Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
DECEMBER 2009 - JANUARY 2010/VOLUME 12/NUMBER 6
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives


A prototype four-season
buoy

DFO-CCG
Buoy tending on the St. Lawrence:
Integrating innovative technologies

The first buoys started appearing on the St. Lawrence River at the turn of the 18th century. At that time, the number of ships using this trade corridor was increasing steadily, and, as evidenced by the high rate of shipwrecks, the river showed itself to be a significant challenge to navigation.

In 1962, the Canadian Coast Guard (CCG) was born. One of its mandates was and has been to ensure safe conditions for maritime traffic, while providing effective aids to navigation. Although CCG’s mandate has remained the same since its creation, the technologies used to secure the safety of ships have evolved a great deal.

Reliable and economical synthetic materials make the grade

The new technologies improving the reliability and availability of its aids to navigation benefit CCG in a number of ways. Today, 69% of all buoys are made of plastic materials, thereby causing a significant decrease in the annual labour needed to paint them, especially in the case of buoys used for recreational navigation.

The modern aids to navigation are also lighter and require more manageable handling equipment, making it easier to install, remove and check on buoys, and do so earlier in the navigation season. Also, the easier handling enables CCG to respond to irregular situations more promptly.

Moreover, almost 70% of light buoys are now equipped with Light Emitting Diode (LED) lights, which consume less energy than conventional lights. These LED lanterns have permanent solar panels to recharge their batteries. This solution is at once ecological and economical as it reduces the use of non-rechargeable batteries, which are expensive to dispose of since they have to be sent to special waste management sites.

Needless to say, these synthetic buoys adequately meet CCG’s safety standards and address its economic and environmental concerns.

Ghislaine Gendron, Danielle Fortin and Claude Lapierre, Canadian Coast Guard
Nathalie Letendre, Communications

Come and meet us
Boat and Water Sports Show

The Canadian Coast Guard and the Canadian Hydrographic Service personnel invite you to come and meet them at the Montreal Boat and Water Sports Show, which will take place at Place Bonaventure from Thursday, January 28 to Monday, February 1, 2010.

At the Canadian Coast Guard stand, we will be happy to tell you about our services and discuss the standards in place to help you and others safely navigate our waterways. You can also ask us about career opportunities within our organization.

Similarly, the Canadian Hydrographic Service is looking forward to showing you its new products, such as the new nautical charts for the Montreal region (Canal de la Rive Sud, Lac Saint-Louis and Lac des Deux Montagnes) and the latest edition of Sailing Directions: St. Lawrence River, Cap-Rouge to Montréal and Rivière Richelieu (ATL 112). While here, you can also ask us how to update your nautical charts; it’s an easy step to take to improve your boating safety.

We look forward to meeting you at the show and answering your questions.

For more information on the Montreal Boat and Water Sports Show, visit the show's website.

Guy Laberge, Canadian Coast Guard
Fannie Bernier, Canadian Hydrographic Service

MPO
DFO  N. Letendre
Jobs
at the Canadian Coast Guard

The Canadian Coast Guard offers some interesting career opportunities.

Here are just a few of them:

  • Electronics technician
  • Engine room rating
  • Deckhand / Helms (man/woman)
  • Marine communications and traffic services officer
  • Marine engineer
  • Navigation officer

For more information:
www.marinfo.gc.ca
1-866-660-6948 (toll free)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
DÉCEMBRE 2009 - JANVIER 2010/VOLUME 12/NUMÉRO 6
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives


Prototype d'une bouée
quatre saisons

MPO-GCC
Balisage du Saint-Laurent:
des technologies innovatrices

C’est au tournant du 18e siècle que les premières bouées apparaissent sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. À cette époque, les navires sont de plus en plus nombreux à utiliser ce corridor commercial et le fleuve représente un défi de taille pour la navigation, comme le démontre le nombre très élevé de naufrages.

En 1962, on assiste à la création de la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), dont l’un des mandats est de veiller à ce que le trafic maritime se fasse en toute sécurité, tout en fournissant une aide efficace à la navigation. Bien que ce mandat de la Garde côtière canadienne n’ait pas changé depuis ce temps, les technologies utilisées pour assurer la sécurité des navires ont largement évolué.

Les matières synthétiques fiables et économiques ont la cote

La GCC retire plusieurs bénéfices des nouvelles technologies qui améliorent la fiabilité et la disponibilité de ses aides à la navigation. Aujourd’hui, 69 % de toutes les bouées sont faites de matière plastique ce qui entraîne une réduction importante des travaux annuels de peinture, particulièrement pour les bouées liées à la navigation de plaisance.

Les équipements modernes d’aide à la navigation sont aussi plus légers et nécessitent un matériel de manutention moins imposant. Le travail de pose, d’enlèvement et d’entretien des bouées se fait avec plus d’aisance et peut être réalisé plus tôt dans la saison de navigation. Cette facilité de manutention permet en outre à la GCC de réagir plus promptement aux situations irrégulières.

De plus, près de 70 % des bouées lumineuses sont maintenant munies de feux à diodes électroluminescentes (DEL), moins énergivores que les feux traditionnels. Ces lanternes possèdent un panneau solaire permanent qui recharge les piles, lesquelles servent à alimenter les DEL. Cette solution est à la fois écologique et économique puisqu’elle réduit l’utilisation des piles non rechargeables dont il faut se départir à grands frais dans des sites spécialisés de gestion des déchets.

Il va sans dire que ces bouées synthétiques répondent adéquatement aux normes de sécurité de la GCC, ainsi qu’à ses préoccupations environnementales et économiques.

Ghislaine Gendron, Danielle Fortin et Claude Lapierre, Garde côtière canadienne
Nathalie Letendre, Communications

Venez nous rencontrer
Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal

Le personnel de la Garde côtière canadienne et celui du Service hydrographique du Canada vous invitent à venir les rencontrer au Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal qui se tiendra à la Place Bonaventure du jeudi 28 janvier au lundi 1er février 2010.

Au stand de la Garde côtière canadienne, nous serons heureux de vous présenter nos services et d’échanger avec vous sur les normes à respecter afin de naviguer en toute sécurité sur nos voies maritimes. Vous pourrez aussi découvrir les possibilités de carrière au sein de notre organisation.

Le Service hydrographique du Canada sera heureux de vous présenter ses nouveaux produits notamment ses cartes marines de la région de Montréal (canal de la Rive sud, lac Saint-Louis et lac des Deux Montagnes) et la nouvelle édition des Instructions nautiques pour le fleuve Saint-Laurent, de Cap-Rouge à Montréal, et pour la rivière Richelieu (ATL 112). Profitez-en également pour nous demander comment mettre vos cartes marines à jour; il en va de votre sécurité en bateau.

Au plaisir de vous y rencontrer et de répondre à vos questions.

Salon du bateau et des sports nautiques de Montréal

Guy Laberge, Garde côtière canadienne
Fannie Bernier, Service hydrographique du Canada

MPO
MPO  N. Letendre
Emplois
à la Garde côtière canadienne

La Garde côtière canadienne vous offre des possibilités de carrière intéressantes.

En voici quelques-unes :

  • Matelot de pont
  • Matelot de salle des machines
  • Officier de communications et de trafic maritimes
  • Officier de navigation
  • Officier mécanicien
  • Technicien en électronique
  • Timonier

Pour plus de renseignements :
www.marinfo.gc.ca
1-866-660-6948 (sans frais)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc.ca