Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
APRIL - MAY 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 2
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

RISING SEA LEVELS
MELTING GLACIERS OR OCEAN WARMING?

The satellites that have been measuring sea levels since 1992 show the average level of the planet’s oceans to be gradually rising at a pace of about 3.2 cm per decade and that this pace has increased in comparison to previous decades. However, it is hard to know how much of this is attributable to melting glaciers, which add water to the oceans, or the warming of water already in the oceans, which expands as its temperature rises.  

A program to measure ocean temperature and salinity, launched in 2000 and known as the Argo project, allows us to estimate the pace at which the oceans are warming. A recent study undertaken by Fisheries and Oceans Canada researchers indicates that ocean warming alone has pushed the sea level upwards by 2.2 cm per decade between the early 1990s and the 2006-2008 period.

A scientific article presenting the results of this study was recently published in the journal, Atmosphere-Ocean, Number 47, by researchers Howard Freeland at the Institute of Ocean Sciences (Sidney, BC) and Denis Gilbert at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute (Mont-Joli, QC); both institutes are Fisheries and Oceans Canada research centres.

The Argo project
Fisheries and Oceans Canada is not responsible for information posted on outside sites.

Denis Gilbert
Science

MAGDALEN ISLANDS AND THE PILOTS
take centre stage on the 2010 tide tables

Canadian Tide and Current Tables, Volume 2In recent years, the Canadian Hydrographic Service has featured significant events that have marked maritime history or used photos of lighthouses to illustrate the covers of its Tide Tables. The 2010 edition pays tribute to the Corporation of Lower St. Lawrence Pilots, and the Magdalen Islands.

Volume 2 of the Canadian Tide and Current Tables covering harbours along the Gulf of St. Lawrence is illustrated by a Magdalen Islands lighthouse, the one at Étang-du-Nord. The Association touristique régionale des îles de la Madeleine contributed by submitting the photo,  taken by Pascal Arseneau, and the text that tells the tale of this lighthouse first built in 1874. This is fine opportunity to promote the charm of this group of islands located in the middle of the Gulf of St. Lawrence.

Canadian Tide and Current Tables, Volume 3In addition, Volume 3 of the Canadian Tide and Current Tables covering the St. Lawrence estuary and the Saguenay fjord bears the logo of the Corporation of Lower St. Lawrence Pilots which celebrates its 150th anniversary in 2010. The cover shows a ship passing off the Prince Shoal lighthouse, a photo taken by Jean Cloutier, a pilot on this sector of the river. It was on May 19, 1860 that a federal bill was adopted by Parliament to ensure the safety of pilots and navigation on the St. Lawrence River. One hundred years later, under the terms of a federal charter, all the pilots were grouped within the corporation that still exists today. Nowadays, pilots use the latest electronic navigation technologies, combining modern technology with their thorough knowledge of the sector to assist the captains of ships travelling on the St. Lawrence and the Saguenay, beginning from their boarding station at Les Escoumins.

Copies of the Canadian Tide and Current Tables can be purchased from authorized dealers.

For more information about tides and water levels, consult the Web site at www.tides.gc.ca or call 1-877-775-0790.

Robert Dorais
Science

RESEARCH WORK FRONT AND CENTRE

The Fisheries and Oceans Canada Web site regularly offers new easy-to-read articles on research work conducted by the Department’s scientific teams throughout the country.

These articles – over one hundred – deal with a host of subjects connected to Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s activities and responsibilities. For instance, you can find out what research is being done in your region or elsewhere in Canada on subjects that are of interest to you.  

The following articles, dealing with projects taking place in Quebec, were added this winter:

New articles are added frequently. To make sure you don’t miss anything, come back regularly, or subscribe and you will be notified whenever a new article is posted!

List of Featured Science Articles

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AVRIL - MAI 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 2
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

HAUSSE DU NIVEAU DES MERS
fonte des glaciers ou rÉchauffement des ocÉans ?

Les satellites qui mesurent le niveau de la mer depuis 1992 montrent que le niveau moyen des mers du globe augmente actuellement au rythme d’environ 3,2 cm par décennie, et que ce rythme s’est accéléré par rapport aux décennies précédentes. Il est plus difficile, toutefois, de savoir dans quelle mesure cette hausse est attribuable à la fonte des glaciers, qui ajoute de l’eau aux océans, ou au réchauffement de l’eau déjà présente dans les océans qui, en se réchauffant, prend de l’expansion.

Un programme de mesure de la température et de la salinité des océans lancé en 2000, connu sous le nom de projet Argo, nous permet enfin d’estimer le rythme auquel les océans se réchauffent. Une étude récemment entreprise par des chercheurs de Pêches et Océans Canada indique que le seul réchauffement des océans aurait entraîné une hausse du niveau de la mer de 2,2 cm par décennie entre le début des années 1990 et la période de 2006 à 2008.

Un article scientifique présentant les résultats de cette étude a été publié récemment, dans la revue Atmosphere-Ocean, numéro 47, par les chercheurs Howard Freeland de l’Institut des sciences de la mer (Sidney, C.-B.) et Denis Gilbert de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (Mont-Joli, Qc), tous deux de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Site du projet Argo (en anglais seulement)
Pêches et Océans Canada n’est pas responsable de l’information diffusée sur les sites externes.

Denis Gilbert
Sciences

LES ÎLES ET LES PILOTES
EN AVANT-PLAN SUR LES TABLES DES MARÉES 2010

Tables des marées et des courants du Canada, volume 2 Depuis quelques années, le Service hydrographique du Canada souligne des événements marquants de l’histoire maritime ou utilise des photographies de phares pour illustrer la couverture des Tables des marées. En 2010, la Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent ainsi que les îles de la Madeleine sont à l’honneur.

Le volume 2 des Tables des marées et des courants du Canada couvrant les ports du golfe du Saint-Laurent est illustré par un phare des îles de la Madeleine, soit celui d’Étang-du-Nord. L’Association touristique régionale des îles de la Madeleine a collaboré en soumettant la photographie de Pascal Arseneau et le texte présentant l’histoire de ce phare qui fut construit, la première fois, en 1874. Il s’agit d’une belle occasion de faire connaître le charme de cet archipel situé au milieu du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

Tables des marées et des courants du Canada, volume 3 De plus, le volume 3 des Tables des marées et des courants du Canada couvrant l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent et le fjord du Saguenay affiche le logo de la Corporation des pilotes du Bas Saint-Laurent, qui fête son 150e anniversaire en 2010. La couverture montre un navire passant au large du phare du haut-fond Prince, une photo prise par Jean Cloutier, pilote de ce secteur. C’est le 19 mai 1860 qu’un projet de loi fut adopté par le Parlement dans le but d’assurer la sécurité des pilotes et de la navigation sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Cent ans plus tard, une charte fédérale regroupait les pilotes au sein de la corporation actuelle. De nos jours, les pilotes utilisent les dernières technologies en navigation électronique en les combinant à leur connaissance approfondie du secteur pour assister les capitaines des navires transitant sur le Saint-Laurent et le Saguenay depuis la station d’embarquement des pilotes aux Escoumins.

Vous trouverez les Tables des marées et courants du Canada chez les dépositaires autorisés.

Pour plus d’information sur les marées et les niveaux d’eau, consultez le site www.marees.gc.ca ou appelez au 1-877-775-0790.

Robert Dorais
Sciences

TRAVAUX DE RECHERCHE EN VEDETTE

Le site Web de Pêches et Océans Canada offre régulièrement de nouveaux articles vulgarisés sur des travaux de recherche menés par les équipes scientifiques du Ministère d’un bout à l’autre du pays.

Ces articles – plus d’une centaine – traitent d’une foule de sujets en lien avec les activités et les responsabilités de Pêches et Océans Canada. Vous pouvez ainsi découvrir ce qui se fait en recherche dans votre région ou ailleurs au Canada sur les sujets qui vous intéressent.

Les articles suivants, traitant de projets menés au Québec, ont été ajoutés cet hiver :

De nouveaux articles sont ajoutés fréquemment. Pour ne rien manquer, revenez régulièrement ou abonnez-vous pour être informé de la parution de chaque nouvel article!

Liste des articles vedettes des Sciences