Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
April - May 2015/Volume 18/Number 2

Dispatches

Fisheries and Oceans Canada in the Spotlight!

Recipients of the award at the Soirée hommage aux ambassadeurs.
G Fréchette

Each year, the Cercle des ambassadeurs shines a spotlight on the most notable conferences and meetings that have taken place in Québec during the previous year.

This winter, at its Soirée hommage aux ambassadeurs, one of the 12 prizes was awarded to the 144th Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society held last summer. Fisheries and Oceans Canada was responsible for organizing this annual meeting.

We would like to congratulate the organizing committee, chaired by Louise Deschênes, and the numerous volunteers on their exceptional dedication and commitment.

Interested in learning more? Consult our previously published articles:

Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society in Québec: A Resounding Success

Annual Fisheries Society Annual Meeting: Join us in Québec in August!

Recycled Plastic in Our Port Structures

Wooden structures protected by plastic panels.
Once the wooden structures are almost complete and are protected by the plastic panels, they will be returned to the water and their construction will be completed on-site.

For several years now, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has been considering using planks of recycled plastic as protective panels on the docks.

These panels serve as vertical façades and absorb force from vessels as they dock. They are therefore subject to large impact forces. Generally made of wood, these panels often rot due to marine worms and abrasive sediments. The introduction of plastic panels would create a structure that does not rot, that is inert in salt water and that is more rigid than wood. This solution also seems to be economical in the long term because the structures have a much longer lifetime.

To date, plastic panels have been installed in the submerged sections of several wooden docks in the Gaspé area and the Magdalen Islands to protect them against abrasion from marine sediments, which become extremely sharp in the strong currents and tides. The results are encouraging and the plastic holds up well to the elements.

In the coming years, plastic panels could be installed on the entire vertical façade of a dock to test their capacity to absorb the impact of docking vessels.

By promoting the use of recycled materials on a broader scale on its docks, Fisheries and Oceans Canada would help to preserve the environment.

Élisabeth Marceau
Small Craft Harbours

Pleasure Craft Courtesy Visit Program: Still Necessary

Handing over the the commemorative Champlain voyages map to the exiting president of the CCGA-Québec
In March, during the Annual General Meeting held in Québec, Serge Gosselin, Regional Director of the Canadian Hydrographic Service, presented Léopold Béchette, exiting President of the CCGA-Québec, with a commemorative map of the Champlain voyages as a sign of appreciation for his excellent collaboration on the courtesy visit program for nautical charts.

Over the years, the Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS), the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) and the Canadian Coast Guard Auxiliary (CCGA) have established significant links. Each of these organizations, in its own way, teaches recreational boaters about the importance of adopting safe practices.

As part of the courtesy visit program, to which the CHS has added a nautical chart component, the CCGA and teams from the CCG Inshore Rescue Boat Service work to inform recreational boaters about the importance of updating their nautical charts and using information on water levels. They also use this discussion as an opportunity to learn more about boaters’ habits on the water.

Last year, CCGA volunteers and Inshore Rescue Boat Service teams met with more than 925 recreational boaters. Here are a few interesting statistics from these meetings:

  • 37% operate without a nautical chart
  • 53% use paper charts
  • 36% have CHS paper charts on board
  • 32% use electronic charts
  • 15% use CHS electronic charts

These results clearly show that raising awareness among recreational boaters is necessary to improve safety on our waters.

Robert Dorais
Science

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Avril - mai 2015/volume 18/numéro 2

Dépêches

Pêches et Océans Canada à l’honneur!

Les récipiendaires de la Soirée hommage aux ambassadeurs.
G Fréchette

Chaque année, le Cercle des ambassadeurs souligne les congrès et les réunions les plus notoires qui se sont déroulés à Québec au cours de l’année précédente.

Cet hiver, lors de sa Soirée hommage aux ambassadeurs, un des douze prix a été remis à la 144e Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society tenue l’été dernier. On se souviendra que Pêches et Océans Canada avait été mandaté pour organiser cette réunion annuelle.

Félicitations au comité organisateur, sous la présidence de Louise Deschênes, et aux nombreux bénévoles pour leur dévouement et leur engagement exceptionnels.

Ce sujet vous intéresse? Consultez nos articles déjà publiés :

Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society à Québec : un succès retentissant

Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society : rendez-vous à Québec en août!

Du plastique recyclé dans nos structures portuaires

Encaissements de bois protégés par des madriers de plastique.
Une fois les encaissements de bois presque complétés et bien protégés par les madriers de plastique, ils seront remis à l’eau et on achèvera sur place leur construction.

Depuis quelques années, Pêches et Océans Canada songe à utiliser des madriers de plastique recyclé comme lambris de protection des quais.

Les lambris servent de façade verticale et absorbent l’énergie des bateaux lors de leur accostage. Ils sont donc soumis à de grandes forces d’impact. Généralement en bois, les lambris sont souvent dégradés par les vers marins et les sédiments abrasifs. L’introduction de lambris en plastique permettrait de disposer d’une structure qui ne pourrit pas, qui est inerte dans l’eau salée et qui est plus rigide que le bois. Cette solution semble être aussi économique à long terme, car les structures auraient ainsi une durée de vie plus étendue.

Jusqu’à présent, des pièces de plastique ont été installées dans la partie submergée de plusieurs quais de bois en Gaspésie et aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine pour les protéger contre l’abrasion des sédiments marins, qui deviennent de véritables couteaux dans les forts courants et marées. Les résultats sont encourageants et le plastique résiste très bien aux éléments.

Au cours des prochaines années, des madriers de plastique pourraient être installés sur une façade verticale complète d’un quai afin de tester leur capacité d’absorption des impacts de bateaux.

En favorisant l’utilisation de matériaux recyclés à plus large échelle sur ses quais, Pêches et Océans Canada contribuerait à la préservation de l’environnement.

Élisabeth Marceau
Ports pour petits bateaux

Le Programme de visite de courtoisie des plaisanciers : toujours nécessaire

Remise de la carte commémorative des voyages de Champlain au président sortant de la GCAC-Québec.
En mars dernier, lors de l’assemblée générale annuelle qui se déroulait à Québec, Serge Gosselin, directeur régional du Service hydrographique du Canada, a remis à Léopold Béchette, président sortant de la GCAC-Québec, une carte commémorative des voyages de Champlain en signe d’appréciation pour son excellente collaboration au programme de visite de courtoisie pour les cartes marines.

Au fil des ans, le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC), la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC) et la Garde côtière auxiliaire canadienne (GCAC) ont tissé des liens importants. Chacun, à sa façon, sensibilise les plaisanciers sur l’importance d’adopter de bonnes pratiques.

Dans le cadre du programme de visite de courtoisie, auquel le SHC a ajouté un volet pour les cartes marines, la GCAC et les équipes du Service d’embarcations de sauvetage côtier de la GCC informent les plaisanciers sur l’importance de mettre à jour leurs cartes marines ainsi que d’utiliser l’information sur les niveaux d’eau. Ils profitent aussi de ces échanges pour mieux connaître leurs habitudes sur l’eau.

L’an dernier, les bénévoles de la GCAC et les équipes du Service d’embarcations de sauvetage côtier ont rencontré plus de 925 plaisanciers. Voici quelques statistiques intéressantes qui découlent de ces rencontres :

  • 37 % naviguent sans carte marine
  • 53 % utilisent des cartes papier
  • 36 % possèdent des cartes papier du SHC à bord
  • 32 % utilisent des cartes électroniques
  • 15 % utilisent des cartes électroniques du SHC

Ces résultats démontrent sans équivoque que la sensibilisation auprès des plaisanciers est nécessaire pour améliorer la sécurité sur nos plans d’eau.

Robert Dorais
Sciences

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.