Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
APRIL - MAY 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMBER 2
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Identification Booklet AQUATIC INVADERS:
AN IDENTIFICATION BOOKLET

People using the marine environment in Eastern Canada will now be better equipped to help fight invasive aquatic species.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has just produced a booklet identifying the principal species that have invaded some areas in Eastern Canada. It provides information on how to recognize undesirable species and describes what people can do to keep them from spreading and settling here permanently.

This booklet is particularly useful for people involved in activities that take place on the water and who are likely to observe invasive species and report their presence: fishers, aquaculturers, mariners, divers, mollusc harvesters, etc. It is available at Fisheries and Oceans Canada offices.

Gaspe–Lower-St.Lawrence: 418-368-5559
Magdalen Islands: 418-986-2095
North Shore: 1-800-463-1729



NEW SCIENCE ADVISORY REPORTS
ON THE INTERNET

The following science advisory reports are now available on the Canadian Science Advisory Secretariat’s Internet site, www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas/, in the CSAS Publications section, Science Advisory Reports (2005+), years 2008 and 2009:

  • Recovery potential assessment for freshwater harbour seal, Phoca vitulina mellonae, (Lac des Loups Marins Designated Unit (DU) (2008/062)
  • Assessment of shrimp stocks in the estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence in 2008 (2009/01)
  • Assessment of cod stock in the northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (3Pn,4RS) in 2008 (2009/010)

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AVRIL - MAI 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMÉRO 2
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Carnet d'identification ENVAHISSEURS AQUATIQUES :
CARNET D’IDENTIFICATION

Les différents utilisateurs du milieu marin dans l’Est du Canada seront maintenant mieux outillés pour contribuer à la lutte aux espèces aquatiques envahissantes.

Pêches et Océans Canada vient de produire un carnet d’identification des principales espèces qui ont envahi certaines régions de l’Est du Canada. Il indique comment reconnaître les espèces indésirables et décrit ce qu’on peut faire pour les empêcher de se disperser et de s’installer de façon durable.

Ce carnet vise particulièrement les personnes qui pratiquent des activités en milieu marin et qui sont susceptibles d’observer des espèces envahissantes et de signaler leur présence : pêcheurs, aquaculteurs, navigateurs, plongeurs, cueilleurs de mollusques, etc. Il est disponible dans les bureaux de secteur de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Côte-Nord : 1-800-463-1729
Gaspésie–Bas-Saint-Laurent : 418-368-5559
Îles-de-la-Madeleine : 418-986-2095



NOUVEAUX AVIS
SCIENTIFIQUES SUR INTERNET

Les avis scientifiques suivants sont maintenant disponibles sur le site du Secrétariat canadien de consultation scientifique, www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca/csas, dans la section Publications du SCCS, série Avis scientifiques (2005 +), années 2008 et 2009 :

  • Évaluation du potentiel de rétablissement du phoque commun d’eau douce, Phoca vitulina mellonae, (unité désignable (UD) du lac des Loups Marins) (2008/062)
  • Évaluation des stocks de crevette de l’estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent en 2008 (2009/01)
  • Évaluation du stock de morue du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (3Pn,4RS) en 2008  (2009/010)