Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
FEBRUARY - MARCH 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMBER 1
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

A entertaining tool
on species at risk

A highly interesting awareness-raising project has come into being on the North Shore: a bilingual card deck dealing with the Species at Risk Act. The cards bear amusing images and messages encouraging fish harvesters to adopt behaviours that can help species at risk survive. They also encourage fish harvesters to declare any species at risk caught incidentally.

At the beginning of the 2010 fishing season when the tags were distributed, fishery officers also discussed various aspects of the Species at Risk Act with the fish harvesters and gave them copies of the card deck. 

At the Awards Gala for the winter fishing on the Saguenay contest in March 2010, fishery officer Brian Coss reminded listeners of the importance of returning species at risk to the water and spoke to the fish harvesters attending the event about this original awareness-raising tool.

Card deck on species at risk
Paule Blaney
North Shore Sector

École Monseigneur-Labrie
École Monseigneur-Labrie
Career day
in Havre-Saint-Pierre

On October 21, 2010, a career day was held for the secondary 4 and 5 students at École Mgr-Labrie de Havre-Saint-Pierre. For the event, the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Conservation and Protection Branch based at Havre-Saint-Pierre manned an information stand presenting the mission of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the work accomplished by its fishery officers.  

Throughout the day, officers Themy Alexandre Vallée and Louis-Philippe Supper explained the responsibilities, duties and tasks associated with the work of the fishery officer to the students. Several students expressed a great deal of interest in this career. Moreover, during an optional session in class, a more detailed presentation attracted several students who wanted to find out more about the profession.

The officers also worked to raise awareness and educate the members of the general public who attended the event about the mission of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Themy Alexandre Vallée
North Shore Area

International fisheries meeting
In Québec City in 2014

Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region, will host the 144th annual meeting of the American Fisheries Society in 2014. People from throughout the North American fisheries community and from numerous countries around the world will be getting together to share their knowledge and discuss the main challenges that need to be met.

When the announcement was made in Pittsburgh last September, the selection committee said it was very impressed by the seriousness and quality of Québec City’s candidacy. This will be the second time this prestigious meeting will take place in Québec City. The 2003 edition, organised jointly by the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec and Fisheries and Oceans Canada and inspired by the theme Worldwide decline of wild fish populations, was a resounding success.

The American Fisheries Society aims to improve the conservation of fisheries resources and aquatic ecosystems and to foster sustainable development. It has some 10,000 members in 75 countries.

American Fisheries Society site 



New market
for seal products

Since January 13, 2011, a cooperative arrangement permits the export of all seal products for human consumption to China. This new Asian market should open up great opportunities for Canada’s seal industry.

The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, the Honourable Gail Shea, announced the arrangement during her visit to China. The market access agreement is the outcome of a full year of negotiations with the Chinese government.

The Government of Canada worked closely with Chinese officials to establish the necessary export conditions for edible seal products. This arrangement also opens the way to major markets for all Canadian seafood products.

In fact, last January the federal government hosted a seafood promotion event to showcase Canadian fish and seafood products to Chinese retailers in Beijing

China is the third largest export market for Canadian seafood products with an average of over $300 million in exports annually. The vast majority of Canada’s exports to the People’s Republic of China (up to 90%) consist of crab, shrimp, Greenland turbot, hake, herring, geoduck, capelin and mackerel.


Canada opens new market for seal products in China
New release – January 12, 2011

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
FÉVRIER - MARS 2011/VOLUME 14/NUMÉRO 1
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Un outil divertissant
sur les espèces en péril

Un projet de sensibilisation fort intéressant a vu le jour sur la Côte-Nord : un jeu de cartes bilingue sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Les cartes présentent des images amusantes et des messages incitant les pêcheurs à adopter des comportements pouvant aider à la survie des espèces aquatiques en péril. Elles encouragent aussi les pêcheurs à déclarer la capture accidentelle d’espèces en péril.

Au début de la saison de pêche 2010, lors de la remise des étiquettes, les agents des pêches ont discuté avec les pêcheurs de divers aspects de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et ont remis des jeux de cartes.

Au gala de remise de prix du concours Pêche blanche rivière Saguenay, en mars 2010, l’agent des pêches Brian Coss a rappelé l’importance de remettre à l’eau les espèces aquatiques en péril et a fait la promotion de cet outil de sensibilisation original auprès des pêcheurs présents.

Jeu de carte sur les espèces en péril
Paule Blaney
Secteur Côte-Nord

École Monseigneur-Labrie
École Monseigneur-Labrie
Journée carrière
à Havre-Saint-Pierre

Le 21 octobre 2010 avait lieu la journée carrière pour les élèves de 4e et 5e secondaire de l’école Monseigneur-Labrie de Havre-Saint-Pierre. À cette occasion, la Direction de la conservation et de la protection de Pêches et Océans Canada à Havre-Saint-Pierre a tenu un kiosque d’information présentant la mission de Pêches et Océans Canada et le travail accompli par les agents des pêches.

Pendant toute la journée, les agents Themy Alexandre Vallée et Louis-Philippe Supper ont expliqué aux élèves les responsabilités, les fonctions et les tâches reliées au travail d’agent des pêches. Plusieurs élèves se sont montrés très intéressés par cette carrière. D’ailleurs, au cours de la séance facultative en classe, une présentation plus détaillée a attiré plusieurs élèves désireux de connaître davantage la profession. Elle a d’ailleurs été l’une des plus fréquentées.

Les agents ont également fait un travail de sensibilisation et d’éducation auprès des personnes présentes afin de mieux faire connaître la mission de Pêches et Océans Canada au grand public.

Themy Alexandre Vallée
MPO-Secteur Côte-Nord

Congrès international des pêches
À Québec en 2014

Pêches et Océans Canada, région du Québec, accueillera en 2014 la 144e réunion annuelle de l’American Fisheries Society. C’est toute la communauté des pêches d’Amérique du Nord et de nombreux pays du monde qui se donne ainsi rendez-vous pour échanger des connaissances et discuter des principaux défis à relever.

Lors de l’annonce faite à Pittsburgh en septembre, le comité de sélection s’est dit très impressionné par le sérieux et la qualité de la candidature de Québec. Ce sera la deuxième fois que ce prestigieux congrès aura lieu à Québec. L’édition de 2003, organisée conjointement par la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec et Pêches et Océans Canada sous le thème « Déclin universel des populations de poissons sauvages », avait été un franc succès.

L’American Fisheries Society vise à améliorer la conservation des ressources halieutiques et des écosystèmes aquatiques, et à favoriser le développement durable. Elle regroupe quelque 10 000 membres originaires de 75 pays.

Site de l’American Fisheries Society 



Nouveau marché
pour les produits du phoque

Depuis le 13 janvier 2011, une entente de collaboration permet l’exportation vers la Chine de tous les produits du phoque destinés à la consommation humaine. Ce nouveau marché asiatique devrait offrir de grandes possibilités pour l’industrie canadienne du phoque.

La ministre des Pêches et des Océans, Gail Shea, en a fait l’annonce en janvier lors de son passage en Chine. L’entente sur l’accès aux marchés est le résultat d’une année de négociations avec le gouvernement chinois.

Le gouvernement du Canada a travaillé de très près avec les responsables chinois pour créer les conditions d’exportation nécessaires pour les produits servant à l’alimentation humaine. Cette entente ouvre également la voie à d’importants débouchés pour l’ensemble des produits canadiens de la mer.

Le gouvernement fédéral a d’ailleurs parrainé, en janvier dernier, une activité de promotion des produits de la mer à Pékin dans le but de présenter les poissons et les fruits de mer canadiens aux distributeurs chinois.

La Chine est le troisième marché d’exportation des produits de la mer du Canada, les exportations annuelles moyennes se chiffrant à plus de 300 millions de dollars. Elles sont composées essentiellement de crabe, de crevette, de flétan du Groenland, de merluche, de hareng, de panope du Pacifique, de capelan et de maquereau.


Le Canada crée un nouveau marché pour les produits du phoque en Chine
Communiqué – 12 janvier 2011