Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
June - July 2014/Volume 17/Number 3

Dispatches

Capelin Observers Network has moved!

Young girl presenting a capelin.

Since May 12, 2014, members of the Capelin Observers Network (CON) have been reporting their capelin spawning information on the St. Lawrence Global Observatory (SLGO) website.

The SLGO's primary mission is to promote the sharing and pooling of scientific information on the St. Lawrence ecosystem. The CON could not have found a better partner to share and publish its information.

Established in 2002, the CON invites the public to report its observations so that capelin spawning sites on the shore of the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence can be better documented. The information is then compiled and made available to the public.

Capelin is the main forage species of the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence ecosystem. Cod, halibut, flounder, salmon, baleen whales, belugas, dolphins, porpoises, seals, northern gannets and other marine birds all feed on capelin.

If you see capelin spawning or notice signs of its presence, you are invited to report it.

Have you seen capelin spawning? Go to the SLGO website to share your observations.

Sylvie Sirois
Ecosystem Management

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Juin - juillet 2014/volume 17/numéro 3

Dépêches

Le Réseau des observateurs du capelan déménage!

Jeune fille avec un capelan.

Depuis le 12 mai 2014, les membres du Réseau des observateurs du capelan (ROC) rapportent leur information à propos de la fraie du capelan sur le site Web de l’Observatoire global du Saint-Laurent (OGSL).

La mission principale de l’OGSL est de favoriser la mise en commun et le partage d'information scientifique sur l’écosystème du Saint-Laurent. Le ROC ne pouvait trouver meilleur partenaire pour partager et diffuser son information.

Mis sur pied en 2002, le ROC invite le public à signaler ses observations afin que les sites de fraie du capelan sur le littoral de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent soient mieux connus. L’information est ensuite compilée et rendue disponible au public.

Le capelan est la principale espèce fourragère de l’écosystème du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Il sert d’aliment aux morues, flétans, plies, saumons, rorquals, bélugas, dauphins, marsouins, phoques, fous de Bassan et autres oiseaux marins.

Si vous êtes témoin de la fraie du capelan ou que vous observez des indices de sa présence, vous êtes invité à signaler ces endroits où le capelan « roule ».

L’avez-vous vu rouler? Rendez-vous sur le site Web de l’OGSL pour partager vos observations.

Sylvie Sirois
Gestion des écosystèmes

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.