Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
AUGUST - SEPTEMBER 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMBER 4
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Bridle shiner
NYSDECB
Species at risk
Bridle Shiner management plan

The bridle shiner, a member of the Cyprinidae, is a small freshwater fish at risk that lives in eastern North America. In Canada, the species occurs only in eastern Ontario and south-western Quebec. Little is known about this small fish which rarely exceeds 6 cm in length and lives less than 3 years. The factors responsible for its decline are primarily pollution of agricultural, urban and industrial origin, changes in the water regime, loss of riparian vegetation and climate change.

The bridle shiner has been listed as a species of special concern under the Species at Risk Act. Fisheries and Oceans Canada worked with the governments of Ontario and Quebec and other interested organizations to prepare a management plan. The general goal of this plan is to maintain and increase bridle shiner populations, protect areas that shelter this species and make sure viable populations exist throughout the species’ range in Ontario and Quebec.

The protection of species is everyone’s responsibility. To find out more about the work being done to help the bridle shiner, consult the management plan.


Management Plan for the Bridle Shiner (Notropis bifrenatus) in Canada
Species at Risk Public Registry



MarInfo survey

As part of its on-going effort to improve the services it provides, the Canadian Coast Guard, Quebec Region, is currently revamping its website MarInfo.

Take a few minutes to participate in our survey!


MarInfo site users' satisfaction survey
Canadian Coast Guard– MarInfo



Inshore rescue boat
DFO R. Jinchereau
Looking for a challenging summer job?

The Canadian Coast Guard is looking to hire motivated students for its inshore rescue boat service for the summer of 2012.

If you’re interested in rescue work, prevention and navigation, this is just the job for you. But more than simply a job, it’s an incredible opportunity to be part of a most efficient search and rescue team!

Students interested in submitting their applications have to make sure they meet the requirements of the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP) and are able to demonstrate that they meet all other selection criteria.


Student Employment Program for the Inshore Rescue Boat Service

1-866-660-6948 or 418-649-6830

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AOÛT - SEPTEMBRE 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMÉRO 4
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Méné d'herbe
NYSDECB
Espèces en péril
Plan de gestion du mÉnÉ d'herbe

Le méné d’herbe est un petit poisson d’eau douce en péril appartenant à la famille des cyprinidés qui vit dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. Au Canada, l’espèce ne se retrouve que dans l’est de l’Ontario et dans le sud-ouest du Québec. On connaît peu ce petit poisson qui ne dépasse pas 6 cm de longueur et qui vit moins de 3 ans. Les facteurs responsables de son déclin sont principalement la pollution d’origine agricole, urbaine et industrielle, la modification du régime hydrique, la perte de végétation riveraine et les changements climatiques.

Le méné d’herbe a été inscrit comme espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada a collaboré avec les gouvernements de l’Ontario et du Québec et d’autres organisations intéressées afin de préparer un plan de gestion. L’objectif général de ce plan est de maintenir et accroître les populations de méné d’herbe, de protéger les endroits qui abritent l’espèce et de veiller à ce que des populations viables soient présentes dans l’ensemble de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce en Ontario et au Québec.

La protection des espèces est une responsabilité qui incombe à tous. Pour en savoir plus sur le travail à effectuer afin d’aider le méné d’herbe, consultez le plan de gestion.


Plan de gestion du méné d’herbe (Notropis bifrenatus) au Canada
Registre public des espèces en péril



Sondage MarInfo

Répondez à quelques questions et aidez-nous à vous aider!

Dans le but d'améliorer sans cesse sa prestation de services, la Garde côtière canadienne, région du Québec, effectue présentement une refonte de son site Internet MarInfo.

Prenez quelques minutes pour remplir notre sondage.


Sondage de satisfaction du site Web MarInfo
Garde côtière canadienne – MarInfo



Embarcation de sauvetage
MPO  R. Jinchereau
Tu cherches un emploi d'ÉtÉ stimulant?

La Garde côtière canadienne est à la recherche d’étudiantes et étudiants motivés pour faire partie du service d’embarcations de sauvetage côtier, à l’été 2012.

Si le sauvetage, la prévention et la navigation t’intéressent, cet emploi est pour toi.

Plus qu’un simple travail, c'est une chance inouïe de faire partie d’une équipe de recherche et de sauvetage des plus efficaces!

Les étudiantes et étudiants intéressés à postuler doivent s'assurer de répondre aux exigences du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETÉ) et de pouvoir démontrer qu'ils et elles satisfont à tous les critères de sélection.


Programme d'emplois étudiants du service d'embarcations de sauvetage côtier

1-866-660-6948 ou 418-649-6830