Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
OCTOBER - NOVEMBER 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMBER 5
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Belugas
DFO  A. MacFarlane
St. Lawrence beluga recovery strategy
Consultation

To plan the recovery of the St. Lawrence Estuary beluga population, Fisheries and Oceans Canada has drawn up a recovery strategy in collaboration with Parks Canada Agency and several other partners. This strategy describes the species’ biology as well as the threats affecting the population. It also proposes measures to promote its recovery. The recovery strategy is posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry for consultation until November 25, 2011.

The beluga population in the St. Lawrence Estuary was severely depleted by hunting, prohibited since 1979. In May 2005, this population was officially added to Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as a threatened species. An emblematic species of the St. Lawrence, the beluga inhabits the estuary and the gulf. Despite the hunting prohibition, the population shows no sign of growth and a number of threats—including contaminants and noise pollution—affect its survival and reproduction.

Recovery Strategy for the Beluga (Delphinapterus leucas) St. Lawrence Estuary Population in Canada
Species at Risk Public Registry



Meet the Coast Guard
at Québec City's education and job fair

From October 26 to 29, 2011, the Canadian Coast Guard will be at the Centre de foires de Québec for the 17th edition of the Salon Éducation Emploi.

Come meet with passionate employees who will be delighted to speak with you about their jobs and career opportunities with the Canadian Coast Guard.


It's not a job. it's an adventure. Canadian Coast Guard

Salon Éduction Emploi de Québec
(In French)


Harbour authority
DFO  M. Papageorges
Quebec harbour authorities
Your experience serving your community

Become a volunteer for a Quebec Harbour Authority and put your knowledge to work for our coastal communities. There are some fifty fishing harbours on the North Shore, Gaspe Peninsula and Magdalen Islands that could use your experience and know-how. Get involved and contribute to the economic development of your region.

For more information, call your local Fisheries and Oceans Canada office.



Poster for the movie, La peur de l'eau Quiet on the Set!
Filming on the Magdalen Islands

Silence rarely reigns on the wharfs of fishing harbours, so imagine the surprise of visitors on hearing the clichéd phrase "Quiet on the set!" on the wharfs in Havre-Aubert and Pointe-Basse on the Magdalen Islands.

During the last two weeks of September 2010, the outdoor scenes for the movie La peur de l'eau were filmed on the Magdalen Islands. This movie is based on Jean Lemieux's novel On finit toujours par payer, a story which takes place on the Magdalen Islands and tells a tale of fishing and boats. Jean Lemieux has in fact lived on the archipelago for several years.

The producers needed to film the scenes in a harbour setting. The Havre-Aubert and Pointe-Basse harbour authorities approved the filming and issued authorizations (occupation permits) to the production company responsible for filming.

These rather unconventional activities prove that our harbours can sometimes be used for purposes other than those related to commercial fishing. These activities not only represent a source of supplementary income for the harbours, they also provide significant visibility to the area.

When watching this movie, scheduled for release in January 2012, keep an eye out for the harbour facilities you will no doubt recognize. You might even catch a glimpse of some members of the harbour authorities or their employees who play walk-on roles in the movie!

La Peur de l’eau (In French)
Les films Remstar

Christian Houle
Magdalen Islands Area

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
OCTOBRE - NOVEMBRE 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMÉRO 5
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Bélugas
MPO  A. MacFarlane
Programme de rétablissement du béluga du Saint-Laurent
Consultation

Afin de planifier le rétablissement de la population de bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent, Pêches et Océans Canada a élaboré un programme de rétablissement en collaboration avec l’Agence Parcs Canada et plusieurs partenaires. Ce programme décrit la biologie de l’espèce ainsi que les menaces qui pèsent sur la population et propose des mesures pour promouvoir son rétablissement. Le programme de rétablissement est affiché sur le Registre public des espèces en péril pour consultation jusqu’au 25 novembre 2011.

La population de bélugas de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent a été grandement réduite par la chasse, interdite depuis 1979. En mai 2005, cette population a été officiellement inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril à titre d’espèce menacée. Espèce emblématique du Saint-Laurent, le béluga vit dans l’estuaire et le golfe. Malgré l’interdiction de la chasse, la population ne démontre aucune croissance et plusieurs menaces, comme les contaminants et la pollution sonore, affectent sa survie et sa reproduction.

Programme de rétablissement du béluga (Delphinapterus leucas), population de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent au Canada
Registre public des espèces en péril



Rencontrez la Garde côtière
au Salon Éducation Emploi de Québec

Du 26 au 29 octobre 2011, la Garde côtière canadienne sera au Centre de foires de Québec à l'occasion du 17e Salon Éducation Emploi.

Venez rencontrer des employés passionnés qui se feront un plaisir de vous parler de leur travail et des possibilités de carrière à la Garde côtière canadienne.


C'est plus qu'un travail. C'est une aventure. Garde côtière canadienne

Salon Éduction Emploi de Québec


Administrateur portuaire
MPO  M. Papageorges
Administrations portuaires du Québec
Votre expérience au service de votre collectivité

Devenir bénévole pour l’une des administrations portuaires du Québec, c’est mettre ses connaissances au profit des collectivités côtières. Que ce soit sur la Côte-Nord, en Gaspésie ou aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine, une cinquantaine de ports de pêche ont besoin de votre expérience et de votre savoir-faire. Impliquez-vous et contribuez au développement de l’économie de votre région.

Pour plus d’information, contactez votre bureau local de Pêches et Océans Canada.



Affiche du film La peur de l'eau Silence, on tourne…
aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine

Sur les quais des ports de pêche, c’est rarement le silence qui domine. Alors, imaginez la surprise pour certains visiteurs quand ils ont entendu cette phrase clichée « Silence, on tourne » sur les quais à Havre-Aubert et Pointe-Basse aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine.

En effet, durant les deux dernières semaines du mois de septembre 2010 se déroulait le tournage des scènes extérieures du film La peur de l’eau aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine. Ce film est basé sur le roman de Jean Lemieux On finit toujours par payer, dont l’action se situe aux Îles-de-la-Madeleine et gravite autour de la pêche et des bateaux. Jean Lemieux a d’ailleurs habité l’archipel durant plusieurs années.

Les producteurs ont eu besoin de tourner des scènes dans un décor portuaire. Les administrations portuaires des ports de Havre-Aubert et Pointe-Basse ont accepté de les accueillir et ont émis des autorisations (permis d’occupation) à la corporation de production responsable du tournage.

Ces activités, plutôt non conventionnelles, montrent que nos ports peuvent parfois être utilisés pour des motifs tout à fait autres que la pêche commerciale. En plus de générer des revenus d’appoint, ces occasions permettent une visibilité importante.

Lorsque vous visionnerez le film en question, prévu pour une sortie en janvier 2012, soyez attentif : outre les installations portuaires que vous reconnaîtrez sans doute, certains membres des administrations portuaires ou employés ont été figurants!

La Peur de l’eau
Les films Remstar

Christian Houle
Secteur Îles-de-la-Madeleine