Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
October - November 2014/Volume 17/Number 5

Dispatches

Reconstruction at Canadian Coast Guard Wharf in Québec

Improvements at Queen's Wharf

On August 22, 2014, the Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Infrastructure, Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec, announced on behalf of the Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, a $12 million investment toward the reconstruction of sections 97 and 98 of Queen's Wharf at the Canadian Coast Guard base in Québec.

The improvements will ensure that the Department has the infrastructure required to enhance safety and security on the St. Lawrence River and to maintain and improve icebreaker support and search and rescue services. This investment is part of a major project to upgrade Canadian Coast Guard infrastructures across the country in response to its current and future needs.

Work at Queen's Wharf is set to be completed by the fall of 2016.

Students Summer Jobs in Search and Rescue

Marine rescue exercise

Students interested in working in the fields of navigation, marine rescue, prevention and first aid in the summer of 2015 are invited to submit their applications to the Canadian Coast Guard's Inshore Rescue Boat (IRB) Service by January 24, 2015.

The candidates who are retained will be assigned to one of the following six IRB rescue bases: Pointe-aux-Anglais, Beaconsfield, Longueuil, Sorel, Trois-Rivières or Bainsville (Ontario). They could be required to respond to all kinds of incidents: disabled vessel, vessel aground, person overboard, flooding, capsized vessel, etc. They must also be aware of several laws and regulations: Canada Shipping Act, 2001; Charts and Nautical Publications Regulations; Small Vessel Regulations, etc.

Inshore Rescue Boat Service – Students Employment Program
Canadian Coast Guard - MarInfo

This program offers a unique opportunity to join one of the most effective search and rescue teams in the country.

For more information, please call 418-648-3338 or 418-648-5326 or visit MarInfo.

It's not a job. It's an adventure.

Danielle Fortin
Canadian Coast Guard

Surface Currents: International Working Group Visits Québec

Members of the Surface Current Working Group
From left: Kurt Hess, Chair (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Ronan Pronost (Département hydrodynamique côtière – SHOM France), Edward Weaver (SPAWAR Atlantic), Ives Russ (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency), Louis Maltais, Vice-Chair (Canadian Hydrographic Service), Carl Kammerer (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Dave Enabnit (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Briana Sullivan (Center for Coastal and Ocean Mapping, University of New Hampshire), Eivind Mong (Jeppesen), David Brodie (Caris), Bodo de Lange Boom (Canadian Hydrographic Service) and Ronald Kuilman (Netherlands Hydrographic Service). Missing from photo: David Wyatt (International Hydrographic Organization)

The Canadian Hydrographic Service hosted the second meeting of the Surface Current Working Group (SCWG) of the International Hydrographic Organization* on May 28–30, 2014. The meeting brought a total of 13 attendees to Québec from Europe and across North America.

The event provided a forum for developing standards for the distribution of information on surface currents relevant to navigation. The international data exchange standards developed by the SCWG will be incorporated into a number of new technologies, such as advanced navigation systems with electronic charts displaying information on surface currents among a wealth of other data. This harmonization of information will enhance navigation safety and efficiency worldwide.

Canada's involvement in the SCWG provides an opportunity to contribute the expertise developed over the years at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute by researchers from areas such as the operational oceanography team and the Canadian Hydrographic Service.

Surface Current Working Group
International Hydrographic Organization


Louis Maltais
Science

* The objectives of the International Hydrographic Organization (IHO) include the hydrography and mapping of all of the world's seas, oceans and other waterways. The IHO's mission is to create a global environment in which States provide adequate and timely hydrographic data, products and services and ensure their widest possible use.

Gaspé Peninsula: Fishery Officers for a Day

In the summer of 2014, the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Conservation and Protection Branch, Southern Gaspé District, gave several young people the opportunity to become fishery officers for a day. The lucky students chosen for this activity accompanied two fishery officers based in Grande-Rivière as they met with fishers, inspected fish plants and conducted land and sea patrols.

The activity is the final component of the Conservation and Protection Program school visits, where fishery officers raise awareness among Grade 6 students about their work as well as the protection of fishery resources and fish habitats. All students who attended the visits were entered into the draw to become fishery officer for a day.

From left: Fishery officer Pierre Gagnon and fishery officers for a day Antony Moreau and Josianne Michel from École Bon-Pasteur in Grande-Rivière. (Missing from photo: Fishery officer Angelo Normand)
From left: Fishery officer Pierre Gagnon and fishery officers for a day Antony Moreau and Josianne Michel from École Bon-Pasteur in Grande-Rivière. (Missing from photo: Fishery officer Angelo Normand)
Nicolas Landry-Boudreau (left) and Jennifer Lavoie from École des Audomarois in Saint-Omer with fishery officer Pierre Gagnon (middle). (Missing from photo: Fishery officer André Hogan)
Nicolas Landry-Boudreau (left) and Jennifer Lavoie from École des Audomarois in Saint-Omer with fishery officer Pierre Gagnon (middle). (Missing from photo: Fishery officer André Hogan)

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Octobre - novembre 2014/volume 17/numéro 5

Dépêches

Travaux de reconstruction au quai de la Garde côtière canadienne à Québec

Travaux au quai de la reine

Le 22 août dernier, l’honorable Denis Lebel, ministre de l’Infrastructure, des Collectivités et des Affaires intergouvernementales et ministre de l’Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec, a annoncé, au nom de l’honorable Gail Shea, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, un investissement de 12 millions de dollars pour des travaux de reconstruction des sections 97 et 98 du quai de la Reine de la base de la Garde côtière canadienne à Québec.

Ces travaux offriront au Ministère les infrastructures dont il a besoin pour assurer plus efficacement la sûreté et la sécurité sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent en lui permettant de maintenir et d’améliorer les services de brise-glace et de recherche et sauvetage. Cet investissement s’inscrit dans le cadre des travaux majeurs de mise à niveau des infrastructures de la Garde côtière canadienne partout au pays afin de répondre aux besoins actuels et futurs de l’organisation.

Les travaux au quai de la Reine devraient se terminer à l’automne 2016.

Emplois d'été étudiants en recherche et sauvetage

Exercice de sauvetage en mer

Les étudiantes et étudiants intéressés à travailler dans le domaine de la navigation, du sauvetage maritime, de la prévention et des premiers soins, sont invités à poser leur candidature au Service d'embarcations de sauvetage côtier (ESC) de la Garde côtière canadienne pour l’été 2015. Vous pouvez postuler dès maintenant, et jusqu'au 24 janvier 2015.

Les candidats retenus seront assignées à l'un des six postes de sauvetage ESC suivants : Pointe-aux-Anglais, Beaconsfield, Longueuil, Sorel, Trois-Rivières ou Bainsville (Ontario). Ils pourraient être confrontés à toutes sortes d'incidents : embarcation en panne, échouement, personne tombée à l'eau, envahissement d’eau, chavirement, etc. Ils devront aussi tenir compte de plusieurs lois ou règlements : Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada, Règlement sur les cartes marines et les publications nautiques, Règlement sur les petits bâtiments, etc.

Service d’embarcations de sauvetage côtier - Programme d’emplois étudiants
Garde côtière canadienne - MarInfo

Ce programme offre une occasion unique de faire partie d'une équipe de recherche et de sauvetage des plus efficaces.

Pour plus d'information, composez le 418-648-3338 ou le 418-648-5326 ou visitez le site MarInfo.

C'est plus qu'un travail. C'est une aventure.

Danielle Fortin
Garde côtière canadienne

Courants de surface : un groupe de travail international accueilli à Québec

Un groupe de travail international accueilli à Québec
De gauche à droite : Kurt Hess, président (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Ronan Pronost (Département hydrodynamique côtière – SHOM France), Edward Weaver (SPAWAR Atlantic), Ives Russ (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency), Louis Maltais, vice-président (Service hydrographique du Canada), Carl Kammerer (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Dave Enabnit (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration), Briana Sullivan (Centre for Coastal and Ocean Mapping, University of New Hampshire), Eivind Mong (Jeppesen), David Brodie (Caris), Bodo de Lange Boom (Service hydrographique du Canada) et Ronald Kuilman (Netherlands Hydrographic Service). Absent : David Wyatt (Organisation hydrographique internationale)

Du 28 au 30 mai 2014, le Service hydrographique du Canada était l’hôte de la deuxième rencontre du Groupe de travail sur les courants de surface de l’Organisation hydrographique internationale. Lors de cette rencontre, les 13 participants, provenant d’Europe, d’Amérique du Nord et des États-Unis, étaient tous réunis à Québec.

Cette rencontre a permis d’élaborer des normes pour la diffusion d’information sur les courants de surface qui présente un intérêt pour la navigation. Les standards internationaux d’échange de données développés par le Groupe de travail seront utilisés par plusieurs nouvelles technologies, notamment les systèmes de navigation avancés qui intègreront à la carte électronique une foule de renseignements comme les courants de surface. L’harmonisation de l’information améliorera la sécurité et l’efficience de la navigation à travers le monde.

La participation du Canada à ce groupe de travail mettra à contribution l’expertise développée au fil des ans à l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, entre autres par l’équipe d’océanographie opérationnelle et par le Service hydrographique du Canada.

Groupe de travail sur les courants de surface
Organisation hydrographique internationale


Louis Maltais
Sciences

Un des objectifs de l’Organisation hydrographique internationale est d'assurer que toutes les mers, tous les océans et toutes les eaux navigables du monde soient hydrographiés et cartographiés. Sa mission consiste à créer un environnement global au sein duquel les états fournissent, en temps utile, des données, des produits et des services hydrographiques appropriés, et assurent leur plus large utilisation possible.

Agent des pêches d’un jour en Gaspésie

À l’été 2014, la Direction de la conservation et de la protection de Pêches et Océans Canada, district de Gaspé-Sud, a permis à quelques jeunes d’être agent des pêches d’un jour. Lors de cette journée, les heureux élus ont accompagné des agents des pêches de Grande-Rivière à leurs rencontres avec des pêcheurs et leurs visites d’usines de pêche. Ils ont aussi participé à des patrouilles terrestre et maritime.

Cette activité venait conclure les rencontres scolaires du Programme de conservation et protection où des agents des pêches sensibilisent les élèves de sixième année à leur travail et à la protection de la ressource halieutique et de l’habitat du poisson. Les agents des pêches d’un jour sont choisis par tirage au sort parmi tous les élèves rencontrés.

Membres du Groupe de travail sur les courants de surface
L'agent des pêches Pierre Gagnon et les agents des pêches d’un jour Antony Moreau et Josianne Michel, de l’école Bon-Pasteur de Grande-Rivière. (Absent de la photo : l’agent des pêches Angelo Normand)
Membres du Groupe de travail sur les courants de surface
Nicolas Landry-Boudreau et Jennifer Lavoie, de l’école des Audomarois de Saint-Omer, entourent l’agent des pêches Pierre Gagnon. (Absent de la photo : l’agent des pêches André Hogan)

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.