Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
DECEMBER 2010 - JANUARY 2011/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 6
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

The sample purification system
The sample purification system
facilitates analysis of organic pollutants.

DFO  F. Servant
Expertise in aquatic chemical analysis
Laboratory now fully operational

The Laboratory of Expertise in Aquatic Chemical Analysis (LEACA) at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute is now fully operational. It thus becomes the national centre of expertise in inorganic chemical analysis and a major organic chemistry support pole for Fisheries and Oceans Canada. The use of this laboratory will enable researchers to improve their understanding of how chemical products present in the aquatic environment evolve and to learn more about the impacts associated with these products.

The team of chemistry experts now has state-of-the-art instruments at its disposal to precisely measure chemical elements such as heavy metals like lead, arsenic, mercury, etc. and numerous organic contaminants originating in the aquatic environment. For instance, the scientists can find out the mercury content in fish or marine mammals. The results will serve to improve support for Department priorities pertaining to integrated research on aquatic ecosystems.



Claire Dansereau and Léo St-Onge
Claire Dansereau with Léo St-Onge,
AMIK General Manager

AMIK  S. Le Breton
DEPUTY MINISTER CLAIRE DANSEREAU
VISITS THE NORTH SHORE

Last September, Claire Dansereau, Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO), visited the North Shore. Accompanied by the Regional Director General, Richard Nadeau, and the Interim Area Director, Jean Morisset, she met with several North Shore organizations that work in fields connected to DFO’s activities.

The Deputy Minister took advantage of the occasion to visit the offices of AMIK, an Aboriginal organization working primarily in the commercial fishing sector. AMIK General Manager, Léo St-Onge, presented a very positive portrait of the organization’s mandates, objectives and activities as well as of the relations between aboriginal  and non-native fishers in the North Shore sector.  Dansereau also visited the harbour facilities in Sept-Îles in the company of Port General Manager, Pierre Gagnon. Several major projects involving the Department are currently underway or in preparation.

Dansereau’s visit concluded with a meeting with Clovis Poirier, President of the Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec which led to a highly appreciated informal discussion of regional matters.

Martin St-Gelais
Area Director, North Shore

Basking Shark
Basking Shark

G. B. Skomal
Sharks at risk
Consultations

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will soon be proceeding with a consultation on the possibility of protecting Atlantic populations of the Basking Shark and the Spiny Dogfish under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). These two shark populations have been assessed as being of “special concern” by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). When a species of special concern is added to the list of species at risk, it is not prohibited to fish or have in one’s possession individuals of this species, but a management plan must be drawn up to foster its recovery.

The consultation documents for these two populations will soon be added to the Species at Risk Public Registry. They will notably provide information about each species and examples of management measures that could be implemented to protect them. For each population, there will also be a short questionnaire posted on the site that you can fill out to inform us about any potential impacts on your activities that might occur if this species was added to the list of species at risk and to give us your opinion about the relevance of protecting the species under SARA.

Spiny Dogfish
Spiny Dogfish

NOAA

For more information, consult the Species at Risk Public Registry or contact the Fisheries and Oceans Canada Endangered Species Management Branch at 1‑877‑775‑0848 or especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.



TwitterFollow us on Twitter!

The Quebec Region of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard now has its own Twitter profile.

Follow us! You will be informed about what’s happening at the Department, our public activities, new publications, Web updates, media releases and much more.

Twitter is a subscribable microblogging platform that allows users to follow a variety of groups, organizations and individuals. The published messages (known as tweets) are very short and can redirect readers to more detailed information, photos or videos located elsewhere on the Web.

Twitter profile for the Quebec Region of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard



Subscribing to RSS

If you don’t want to miss out on anything in the upcoming issues, you can now subscribe to the Infoceans Web edition by signing up for the RSS news feed. Whenever a new issue becomes available, you will receive the headlines as well as a link to view the entire newsletter online.



Write us!

We are always delighted to receive your comments, questions and suggestions regarding the content of Infoceans.

You can reach us by e-mail at infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, or by mail at Infoceans, Communications Regional Branch, 104 Dalhousie Street, Québec, Quebec G1K 7Y7.

The Infoceans team

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
DÉCEMBRE 2010 - JANVIER 2011/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 6
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Système de purification d'échantillons
Le système de purification
d'échantillons facilite l'analyse
des polluants organiques.

MPO  F. Servant
Expertise en analyses chimiques aquatiques
Laboratoire pleinement opérationnel

Le Laboratoire d'expertise en analyses chimiques aquatiques de l'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne est maintenant pleinement opérationnel. Il devient ainsi le centre d’expertise national en chimie inorganique et un pôle de soutien majeur en chimie organique pour Pêches et Océans Canada. L’utilisation de ce laboratoire permet aux chercheurs d’améliorer leur compréhension du cheminement des produits chimiques présents dans l’environnement aquatique et de mieux saisir les impacts associés à ces produits.

L’équipe d’experts en chimie compte sur des instruments de pointe afin de détecter et de mesurer précisément des éléments chimiques tels les métaux lourds comme le plomb, l'arsenic, le mercure, etc., et de nombreux contaminants organiques provenant du milieu aquatique. Les scientifiques peuvent par exemple connaître la teneur en mercure de poissons ou de mammifères marins. Les résultats serviront à mieux soutenir les priorités du Ministère en matière de recherche intégrée sur les écosystèmes aquatiques.



Claire Dansereau et Léo St-Onge
Claire Dansereau en compagnie
de Léo St-Onge, directeur
général de l’Agence Mamu
Innu Kaikusseth (AMIK).

AMIK  S. Le Breton
LA SOUS-MINISTRE CLAIRE DANSEREAU
DE PASSAGE SUR LA CÔTE-NORD

En septembre dernier, Claire Dansereau, sous-ministre de Pêches et Océans Canada, a effectué une visite sur la Côte-Nord. Accompagnée du directeur général de la région, Richard Nadeau, et du directeur de secteur intérimaire, Jean Morisset, elle a rencontré plusieurs organismes de la Côte-Nord qui travaillent dans des domaines liés aux activités du Ministère.

La sous-ministre a profité de l’occasion pour se rendre aux locaux de l’AMIK, organisation autochtone œuvrant principalement dans le secteur de la pêche commerciale. Le directeur général de l’AMIK, Léo St-Onge, a dressé un portrait très positif des mandats, des objectifs et des activités de cet organisme ainsi que des relations entre les pêcheurs autochtones et allochtones dans le secteur de la Côte-Nord. Mme Dansereau a aussi visité les installations du port de Sept-Îles en compagnie du directeur général du Port, Pierre Gagnon. Plusieurs projets majeurs auxquels le Ministère est lié sont présentement en cours ou en préparation.

La visite de Mme Dansereau s’est terminée par une rencontre avec Clovis Poirier, président de l’Alliance des pêcheurs professionnels du Québec; cet entretien a suscité des discussions informelles à portée régionale fort appréciées.

Martin St-Gelais, directeur
Secteur Côte-Nord

Pèlerin
Pèlerin

G. B. Skomal
Requins en péril
Consultations

Pêches et Océans Canada procédera sous peu à une consultation sur la possibilité de protéger les populations de l’Atlantique de requin pèlerin et d’aiguillat commun en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Ces deux populations de requin ont été évaluées comme « préoccupantes » par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Lorsqu’une espèce « préoccupante » est inscrite à la liste des espèces en péril, aucune interdiction de pêche ou de possession ne s’applique, mais un plan de gestion doit être élaboré afin de favoriser son rétablissement.

Les documents de consultation pour ces deux populations seront sous peu ajoutés au Registre public des espèces en péril. Ils comprendront notamment de l’information sur l’espèce et des exemples de mesures de gestion qui pourraient être mises en œuvre pour la protéger. Vous y trouverez aussi un court questionnaire à remplir pour nous faire part des impacts potentiels sur vos activités de l’inscription de l’espèce à la liste des espèces en péril et pour nous donner votre avis sur la pertinence de protéger cette espèce en vertu de la LEP.

Aiguillat commun
Aiguillat commun

NOAA

Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le Registre public des espèces en péril ou communiquez avec la Gestion des espèces en péril de Pêches et Océans Canada au 1‑877‑775‑0848 ou à especesperilqc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca.



TwitterSuivez-nous sur Twitter!

La région du Québec de Pêches et Océans Canada et de la Garde côtière canadienne a maintenant son profil sur Twitter.

Suivez-nous! Vous serez informés de ce qui se passe au Ministère, que ce soit nos activités publiques, nos nouvelles publications, nos mises à jour sur le Web, nos communiqués, et bien plus.

Twitter est une plateforme de microblogage avec abonnement qui offre aux utilisateurs de suivre différents groupes, organismes ou individus. Les messages publiés (ou tweets) sont très courts et peuvent rediriger les lecteurs vers de l’information plus complète, des photos ou des vidéos qui se trouvent ailleurs sur le Web.

Profil Twitter de la région du Québec de Pêches et Océans Canada et de la Garde côtière canadienne



Abonnez-vous…

Pour ne rien manquer des prochaines éditions, vous pouvez vous abonner à la version Web d’Infocéans par notre fil de nouvelles RSS. À chaque nouvelle édition, vous recevrez le titre des articles ainsi qu’un lien vers la version intégrale du journal.



Écrivez-nous!

Nous sommes toujours très heureux de recevoir vos commentaires, questions et suggestions sur le contenu d’Infocéans.

Écrivez-nous par courriel, à infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, ou par la poste, à Infocéans, Direction régionale des communications, 104, rue Dalhousie, Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7.

L’équipe d’Infocéans