Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
APRIL - MAY 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMBER 2
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Two new harbour authorities are created!

It is official: two new harbour authorities recently joined Fisheries and Oceans Canada's Harbour Authorities Network. In both cases, users feel it is important to take charge and actively participate in managing their facilities and related activities, in collaboration with the Department's Regional Small Craft Harbour Branch.

The first harbour authority is located in the Upper and Middle North Shore region in Baie-Comeau and was established in February 2012. Its first board of directors elected Patrick Perron as chair for a two-year term.

Baie-Comeau Harbour Authority
Baie-Comeau Harbour Authority
DFO L. Morency

The second organization, in Chaleur Bay in Gaspé, is called the Carleton-sur-Mer Harbour Authority. This new non-profit organization is expected to elect a chair in the near future.


Boat launch at Carleton-sur-Mer
Boat launch at Carleton-sur-Mer
DFO J.P. Huet

The Harbour Authorities Network was established in 1990 and brings together 40 harbour authorities in the Quebec region, managing 59 harbours belonging to the Department. The harbour authorities are non-profit organizations, managed by volunteers serving their community.

A warm welcome to the new harbour authorities!

Lyne Beaumont
Small Craft Harbours

Fisheries and Oceans Canada meets
students from Quebec

Every year, Fisheries Officers from Fisheries and Oceans Canada visit elementary school students in the Gaspé, North Shore, Magdelan Islands and Far North regions. The goal is to educate students about the work that the Fisheries Officers do and about fishery resource and fish habitat protection. This school year, Officers met nearly 1 000 students in around thirty schools.

Daniel Desbois, president of the Association des crabiers gaspésiens

Daniel Desbois, president of the Association des crabiers gaspésiens, talking with students from the Saint-Bernard school in Gascons.
DFO P. Gagnon

The Fisheries Officers from southern Gaspé did something new this year: they came with five local commercial fishers, including one Aboriginal fisher, who all participated in the presentations. The fishers had a chance to talk about the basics of the job and to show students some of the equipment that they use, including a snow crab measurement tool, a net hook, and a lobster fisher's electronic logbook.


Jeremy Jerome at the school Cap Beau-Soleil

During his presentation at the school Cap Beau-Soleil at Caplan, Jeremy Jerome of the Gesgapegiag First Nation talks about his job and shows a video of lobster fishery.
DFO  P. Gagnon

The whole experience was a great success that was much appreciated and is sure to take place again next year.

Pierre Gagnon
Gaspé – Lower St. Lawrence Area

A feel-good story about community

One of Fisheries and Ocean Canada's objectives is to enable the economic prosperity of fisheries and coastal villages which depend on the industry. This article highlights the importance of helping one another in difficult situations, especially in small communities.

Since spring 2011, Innus from the North Shore of Quebec have been landing crab with three of their boats in Baie-Johan-Beetz, a small community located east of Havre-Saint-Pierre. Everyone knew that this decision would change things in this community and in the Innu community as well.

Baie-Johan-Beetz

Municipality of Baie-Johan-Beetz

J. Beardsell

In the middle of the night on April 16, 2011, a violent storm broke out in Baie-Johan-Beetz, while the Innus, whose boats were docked there, had left the town for a rest. Upon waking to strange noises coming from the dock, the citizens mobilized and worked all night to save the boats from grounding or being lost. If it hadn't been for the hard work of the villagers, the boats would have suffered very heavy damages. It might have jeopardized the entire crab season with enormous consequences for the fishers and for the whole village. When they learned of the villagers' heroic act, the Innus were very moved and organized a celebration, which took place the following August. The crab, which was graciously provided by the Innus, was the focal point of the celebration. The two communities have been united in friendship ever since.

The Innus contribute significantly to the economy of Baie-Johan-Beetz. They have hired people from the area to work on the docks and their presence has breathed new life into this Mingan community.

Jean Morisset
North Shore Area

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AVRIL - MAI 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMÉRO 2
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Deux nouvelles administrations portuaires sont créées!

C’est maintenant officiel : deux nouvelles administrations portuaires ont récemment joint le réseau des Administrations portuaires de Pêches et Océans Canada. Dans chacun des cas, les usagers trouvent important de se prendre en main et de participer activement à la gestion de leurs installations et des activités qu’ils y mènent, le tout en collaboration avec la Direction régionale des ports pour petits bateaux du Ministère.

La première administration portuaire est située dans la région de la haute et moyenne Côte-Nord, à Baie-Comeau, et a été mise sur pied en février dernier. Son premier conseil d’administration a élu Patrick Perron au poste de président, pour un mandat de deux ans.

Administration portuaire de Baie-Comeau
Administration portuaire de Baie-Comeau
MPO L. Morency

Dans la baie des Chaleurs en Gaspésie, la deuxième porte le nom d’Administration portuaire de Carleton-sur-Mer. Cette nouvelle corporation à but non lucratif n’a pas encore élu de président, mais cela ne saurait tarder.


Rampe de mise à l’eau de Carleton-sur-Mer
Rampe de mise à l’eau de Carleton-sur-Mer
MPO J.P. Huet

Le réseau des Administrations portuaires existe depuis 1990 et regroupe dans la région du Québec 40 administrations portuaires qui gèrent 59 ports appartenant au Ministère. Ces administrations portuaires sont des corporations à but non lucratif, gérées par des bénévoles qui s’impliquent au bénéfice de leur communauté.

Bienvenue aux nouvelles administrations portuaires!

Lyne Beaumont
Ports pour petits bateaux

Pêches et Océans Canada rencontre
des élèves du Québec

Tous les ans, des agents des pêches de Pêches et Océans Canada rendent visite à des élèves d’écoles primaires de la Gaspésie, de la Côte-Nord, des Îles-de-la-Madeleine et du Grand Nord québécois. Ces rencontres permettent de sensibiliser les jeunes au travail des agents des pêches ainsi qu’à la protection de la ressource halieutique et de l’habitat du poisson. Pour l’année scolaire en cours, les agents ont rencontré près de 1000 élèves dans une trentaine d’écoles.

Daniel Desbois, président de l'Association des crabiers gaspésiens

Daniel Desbois, président de l'Association des crabiers gaspésiens, discute avec des élèves de l'école Saint-Bernard de Gascons.
MPO P. Gagnon


Les agents des pêches du sud de la Gaspésie ont innové cette année : cinq pêcheurs commerciaux locaux, dont un Autochtone, les ont accompagnés dans les écoles et ont pris part aux présentations. Ceux-ci ont eu l’occasion de parler des rudiments de leur métier et de présenter le matériel qu’ils utilisent, entre autres, une mesure à crabe des neiges, un crochet à filet et un journal de bord électronique pour le homard.


Jeremy Jerome à l'école Cap Beau-Soleil
Lors de sa présentation à l’école Cap Beau-Soleil de Caplan, Jeremy Jerome de Gesgapegiag parle de son métier en projetant une vidéo démontrant la pêche au homard.
MPO P. Gagnon

L'expérience, fort appréciée de tous, fut un grand succès et sera sûrement répétée l’an prochain.

Pierre Gagnon
Secteur Gaspésie – Bas-Saint-Laurent

Une belle histoire d’entraide à partager

L’un des objectifs de Pêches et Océans Canada est la prospérité économique des pêches et des villages côtiers qui vivent de cette industrie. Cet article propose un regard sur l’importance de l’entraide humaine dans des situations difficiles, et encore davantage dans des petites municipalités.

Depuis le printemps 2011, des Innus de la Côte-Nord font le débarquement de crabe pour trois de leurs bateaux à Baie-Johan-Beetz, une petite municipalité à l’est de Havre-Saint-Pierre. Nul ne se doutait que cette décision allait changer plusieurs choses dans la vie de cette collectivité et dans celle des Innus.

Baie-Johan-Beetz
La municipalité de Baie-Johan-Beetz
J. Beardsell

En pleine nuit, le 16 avril 2011, une violente tempête éclata à Baie-Johan-Beetz, alors que les Innus, dont les bateaux étaient amarrés au quai, avaient quitté la municipalité pour prendre un peu de repos. Les citoyens, alertés par les bruits étranges provenant du quai, se mobilisèrent et travaillèrent toute la nuit pour sauver in extremis les bateaux d’un échouage ou d’une perte en mer. N’eût été l'acharnement des villageois, les dommages aux bateaux auraient été très importants. Cela aurait pu compromettre la saison de pêche et avoir de lourdes conséquences pour les pêcheurs et pour tout le village. En apprenant la nouvelle de cet acte héroïque de la part des villageois, les Innus, très émus, ont organisé une fête qui a eu lieu au mois d'août suivant. Le crabe, gracieusement fourni par les Innus, était au centre du festin. Depuis cet épisode, un solide lien d’amitié unit les deux communautés.

L’apport économique des activités innues à Baie-Johan-Beetz est considérable. Les Innus ont engagé des gens de la région pour travailler au quai et leur présence a redonné un second souffle à cette communauté de la Minganie.

Jean Morisset
Secteur Côte-Nord