Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
AUGUST - SEPTEMBER 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 4
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

2010 Canadian Hydrographic Conference
Mission accomplished

The 2010 Canadian Hydrographic Conference, which took place in Québec City in June, was a resounding success. Thanks to a balanced technical program that dealt with the three themes central to the conference, Hydrography: Science, technology and people dedicated to the maritime world, participants were able to find what they were looking for in the presentations, poster sessions, workshops and trade show, where networking was particularly intense. In addition to the activities held at the Québec City Convention Centre, the visits of some Fisheries and Oceans Canada hydrographic vessels, the Interdisciplinary Centre for the Development of Ocean Mapping (CIDCO), the CCGS Amundsen and the Maritime Simulation and Resource Centre (MSRC) nicely rounded out the already well-packed program.  

A visit back in time revealed the essential role hydrographic knowledge played in the outcome of such historic events as the Battle of the Plains of Abraham. Participants took numerous opportunities to discuss a host of issues, most notably, business development, training, the non-traditional use of hydrographic data and future technologies. The conference brought together not only the active hydrographic community, but also former hydrographers who, although no longer actively involved, continue to keep an attentive eye on what’s happening in the field.

The participants went home with renewed energy and the latest knowledge, ready to take on the many challenges facing the hydrographic world. The next conference will be held in two years, in Niagara Falls.

Robert Dorais, Conference Chair
Sciences

MPO  P. Vallières
Expedition in the Arctic
A wide-angle view

Do the activities of the Canadian Coast Guard in the Arctic interest you? From August 20 to September 8, you can follow the expedition of the CCGS Des Groseilliers through the eyes of Gracia Bahati, winner of Radio-Canada’s Gagnez le Nord contest.  

Throughout her three-week stay in the Arctic aboard the Canadian Coast Guard icebreaker, Bahati will be discussing her discoveries in radio interviews and a blog that she will update daily. Delivering supplies to military personnel as well as to Aboriginal and scientific communities in the North, meeting Inuit communities, visiting weather stations, providing assistance to vessels in distress, intervention training exercises, work aboard a vessel... these are just a few of the things on the program.

Gracia Bahati will also play the starring role in a documentary relating her experience that is to be aired this winter on Radio-Canada television.

Gracia Bahati’s blog and interviews on the Arctic expedition (In French only)
Société Radio-Canada



Follow us on Twitter!

The Quebec Region of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard now has its own Twitter profile.

Follow us! You will be informed about what’s happening at the Department, our public activities, new publications, Web updates, media releases and much more.

Twitter is a subscribable microblogging platform that allows users to follow a variety of groups, organizations and individuals. The published messages (known as tweets) are very short and can redirect readers to more detailed information, photos or videos located elsewhere on the Web.

Twitter profile for the Quebec Region of Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Canadian Coast Guard



A CAREER with the Canadian Coast Guard

The Canadian Coast Guard offers some interesting career opportunities. Here are just a few of them:

  • Electronics technician
  • Engine room rating
  • Deckhand / Helms (man/woman)
  • Marine communications and traffic services officer
  • Marine engineer
  • Navigation officer

For more information:

Marinfo
1-866-660-6948
(toll free)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca



Write us!

We are always delighted to receive your comments, questions and suggestions regarding the content of Infoceans.

You can reach us by e-mail at infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, or by mail at Infoceans, Communications Regional Branch, 104 Dalhousie Street, Québec, Quebec G1K 7Y7.

The Infoceans team

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AOÛT - SEPTEMBRE 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 4
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Conférence hydrographique du Canada 2010
Mission accomplie

La Conférence hydrographique du Canada 2010, qui s’est déroulée à Québec en juin, a obtenu un franc succès. L’équilibre du programme technique qui a couvert les trois thèmes centraux de la conférence, « L’hydrographie : une science, des technologies et des gens au service du monde maritime », a permis aux participants d’y trouver leur compte parmi les conférences, les séances d’affichage, les ateliers et l’exposition commerciale où le réseautage a été très prolifique. En plus des activités tenues au Centre des congrès de Québec, les visites des navires hydrographiques de Pêches et Océans Canada, du Centre interdisciplinaire de développement en cartographie des océans (CIDCO), du NGCC Amundsen et du Centre de simulation et d’expertise maritime ont complété de belle façon un programme déjà bien rempli.

Un retour sur le passé a mis en évidence le rôle essentiel que les connaissances hydrographiques ont joué dans le déroulement d’événements historiques, dont la bataille des Plaines d’Abraham. Les échanges entre les participants ont été nombreux, notamment sur le développement des affaires, la formation, les usages non traditionnels des données hydrographiques et les technologies futures. La conférence a permis de rassembler non seulement la communauté hydrographique active, mais également d’anciens hydrographes qui, malgré l’éloignement, gardent un œil attentif sur le domaine.

Les participants sont repartis non sans avoir fait le plein d’énergie et de connaissances pour affronter les nombreux défis auxquels le monde de l’hydrographie fait face. Le prochain rendez-vous aura lieu dans deux ans, à Niagara Falls.

Robert Dorais, président de la Conférence
Sciences

MPO  P. Vallières
Une expédition dans l’Arctique
présentée sous toutes ses coutures

Les activités de la Garde côtière canadienne en Arctique vous intéressent? Du 20 août au 8 septembre, vous pouvez suivre l’expédition du NGCC Des Groseilliers à travers les yeux de Gracia Bahati, gagnante du concours Gagnez le Nord, de Radio-Canada.

Pendant toute la durée de son séjour de trois semaines dans l’Arctique, à bord du brise-glace de la Garde côtière canadienne, Mme Bahati raconte ses découvertes au cours d’entrevues à la radio et dans un blogue qu’elle alimente quotidiennement. Au menu : ravitaillement des militaires et des communautés autochtones et scientifiques du Nord, rencontre avec les collectivités inuites, visite de stations météo, aide aux navires en détresse, exercices d’intervention, travail et vie à bord d’un navire, et bien plus.

Gracia Bahati sera également le personnage central d’un film documentaire relatant son expérience et qui sera diffusé cet hiver à la télévision de Radio-Canada.

Blogue et entrevues de Gracia Bahati sur l’expédition en Arctique
Société Radio-Canada



Suivez-nous sur Twitter!

La région du Québec de Pêches et Océans Canada et de la Garde côtière canadienne a maintenant son profil sur Twitter.

Suivez-nous! Vous serez informés de ce qui se passe au Ministère, que ce soit nos activités publiques, nos nouvelles publications, nos mises à jour sur le Web, nos communiqués, et bien plus.

Twitter est une plateforme de microblogage avec abonnement qui offre aux utilisateurs de suivre différents groupes, organismes ou individus. Les messages publiés (ou tweets) sont très courts et peuvent rediriger les lecteurs vers de l’information plus complète, des photos ou des vidéos qui se trouvent ailleurs sur le Web.

Profil Twitter de la région du Québec de Pêches et Océans Canada et de la Garde côtière canadienne



Une carrière à la Garde côtière canadienne

La Garde côtière canadienne vous offre des possibilités de carrière intéressantes. En voici quelques-unes :

  • Matelot de pont
  • Matelot de salle des machines
  • Officier de communications et de trafic maritimes
  • Officier de navigation
  • Officier mécanicien
  • Technicien en électronique
  • Timonier

Pour plus de renseignements :

Marinfo (section Carrière)
1-866-660-6948 (sans frais)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca



Écrivez-nous!

Nous sommes toujours très heureux de recevoir vos commentaires, questions et suggestions sur le contenu d’Infocéans.

Écrivez-nous par courriel, à infoceans@dfo-mpo.gc.ca, ou par la poste, à Infocéans, Direction régionale des communications, 104, rue Dalhousie, Québec (Québec) G1K 7Y7.

L’équipe d’Infocéans