Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
FEBRUARY - MARCH 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMBER 1
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Rosette sample
As soon as the vessel reaches a sampling
station, the team drops a rosette sample
containing sampling bottles into the
water.
DFO M. Starr
ACIDIFICATION
LEAVES ITS MARKS

Oceanographers Michel Starr and Denis Gilbert co-authored a report on the results of studies on the acidification of the deep waters of the St. Lawrence Estuary that was published last June in the journal Atmosphere-Ocean. Their work was selected as one of the ten discoveries of the year by the magazine Québec Science.

The research showed that deep water in this part of the estuary was acidifying more quickly than the average for the planet’s oceans. On the pH scale – where values become increasingly acidic as they approach zero and increasingly basic as they approach 14 – deep water in the estuary has apparently lost from 0.2 to 0.3 units over the last 75 years, reaching a pH of between 7.7 and 7.8. In contrast, oceans have seen their pH levels fall by 0.1 unit on average, due to the growing concentration of carbon dioxide (CO2) in the atmosphere and, consequently, in the water.

A drop in the availability of calcium carbonates could explain why some molluscs are no longer able to form their calcium carbonate shells. Calcium carbonate dissolves in water that is too acidic. Acidification could have significant consequences for biodiversity and even for the productivity and commercial harvest of aquatic species impacted by these effects.

Two hypotheses were suggested to explain the accelerated acidification of the estuary seabed: first, an increase in the production of organic matter (for example, phytoplankton that sinks towards the seabed); and second, a warming of the water due to changes in oceanic circulation in the Northwest Atlantic.

This breakthrough in the understanding of the marine ecosystem of the St. Lawrence is the outcome of close collaboration within a team composed of researchers from University McGill, the Maurice Lamontagne Institute and the Institut des sciences de la mer.

For more information, please read the article L’estuaire tourne au vinaigre published in the magazine Québec Science.



Commercial fisheries –
Consultation calendar

Please take note that our calendar for commercial fisheries consultations is now available at our Web site.

However, we strongly suggest you contact the relevant managers to confirm meeting details. The managers’ names and contact information are listed in the calendar.

Consultation calendar – winter 2012



New business hours at the
Magdalen Islands office

Please take note that since January 3, 2012, business hours at the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s office on the Magdalen Islands are as follows:

Monday to Friday
From 9 a.m. to noon and from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.



Follow us on Twitter!

Follow us on our Twitter profile. You will be informed about what’s happening at the Department, our public activities, new publications, Web updates, media releases and much more.



SUBSCRIBING TO RSS
If you don’t want to miss out on anything in the upcoming issues, you can now subscribe to the Infoceans Web edition by signing up for the RSS news feed. Whenever a new issue becomes available, you will receive the headlines as well as a link to view the entire newsletter online.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
FÉVRIER - MARS 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMÉRO 1
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Dès que le bateau arrive à un point d’échantillonnage, l’équipe lance à l’eau des rosettes contenant des bouteilles de prélèvement.
Dès que le bateau arrive à un
point d’échantillonnage, l’équipe
met à l’eau des rosettes contenant
des bouteilles de prélèvement.
MPO M. Starr
L’ACIDIFICATION
LAISSE DES TRACES

Les chercheurs en océanographie Michel Starr et Denis Gilbert sont deux des coauteurs d’une publication qui fait état des résultats des travaux sur l'acidification des eaux profondes de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent publié en juillet dernier dans la revue Atmosphere-Ocean. Ces travaux ont été retenus comme une des dix découvertes de l'année par le magazine Québec Science.

Ces recherches ont permis de constater que les eaux profondes de cette portion de l'estuaire s’acidifient plus rapidement que la moyenne des océans de la planète.  Sur l’échelle du pH – qui tend vers 0 pour un acide et vers 14 pour une base –, les eaux profondes de l’estuaire auraient perdu de 0,2 à 0,3 unité au cours des 75 dernières années, pour atteindre un pH situé entre 7,7 et 7,8. En comparaison, les océans auraient vu leur pH s’abaisser en moyenne de 0,1 unité, à cause de la concentration croissante de dioxyde de carbone (CO2) dans l’atmosphère et, par vases communicants, dans l’eau.

La réduction de la disponibilité des carbonates de calcium pourrait expliquer pourquoi certains mollusques n’arrivent plus à former leurs coquilles de carbonate de calcium car il se dissout dans les eaux trop acides. L'acidification pourrait avoir des impacts importants sur la biodiversité de même que sur la productivité et l’exploitation commerciale des ressources halieutiques touchées par ces effets.

Deux pistes sont avancées pour expliquer l’acidification accélérée du fond de l’estuaire. D’abord, l'augmentation de la production de matière organique (par exemple, le phytoplancton qui coule vers le fond). Ensuite, le réchauffement des eaux causé par des changements dans la circulation océanique de l'océan Atlantique Nord-Ouest.

Cette percée dans les connaissances de l’écosystème marin du Saint-Laurent résulte d’une collaboration étroite au sein d’une équipe constituée de chercheurs de l’Université McGill, de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne et de l’Institut des sciences de la mer.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez l’article L’estuaire tourne au vinaigre publié dans le magazine Québec Science.



Pêches commerciales –
Calendrier des consultations

Notez que le calendrier des consultations sur les pêches commerciales qui se tiendront à l’hiver 2012 est maintenant disponible sur notre site Web, dans la section Pêches commerciales.

Cependant, nous vous suggérons fortement de contacter les gestionnaires appropriés pour confirmer les détails des rencontres. Une liste des gestionnaires accompagne le calendrier.

Calendrier des consultations – Hiver 2012


Nouvelles heures d’ouverture au
bureau des Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Voici les nouvelles heures d’ouverture du bureau de Pêches et Océans Canada aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, et ce, depuis le 3 janvier 2012 :
Du lundi au vendredi
De 9 h à midi et de 13 h à 16 h



Suivez-nous sur Twitter!
Suivez-nous sur notre profil Twitter! Vous serez informés de ce qui se passe au Ministère, que ce soit nos activités publiques, nos nouvelles publications, nos mises à jour sur le Web, nos communiqués, et bien plus.


ABONNEZ-VOUS…

Pour ne rien manquer des prochaines éditions, vous pouvez vous abonner à la version Web d’Infocéans par notre fil de nouvelles RSS. À chaque nouvelle édition, vous recevrez le titre des articles ainsi qu’un lien vers la version intégrale du journal.