Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
February - March 2015/Volume 18/Number 1

Dispatches

More than 1 500 Highly Valuable Books Donated to the Université du Québec à Rimouski

A collection of great heritage and historical interest to Quebec researchers was donated to the Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) as a result of the consolidation of Fisheries and Oceans Canada libraries. These rare and ancient documents that once belonged to the Station de biologie de l’Arctique de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue deal with biology, ichthyology, fisheries, oceanography and shipping, as well as Arctic exploration. Some documents published by the Trois-Pistoles and Grande-Rivière biological stations bear witness to the origins of oceanographic research. All these documents will soon be available at the UQAR library.

The consolidation of Fisheries and Oceans Canada libraries has led to the transfer of a large part of the collections of the Maurice Lamontagne Institute in Mont-Joli to the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Nova Scotia and the Institute of Ocean Sciences in British Columbia. This transfer of unique documents was needed to complete the Departmental collection and maintain access to the information. Documents that are not available on the Web may be borrowed through the circulation service. Excess documents were offered to local, provincial, federal and international partners such as the Université du Québec à Rimouski.

For more information:
Fisheries and Oceans Canada Libraries

Fisheries and Oceans Canada Libraries’ online catalogue
Waves – Fisheries and Oceans Canada Libraries

Université du Québec à Rimouski library
Université du Québec à Rimouski website

Christine Lemay
Information and technical services management

Eastern Sand Darter Survey: a Great Success!

To learn more about eastern sand darter populations, an endangered species, Fisheries and Oceans Canada conducted surveys in the fall of 2014. Nearly 250 specimens were caught during these surveys in five rivers in southern Quebec, the Aux Orignaux, Du Loup, Gentilly, Nicolet and Nicolet Sud-Ouest rivers.
Implemented as part of the Recovery Strategy for the eastern sand darter published in 2014, these surveys also helped locate suitable habitat for the species and assess the size of the habitat. These data are of great interest for the recovery of the eastern sand darter since they will be used to implement measures to better protect the species, including through habitat stewardship and restoration activities.

View of the Nicolet River
DFO J. Trottier
View of the Nicolet River
 
Darter on the sandy river bottom
DFO J. Trottier
Sand darter in its natural habitat
 
A 7-cm Darter held in a hand
DFO J. Trottier
Sand darter
Eastern sand darter survey in the Nicolet River

The eastern sand darter is a small freshwater fish at risk and not common in Quebec. Its range includes the St. Lawrence River and some tributaries between Lac des Deux-Montagnes and Lake St. Pierre. It has been designated Threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and is listed as a species protected under the Species at Risk Act.

This species lives up to its name. The eastern sand darter is found near sandbars in which it buries itself to hide from predators. It feeds at the bottom of watercourses on small invertebrates, crustaceans or worms. Because this species appears to have specific habitat requirements and a limited ability to adapt, it is very sensitive to any factors that affect its environment.

Aquatic Species at Risk - Eastern Sand Darter (Quebec populations)
Fact sheet – Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Sand Darter (Ammocrypta pellucida) in Canada, Quebec populations
Species at Risk Public Registry – Government of Canada

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Ecosystems Management

Denis Gilbert Ends his Term at Argo Canada

Denis Gros-Louise
Denis Gilbert

Denis Gilbert, research scientist at Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Maurice Lamontagne Institute in Mont-Joli, will end his five-year term as Scientific Director of the Argo Canada program April 1, 2015. Mr. Gilbert was noted for his leadership and dedication to the advancement of this important program, including the commissioning of Argo buoys equipped with oxygen sensors He also played a key role in establishing a scientific partnership between Argo and CONCEPTS, the operational oceanography modelling initiative involving Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada and the Department of National Defence.

Blair Greenan, researcher at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Nova Scotia, will become Argo Canada’s Scientific Director April 1, 2015.

Argo Canada
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

A Milestone for Ocean Observation: International Argo Program Reaches One-Millionth Profile
Feature article in the December 2012 issue of Science – Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Février - mars 2015/volume 18/numéro 1

Dépêches

Plus de 1500 livres de grande valeur remis à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski

Une collection d’un grand intérêt patrimonial et historique pour les chercheurs québécois a été remise à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski (UQAR) à la suite du regroupement des bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada. Ces documents rares et anciens, qui appartenaient autrefois à la Station de biologie de l’Arctique de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, traitent de biologie, d’ichtyologie, des pêches, d’océanographie et d’expédition ainsi que d’exploration de l’Arctique. Certains documents, publiés par les stations biologiques de Trois-Pistoles et de Grande-Rivière, témoignent des origines de la recherche océanographique au Québec. Tous ces documents pourront bientôt être consultés à la bibliothèque de l’UQAR.

Le regroupement des bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada a entraîné le transfert d’une grande part des collections de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne de Mont-Joli vers les bibliothèques de l’Institut océanographique de Bedford en Nouvelle-Écosse et de l’Institut des sciences de la mer en Colombie-Britannique. Ce transfert des documents uniques était nécessaire pour compléter la collection ministérielle et maintenir l’accès à l’information. Les documents non accessibles par le Web pourront être empruntés par l’entremise du service de circulation. Les documents excédentaires ont été offerts à des partenaires locaux, provinciaux, fédéraux et internationaux comme l’Université du Québec à Rimouski.

Pour en savoir davantage :
Les bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada

Le catalogue en ligne des bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada
Vagues – Bibliothèques de Pêches et Océans Canada

La bibliothèque de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski
Site de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski

Christine Lemay
Gestion de l'information et des services technologiques

Inventaire de dards de sable : un grand succès!

Afin d’en connaître davantage sur les populations de dards de sable, une espèce menacée, Pêches et Océans Canada a entrepris des inventaires à l’automne 2014. Ces inventaires ont permis de capturer près de 250 spécimens dans 5 rivières du sud du Québec, soit les rivières aux Orignaux, du Loup, Gentilly, Nicolet et Nicolet Sud-Ouest.

Mis en œuvre dans le cadre du programme de rétablissement du dard de sable publié en 2014, ces inventaires ont aussi permis de localiser l’habitat propice pour le dard de sable et d’en évaluer la superficie. De plus, ces données sont d’un grand intérêt pour le rétablissement de l’espèce puisqu’elles permettront de mettre en œuvre des actions pour mieux protéger l’espèce, notamment par des activités d’intendance et de restauration de l’habitat.

Vue de la rivière Nicolet
MPO J. Trottier
Rivière Nicolet
 
Dard en rivière sur fond sablonneux
MPO J. Trottier
Dard de sable en milieu naturel
 
Dard d’environ 7 cm dans une main
MPO J. Trottier
Dard de sable
Inventaire de dards de sable dans la rivière Nicolet

Le dard de sable est un petit poisson d’eau douce en péril qui est peu répandu au Québec. Son aire de répartition comprend le fleuve Saint-Laurent et quelques tributaires entre le lac des Deux-Montagnes et le lac Saint-Pierre. Il a été évalué comme espèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et inscrit sur la Liste des espèces protégées de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Cette espèce porte bien son nom. En effet, le dard de sable fréquente les bancs de sable où il s’enfouit pour se cacher de ses prédateurs. Il se nourrit au fond de l’eau de petits invertébrés, de crustacés ou de vers. Comme cette espèce semble avoir une adaptabilité limitée et des exigences spécifiques en matière d’habitat, elle est très sensible à tout facteur susceptible de modifier son environnement.

Espèces aquatiques en péril - Dard de sable (populations du Québec)
Fiche d’information – Pêches et Océans Canada

Programme de rétablissement du dard de sable (Ammocrypta pellucida) au Canada, populations du Québec
Registre public des espèces en péril – Gouvernement du Canada

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Gestion des écosystèmes

Denis Gilbert termine son mandat à Argo Canada

Denis Gros-Louise
Denis Gilbert

Denis Gilbert, chercheur scientifique à l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne de Pêches et Océans Canada à Mont-Joli, terminera son mandat de 5 ans à titre de directeur scientifique du programme Argo Canada le 1er avril 2015. M. Gilbert a été remarqué pour son leadership et son dévouement à l’avancement de cet important programme, notamment par la mise en service de bouées Argo équipées de capteurs d’oxygène. Il a également joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement d’un partenariat scientifique entre Argo Canada et CONCEPT, l’initiative de modélisation opérationnelle des océans à laquelle participent Pêches et Océans Canada, Environnement Canada et la Défense nationale.

Blair Greenan, chercheur à l’Institut océanographique de Bedford en Nouvelle-Écosse, assurera le rôle de directeur scientifique d’Argo Canada à compter du 1er avril 2015.

Argo Canada
Pêches et Océans Canada

Un nouveau jalon dans l'observation océanique : le programme international Argo célèbre son millionième profil
Article vedette des Sciences, décembre 2012 – Pêches et Océans Canada

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.