Subscribe Email RSS
Infoceans logo

Quebec Bulletin
October - November 2013/Volume 16/Number 5

Dispatches

Marcel Fréchette Awarded Aquaculture Award of Excellence

Marcel Fréchette
Marcel Fréchette

The Research Award of Excellence was presented to Marcel Fréchette, Emeritus Scientist at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute, during the Aquaculture Association of Canada’s annual meeting held in Guelph, Ontario, in June 2013. This award recognizes the contribution of Mr. Fréchette, whose work significantly advanced knowledge of shellfish aquaculture development, an important issue for both Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the industry.

Mr. Fréchette's various research projects have been key to the aquaculture industry. One of the major achievements of these projects was adapting basic research to practical commercial applications for mussel farmers. For example, his publications on shellfish productivity based on the self-thinning theory had a direct bearing on monitoring and production optimization for Quebec and Prince Edward Island mussel farming sites.

Marcel Fréchette is known for his original and rigorous scientific approach, his commitment to aquaculture development, and his concern for people and groups whose living depends on the aquaculture industry. He has worked for the Department for nearly 30 years and was appointed Emeritus Scientist in 2013.

Yvan Lambert
Science

Jury’s Choice Award Winners in Wanted: Young Cartographers Contest

Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut
DFO R. Dorais
Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut

As part of the Wanted: Young Cartographers contest, Fisheries and Oceans Canada presented two Jury’s Choice awards to Secondary I and II students in June 2013. 

Catherine Bélanger and Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut received their awards at the Museum of Civilization. Their prize: participating in a hydrographic mission on the St. Lawrence River onboard the CCGS F.C.G. Smith.

Award-winner Kim climbed aboard the vessel for a busy afternoon, accompanied by her parents and sister. After a tour of the ship to familiarize themselves with safety procedures, the entire family learned more about what it takes to be a hydrographer. Guided by real-life hydrographers, Kim was able to check data acquired on channel depths as well as the various steps required to disseminate information.

While aboard the F.C.G. Smith, the Gagnon-Clusiaut family was able to see first-hand the technology and accuracy hydrographers work with. The family's interest in this profession was obvious through their questions and interactions. Kim, who wants to be an astronaut, had the opportunity to explore a nearby but little-known universe, one that is slowly revealing itself as technologies continue to evolve, thanks to increasingly clearer images of the seabed.

The Wanted: Young Cartographers contest is organized by the Canadian Institute of Geomatics and CEGEP Limoilou.

Robert Dorais
Science

Daniel Boisvert Retires

Daniel Boisvert
Daniel Boisvert

Daniel Boisvert, Chief of Resource Management, is retiring in October, thus ending his over 32-year career with Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), Quebec Region.

A biologist by training, Daniel arrived at DFO in 1981 as part of the Fisheries Science Branch. In 1983, he became an advisor for Resource Management and was responsible for groundfish and pelagic species management. His greatest achievement as an advisor was undoubtedly implementing the first Individual Transferrable Quota (ITQ) program in the Gulf for cod and redfish. In the early 90s, Daniel became Chief, Resource Management and, as such, actively participated in implementing various ITQ programs (snow crab, shrimp and scallop), developing integrated fisheries management plans, and reaching co-management agreements in the snow crab and shrimp fisheries.

Through his commitment to collaboration and positive attitude, he reached much-needed compromises on effective management measures that have contributed to the development and exploitation of various fisheries resources in Quebec and the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Those who have worked with him salute his innovative ideas, public speaking skills and repartee.

Patrick Vincent, Regional Director
Fisheries Management

Conviction for Fisheries Act Violations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, has released the names of fishermen who have received fines for violations of the Fisheries Act and continues to strictly enforce its zero tolerance policy for offenders. The Department has a mandate to protect and conserve fishery resources and is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent poaching of marine resources.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada encourages the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057. All calls are confidential.

Abonnez-vous Courriel RSS
Logo d'Infocéans

Bulletin d’information pour le Québec
Octobre - novembre 2013/volume 16/numéro 5

Dépêches

Prix d’excellence de recherche en aquaculture pour Marcel Fréchette

Marcel Fréchette
Marcel Fréchette

Lors de sa conférence annuelle, tenue en juin 2013 à Guelph en Ontario, l’Association aquacole du Canada a remis son prestigieux prix d’Excellence en recherche à Marcel Fréchette, chercheur émérite à l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne. Ce prix reconnaît la contribution de M. Fréchette qui, grâce à ses travaux, a fait progresser de façon significative les connaissances sur le développement de l’aquaculture des mollusques, un enjeu important à la fois pour Pêches et Océans Canada et l’industrie.

Les différents projets de recherche de M. Fréchette ont été déterminants pour l’industrie aquacole. Un des grands mérites de ces projets a été de transposer les résultats de travaux fondamentaux en des applications commerciales concrètes pour les mytiliculteurs. Par exemple, ses publications sur la productivité des mollusques basées sur la théorie de l’autoréduction ont eu des retombées directes sur le monitorage et l’optimisation de la production de sites mytilicoles au Québec et à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

Marcel Fréchette est reconnu pour l’originalité et la rigueur de sa démarche scientifique, son engagement dans le développement de l’aquaculture et son souci de soutenir les personnes et les groupes qui vivent de l’industrie aquacole. Pendant près de trente ans, il a mené sa carrière au Ministère puis a été nommé chercheur émérite en 2013.

Yvan Lambert
Sciences

Coups de cœur du concours Jeunes cartographes recherchés

Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut
MPO R. Dorais
Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut

Lors du concours Jeunes cartographes recherchés, Pêches et Océans Canada remettait, en juin 2013, deux prix Coup de cœur à des élèves de 1re et 2e secondaire. 

Catherine Bélanger et Kim Gagnon-Clusiaut ont reçu leur prix au Musée de la civilisation. Le prix était la participation à une mission hydrographique sur le Saint-Laurent à bord du NGCC F.C.G. Smith.

L’une des gagnantes, Kim, est montée à bord du navire le temps d’un après-midi bien rempli. Elle était accompagnée de ses parents et de sa sœur. Après une tournée du navire pour se familiariser avec les procédures de sécurité, toute la famille a pu en apprendre davantage sur le travail d’un hydrographe. Guidée par des hydrographes, Kim a pu vérifier l’acquisition des données indiquant les profondeurs du chenal ainsi que les différentes étapes nécessaires à la diffusion de l’information.

Le passage à bord du Smith a permis à la famille Gagnon-Clusiaut d’apprécier la technologie et la précision avec laquelle les hydrographes travaillent. Les questions et interactions ont bien démontré l’intérêt de la famille pour la profession. Kim, qui souhaite devenir astronaute, aura eu la chance d’explorer un univers rapproché mais bien peu connu. Un univers qui se dévoile au fil de l’évolution des technologies grâce à des images de plus en plus nettes des fonds marins.

Le concours Jeunes cartographes recherchés est organisé par l’Association canadienne des sciences géomatiques et le Cégep Limoilou.

Robert Dorais
Sciences

Départ à la retraite de Daniel Boisvert

Daniel Boisvert
Daniel Boisvert

Daniel Boisvert, chef de gestion de la ressource, a pris sa retraite au mois d’octobre, mettant fin à une carrière de plus de 32 ans au sein de Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec.

Biologiste de formation, il est arrivé au Ministère en 1981 à la Direction des sciences halieutiques. En 1983, Daniel est devenu conseiller à la gestion de la ressource où il a été responsable de la gestion du poisson de fond et des espèces pélagiques. Sa plus grande réalisation à titre de conseiller a été certainement la mise en place du premier programme de quotas individuels transférables (QIT) dans le golfe pour la morue et le sébaste. Au début des années 1990, Daniel est devenu chef de la gestion de la ressource et, à ce titre, a participé activement à la mise en place de divers programmes de QIT (crabe des neiges, crevette et pétoncle), au développement de plans de gestion intégrée des pêches et à la conclusion d’ententes de cogestion dans la pêche du crabe des neiges et de la crevette.

Dans l’entente et la bonne humeur, il a su trouver les compromis nécessaires sur des mesures de gestion efficaces qui ont contribué au développement de l’exploitation des diverses ressources halieutiques au Québec et dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Ceux qui l’ont côtoyé salueront ses idées novatrices, son talent d’orateur et sa répartie.

Patrick Vincent, directeur régional
Gestion des pêches

Condamnations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, rend public le nom de pêcheurs condamnés pour diverses infractions à la Loi sur les pêches et continue d'appliquer avec rigueur sa politique de tolérance zéro à l'égard des contrevenants. Le Ministère, dont le mandat est de protéger et de conserver les ressources halieutiques, surveille de très près les activités de pêche.
Pêches et Océans Canada encourage la population à signaler tout acte de braconnage en composant le 1-800-463-9057. Les appels sont confidentiels.