Experiment

Northern shrimp (Pandalus borealis) behaviour in the thermal gradient.

Development, construction and tests on different prototypes were carried out from 2002 to 2003 followed, in the spring of 2004, by a series of successful observations of the behaviour of every developmental stages of the Northern shrimp. Two columns were used: a first column with a three-layer thermal profile and a second one where the temperature profile was homogenous (6°C) and which served as a control to compare the response of the larvae placed in the thermal gradient of the first column.

Stage IV shrimp larva position in the water column

During slow swimming or when maintaining a specific position in the column, the larvae assume a vertical position; head (cephalothorax) pointing down. They move up and down by slow movements of the periopods (thoracic legs).

Sometimes, rapid movements (upward or across the column) are achieved with a rapid flexion of the abdomen.

Six larval stages of shrimp were investigated from mid-May to July 2004. The first results show interesting differences among the stages and also as a function of the presence or absence of a thermal gradient in the column.

Summary of the experiments conducted with the different larval stages of Northern shrimp in spring 2004. Each symbol represents the median position of 5 larvae after a 30 min. observation period. The continuous lines represent the trend in the mean position of the successive stages in each column. The shaded area represents the position of the thermal gradient in the column with a thermocline and a CIL.

 

 

Comparison of the position of the larvas in the two water columns

In blackIn black
Observations in the column with a thermocline and a CIL.

in redIn red
Observations in the control column (homogeneous temperature of 6°C).

Summary of the experiments conducted with the different larval stages of Northern shrimp in spring 2004. Each symbol represents the median position of 5 larvae after a 30 min. observation period. The continuous lines represent the trend in the mean position of the successive stages in each column. The shaded area represents the position of the thermal gradient in the column with a thermocline and a CIL.


It appears that the first stages prefer to stay in the upper portion of the water column, in warmer waters above the CIL. In the absence of a thermocline or of a cold layer, the larvae, as early as stage III, seem to move towards the deeper water, suggesting that under similar natural conditions that stage will occupy deeper water than the earlier two stages. When a CIL is present however, the larvae were more likely to remain within the column or more towards the surface up to stage V. All larvae at stage VI were found moving toward the bottom of the column, thermal gradient or not. These results compare to the distribution of larvae of the same developmental stages observed in the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence during the spring of 2002 and 2003 (Ouellet and Allard, 2005), and will contribute to increasing the knowledge of the development conditions of the early stages of the Northern shrimp.

This experimental setup offers great possibility for future research projects such as studies about other species, the larval behaviour in the presence of preys, or the vertical movement as a function of day-night light cycle.

Expérience-type

Larves de crevette nordique (Pandalus borealis) dans le gradient de température.

Le développement, la préparation et les tests sur différents prototypes se sont déroulés entre 2002 et 2003, suivis, au printemps de 2004, d'une série d’observations sur le comportement des stades de développement de la crevette nordique réalisées avec succès. Deux colonnes ont été utilisées : une première colonne avec une structure thermique en trois couches et une autre semblable où la température de l’eau était homogène (6 °C) sur toute la hauteur. Cette dernière sert de témoin auquel est comparée la réponse des larves face au gradient de température de la première colonne.

Position d'une larve de crevette de stade IV dans la colonne d'eau

Pour se déplacer lentement ou maintenir une position verticale stable dans la colonne, les larves se maintiennent plus ou moins à la verticale avec le tête (céphalothorax) pointant vers le bas et balayent l’eau de mouvements plus ou moins rapides des périopodes (pattes du thorax).

Parfois, des déplacements plus rapides, vers le haut ou latéralement, sont obtenus par une flexion rapide de l'abdomen.

En tout, six stades de développement ont été étudiés de la mi-mai au début de juillet 2004. Les premiers résultats montrent des différences intéressantes entre les stades et aussi en fonction de la présence ou non d’un gradient de température dans la colonne d’eau.

Résumé des expériences menées sur les différents stades larvaires de la crevette nordique au printemps 2004. Chaque symbole représente la position médiane de 5 larves après une période d'observation de 30 minutes. Trois essais étaient réalisés pour chaque stade de développement dans chacune des colonnes. Les lignes en continu représentent la tendance moyenne pour les stades successifs dans chacune des colonnes. La zone ombrée représente la position du gradient de température dans la colonne avec thermocline et CIF.

 

 

Comparaison des positions des larves dans les deux colonnes d'eau

En noirEn noir
Observations dans la colonne avec thermocline et CIF.

En rougeEn rouge
Observations dans la colonne témoin (température uniforme à 6 °C.

Résumé des expériences menées sur les différents stades larvaires de la crevette nordique au printemps 2004. Chaque symbole représente la position médiane de 5 larves après une période d'observation de 30 minutes. Trois essais étaient réalisés pour chaque stade de développement dans chacune des colonnes. Les lignes en continu représentent la tendance moyenne pour les stades successifs dans chacune des colonnes. La zone ombrée représente la position du gradient de température dans la colonne avec thermocline et CIF.


Il semble que les jeunes stades préfèrent se maintenir dans la partie supérieure de la colonne, au-dessus de la CIF. En l’absence d’une thermocline ou d’une couche d’eau froide, dès le stade III les larves semblent se diriger vers le fond de la colonne, laissant croire que dans des conditions naturelles similaires ce stade occuperait des eaux plus profondes par rapport aux premiers stades. En présence d’une CIF par contre, les larves semblent prolonger leur séjour dans la colonne d’eau ou plus près de la couche de surface jusqu’au stade V. Tous les individus de stade VI se retrouvent sur le fond quelque soit la forme du profil de température. Ces résultats sont comparables à la distribution de larves de mêmes stades de développement observée dans le nord-ouest du golfe du Saint-Laurent en 2002 et 2003 (Ouellet et Allard, 2005), et permettront de compléter les connaissances acquises sur les conditions de développement des jeunes stades de crevette.

Ce montage expérimental offre donc d’intéressantes possibilités de recherche futures telles des études portant sur d’autres espèces, sur le comportement des larves en présence de proies ou sur les migrations verticales en présences d’un cycle d’éclairement (jour, nuit).