Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
FEBRUARY - MARCH 2012/VOLUME 15/NUMBER 1
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

10th International Coastal Zone Canada Conference 2012 Logo
Integrated coastal and ocean management
Time for action!

From June 9 to 14, 2012, the Coastal Zone Canada Association will hold the 10th biennial international Coastal Zone Canada (CZC) Conference in Rimouski, Quebec. Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Université du Québec à Rimouski will host this major event, which brings together researchers, environmental and natural resource managers, policy advisors, decision-makers, educators, students, First Nations and other interested individuals.

Four main themes will be explored:

  • Addressing risks to ocean and coastal environments: Adapting for sustainable land development
  • Sharing natural spaces and resources: Tools and mechanisms
  • Managing and coordinating activities and uses: Dialogue among stakeholders
  • Protecting the global commons: Understanding, accepting and negotiating terms
The purpose of the Conference is to promote collaborative efforts in order to strengthen the stakeholders' ability to act. The discussions will mainly focus on measures to mitigate and adapt to climate change, the use of natural resources, the protection of marine and coastal environments, sustainable development, and the management of activities and uses. Interested parties will debate the major social, economic and environmental issues affecting ocean and coastal zones.


International Coastal Zone Canada Conference 2012
Official website for the conference



Harbour Authorities
The Gaspé mini-forum

On September 14 and 15, 2011, the last instalment in a short series of mini-forums bringing together harbour authority representatives was held in Gaspé. After the mini-forums in Sept-Îles and Matane last winter, the time had come to host a mini-forum for the harbour authorities from the Magdalen Islands and the southern portion of the Gaspé Peninsula.

A variety of topics were addressed during the mini-forum. Among other things, there was a presentation providing an interesting portrait of the Quebec fisheries industry, complete with figures, graphs and tables.  

One subject in particular garnered the interest of participants, namely, the projects carried out by Fisheries and Oceans Canada in the last few years, particularly those which stemmed from Canada's Economic Action Plan.

The Department's initiative in organizing these mini-forums was appreciated by all since the mini-forums give harbour authority representatives the opportunity to discuss issues of import. The format of these meetings is also popular since the smaller number of participants is conducive to more constructive dialogue. 

As the Gaspé mini-forum wound down, participants were already looking forward to the next one!

Lyne Beaumont
Small Craft Harbours

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
DÉCEMBRE 2011 - JANVIER 2012/VOLUME 14/NUMÉRO 6
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Logo de la 10e Conférence internationale Zone côtière Canada
La gestion intégrée des océans et des zones côtières
l'heure de l'action

Du 9 au 14 juin 2012, l’Association Zone côtière Canada présente, à Rimouski, la 10e édition de la conférence biennale internationale Zone côtière Canada (ZCC). Pêches et Océans Canada et l’Université du Québec à Rimouski sont les hôtes de cet événement majeur, qui accueille les chercheurs, gestionnaires de l’environnement et des ressources naturelles, conseillers politiques et décideurs, éducateurs, étudiants, citoyens des Premières Nations et autres citoyens.

Quatre grands thèmes seront abordés :

  • Faire face aux risques océaniques et côtiers : s’adapter pour un développement territorial durable;
  • Se partager les espaces et les ressources naturelles : outils et dispositifs;
  • Gérer et coordonner les activités et les usages : dialogue entre les acteurs;
  • Protéger le patrimoine collectif mondial : connaître, accepter et en négocier les termes.
La conférence vise à renforcer la capacité d’agir des différents acteurs du milieu par la collaboration. Les discussions porteront principalement sur les mesures d’atténuation et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques, l’utilisation des ressources naturelles, la protection de l’environnement marin et côtier, le développement durable, et la gestion des usages et des activités. Tous les publics intéressés débattront des grands enjeux sociaux, économiques et environnementaux qui se déroulent en zones océaniques et côtières.


Conférence internationale Zone côtière Canada 2012
Site officiel de la conférence



Administrations portuaires
Le mini-forum de Gaspé

Les 14 et 15 septembre 2011, a eu lieu, à Gaspé, le dernier d’une courte série de mini-forums regroupant des représentants des administrations portuaires. Après Sept-Îles et Matane l’hiver dernier, c’était au tour des administrations portuaires du sud de la Gaspésie et des Îles-de-la-Madeleine d’y prendre part.

Différents sujets ont été abordés, notamment la présentation d’un intéressant portrait de l’industrie de la pêche au Québec, avec chiffres, graphiques et tableaux à l’appui.

Un des sujets présentés a grandement retenu l’attention des participants réunis, soit celui des projets concrétisés au cours des dernières années par Pêches et Océans Canada, particulièrement ceux réalisés dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique.

L’initiative du Ministère d’organiser ces mini-forums est bien appréciée par tous. Elle permet aux représentants des administrations portuaires de venir échanger sur différentes problématiques qui leur sont propres. Le format de ces rencontres plaît également à tous puisqu’il offre la possibilité d’échanger davantage en raison du nombre plus restreint de participants.

Tous se sont donné rendez-vous avec grand plaisir à un prochain mini-forum!

Lyne Beaumont
Ports pour petits bateaux