Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
JUNE - JULY 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 3
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Adapted fishing vessel
DFO  S. Coulombe
A HELPING HAND
FOR ABORIGINAL FISHERIES

Within the framework of the Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative (AICFI), the four Mi’gmaq First Nations on the Gaspé Peninsula were able to take advantage of the program for assistance with commercial fisheries enterprise diversification. To be eligible, participating First Nations communities first had to develop business expansion plans and implement more effective fisheries management systems. Moreover, applicants had to contribute at least 10 percent of the total value of their projects.

Via this program, six mid-shore shrimp fishing vessels have been equipped with new energy-efficient fishing gear, including Morgère doors and adapted Cosmos trawls. According to the information provided by the manufacturer, this kind of equipment allows harvesters to save 10 to 15 percent of the energy required for traction. The real savings have not yet been assessed, but according to one individual who uses a newly equipped fishing boat, the motor rpm needed to maintain a given tow speed was lower than for a vessel equipped with conventional gear.

Sylvio Coulombe
Gaspe–Lower St. Lawrence Area

Martin St-Gelais, North Shore Area Director, MP Bernard Généreux and Bernard Beaudoin, Regional Small Craft Harbour Branch Director.
Martin St-Gelais, North Shore
Area Director, MP Bernard
Généreux and Bernard Beaudoin,
Regional Small Craft Harbour
Branch Director.

DFO L. Morency
INVESTING
IN FISHING HARBOURS ACROSS QUEBEC

In May 2010, Bernard Généreux, Member of Parliament for Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup, announced on behalf of the Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, a $4.6-million investment earmarked for repair and improvement projects at small craft harbours in coastal communities throughout Quebec.

“Commercial fish harvesters in Quebec need a functional and accessible network of small craft harbours to help them earn a living,” said Généreux. “Through this investment, our government is improving harbours so that those who depend on the fishery will have a reliable infrastructure and a stronger local economy for years to come.”

Various types of projects will be carried out to improve the safety and operational efficiency of harbours. The investment will be used for projects such as dredging, wharf repair, electrical system upgrading and general maintenance. These projects will be carried out in collaboration with the harbour authorities that manage and operate these facilities for local users.

MP Bernard Généreux Announces Investment in Fishing Harbours Across Quebec
News Release – May 7, 2010

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
JUIN - JUILLET 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 3
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives


MPO  S. Coulombe
UN COUP DE POUCE
AUX PÊCHERIES AUTOCHTONES

Dans le cadre de l'Initiative des pêches commerciales intégrées de l'Atlantique (IPCIA), les quatre Premières Nations mi’kmaq de la Gaspésie ont pu bénéficier du programme d'aide pour la diversification des entreprises de pêches commerciales. Pour être admissibles, les communautés participantes ont d’abord dû élaborer des plans d'expansion de leurs entreprises et mettre en place des systèmes efficaces de gestion des pêches. De plus, la contribution financière des demandeurs devait atteindre au moins 10 % de la valeur des projets.

Grâce à ce programme, six bateaux semi-hauturiers de pêche à la crevette ont été dotés de nouveaux systèmes de train de pêche à haute efficacité énergétique, comprenant des portes de type Morgère et des chaluts adaptés de marque Cosmos. Selon l’information fournie par le fabricant, ce genre d'équipement permettrait d’économiser de 10 à 15 % de l’énergie nécessaire à leur traction. Les économies réelles n’ont pas encore été évaluées, mais un des utilisateurs de ces nouveaux engins de pêche a observé que pour une même vitesse de touage, la vitesse de révolution du moteur était moindre avec les nouveaux équipements.

Sylvio Coulombe
Secteur Gaspésie–Bas-Saint-Laurent

Martin St-Gelais, Directeur du secteur Côte-Nord, le député Bernard Généreux et Bernard Beaudoin, Directeur régional des ports pour petits bateaux
Martin St-Gelais, directeur du
Secteur Côte-Nord, le député
Bernard Généreux et Bernard
Beaudoin, directeur régional
des ports pour petits bateaux

MPO  L. Morency
INVESTISSEMENT
DANS DES PORTS DE PÊCHE DU QUÉBEC

En mai dernier, Bernard Généreux, député de Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup, annonçait au nom de l’honorable Gail Shea, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, des investissements de 4,6 millions de dollars pour la réalisation de projets de réparation et d’amélioration dans des ports pour petits bateaux de collectivités côtières du Québec.

« Pour gagner leur vie, les pêcheurs commerciaux du Québec ont besoin d’un réseau de ports pour petits bateaux fonctionnels et accessibles, a déclaré M. Généreux. Grâce à cet investissement, le gouvernement du Canada améliorera les ports afin que ceux qui vivent de la pêche puissent compter sur une infrastructure fiable et une économie locale plus forte pour de nombreuses années à venir. »

Divers types de projets seront réalisés afin d’améliorer la sécurité et le fonctionnement des ports. L'argent servira notamment à effectuer des travaux de dragage, à réparer des quais, à mettre des systèmes électriques à niveau et à effectuer des travaux d’entretien général. Ces projets sont entrepris en collaboration avec les administrations portuaires qui gèrent et exploitent les installations au profit des utilisateurs locaux.

Le député Bernard Généreux annonce un investissement dans des ports de pêche du Québec
Communiqué – 7 mai 2010