Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
AUGUST - SEPTEMBER 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMBER 4
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Fishery officers
for a day

This summer, four young people enrolled at elementary schools in Pabos and Caplan had the chance to become fishery officers for a day. They were chosen by means of a draw from amongst all the students who took part in the conservation and protection school program.

For an entire day, they assisted two Grande-Rivière fishery officers as they went about their patrols on land and at sea. The young people had the opportunity to visit port and fishing facilities, and to accompany the officers when they met with fishers.  

This activity, highly enriching for the young participants, was made possible through the conservation and protection school program. The purpose of this program is to inform Grade 6 students about the work of fishery officers and raise their awareness about the protection of marine resources and fish habitat.

On the left, Officer Pierre Gagnon with Thomas, and right, Officer Colette Major with Claudia (École Cap Beau-Soleil, Caplan)
On the left, Officer Pierre Gagnon with Thomas, and right, Officer Colette Major with Claudia (École Cap Beau-Soleil, Caplan)
On the left, Officer Pierre Gagnon with Benjamin, and right, Officer Colette Major with Gabriel (École Saint-Paul, Pabos)
On the left, Officer Pierre Gagnon with Benjamin, and right, Officer Colette Major with Gabriel (École Saint-Paul, Pabos)


Whale rescueWhale
rescue
A sperm whale on the North Shore

Last June, a sperm whale which had become entangled in fishing gear in Baie de Sept-Îles was released from its bonds. The marine mammal, some fifteen metres in length and weighing about 40 tonnes was unable to move. It had become entangled in the lines connecting a crab pot to a buoy. After several hours of work, residents and Fisheries and Oceans Canada officers finally managed to free the animal. The cetacean immediately swam away offshore, but some ropes remained attached to its body; it was unfortunately found dead a few days later.  

A minke whale in Gaspé Peninsula waters

A week earlier fishery officers took part in the rescue of a minke whale in the Grande-Rivière area. The whale was trapped by a lobster pot line and was only able to keep its head out of the water. It took two hours of hard work to free the cetacean.

Fishery officers Clément Beaudoin, Kent Chrétien, Daniel Dickner, Alain Fortin, Ken Jenniss, Colette Major and Mario Moreau took part in these no-less-than-perilous rescue missions. Most Fisheries and Oceans Canada officers in the Quebec region have taken a rescue training session organized by specialists at the Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM) to learn how to intervene rapidly when whales become tangled in fishing gear. These officers deserve our congratulations for their efforts to help these large marine mammals in trouble.

Martial Ménard
Policy and Economics Branch

Contribution to the St. Lawrence
Water Trail

The Regional Small Craft Harbours Branch was very pleased to receive a Certificate of Recognition from the Fédération québécoise du canot et du kayak last May. This certificate salutes the contribution of Fisheries and Oceans Canada – in collaboration with local harbour authorities – to efforts to make its facilities accessible to the general public and to people using the St. Lawrence Water Trail.

The Department has been involved in developing this trail and its various “blue roads” for several years. In addition to opening access to some of its facilities, Department experts provide counsel on the good practices to adopt when observing marine mammals while out on the water, on fish habitat protection, and on sensitive habitats, particularly the ones used by aquatic species at risk. They also provide useful information about mapping and marine safety. In fact, this information was used to prepare 78 charts covering the sections of the trail currently open to users and to prepare an awareness-raising program. 

The Water Trail is a waterway that has been charted but not marked that can be used by small, low-draft watercraft, particularly sea kayaks. It is also a network of rest areas, campgrounds, boat launching ramps and establishments providing food and lodging. The goal of this initiative is first and foremost to make the majestic St. Lawrence accessible to the public, while raising the awareness of users about the impacts their activities have on the environment and encouraging them to adopt safe practices on the water.

The trail now has four operational “blue roads” with two others under development; together they represent some 1,800 km of navigable trails.

If you’re curious, check out the St. Lawrence Water Trail Web site

Lyne Beaumont
Small Craft Harbours

Jobs at the
Canadian Coast Guard

The Canadian Coast Guard offers some interesting career opportunities.

Here are just a few of them:
- Electronics technician
- Engine room rating
- Deckhand / Helms (man/woman)
- Marine communications and traffic services officer
- Marine engineer
- Navigation officer

For more information:
www.marinfo.gc.ca
1-866-660-6948 (toll free)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc

Job GCC

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AOÛT - SEPTEMBRE 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMÉRO 4
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Agents des pêches
d’un jour

Cet été, quatre jeunes des écoles primaires de Pabos et de Caplan ont eu la chance d’être agent des pêches d’un jour. C’est par un tirage effectué auprès de tous les élèves rencontrés lors du Programme scolaire de Conservation et Protection qu’ils ont été choisis pour vivre cette expérience.

Pendant toute une journée, ils ont secondé deux agents des pêches de Grande-Rivière lors de leurs patrouilles terrestre et maritime. Les jeunes ont eu l’occasion de visiter les installations portuaires et de pêche et d’accompagner les agents lors de leurs rencontres avec les pêcheurs.

Cette activité très enrichissante pour les jeunes a été rendue possible grâce au Programme scolaire de Conservation et Protection, dont l’objectif est de faire connaître le travail des agents des pêches et de sensibiliser les élèves de sixième année à la protection des ressources marines et de l’habitat du poisson.

À gauche, l’agent Pierre Gagnon avec Thomas, et à droite, l’agente Colette Major avec Claudia. (École Cap Beau-Soleil de Caplan)
À gauche, l’agent Pierre Gagnon avec Thomas, et à droite, l’agente Colette Major avec Claudia.
(École Cap Beau-Soleil de Caplan)
À gauche, l’agent Pierre Gagnon avec Benjamin, et à droite, l’agente Colette Major avec Gabriel. (École Saint-Paul de Pabos)
À gauche, l’agent Pierre Gagnon avec Benjamin, et à droite, l’agente Colette Major avec Gabriel.
(École Saint-Paul de Pabos)


Sauvetage de baleines Sauvetage de
baleines
Un cachalot sur la Côte-Nord

En juin dernier, un cachalot, qui s’était pris dans des engins de pêche dans la baie de Sept-Îles, a été libéré de ses entraves. Le mammifère marin d’une quinzaine de mètres et pesant environ 40 tonnes était immobilisé. Il s’était enroulé dans un câble reliant un casier de crabe à une bouée. Après plusieurs heures de travail, des citoyens et des agents de Pêches et Océans Canada sont finalement parvenus à le dégager. Le cétacé a aussitôt pris le large, mais des cordages sont restés accrochés à l’animal. Il a malheureusement été retrouvé mort quelques jours plus tard.

Un petit rorqual en Gaspésie

Une semaine auparavant, les agents des pêches participaient au sauvetage d’un petit rorqual dans le secteur de Grande-Rivière. La baleine était prisonnière d’un câble de casier à homard et seule sa tête pouvait émerger. Il aura fallu deux heures de travail acharné afin de libérer le cétacé.

Les agents des pêches Clément Beaudoin, Kent Chrétien, Daniel Dickner, Alain Fortin, Ken Jenniss, Colette Major et Mario Moreau ont participé à ces missions de sauvetage pour le moins périlleuses. La plupart des agents de Pêches et Océans Canada de la région du Québec ont suivi une formation de sauvetage donnée par des spécialistes du Groupe de recherche et d’éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM) afin d’intervenir adéquatement auprès de baleines empêtrées dans des engins de pêche. Ces agents méritent nos félicitations pour leur intervention auprès de grands mammifères marins en difficulté.

Martial Ménard
Direction des politiques et de l’économique

Contribution au
Sentier maritime du Saint-Laurent

Certificat de reconnaissance remis par la Fédération québécoise du canot et du kayakEn mai dernier, la Direction régionale des ports pour petits bateaux a reçu avec grand plaisir un Certificat de reconnaissance remis par la Fédération québécoise du canot et du kayak. Ce certificat souligne la contribution de Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration avec les administrations portuaires locales, dans ses efforts pour rendre les installations lui appartenant accessibles aux usagers du Sentier maritime du Saint-Laurent et à l’ensemble de la population.

Le Ministère s’implique depuis quelques années dans le développement de ce sentier et de ses différentes routes bleues. En plus de permettre l’accès à certaines installations, des experts du ministère offrent des conseils sur les bonnes pratiques à adopter pour l’observation des mammifères marins lors de sorties en mer, sur la protection de l’habitat du poisson et sur les habitats sensibles, notamment ceux des espèces aquatiques en péril. Ils fournissent également des renseignements utiles en cartographie et en sécurité nautique. Ces renseignements ont d’ailleurs servi à l’élaboration des 78 cartes couvrant les tronçons actuellement accessibles du sentier et à la préparation d’un programme de sensibilisation.

Le Sentier maritime est une voie navigable, cartographiée, mais non balisée, que peuvent utiliser les petites embarcations possédant un faible tirant d’eau, tout particulièrement les kayaks de mer. Il s’agit également d’un réseau d’aires de repos, de campings, de mises à l’eau, de services d’hébergement et d’alimentation. Le but de cette initiative est avant tout de mettre en valeur et de rendre accessible ce majestueux cours d’eau qu’est le Saint-Laurent, tout en sensibilisant les usagers aux effets de leurs activités sur l’environnement et à adopter une pratique sécuritaire sur l’eau.

Le sentier compte désormais quatre routes bleues en opération et deux autres en développement, représentant quelque 1 800 km de sentiers navigables.

Si votre curiosité est piquée, consultez le site Internet du Sentier maritime du Saint-Laurent

Lyne Beaumont
Ports pour petits bateaux

Emplois à la
Garde côtière canadienne

La Garde côtière canadienne vous offre des possibilités de carrière intéressantes.

En voici quelques-unes :
- Matelot de pont
- Matelot de salle des machines
- Officier de communications et de trafic maritimes
- Officier de navigation
- Officier mécanicien
- Technicien en électronique
- Timonier

Pour plus de renseignements :
www.marinfo.gc.ca
1-866-660-6948 (sans frais)
info-carrieres-RQ@dfo-mpo.gc

Emplois à la GCC