Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
April - May 2014/Volume 17/Number 2

Dispatches

Annual Fisheries Society Annual Meeting: Join us in Québec in August!

The 144th annual meeting of the American Fisheries Society (AFS) will be held in Québec from August 17–21, 2014, under the theme "From Fisheries Research to Management: Think and Act Locally and Globally." Fisheries and Oceans Canada is organizing this global event in cooperation with the Northeastern Division, Atlantic International Chapter and Canadian Aquatic Resources Section of AFS. The City of Québec, Tourisme Québec and the Québec City Convention Centre are major partners in the event.

AFS's mission is to improve the conservation and sustainability of fishery resources and aquatic ecosystems, which is in keeping with Fisheries and Oceans Canada's mission. Its members are mainly professionals, mostly from the scientific community, as well as the fisheries resources field (managers, scientists, professors, consultants, industry members, etc.).

The international event is expected to draw about 2500 people. Some 40 symposia will be presented at the Québec City Convention Centre by experts in the fisheries resources field. The exhibition component will allow participants to learn about and discuss common issues in concrete terms.

Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society

For more information on the 144th AFS Annual Meeting, visit the website, the event's Facebook page or follow us on Twitter.

Maité Chavez
General Meeting Coordinator

Silting of Fishing Harbours in Magdalen Islands Poses Challenge for DFO and industry

Dredging operations in the Magdalen Islands

Several harbours in certain coastal regions experience natural silting caused by tides, floods and storms. In the Magdalen Islands, this is a particular concern in the Île-d’Entrée, Millerand, Pointe-aux-Loups, Grosse-Ile and Pointe-Basse harbours.

Given the importance of commercial fishing to the archipelago, the safety and accessibility of core fishing harbours are priorities for Fisheries and Oceans Canada, which invests nearly $1 million each year in dredging operations and management.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is responsible for the dredging program. Every spring, it ensures that the harbours are safe at the start of fishing activities. Naturally, the peak of the season is the opening of the lobster fishery, when 325 vessels take to the sea on the same day.

As soon as the ice moves out in the spring, bathymetric surveys are conducted. They provide the data needed to determine the scope of work required in each harbour to ensure the safety of users when the fisheries begin. A dredging schedule is then established with the contractor in charge of the work and work begins as soon as possible. Despite effective planning, work progress depends largely on weather conditions: a windy spring can delay dredging by several days or even a few weeks.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is aware of the impact that dredging activities have on the Magdalen Islands commercial fishing community and works hard to meet the needs of its clients in relation to dredging fishing harbours. Since winter 2014 was exceptionally harsh, let's hope Mother Nature will cooperate for the fishing season!

Sylvette Leblanc
Magdalen Islands Area

Projects Near Water: A Quick and Simple Self-Assessment to Protect Fisheries

Wharf by waterbody

The Fisheries Act requires that projects avoid causing serious harm to fish unless authorized by Fisheries and Oceans Canada. This applies to work being conducted in or near waterbodies frequented by fish that are part of or that support a commercial, recreational or Aboriginal fishery. Serious harm means "the death of fish or any permanent alteration to, or destruction of, fish habitat."

Many projects carried out in or near waterbodies frequented by fish are not likely to cause serious harm to the fish or impact species at risk. In such cases, proponents do not need to submit their projects to Fisheries and Oceans Canada for review before carrying out the work.

To help determine whether a project must be submitted to Fisheries and Oceans Canada, a self-assessment tool is available to proponents. This tool presents types of waterbodies and projects that are not subject to review if appropriate mitigation measures are adopted. Proponents who are unsure about whether a project requires a Department's review can consult a qualified environmental professional.

Projects near water must also comply with the pollution prevention provisions of the Fisheries Act and the Species at Risk Act.

In all cases, it is the proponent's responsibility to ensure that all applicable federal, provincial and municipal requirements are respected.

For more information, please consult the Department's Projects Near Water webpage.

Dominic Boula
Ecosystems Management

One Step Closer to Recovery of Eastern Sand Darter

Eastern Sand Darter
E. Edmonson and H. Chrisp (New York State Department of Environmental Conservation)

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is announcing the publication of the Recovery Strategy for the Eastern Sand Darter, a species at risk, written in collaboration with several partners.

The distribution area for this small, threatened species of freshwater fish includes the St. Lawrence River and its tributaries, between Lac des Deux-Montagnes and Lac Saint-Pierre. The eastern sand darter seems to have limited adaptability and very specific requirements in terms of habitat. It is therefore very vulnerable to any factor that could alter its habitat, to the presence of exotic species and to a decrease in the availability of its prey.

The short-term objective of the recovery strategy is to ensure that the eastern sand darter populations are maintained and to prevent their decline. In the longer term, the objective is to reverse the decline and allow populations to grow. Currently, critical habitat has been designated in three areas:  L’Assomption and Ouareau rivers, the Richelieu River and the Aux Saumons River (near Dundee). Research is ongoing to learn more about the habitat used and then, complete critical habitat identification.

Several activities promoting Eastern Sand Darter recovery have also been undertaken by Quebec's Ministère des Forêts, de la faune et des Parcs, Fisheries and Oceans Canada and its collaborators, including surveys and awareness activities related to habitat protection, assessment of the Eastern Sand Darter's vulnerability to bait fishing and the distribution of an information sheet.

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Ecosystems Management

One Step Closer to Recovery of Spring Cisco

Spring Cisco
Michel Hénault, MNRF

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is announcing the publication of the Recovery Strategy for the Spring Cisco, a species at risk, written in collaboration with several partners.

The spring cisco, a small endangered species of freshwater fish is found only in Lac des Écorces, near Mont-Laurier. Unlike the other ciscos that spawn in the fall, the spring cisco spawns only in the spring. The main threat to the cisco's survival is the rainbow smelt, a species recently introduced to Lac des Écorces. The rainbow smelt feeds, among others, on the spring cisco and competes with it for habitat and food. The deterioration of the cisco's habitat is also a potential threat.

The recovery strategy aims to stop the decline and increase the size of the spring cisco population. To protect the cisco's habitat, Lac des Écorces was identified "critical habitat," meaninghabitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of this species.

Moreover, activities promoting spring cisco recovery have already been undertaken by local stakeholders, Quebec's Ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Some of these activities include the massive removal of the Rainbow Smelt, inspection of shoreline state and septic facilities, and water quality awareness activities.

Andréanne Demers
Ecosystems Management

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Avril - mai 2014/volume 17/numéro 2

Dépêches

Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society : rendez-vous à Québec en août!

La 144e réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society (AFS) se tiendra dans la ville de Québec du 17 au 21 août 2014, sur le thème « De la recherche à la gestion des pêches : penser et agir localement et globalement ». Pêches et Océans Canada organise cet évènement international en collaboration avec la Division Nord-Est, le Chapitre Atlantique International et la Section des ressources aquatiques canadiennes de l’AFS.  La Ville de Québec, Tourisme Québec et le Centre des congrès de Québec sont des partenaires majeurs de l’évènement.

Le mandat de l’AFS est d’améliorer la conservation et le développement durable des ressources halieutiques et des écosystèmes aquatiques, mandat qui rejoint tout à fait la mission du Ministère. Ses membres sont notamment des professionnels provenant majoritairement de la communauté scientifique et du domaine des ressources halieutiques (gestionnaires, scientifiques, professeurs, consultants, membres de l’industrie, etc.).

L'évènement international devrait accueillir environ 2 500 personnes. Une quarantaine de symposiums seront présentés au Centre des congrès de Québec par des experts du domaine des ressources halieutiques. Le volet exposition permettra aux participants d’apprendre et d’échanger concrètement sur des enjeux communs.

Réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society

Pour en savoir davantage sur la 144e réunion annuelle de l’AFS, consultez le site Web, la page Facebook de l’évènement ou suivez-nous sur Twitter.

Maité Chavez
Coordonnatrice générale

L’ensablement des ports de pêche aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine : un défi pour le MPO et l’industrie

Opérations de dragage aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Plusieurs havres de certaines régions côtières subissent annuellement un ensablement naturel au gré des marées, des crues et des tempêtes. Pour ce qui est des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, c’est le cas notamment des havres de l’Île d’Entrée, Millerand, Pointe-aux-Loups, Grosse-Ile et Pointe-Basse.

En raison de l’importance du secteur des pêches commerciales pour l’archipel, la sécurité et l’accessibilité des havres essentiels à la pêche sont des priorités pour Pêches et Océans Canada, qui investit près de un million de dollars chaque année dans les opérations et la gestion du dragage.

Le Ministère est responsable du programme de dragage. Chaque printemps, il s’assure que les havres seront sécuritaires lors du début des activités de pêche. Le point culminant de la saison est bien entendu l’ouverture de la pêche au homard, alors que 325 bateaux prennent la mer le même jour.

Dès le retrait des glaces au printemps, on procède à des levés bathymétriques. Ceux-ci fourniront les données nécessaires pour déterminer l’ampleur des travaux requis dans chaque havre afin d’assurer la sécurité des usagers lors du début de la pêche. Par la suite, un calendrier de dragage est établi avec l’entrepreneur responsable des travaux et ceux-ci débutent dès que possible. Malgré une planification efficace, l’avancement des travaux dépend largement des conditions météorologiques : un printemps venteux peut retarder le dragage de plusieurs jours, voire quelques semaines.

Conscient de l’impact des activités de dragage sur la communauté des pêcheurs commerciaux des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, le Ministère met tout en œuvre afin de répondre aux besoins de sa clientèle en matière de dragage des havres de pêche. L’hiver 2014 ayant été exceptionnellement rigoureux, souhaitons la collaboration de Dame Nature pour la saison de pêche!

Sylvette Leblanc
Secteur des Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Projets près de l’eau : une autoévaluation simple et rapide pour assurer la protection des pêches

Quai aux abords d’un plan d’eau

La Loi sur les pêches requiert que les projets évitent de causer des dommages sérieux au poisson, à moins que ces dommages aient été autorisés par Pêches et Océans Canada. Cela s'applique aux travaux réalisés à proximité ou dans un plan d'eau où vivent des poissons visés par une pêche commerciale, récréative ou autochtone, ou des poissons dont dépend une telle pêche. Par dommage sérieux, on entend «la mort de tout poisson ou la modification permanente ou la destruction de son habitat».

Un grand nombre de projets réalisés à proximité ou dans un plan d'eau où vivent des poissons ne sont pas susceptibles de causer des dommages sérieux aux poissons ou de nuire à des espèces en péril. Dans de tels cas, le promoteur n’a pas besoin de soumettre son projet à un examen de Pêches et Océans Canada avant de procéder aux travaux.

Pour aider à déterminer si un projet doit être soumis à Pêches et Océans Canada, un outil d’autoévaluation est mis à la disposition du promoteur. Cet outil présente des types de plans d’eau et de projets qui ne sont pas assujettis à un examen si des mesures d’atténuation appropriées sont adoptées. Dans le doute, le promoteur est invité à consulter des professionnels qualifiés de l’environnement.

Les projets effectués près d'un cours d'eau doivent également être conformes aux dispositions relatives à la Loi sur les espèces en péril et à la prévention de la pollution de la Loi sur les pêches.

Dans tous les cas, il incombe au promoteur de veiller à respecter toutes les exigences fédérales, provinciales et municipales applicables.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la page Internet Projets près de l'eau du Ministère.

Dominic Boula
Gestion des écosystèmes

Un pas de plus vers le rétablissement du dard de sable

Dard de sable
E. Edmonson and H. Chrisp (New York State Department of Environmental Conservation)

Pêches et Océans Canada annonce la publication du Programme de rétablissement du dard de sable, une espèce en péril, rédigé en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires.

L’aire de répartition de cette petite espèce de poisson d’eau douce menacée, comprend le fleuve Saint-Laurent et ses tributaires entre le lac des Deux-Montagnes et le lac Saint-Pierre. Le dard de sable semble avoir une adaptabilité limitée et des exigences spécifiques en matière d’habitat. Il est donc très sensible à tout facteur susceptible de modifier son habitat, à la présence d’espèces exotiques et à la diminution de la disponibilité de ses proies.

L’objectif à court terme du programme de rétablissement est d’assurer le maintien des populations de dard de sable et d’empêcher leur déclin. À plus long terme, l’objectif est de renverser le déclin et de permettre la croissance des populations. Pour le moment, l’habitat essentiel a été désigné dans trois secteurs : les rivières L’Assomption et Ouareau, la rivière Richelieu et la rivière aux Saumons (près de Dundee). Les recherches se poursuivent afin d’acquérir davantage de connaissances sur les habitats utilisés et ainsi compléter la désignation de l’habitat essentiel.

Plusieurs activités favorables au rétablissement du dard de sable ont aussi été entreprises par le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec, Pêches et Océans Canada et ses collaborateurs, dont des inventaires et activités de sensibilisation en lien avec la protection de l’habitat, l’évaluation de la vulnérabilité du dard de sable à la pêche aux poissons appâts et la distribution d’un feuillet éducatif.

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Gestion des écosystèmes

Cisco de printemps
Michel Hénault, MRNF

Un pas de plus vers le rétablissement du cisco de printemps

Pêches et Océans Canada annonce la publication du Programme de rétablissement du cisco de printemps, une espèce en péril, rédigé en collaboration avec plusieurs partenaires.

Le cisco de printemps, une petite espèce de poisson d’eau douce en voie de disparition, est présent uniquement dans le lac des Écorces près de Mont-Laurier. Contrairement aux autres ciscos qui se reproduisent à l’automne, le cisco de printemps fraie uniquement au printemps. La principale menace à la survie du cisco est l’éperlan arc-en-ciel, une espèce récemment introduite dans le lac des Écorces. L’éperlan arc-en-ciel se nourrit notamment de cisco de printemps et compétitionne avec lui pour l’habitat et la nourriture. La dégradation de l’habitat du cisco est aussi une menace potentielle.

Le programme de rétablissement vise à arrêter le déclin et accroître l’abondance du cisco de printemps. Afin d’assurer la protection de l’habitat du cisco, le lac des Écorces a été désigné « habitat essentiel », soit l’habitat nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement de cette espèce.

De plus, des activités favorables au rétablissement du cisco de printemps ont déjà été entreprises par les intervenants locaux, le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs du Québec et Pêches et Océans Canada. Parmi ces activités, il y a le retrait massif d’éperlans arc-en-ciel, l’inspection de l’état des rives et des installations septiques, et des activités de sensibilisation sur la qualité de l’eau.

Andréanne Demers
Gestion des écosystèmes

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.