Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
OCTOBER - NOVEMBER 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 5
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Fishery officer for a day

In June 2010, the Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) Conservation and Protection Branch, Southern Gaspé District, gave four pupils enrolled at primary schools in the region the opportunity to become fishery officers for a day. During this time, the lucky students chosen for this activity were accompanied by two fishery officers based in Grande-Rivière as they patrolled on land and sea. They visited fish stores and processing plants, and met with a few fish harvesters.

This experience was made possible through the school program organized by the Conservation and Protection Branch. During the school year, fishery officers met with pupils enrolled in Grade 6 to raise their awareness about the need to protect aquatic resources and fish habitat as well as about the work done by fishery officers. All the students who participated in these encounters were eligible for a draw to select who would become fishery officers for a day.

Fishery officers Pierre Gagnon and Colette Major accompany Audrey-Jade Couture and Gabriel Duguay, pupils at Grande-Rivière’s École Bon-Pasteur.
Fishery officer Pierre Gagnon with Olivier Goulet and Audreyann Bélanger from École Le Bois-Vivant in New Richmond.



New aquaculture pages
on the Web

A new Web section on aquaculture has just been added to the Department’s regional site.

It presents a comprehensive range of information on the establishment of aquaculture projects in marine environments in Quebec; in particular, it informs about such things as application and site modification guides and the various funding programs available.

In addition, via this section viewers can access a brand new geo-referenced data base that provides detailed information on aquaculture projects already authorized in Quebec. The data base holds information on the operators, the species farmed, and the type of aquaculture activities practiced at each site; the information can be accessed via a list or a map. Viewers can also see the location of each approved site on a nautical chart or satellite map.

Aquaculture section
Quebec Region Web site



A CAREER with the Canadian Coast Guard

The Canadian Coast Guard offers some interesting career opportunities. Here are just a few of them:

  • Electronics technician
  • Engine room rating
  • Deckhand / Helms (man/woman)
  • Marine communications and traffic services officer
  • Marine engineer
  • Navigation officer

For more information:

Marinfo
1-866-660-6948
(toll free)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca



Write us!

We are always delighted to receive your comments, questions and suggestions regarding the content of Infoceans.

You can reach us by e-mail at infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, or by mail at Infoceans, Communications Regional Branch, 104 Dalhousie Street, Québec, Quebec G1K 7Y7.

The Infoceans team

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
OCTOBRE - NOVEMBRE 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 5
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Agents des pêches d’un jour

En juin 2010, la Direction de la conservation et de la protection de Pêches et Océans Canada, district de Gaspé-Sud, a permis à quatre jeunes d’écoles primaires de la région d’être agent des pêches pour une journée. Pendant cette journée, les heureux élus ont accompagné deux agents des pêches de Grande-Rivière dans une patrouille terrestre et maritime. Ils ont ainsi visité des poissonneries et des usines de pêche et rencontré quelques pêcheurs.

Cette expérience a été rendue possible grâce au programme scolaire de la Direction de la conservation et de la protection. Durant l’année scolaire, des agents des pêches ont rencontré des élèves de sixième année afin de les sensibiliser à la protection des ressources halieutiques et de l’habitat du poisson ainsi qu’au travail des agents des pêches. Un tirage effectué auprès des élèves ayant assisté aux rencontres a permis de sélectionner les agents des pêches d’un jour.

Les agents des pêches Pierre Gagnon et Colette Major accompagnent Audrey-Jade Couture et Gabriel Duguay de l’école Bon-Pasteur de Grande-Rivière.
L’agent des pêches Pierre Gagnon en compagnie d’Olivier Goulet et d’Audreyann Bélanger de l’école Le Bois-Vivant de New Richmond.



Nouvelles pages aquaculture
sur le Web

Une nouvelle section Web sur l’aquaculture vient de voir le jour sur le site régional du Ministère.

Elle présente toute l’information relative à l’établissement de projets aquacoles en milieu marin au Québec, notamment les guides de demande ou de modification de site et les différents programmes de financement disponibles.

De plus, cette section donne accès à une toute nouvelle base de données géoréférencées pour connaître en détail les projets d’aquaculture déjà autorisés au Québec. L’information sur les exploitants, les espèces cultivées et le type d’activités aquacoles pratiquées est donnée, sous forme de liste ou de carte, pour chacun des sites. On peut également visualiser, sur des cartes marines ou satellites, la localisation de chacun des sites approuvés.

Section Aquaculture
Site Web de la région du Québec



Une carrière à la Garde côtière canadienne

La Garde côtière canadienne vous offre des possibilités de carrière intéressantes. En voici quelques-unes :

  • Matelot de pont
  • Matelot de salle des machines
  • Officier de communications et de trafic maritimes
  • Officier de navigation
  • Officier mécanicien
  • Technicien en électronique
  • Timonier

Pour plus de renseignements :

Marinfo (section Carrière)
1-866-660-6948 (sans frais)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

C'est plus qu'un travail. C'est une aventure.


Écrivez-nous!

Nous sommes toujours très heureux de recevoir vos commentaires, questions et suggestions sur le contenu d’Infocéans.

Écrivez-nous par courriel, à infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, ou par la poste, à Infocéans, Direction régionale des communications, 104, rue Dalhousie, Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7.

L’équipe d’Infocéans