Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.


Infoceans' logo
RSS
THE QUEBEC REGION BULLETIN
APRIL - MAY 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMBER 2
Home Dispatches New publications
  Convictions   Credit   Archives

Through the Species at Risk Coordination Espèces en Péril (SARCEP) program pursuant to the Species at Risk Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s North Shore Sector works to raise the awareness of fishers about protecting species at risk.

We would like to thank Jean-François Beaudoin of Blanc-Sablon who, during the 2008 fishing season, freed a leatherback turtle from his net. This turtle, an endangered species, was spotted again in the same area for a few days following its release.

Beaudoin recorded the incidental catch in his species at risk logbook for the 2008 season. Because he took the trouble to write down this information, specialists were able to conduct a follow-up and compile very valuable data on the leatherback turtle.

Thanks go to all the fishers who help protect aquatic species at risk… one turtle at a time!

Mona Rochette
North Shore Area

Mamilossa MPO P. DIONNE
MPO P. DIONNE
THE MAMILOSSA
IS ON ITS WAY!

Last March 5, the Canadian Coast Guard took possession of a new air cushion vehicle (ACV), the CCGS Mamilossa. Built in England, the Mamilossa will be based in Trois-Rivières and will replace the CCGS Waban Aki, an air cushion vehicle built in 1987.

The Mamilossa will be used for icebreaking on rivers, the foreshore flats of the St. Lawrence and places that are hard for conventional icebreakers to reach. This hovercraft, with a heavy-duty crane and engine, can take on and off load larger buoys. It can also carry rolling stock since it is equipped with a ramp that provides direct access to the loading deck. This latter characteristic makes it particularly effective during pollution clean-up operations. In addition, the Mamilossa can be used for search and rescue missions.

The Abenaki word mamilossa means “he who goes from water to land” and is pronounced maw-may-loas-saw.



USE CAUTION
WHEN EATING SHELLFISH

Fisheries and Oceans Canada wishes to inform the public of the health hazards of eating shellfish taken from closed areas. Eating contaminated shellfish is dangerous and may lead to paralysis and even death.

Shellfish harvesting is prohibited in closed areas. In addition, shellfish harvesting is prohibited within 125 metres of a wharf, due to the risk of contamination.

To protect public health, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is ever vigilant in its efforts to prevent shellfish harvesting in closed areas. It is also asking the public to report poaching incidents by calling 1-800-463-9057. All calls are confidential.



FISHERIES MANAGEMENT PLANS
ON THE INTERNET

The most recent fishing management plans are now available on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Internet site, www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca, in the Highlights section, under Fisheries Management Decisions.

You will find information on species, where they are found (region/area), opening and closing dates for the season, total allowable catches, and management plans. This section is updated on an ongoing basis.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.


Logo d'Infocéans
RSS
BULLETIN D'INFORMATION DE LA RÉGION DU QUÉBEC
AVRIL - MAI 2009/VOLUME 12/NUMÉRO 2
Accueil Dépêches Nouvelles publications
  Condamnations   Cartouche   Archives

Tortue luth - F. CUTHBERT
F. CUTHBERT
UNE TORTUE À LA FOIS

Dans le cadre d’un projet (SARCEP) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le secteur Côte-Nord de Pêches et Océans Canada sensibilise les pêcheurs à la protection des espèces en péril.

Nous tenons à remercier monsieur Jean-François Beaudoin de Blanc-Sablon qui, durant la saison de pêche 2008, a libéré de ses filets une tortue luth, une espèce en voie de disparition. Cette tortue a été revue dans le même secteur pendant les quelques jours qui ont suivi sa libération.

Le pêcheur a répertorié sa capture accessoire dans son journal de bord sur les espèces en péril pour la saison 2008. En notant cette information, monsieur Beaudoin a permis aux spécialistes de faire un suivi et, par le fait même, de compiler des données très précieuses sur la tortue luth.

Merci à tous les pêcheurs qui contribuent à la protection des espèces aquatiques en péril! Une tortue à la fois…

Mona Rochette
Secteur Côte-Nord

Mamilossa MPO P. DIONNE
MPO P. DIONNE
LE MAMILOSSA ARRIVE!

Le 5 mars dernier, la Garde côtière canadienne prenait possession d’un nouveau véhicule à coussin d’air (VCA), le Mamilossa. Construit en Angleterre, le Mamilossa sera basé à Trois-Rivières et remplacera le VCA Waban Aki, construit en 1987.

Le Mamilossa servira au déglaçage des rivières, des battures du Saint-Laurent et des endroits difficilement accessibles par les brise-glace conventionnels. Cet aéroglisseur, avec une force supérieure de grue et de moteur, permettra notamment un chargement et un déchargement de bouées plus lourdes. Il peut également transporter du matériel roulant puisqu’il est muni d’une rampe qui donne un accès direct au pont de chargement. Cette dernière caractéristique le rend particulièrement efficace lors des opérations de dépollution. De plus, le Mamilossa pourra être utilisé lors de missions de recherche et de sauvetage.

En abénakis, mamilossa signifie « il marche de la berge à l’eau, sur l’eau » et se prononce ma-mé-los-sa.



MISE EN GARDE
SUR LA CONSOMMATION DE MOLLUSQUES

Pêches et Océans Canada souhaite informer la population du danger, pour la santé humaine, de consommer des mollusques cueillis dans des zones fermées. La consommation de mollusques contaminés peut occasionner la paralysie et même causer la mort.

En plus de l’interdiction de cueillir des mollusques dans des zones fermées, la cueillette des mollusques à moins de 125 mètres d’un quai est interdite en raison des risques de contamination.

Afin de protéger la santé publique, Pêches et Océans Canada surveille de très près la cueillette de mollusques et les zones fermées. Il invite également la population à rapporter les actes de braconnage au 1-800-463-9057. Les appels sont confidentiels.



PLANS DE GESTION
DES PÊCHES SUR INTERNET

Les plus récents plans de pêche sont maintenant disponibles sur le site Internet de Pêches et Océans Canada au www.dfo-mpo.gc.ca, dans la section Points saillants, sous l’onglet Décisions dans la gestion des pêches.

Vous y trouverez de l’information sur les espèces, les endroits où elles se trouvent (région/zone), les dates d’ouverture et de fermeture de la pêche pour la saison, le total autorisé de captures et les plans de gestion. Cette section est mise à jour régulièrement.