Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
August - September 2014/Volume 17/Number 4

Dispatches

Renowned speakers at the American Fisheries Society Annual Meeting

 American Fisheries Society

The American Fisheries Society (AFS) Annual Meeting is being held from August 17 to 21 in Québec City. Four renowned scientists lectured on the following topics on the theme of From Fisheries Research to Management: Thinking and Acting Locally and Globally:

  • the importance of basic science for fishery management (Louis Bernatchez, Ph.D., Université Laval, Canada);
  • worldwide patterns in riverine fish diversity (Thierry Oberdorff, Ph.D., Muséum national d’histoire naturelle, France);
  • the importance of stakeholder involvement in fisheries management (Ana Parma, Ph.D., Centro Nacional Patagonico, Argentina); and
  • how organizations can involuntarily distort the flow of information (David Bella, Ph.D., Oregon State University, United States).

The next edition of Infoceans will provide an overview of the AFS Annual Meeting, which the Department hosted.

Maité Chavez
General Meeting Coordinator

New floating docks at the Port of Matane

New floating docks at the Port of Matane
DFO F. Labrecque

Matane fishermen can now count on additional spaces at floating docks to berth their vessels. Specifically, 82 linear metres of dock was installed at the Port of Matane for this project, carried out by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in collaboration with the local harbour authority.

Seeing as the main dock no longer had enough berthage spaces for the shrimp fleet, the Department suggested installing a line of floating docks within the main basin to remedy the lack of spaces. The owner of the site, Transport Canada, gave its approval for the installation. Floating docks are a viable alternative for shrimp fishermen, who will be able to manoeuvre more easily and safely. Another advantage of floating docks is that they can be installed in a short period of time and at a reasonable cost.

The new floating docks have been available for fishermen as of this past April. Electrical services will be installed this fall.

Some facts about the Port of Matane...

In addition to crab, turbot and whelk fishers, a fleet of about 12 shrimpers operates out of the Port of Matane on a permanent basis. This traffic is largely due to the Eastern Quebec Seafoods factory, which opened in Matane in 1980. The Port of Matane is the second-largest producer of northern shrimp in Quebec in terms of landed volume.

Jean-Pierre Huet
Small Craft Harbours

A new initiative to protect whales

A Mariners Guide to Whales in the Northwest Atlantic

The Shipping Federation of Canada and the Réseau d'observation de mammifères marins announce the publication of A Mariners Guide to Whales in the Northwest Atlantic.

This new guide was developed in order to provide mariners sailing in the Northwest Atlantic with information on the various types of whales they may encounter. It identifies areas in which they should be particularly vigilant. The tool, which is the first of its kind in Canada, includes information about the risk of collisions between ships and whales, descriptions of the 13 species of whales found in the Northwest Atlantic, as well as maps showing their distribution throughout the area.

This initiative was made possible by funding from the Habitat Stewardship Program for Species at Risk. The PDF versions of the guide can be downloaded (in both French and English) on the sites of the Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins and of the Shipping Federation of Canada. A hard copy of the guide (in English only) can be obtained by contacting either organization.

Andréanne Demers
Ecosystems management

Marine mammal observation data on the Web

Marine mammal database

The marine mammal observation network (Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins - ROMM) is making its important marine mammals data collection available on the St. Lawrence Global Observatory Website. This database contains marine mammal observations acquired since 1998 by a network of volunteer observers. The observations can be found at ogsl.ca/bio

A crowdsourcing Web Application is also available on the site. It will enable the public to contribute to this database by sharing their observations of cetaceans, seals, sharks and other species of interest. You can register at ogsl.ca/romm. The marine mammal network ROMM has also added educational material about marine mammals and their identification on the Global Observatory Website (French only).

Sylvi Racine
Communications

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Août - septembre 2014/volume 17/numéro 4

Dépêches

Conférenciers de renom à la réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society

 American Fisheries Society

Le congrès annuel de l’American Fisheries Society (AFS) se tient du 17 au 21 août dans la ville de Québec. Sous le thème De la recherche à la gestion des pêches, penser et agir localement et globalement, quatre scientifiques de renom ont prononcé des conférences sur les thèmes suivants :

  • l’importance de la recherche fondamentale pour la gestion des pêches (Louis Bernatchez, Ph. D., Université Laval, Canada);
  • les patrons mondiaux de diversité des espèces de poissons en milieu fluvial (Thierry Oberdorff, Ph. D., Muséum national d’Histoire naturelle, France);
  • l’importance de l’implication des intervenants locaux en gestion des pêches (Ana Parma, Ph. D., Centro Nacional Patagonico, Argentine);
  • comment les organisations peuvent de manière involontaire fausser le flux des informations (David Bella, Ph. D., Oregon State University, États-Unis).

Dans la prochaine édition d’Infocéans, nous dresserons le bilan du congrès annuel de l’AFS, dont le Ministère était l’hôte.

Maité Chavez
Coordonnatrice générale

Nouveaux quais flottants au port de Matane

Nouveaux quais flottants au port de Matane
MPO F. Labrecque

  

Les pêcheurs de Matane peuvent maintenant compter sur des espaces supplémentaires de quais flottants pour amarrer leurs bateaux. En effet, 82 mètres linéaires ont été installés au port de Matane pour ce projet réalisé par Pêches et Océans Canada, de concert avec l’administration portuaire locale.

Comme le quai principal n’offrait plus suffisamment d’espace d’amarrage pour la flotte de crevettiers, le Ministère a proposé d’installer une ligne de quais flottants à l’intérieur du bassin principal pour pallier le manque d’espace. Le propriétaire de cet emplacement, Transports Canada, a donné son accord pour l’installation. Les quais flottants représentent une bonne solution de rechange pour les pêcheurs de crevettes, qui pourront manœuvrer en toute sécurité et plus facilement. Ce type d’ouvrage a également l’avantage de pouvoir être réalisé dans un court laps de temps et à des coûts raisonnables.

Les nouveaux quais flottants sont accessibles aux pêcheurs depuis avril dernier. Les services électriques seront en place cet automne.

Quelques mots sur le port de Matane…

En plus des pêcheurs qui débarquent du crabe, du turbot et du buccin, une flotte d’environ 12 crevettiers occupe le port de Matane en permanence. Cet achalandage n’est pas étranger à la présence de l’usine Les Fruits de Mer de l’Est-du-Québec, établie à Matane depuis 1980. Le port de Matane est le deuxième en importance au Québec pour le volume des débarquements de crevettes nordiques.


Jean-Pierre Huet
Ports pour petits bateaux

Une nouvelle initiative pour la protection des baleines

Guide des navires et baleines de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest

La Fédération maritime du Canada et le Réseau d'observation de mammifères marins lancent le guide Navires et baleines de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest.
                                          
Ce nouveau guide a été développé à l'intention des navigateurs fréquentant l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest afin de fournir de l'information sur la présence de nombreuses espèces de cétacés et les renseigner sur les zones où une vigilance accrue est souhaitable. L’outil de sensibilisation, le premier en son genre au Canada, inclut de l'information sur la problématique des collisions, des fiches sur les 13 espèces de baleines présentes sur le territoire ainsi que des cartes de distribution des populations de mammifères marins dans l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

Cette initiative a été rendue possible grâce au financement du Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril. Il est possible de télécharger les versions PDF (français et anglais) sur les sites du Réseau d'observation de mammifères marins et de la Fédération maritime du Canada.  Le guide est également disponible en anglais en version papier auprès des deux organisations.

Andréanne Demers
Gestion des écosystèmes

Données d’observation de mammifères marins sur le Web

Base de données sur les mammifères marins

Le Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM) diffuse son importante collection de données sur les mammifères marins sur le site de l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent (OGSL). Cette base de données contient les observations de mammifères marins acquises depuis 1998 par un réseau de membres observateurs bénévoles. Les données peuvent être consultées à l’adresse ogsl.ca/bio

Le site présente également une application de saisie de données pour permettre au public d’ajouter ses observations de cétacés, de phoques, de requins et d’autres espèces d’intérêt. On peut s’inscrire à l’adresse ogsl.ca/romm. Le Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins a aussi déposé du contenu éducatif sur les mammifères marins et leur identification sur le site de l’Observatoire.

Sylvi Racine
Communications