Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
AUGUST - SEPTEMBER 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMBER 4
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Two Hydrographers for a Day

On a beautiful June 20 day, Marie-Soleil Paquet and Marianne Lord had a unique opportunity to spend half a day aboard a vessel on a hydrographic mission on the St. Lawrence River.

They were the two winners of the mapping contest organized by the Canadian Institute of Geomatics and the Fondation du Cégep Limoilou, in which 903 students participated. This was the second year that Fisheries and Oceans Canada collaborated in the contest by awarding a Jury’s Choice award.

Accompanied by their parents, the two high school students had the chance to see hydrographers at work aboard the CCGS F.C.G. Smith during a survey conducted on the St. Lawrence River for the ship channel.

Captain Yves Gervais, Marie-Soleil Paquet and Pierre-Alexis Doyon
Marie-Soleil Paquet, Secondary II student at the Polyvalente Deux-Montagnes, won the prize among seven finalists. She is seen here with Captain Yves Gervais and Pierre-Alexis Doyon, both from the Canadian Coast Guard.
DFO R. Dorais
Marianne Lord, Michel Rannou and Denis Talbot
Winner among six finalists, Marianne Lord, a Secondary I student at the CAF Estrie, alongside hydrographers Michel Rannou and Denis Talbot from the Canadian Hydrographic Service.
DFO R. Dorais

Our visitors conducted a safety visit and were then initiated to the work carried out by hydrographers: measuring the vessel's draft and sound’s speed in water and planning routes for the vessel to follow.

Our hydrographers for a day were also able to observe the characteristics of the channel bottom and understand the rationale and importance of the work by observing the number of vessels and recreational boats they encountered on the river.

In witnessing their obvious enjoyment, we can say that the mission was a success.

Robert Dorais
Science

The Canadian Coast Guard
rendezvoused in Québec

As part of its 50th anniversary celebrations, the Canadian Coast Guard participated in the third edition of the Rendez-vous naval de Québec from June 7 to 10, 2012. Our vessels the CCGS Pierre Radisson, the CCGS Louis M. Lauzier, the CCGS Cap Aupaluk, the CCGS GC-03 and the CCGS Mamilossa air cushion vehicle, all docked at the Port of Québec during the event, welcomed over 7000 visitors aboard.

Visitors waiting for a tour of the CCGS Pierre Radisson at the Rendez-vous naval de Québec.

The some 150 000 people who attended the event had the chance to meet various marine stakeholders; admire models of several ships, including those belonging to the Canadian Coast Guard; learn more about buoys and spars (winter buoys) displayed on the docks; and visit the Evolution exhibition presented by the Naval Museum of Québec.

It is clear that the maritime world continues to be a source of fascination for the public. Canadian Coast Guard crew members all enjoyed connecting with visitors and sharing their passion for their field. The next Rendez-vous naval de Québec is scheduled for 2014.

To learn more about our vessels, visit our website.  

Nathalie Letendre
Communications

Grass Pickerel:
Another step towards the conservation of this species at risk

Fisheries and Oceans Canada is announcing the publication of the grass pickerel management Plan. The grass pickerel has been listed as a species of special concern under the Species at Risk Act. The plan presents various management measures to reduce threats to the grass pickerel which are attributable to human activities.

Grass Pickerel
K. Schmidt

This small pickerel, measuring about 30 centimetres, is associated with areas where vegetation in streams, swamps and lakes is abundant. It is threatened by habitat degradation. In Quebec, although historical records exist for three sites in the southern part of the province, no catches have been made in over 20 years. In order for the situation to be monitored, accidental captures of grass pickerel should be reported through the Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec's website.

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Ecosystem Management

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AOÛT - SEPTEMBRE 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMÉRO 4
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Deux hydrographes d’un jour

C’est par un 20 juin radieux que Marie-Soleil Paquet et Marianne Lord ont vécu une expérience unique, soit celle de passer une demi-journée à bord d’un navire en mission hydrographique sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

Elles étaient toutes deux gagnantes du concours cartographique organisé par l’Association canadienne des sciences géomatiques et par la Fondation du Cégep Limoilou, auquel 903 élèves ont participé. Pêches et Océans Canada y collaborait pour une deuxième année en remettant deux prix Coup de cœur.

C’est en compagnie de leurs parents que les deux élèves du secondaire ont pu apprécier le travail effectué par les hydrographes à bord du NGCC F.C.G.Smith lors d’un levé effectué sur le Saint-Laurent pour le chenal de navigation.

Capitaine Yves Gervais, Marie-Soleil Paquet et Pierre-Alexis Doyon
Marie-Soleil Paquet, élève de deuxième secondaire à la polyvalente Deux-Montagnes, a remporté le prix parmi sept finalistes. Elle est entourée du Capitaine Yves Gervais et de Pierre-Alexis Doyon, tous deux de la Garde côtière canadienne
MPO R. Dorais
Marianne Lord, Michel Rannou et Denis Talbot
Gagnante parmi six finalistes, Marianne Lord, élève de première secondaire au CAF Estrie, est en compagnie des hydrographes Michel Rannou et Denis Talbot du Service hydrographique du Canada.
MPO R. Dorais

Nos visiteurs ont effectué une tournée de sécurité, puis ont été initiés au travail des hydrographes : lecture du tirant d’eau et de la vitesse du son dans l’eau et planification des routes à suivre par le navire.

Nos hydrographes d’un jour ont aussi pu observer les caractéristiques du fond du chenal et comprendre la raison d’être et l’importance de ce travail en constatant le nombre de navires et de plaisanciers croisés sur le fleuve.

À voir leur mine réjouie, nous pouvons attester que la mission fut accomplie avec succès.

Robert Dorais
Sciences

La Garde côtière canadienne
était au rendez-vous

Du 7 au 10 juin 2012, dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire, la Garde côtière canadienne participait à la 3e édition du Rendez-vous naval de Québec. À cette occasion, plus de 7 000 visiteurs ont foulé les passerelles de nos navires présents au Port de Québec, soit le NGCC Pierre Radisson, le NGCC Louis M. Lauzier, le NGCC Cap Aupaluk, le NGCC GC-03 et l’aéroglisseur NGCC Mamilossa.

La visite du NGCC Pierre Radisson a attiré une grande foule lors du Rendez-vous naval de Québec.

Également durant les festivités, les quelque 150 000 visiteurs présents ont pu rencontrer différents intervenants du domaine maritime, admirer les maquettes de plusieurs navires dont celles de la Garde côtière canadienne, en apprendre davantage sur les bouées et les espars (bouées d’hiver) qui étaient déployés sur les quais et visiter l’exposition Évolution présentée par le Musée naval de Québec.

Sans contredit, le domaine maritime continue de fasciner la population. Les membres d’équipage de la Garde côtière canadienne sont unanimes sur le plaisir qu’ils ont eu à partager leur passion et à échanger avec les visiteurs. La prochaine édition du Rendez-vous naval de Québec aura lieu en 2014.

Pour en savoir plus sur nos navires, consultez notre site Web.

Nathalie Letendre
Communications

Brochet vermiculÉ :
Un pas de plus vers la conservation de cette espÈce en péril

Pêches et Océans Canada annonce la publication du Plan de gestion du brochet vermiculé, une espèce inscrite avec un statut préoccupant en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce document présente différentes mesures de gestion visant à réduire les menaces qui pèsent sur le brochet vermiculé et qui sont attribuables aux activités humaines.

Brochet vermiculé
K. Schmidt

Ce petit brochet d’une trentaine de centimètres est associé aux zones où la végétation des ruisseaux, des marais et des lacs est abondante. Il est menacé par la dégradation de son habitat. Au Québec, bien que des mentions historiques existent pour trois sites dans le sud de la province, aucune capture n’a été réalisée depuis plus de 20 ans. Afin d’assurer un suivi de la situation, il est très important de signaler toute capture accidentelle d’un brochet vermiculé sur le site Internet du Centre de données sur le patrimoine naturel du Québec.

Jacinthe Beauchamp
Gestion des écosystèmes