Experimental set-up

Design

Water column model with a thermal gradient

The development and construction of two tanks (one with a thermocline and CIL and one without a temperature gradient to serve as control) began in 2002 at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute (MLI).

Design

Water Column Experimental Model Thermally Insulated Glass Panel

The column is a vertical structure of about 1.6 m in height with an internal horizontal cross section of 20.3 x 30.4 cm and is made of clear 1.9 cm thick Plexiglas®.

The column is made of two parts: a moulded section, bent at high temperature, that forms the sides and the back, and a flat section glued to the moulded section to make the front. A thermally insulated glass panel is affixed to the front to avoid surface water condensation and to facilitate the observation of organisms inside the column (B).

An 11.5 cm diameter opening at the base of the column allows access to the inside for cleaning the bottom and, eventually, will be used for the attachment of a mechanism allowing the introduction of organisms at the base of the column.

Heat Exchanger

Heat Exchanger

One of the key elements of the system that creates a stable thermocline and CIL was the conception, the construction and the installation of a heat exchanger in the central section of the column. The heat exchanger is made of a 9.5 cm diameter stainless steel tube. To cool the water at that level, a non toxic anti-freeze fluid cooled at -1.2°C is continuously circulated in the exchanger using a thermostatically controlled circulating water bath.

A standard 400 Watt laboratory hot plate, set at about 92°C and placed a few centimetres from the bottom in a space located under the column heats the water at the base and creates the 'deep warm layer' below the CIL.

Lighting

Lighting system

Most planktonic organisms, including young stages of crustacean decapods such as the Northern shrimp, react strongly to the visible light (between about 450 and 600 nm). That phenomenon is called phototaxis. This reaction seriously complicates behavioural studies of organisms facing other environmental factors such as a thermal gradient. To allow for the observation of the larval stages without influencing their behaviour, a red light source (maximum emission at 665 nm, power of 6.3 µW cm-2 at the source) is placed behind the back of the column.

Light Emission Spectrum

Emission spectrum of the column's back wall light source. It was shown that crustacean decapod larvae are not sensitive to wavelength higher than 600 nm (Cronin and Jinks, 2001; Johnson et al. 2002).

Temperature

At intervals of about 18 cm along the entire height of the water column, 8 digital temperature sensors (1-Wire Dallas Semiconductors DS18B20) are positioned at the centre of the horizontal cross section. The 8 sensors form a parallel network and are linked by telephone-type connectors to the reading/display/recording device (accuracy 0.1°C in the range -50 to 150 °C) on a personal computer. A user interface (ZOC for Windows™ interface, BMT Micro INC, Wilmington, NC. USA) controls temperature monitoring and recording.

Performance

During the spring of 2004 experiments, the system was located at an ambient temperature of 6°C in a controlled atmosphere unit (CAU) at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute (MLI). Preparation of the thermal profile begins at the end of the day preceding an experiment by the cleaning, filling (sea water filtered at 30 µm) and aerating of the water in the column. The morning of an experiment, work begins with circulating the anti-freeze fluid cooled at -5.5°C in the heat exchanger until the water temperature at that level reaches 0°C or less. The temperature of the fluid in the exchanger is then set at -1.2°C.

The temperature in the CAU determines the surface layer water temperature (about 6°C), the heat exchanger creates a thermocline and a CIL where the minimum water temperature is maintained at about 0.5°C, and the heat source under the bottom of the column produces a deep warm layer where temperature varies between 3 and 4°C.

Once established, water temperature profiles at each level remain very stable for the duration of an experiment.

 

Temperature Recorded in the Column

 

Temperatures recorded by each of the 8 sensors located at intervals of about 18 cm along the height of the column. The graph shows the high stability of the temperatures recorded at each level during an experiment. Larger fluctuations are recorded near the bottom due to the hotplate intermittent operation.


The simulated vertical temperature profile also displays all the characteristics of a natural profile as observed in the spring in the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence.

 

Comparison of the Mean Water Temperature Profile

Comparison of the mean water temperature profiles. Left: mean and standard deviation for all simulations done in the laboratoratory in the spring of 2004 (number of observations = 20). Right: temperature profile recorded at a station in the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence in the spring 2002. Proportionally, the surface layer is more important in the laboratory experimental column however the three-layered typical profile observed at sea is well represented.

Modèle expérimental

Conception

Modèle de colonne d'eau avec gradient de température

La conception et la fabrication de deux réservoirs (un avec thermocline et CIF et un sans gradient de température pour fin de contrôle) a débuté en 2002 à l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML).

Conception

Modèle expérimental de colonne d'eau Vitres à isolation thermique

La colonne (A) est une structure verticale d’environ 1.6 m de haut avec un section interne horizontale de 20.3 x 30.4 cm fabriquée de Plexiglas® clair d’une épaisseur de 1.9 cm.

La colonne est faite de deux parties : une partie moulée, courbée à haute température, formant les côtés et l'arrière et une partie plate collée à la partie moulée pour former l'avant. Un panneau de vitres à isolation thermique fixé à l'avant (B) permet d'éviter la condensation et facilite l'observation des organismes à l'intérieur de la colonne.

Une ouverture de 11.5 cm de diamètre à la basse de la colonne donne accès à l’intérieur pour le nettoyage du fond et, éventuellement, servira pour attacher un mécanisme permettant l’introduction des organismes à la base de la colonne.

Échangeur thermique

Échangeur thermique

Un élément clé pour la formation d’une thermocline et d’une CIF stable a été la conception, la fabrication et l’installation dans la section centrale de la colonne d’un échangeur thermique. L’échangeur est fabriqué d’un tuyau en acier inoxydable de 9.5 mm de diamètre. Le refroidissement de l’eau à ce niveau est obtenu en faisant circuler en continu dans l’échangeur, à l’aide d’un bain-marie circulateur thermostaté, un liquide antigel non toxique refroidi à -1.2 °C.

Une plaque chauffante de 400 watts (réglé pour une température d'environ 92 °C) placée à quelques centimètres du fond dans un espace aménagé sous la colonne permet le réchauffement de l’eau à la base et de créer une « couche profonde chaude » sous la CIF.

Éclairage

Système d'éclairage

La plupart des organismes planctoniques, incluant les jeunes stades de crustacés décapodes comme la crevette nordique, réagissent à la lumière visible (entre environ 450 et 600 nm). Il s’agit du phénomène de phototaxie. Cette réaction est une complication pour étudier leur réaction face à d’autres conditions environnementales tel un gradient de température. Afin de permettre l’observation des organismes sans affecter leur comportement, une source lumineuse rouge (maximum d’émission à 665 nm, puissance de 6.3 µW cm-2 à la source) est placée à l’arrière de la colonne.

 

Spectre d'émission lumineuse

Spectre d'émission de la source lumineuse située à l'arrière de la face dorsale de la colonne. Il a été démontré que les larves de crustacés décapodes ne sont pas sensibles à des longueurs d'onde supérieures à 600 nm (Cronin et Jinks, 2001; Johnson et al. 2002).

Température

A des intervalles d’environ 18 cm sur toute la hauteur de la colonne, 8 sondes digitales (1-Wire Dallas Semiconductors DS18B20) ont été installées au centre de la section horizontale pour la lecture de la température. Les 8 sondes forment un réseau parallèle et sont reliées par des connecteurs de type téléphone à un système de lecture (précision de 0.1 °C sur une plage de -50 à 150 °C), d’affichage et d’enregistrement sur un ordinateur personnel. Le système moniteur/enregistreur gère la lecture des sondes et l’affichage des températures via l’interface usager ZOC pour Windows™ de BMT Micro Inc. (Wilmington, NC. USA).

Performance

Pour les expériences menées au printemps 2004, le système a été installé à une température ambiante de 6 °C dans une unité à atmosphère contrôlée (UAC) de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML). La préparation d’un profil de température commence en fin de journée, la veille d’une expérience, par le nettoyage, le remplissage (eau de mer filtrée à 30 µm) et l’aération de l’eau dans la colonne. Le matin du jour d’une expérience, le travail commence par faire circuler dans l’échangeur thermique l’antigel refroidi à -5.5 °C jusqu’à ce que la température de l’eau à ce niveau atteigne 0 °C ou moins. La température dans l’échangeur thermique est alors ramenée à -1.2 °C.

La température dans le UAC donne la température de la couche de surface (environ 6 °C), le système d’échangeur thermique donne une thermocline et une CIF où le minimum de température se maintient à environs 0.5 °C, et la source de chaleur, sous la colonne, produit une couche profonde chaude variant entre 3 et 4 °C.

Une fois établies, les températures au niveau de chaque couche demeurent très stables pour la durée de l’expérience.

 

Températures enregistrées dans la colonne

Températures enregistrées par chacune des 8 sondes positionnées à intervalle d'environ 18 cm sur la hauteur de la colonne. Le graphique montre la grande stabilité des températures à chaque niveau au cours d'une expérience. Des fluctuations plus importantes sont notées pour les températures au fond en raison du fonctionnement intermittent de l'élément chauffant.


Le profil de température possède également toutes les caractéristiques d’un profil naturel tel qu’observé au printemps dans le nord-ouest du golfe du Saint-Laurent.

 

Comparaison des profils moyens des températures

Comparaison des profils moyens des températures. À gauche : moyenne et écart-type pour toutes les simulations réalisées au printemps 2004 en laboratoire à l'aide du modèle expérimental (nombre d'observations = 20). À droite : profil de température enregistré à une station dans le nord-ouest du golfe du Saint-Laurent au printemps 2002. Proportionnellement, la couche de surface est plus importante dans la colonne en laboratoire mais les trois couches typiques du profil de température observé en mer y sont bien représentées.