Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
February - March 2014/Volume 17/Number 1

New publications

Canadian Tide and Current Tables: Featuring the Sinking of the Empress of Ireland

TABLE_MARÉES

In recent years, the cover of the Canadian Hydrographic Service’s Canadian Tide and Current Tables has been illustrated with photographs of lighthouses, proud witnesses of Canada’s maritime history. This year, in conjunction with the Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père, one of these works will commemorate the sinking of the Empress of Ireland on May 29, 1914. 2014 will mark the centennial year with a series of activities commemorating this tragic event, which is considered the worst nautical disaster in Canadian waters.
 
Volume 3 of the Canadian Tide and Current Tables covers the St. Lawrence estuary and the Saguenay fjord. The cover layout features three elements: a photo of the vessel, the commemoration logo and a picture of the wreckage of the Empress of Ireland lying on the bottom of the St. Lawrence. The image was generated by processing acoustic data from a multibeam echo sounder used by the Canadian Hydrographic Service.

The Canadian Hydrographic Service has also published Volume 2 of the Canadian Tide and Current Tables, which covers the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The cover features a photograph of the Cap-des-Rosiers lighthouse, the tallest lighthouse in Canada at 34.1 metres.

The lighthouse was inaugurated in 1858 and designated a national historic site of Canada in 1974. This imposing white stone tower, located between the lower estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence, is still a landmark for many mariners to this day. It is known throughout the world and its photos are emblematic.

The Canadian Tide and Current Tables are available from authorized dealers. For more information on tides and water levels, visit www.tides.gc.ca or call 1-877-775-0790.

Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père

Commemoration of the Empress of Ireland

Cap-des-Rosiers lighthouse

Robert Dorais
Sciences

New Science Advisory Reports

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat's website:

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Février - mars 2014/volume 17/numéro 1

Nouvelles publications

Tables des marées et des courants du Canada : le naufrage de l’Empress of Ireland en vedette

Braconnge_01_FR

Depuis quelques années, la couverture des Tables des marées et courants du Canada du Service hydrographique du Canada est illustrée de photographies de phares, fiers témoins de l’histoire maritime du pays. Cette année, en collaboration avec le Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père, un de ces ouvrages commémorera le naufrage de l’Empress of Ireland survenu le 29 mai 1914. L’année 2014 marquera ce centenaire grâce à une programmation d’activités autour de ce tragique événement qualifié de plus grand naufrage à avoir eu lieu en eaux canadiennes.

Le volume 3 des Tables des marées et courants du Canada couvre l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et le fjord du Saguenay. La couverture présente un montage graphique comprenant trois éléments : une photographie du navire, le logo de la commémoration ainsi qu’une image de l’épave de l’Empress of Ireland reposant au fond du Saint-Laurent. Cette image a été obtenue en traitant les données acoustiques qui proviennent d’un échosondeur multifaisceaux utilisé par le Service hydrographique du Canada.

Le Service hydrographique du Canada a également publié le volume 2 des Tables des marées et des courants du Canada qui couvre le golfe du Saint-Laurent. On retrouve sur la couverture une photographie du phare de Cap-des-Rosiers, le plus haut phare du Canada avec ses 34,1 mètres.

Le phare a été inauguré en 1858 et a été désigné comme lieu historique national du Canada en 1974. Cette imposante tour de pierres blanches, située à la limite de l’estuaire maritime et du golfe du Saint-Laurent, est encore aujourd’hui un point de repère pour de nombreux marins. Il est connu partout dans le monde et ses photos sont emblématiques.

Les Tables des marées et courants du Canada sont disponibles auprès des dépositaires autorisés. Pour plus d’information sur les marées et les niveaux d’eau, consultez le site www.marees.gc.ca ou appelez au 1-877-775-0790.

Site historique maritime de la Pointe-au-Père

Commémoration de l’Empress of Ireland

Phare de Cap-des-Rosiers

Robert Dorais
Sciences

Nouveaux avis scientifiques

Les avis scientifiques suivant sont maintenant sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique :