Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
JUNE - JULY 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMBER 3
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

DISTINCTION FOR
QUEBEC’S LOBSTER INDUSTRY

Award of MeritSince 1994, Quebec’s fishing industry has often been praised for its lobster conservation efforts. Last fall, following the release of the latest Fisheries Resource Conservation Council’s report on the sustainability of Atlantic lobster, Richard Nadeau, Fisheries and Oceans Canada Regional Director General, presented an Award of Merit to a DFO-Industry work team.

It is important to salute the accomplishments of this multidisciplinary work team composed of fishers, biologists, staff members of fishers’ organisations, fisheries officers, etc. Their efforts are, in fact, an excellent example of what some theoreticians call shared stewardship, others co-management or, more simply put, team work.

The role played by the fishers and their representatives at the Association des pêcheurs propriétaires des Îles-de-la-Madeleine (APPIM) and the Regroupement des pêcheurs professionnels du sud de la Gaspésie (RPPSG) largely made it possible for the group to reach its objectives. Today, Fisheries and Oceans Canada pays tribute to the passion and commitment of Mario Déraspe, Donald Walker, O’Neil Cloutier, Léonard Poirier and their fellow team members.

Patrick Vincent
Fisheries and Aquaculture Management

FISH AND SEAFOOD EXPORTS IN 2008

Preliminary international trade figures show that Canada’s exports of fish and seafood products reached $3.9 billion in 2008. More than half of these products headed to the United States with exports to that country totalling over $2.4 billion last year. European Union countries ranked second, importing Canadian fish and seafood products worth $489 million, following by Japan in third place with $294 million and China where imports totalled $259 million, making it Canada’s fourth largest market for seafood products in 2008.

Canada’s four most valuable exports by species were lobster, crab, salmon and shrimp. These species accounted for 46% of all fish and seafood exports by volume and 65% of the value. Lobster remained number one, with its export value approaching a billion dollars.

Quebec ranked fifth amongst Canadian provinces for its fish and seafood exports in 2008.



JUNE 8
WORLD OCEANS DAY

Since the 1992 Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, June 8 has been recognized as World Oceans Day. This international celebration, which aims to raise awareness about the health of the planet’s oceans, has rapidly gained popularity.

We all have a responsibility for the environment because our activities at home and within our communities can have repercussions on our watercourses and ultimately,
on the health of the oceans. For a number of years, non-governmental organizations concerned about the health of the oceans have been mobilizing hundreds of people in Quebec. Supported by Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) staff, they have taken on the mission of raising public awareness about how important the oceans are to our planet. This collective awareness ensures cohesiveness in the actions taken to keep our aquatic ecosystems healthy and productive, an important DFO mandate.

Once again this year, numerous awareness-raising activities have been organized to celebrate World Oceans Day.



JUNE 21
WORLD HYDROGRAPHY DAY

Did you know that June 21 is World Hydrography Day? This year, the International Hydrography Organisation will highlight the important contribution hydrography makes to the protection of the marine environment.

In Quebec alone, our Canadian Hydrographic Service teams cover over 10,000 km every year to monitor the condition of ship channels. Their observations are used to identify shoals and update official nautical publications and charts, thus making navigation safer and protecting the marine environment.

For over 100 years, the Canadian Hydrographic Service has contributed to designing technologies used by sailors throughout the world. Today, Canadian hydrographers play a leading role in the world of ocean mapping, an achievement in which we take great pride.

We invite you to celebrate World Hydrography Day on June 21.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
juin - juillet 2009/volume 12/NUMÉRO 3
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

L’INDUSTRIE QUÉBÉCOISE DU HOMARD
SE DISTINGUE

Prix de distinctionDepuis 1994, l’industrie québécoise des pêches a été citée à maintes reprises pour ses efforts de conservation du homard. À la suite du dépôt du dernier rapport du Conseil pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques (CCRH) portant sur le cadre de durabilité pour le homard de l’Atlantique, le directeur général régional de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), Richard Nadeau, octroyait, l’automne dernier,
un Prix de distinction à une équipe de travail MPO-Industrie.

Il est important de reconnaître les résultats de ce groupe de travail multidisciplinaire où se côtoient pêcheurs, biologistes, personnel des organisations de pêcheurs, agents des pêches, etc. Il s’agit en fait d’un très bon exemple de ce que certains théoriciens appelleront l’intendance partagée, d’autres la cogestion ou, plus simplement, le travail d’équipe.

Le rôle joué par les pêcheurs et leurs représentants de l’Association des pêcheurs propriétaires des Îles-de-la-Madeleine (APPIM) et du Regroupement des pêcheurs professionnels du sud de la Gaspésie (RPPSG) a largement contribué à l’atteinte des objectifs. C’est à la passion et à l’engagement de ces Mario Déraspe, Donald Walker, O’Neil Cloutier et Léonard Poirier que Pêches et Océans Canada rend aujourd’hui hommage.

Patrick Vincent
Gestion des pêches et de l’aquaculture

EXPORTATIONS
DE POISSONS ET DE FRUITS DE MER EN 2008

Les exportations canadiennes de produits de la mer ont atteint 3,9 milliards de dollars sur les marchés internationaux en 2008 (chiffres provisoires). Plus de la moitié de ces exportations étaient destinées aux États-Unis avec une valeur de plus de 2,4 milliards de dollars. Le marché des pays de l’Union européenne arrive au deuxième rang avec une valeur de 489 millions de dollars; le Japon, au troisième rang, avec une valeur à l’exportation de 294 millions de dollars; alors que la Chine est au quatrième rang des marchés d’exportation canadiens avec 259 millions de dollars en 2008.

Les produits dont la valeur à l’exportation est la plus élevée sont le homard, le crabe, le saumon et la crevette. Ces espèces comptent pour 46 % du volume total des exportations de produits de poisson et de la mer, et pour 65 % de la valeur à l’exportation. Le homard est l’espèce la plus exportée, avec une valeur à l’exportation avoisinant le milliard de dollars.

Le Québec s’est classé au cinquième rang des provinces canadiennes pour ses exportations de poisson et de fruits de mer en 2008.



8 JUIN
JOURNÉE MONDIALE DES OCÉANS

Depuis le Sommet de la Terre de Rio de Janeiro en 1992, le 8 juin est consacré Journée mondiale des océans. Cette célébration internationale, qui vise la sensibilisation à la santé des océans, a connu un essor fulgurant.

Nous avons tous une responsabilité environnementale, car les activités que nous menons chez nous et au sein de notre communauté peuvent avoir des répercussions sur nos cours d’eau et, ultimement, sur la santé des océans. Depuis plusieurs années, des organisations non gouvernementales préoccupées par la santé des océans mobilisent des centaines de personnes au Québec. Appuyées par les employés de Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO), elles se sont donné comme mission de sensibiliser la population à l’importance des océans à l’échelle planétaire. Cette prise de conscience collective assure une cohésion dans les actions posées pour maintenir nos écosystèmes aquatiques sains et productifs, un mandat important du MPO.

Encore cette année, plusieurs activités de sensibilisation ont souligné cette Journée mondiale des océans.



21 JUIN
JOURNÉE MONDIALE DE L’HYDROGRAPHIE

Saviez-vous que le 21 juin est la Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie? Cette année, l’Organisation hydrographique internationale met l’accent sur l’importance de l’hydrographie dans la protection du milieu marin.

Au Québec seulement, nos équipes du Service hydrographique du Canada parcourent plus de 10 000 km par année pour faire le suivi de l’état du chenal maritime. L’exercice permet d’identifier les hauts-fonds et de mettre à jour les publications nautiques et les cartes marines officielles, ce qui rend la navigation plus sécuritaire et protége ainsi l’environnement marin.

Depuis plus de 100 ans, le Service hydrographique du Canada contribue à la conception des technologies utilisées par les marins du monde entier. Aujourd’hui, les hydrographes canadiens jouent un rôle de premier plan dans le domaine de la cartographie des océans, ce dont nous sommes extrêmement fiers.

Le 21 juin, nous vous invitons à souligner la Journée mondiale de l’hydrographie.