Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
February - March 2014/Volume 17/Number 1

Dispatches

Recovery Strategy for the Channel Darter

Another step towards the recovery of this species at risk

Channel Darter
G. Coker
Small fish

Fisheries and Oceans Canada announces the publication of the Recovery Strategy for the Channel Darter, a threatened species. This small freshwater fish, which is found in the St. Lawrence River and a few tributaries in Quebec and Ontario, is protected under the Species at Risk Act. The Channel Darter is threatened by habitat loss and degradatio,n as well as the introduction of invasive species and diseases.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has prepared this recovery strategy in cooperation with the governments of Quebec and Ontario, as well as other organizations. The objective of the strategy is to maintain existing Channel Darter populations and restore self-sustaining populations to the species' former habitats, where feasible. In addition, the recovery strategy has identified five areas as critical habitat. The Species at Risk Act prohibits destruction of this critical habitat required for the survival and recovery of the species, thereby helping to protect this small fish.

Many actions for the recovery of the species have already been undertaken in cooperation with various partners. For example, awareness raising activities, as well as surveys, have been conducted and an information pamphlet has been published. In addition, in 2009 the Government of Quebec added the Channel Darter to the List of species prohibited for use as baitfish.

Channel Darter Fact Sheet

Jacinthe Beauchamp 
Ecosystems Management

Harbour Authority Recognition Program

left to right, V. Malouin, A. Bolt, J. Mercier, B. Beaudoin
Joël Mercier, recipient of the regional distinction award, receiving the national Prix d’Excellence, shown with Vincent Malouin (left), Regional Director, Gaspé – Lower St. Lawrence Aarea, Arlène Bolt, Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie HA secretary, and Bernard Beaudoin (right), Regional Director, Small Craft Harbours.

Since the Harbour Authority Program’s inception, more than 650 fishing harbours are managed by Harbour Authorities in Canada. Approximately 5000 volunteers work for them in addition to several professional employees. This year, the program is celebrating its 25th anniversary!

Harbour Authorities (commonly known as HAs) are responsible for managing, operating and maintaining one or more public fishing harbours, through a lease agreement with Fisheries and Oceans Canada. They are responsible for keeping the harbours clean and in good condition, and ensure that harbour facilities effectively support the fishing industry.

In 2008, the Department introduced the Harbour Authority Recognition Program. The program was implemented to officially recognize the work, accomplishments, efforts and essential role that HA volunteers play across Canada, in the daily management of fishing ports in their community.

In 2013, the Harbour Master at the Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie HA in the Gaspé, Joël Mercier, received two recognition awards: a regional distinction award and a national Prix d’Excellence.

Congratulations to Joël Mercier!


Jean-Pierre Huet
Small Craft Harbours

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by using the online form or calling 1-800-463-9057. All reports are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Février - mars 2014/volume 17/numéro 1

Dépêches

Le programme de rétablissement du fouille-roche gris -
Un pas de plus vers le rétablissement de cette espèce en péril

fouille-roche gris
G. Coker
Petit poisson

Pêches et Océans Canada annonce la publication du Programme de rétablissement du fouille-roche gris, une espèce menacée. Ce petit poisson d’eau douce, présent dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent et quelques tributaires du Québec et de l’Ontario, est protégé par la Loi sur les espèces en péril. La perte et la dégradation de son habitat ainsi que la présence d’espèces exotiques et de maladies auraient contribué à son déclin.

C’est en collaboration avec les gouvernements du Québec et de l’Ontario ainsi que d’autres organisations intéressées que Pêches et Océans Canada a rédigé ce programme de rétablissement. Il a pour objectif d’assurer le maintien des populations actuelles de fouille-roche gris et, lorsque cela est possible, de rétablir des populations autosuffisantes dans les habitats autrefois occupés par cette espèce. De plus, le programme de rétablissement a désigné cinq zones comme habitat essentiel. La Loi sur les espèces en péril interdit de détruire cet habitat nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement de l’espèce, ce qui contribuera à protéger ce petit poisson.

Plusieurs actions visant le rétablissement de l’espèce ont déjà été entreprises en collaboration avec différents partenaires. Par exemple, des activités de sensibilisation et des inventaires ont été réalisés et un dépliant d’information a été publié. De plus, en 2009, le gouvernement du Québec a inscrit le fouille-roche gris à la Liste des espèces dont l’usage comme poisson-appât est interdit.

Fiche d’information sur le fouille-roche gris

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Gestion des écosystèmes

Programme de reconnaissance des administrations portuaires

de gauche à droite, V. Malouin, A. Bolt, J. Mercier, B. Beaudoin
Joël Mercier, récipiendaire du prix régional de distinction, reçoit le prix national d’excellence en compagnie de Vincent Malouin (gauche), directeur régional, secteur Gaspésie – Bas-Saint-Laurent, Arlène Bolt, secrétaire de l’AP de Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie, ainsi que Bernard Beaudoin (droite), directeur régional, Ports pour petits bateaux.

Depuis la mise en place du Programme des administrations portuaires, plus de 650 ports de pêche au Canada sont gérés par des administrations portuaires. Près de 5000 bénévoles et de nombreux professionnels y travaillent. D’ailleurs, le programme célèbre cette année ses 25 ans!

Les administrations portuaires (communément appelées AP), sont responsables de la gestion, de l’exploitation et de l’entretien d’un ou plusieurs ports de pêche publics, en vertu d’un bail conclu avec Pêches et Océans Canada. Elles ont le mandat de garder les ports propres, en bon état et veillent à ce que les installations portuaires appuient efficacement l’industrie de la pêche commerciale.

Depuis 2008, le Ministère a lancé un programme de reconnaissance des administrations portuaires. Ce programme a été mis en place afin de reconnaître officiellement le travail, les réalisations, les efforts et le rôle essentiel que jouent les bénévoles des AP à travers le Canada, dans la gestion quotidienne des ports de pêche de leur communauté.

En 2013, le gardien de quai de l’AP de Saint-Georges-de-Malbaie en Gaspésie, Joël Mercier, s’est vu remettre deux prix de reconnaissance : un prix de distinction au niveau régional et un prix d’excellence au niveau national.

Toutes nos félicitations à Joël Mercier!

Jean-Pierre Huet
Ports pour petits bateaux

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.

Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage par son nouveau formulaire en ligne ou en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les signalements sont confidentiels.