Goose Bay, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Richard Nadeau, alors directeur général régional à Pêches et Océans Canada, était le chef de la délégation canadienne.

L’Organisation a réussi à atteindre plusieurs objectifs importants, l’un d’eux étant que le Groenland, qui n’avait pas de quota de pêche du saumon de l'Atlantique, instaure un plan de gestion et de contrôle. Ce plan a été mis en place avec un contingent maximal de captures établi à 45 tonnes. Même si, pour le Canada, ce contingent peut s’avérer décevant, considérant l’état décroissant des stocks de saumons dans l’Atlantique, il s’agit d’une amélioration par rapport aux 58 tonnes de captures déclarées l’an dernier. La rencontre a également permis de remporter une autre victoire : des discussions ont été entamées avec la France pour que l’archipel de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon joigne l’OCSAN et mette lui aussi en place des contingents de pêche.

Le saumon de l'Atlantique, tout comme beaucoup d’autres ressources aquatiques, constitue une part importante de l’économie, de l’histoire et de la culture du Canada. Tout en demeurant conscients des défis socio-économiques auxquels se heurte le Groenland, nous pouvons être fiers des progrès réalisés depuis les dernières années pour la conservation de cette espèce.

Lucie Milot
Direction générale régionale