Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
FEBRUARY - MARCH 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMBER 1
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

HYDROGRAPHIC CONFERENCE
IN QUEBEC

The Canadian Hydrographic Association will be holding the 2010 Canadian Hydrographic Conference in the city of Québec from June 21 to 23, 2010. The Canadian Hydrographic Service, Quebec Region, is the lead organizer of this event.

The conference will bring together nearly 400 members of the hydrographic community from some fifteen countries to explore the theme Hydrography: A science, technology and people dedicated to the maritime world.

This international event is a forum for discussion on the most recent scientific and technological developments in the area of hydrography, marine cartography and electronic navigation.

Canadian Hydrographic Conference



INTERNATIONAL YEAR OF
BIODIVERSITY

The United Nations has declared 2010 International Year of Biodiversity. To salute this special year, the Infoceans team will be including texts on the topic of aquatic biodiversity. Have an excellent year of biodiversity!

In this issue:



Roger Arsenault with Minister
Shea (left) and Michaela Huard,
Assistant Deputy Minister,
Human Resources and
Integrated Services.

DFO  B. Baziuk
RECOGNITION AWARDS
FOR HARBOUR AUTHORITIES

Last November, Roger Arsenault, Administration portuaire du havre de pêche de Matane President, received the Harbour Authority Environmental Stewardship Award with great pride. The award was presented by the Honourable Gail Shea, Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, at the annual harbour authority recognition awards ceremony.

Like many other harbour authorities, the one that manages the fishing harbour in Matane has had some problems with the disposal of waste oil and oil filters at its site. The Matane wharf is used primarily by midshore vessels engaged in the shrimp fishery and they use outsized oil filters larger than the ones used on other vessels. Consequently, they generate a large number of 20-litre waste oil containers. This fishing harbour did not have the equipment needed to recycle these filters.

Thanks to Arsenault’s initiative, the Administration portuaire du havre de pêche de Matane designed and had built a new drip tray model for outsized oil filters and a system to store the oil containers and filters in complete safety. The company that collects waste oil products can now recover and recycle them without the risk of spilling these products in the storage area. Notices explaining how to use the new facilities have been posted.

This initiative has led to a significant improvement in the on-site management of waste oil and other related products and has contributed to the sound environmental management of this fishing harbour. The new, more adapted equipment has even been put into use at other fishing harbours confronted with the same problem.

Our sincerest congratulations to Mr. Arsenault!

Lyne Beaumont
Small Craft Harbours

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
FÉVRIER - MARS 2010/VOLUME 13/NUMÉRO 1
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

CONFÉRENCE HYDROGRAPHIQUE DU CANADA À QUÉBEC

L’Association canadienne d’hydrographie tiendra à Québec, du 21 au 23 juin 2010, la Conférence hydrographique du Canada 2010. Le Service hydrographique du Canada de la région du Québec est le principal organisateur de cet événement.

Cette conférence rassemblera près de 400 membres de la communauté hydrographique provenant d’une quinzaine de pays sous le thème L’hydrographie : une science, des technologies et des gens au service du monde maritime.

Cet événement d’envergure internationale est un lieu d’échange sur les plus récents développements scientifiques et technologiques en hydrographie, en cartographie marine et en navigation électronique.

Conférences hydrographique du Canada



ANNÉE INTERNATIONALE DE LA
BIODIVERSITÉ

Les Nations Unies ont déclaré 2010 Année internationale de la biodiversité. Pour l’occasion, l’équipe d’Infocéans vous proposera des sujets en lien avec la biodiversité aquatique. Bonne année de la biodiversité!

Dans cette édition :



Roger Arsenault en compagnie de
la ministre Shea (à gauche) et de la
sous-ministre adjointe, Ressources
humaines et Services intégrés,
Michaela Huard.

MPO  B. Baziuk
PRIX D’EXCELLENCE
DES ADMINISTRATIONS PORTUAIRES

En novembre dernier, Roger Arsenault, président de l’Administration portuaire du havre de pêche de Matane, recevait avec grande fierté le Prix d’Excellence dans la catégorie Intendance environnementale des administrations portuaires. Ce prix a été remis par l’honorable Gail Shea, ministre des Pêches et des Océans, lors de la cérémonie annuelle de remise des Prix d’Excellence du Programme de reconnaissance des administrations portuaires.

Comme de nombreuses administrations portuaires, celle du Havre de pêche de Matane a vécu certains problèmes relatifs à la disposition des huiles usées et des filtres à l’huile récoltés sur son site. Le quai de Matane est fréquenté principalement par des navires semi-hauturiers de pêche à la crevette et ceux-ci utilisent des filtres de dimension non standard, soit une dimension supérieure à celle des autres navires. Ils génèrent ainsi un nombre important de contenants d’huiles usées de 20 litres. Ce havre de pêche ne disposait pas de l’équipement nécessaire à la récupération de ces filtres.

Grâce à l’initiative de M. Arsenault, l’Administration portuaire du havre de pêche de Matane a conçu et fait construire un nouveau modèle d’égouttoir et un nouveau système permettant de stocker les contenants d’huiles et les filtres en toute sécurité. L’entreprise de collecte des produits pétroliers usés peut maintenant les récupérer, sans que ces produits soient dispersés autour du dépôt de stockage. Des avis expliquant aux usagers la marche à suivre ont également été affichés.

Cette initiative a amélioré de façon notable la gestion des huiles usées et autres produits apparentés sur le site et a contribué à une saine gestion environnementale de ce havre de pêche. Ces nouveaux équipements mieux adaptés ont même été adoptés par d’autres havres de pêche aux prises avec le même problème.

Toutes nos félicitations à monsieur Arsenault!

Lyne Beaumont
Ports pour petits bateaux