Challenges

Sampling plankton at sea in discrete layers over the entire water column while collecting the corresponding environmental data implies important and costly logistics issues. It is also often impossible to determine with sufficient precision the vertical position of a taxon or a species in order to answer specific ecological questions. The difficulties become even more important when trying to document the distribution and growth conditions of fish or benthic invertebrate larval stages. In many cases, for a given species, the various stages are in very low concentrations and the development period is spread over several weeks.

As part of a research project on the larval ecology and recruitment of the Northern shrimp, Pandalus borealis, it was necessary to determine the distribution and the preferred thermal habitat of the different developmental stages, from the emergence of the first Zoea stage until the time of settlement on the bottom of the first post-larval or young juvenile stage.

Life cycle: larval stages

Life cycle: larval stages

The duration of each larval stage varies with temperature. In the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence, there is about a 3-month period (May to July) from the emergence of the larvae (I) until the settlement on the bottom (VI).


Adapted from: S.A Pedersen, Danish Institute for Fisheries Research, Denmark.

To supplement the at-sea sampling effort and to help with the interpretation of field data, it was necessary to develop and construct a small-scale (1/15) model of the typical three thermal layers of the water column of the Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence. It was then possible to study the distribution and the behaviour of each shrimp larval stage in the presence of a strong thermocline and a layer of cold water.

Défis

L’échantillonnage en mer du plancton par couches distinctes sur la verticale avec les données environnementales correspondantes demande une logistique importante et coûteuse. Il est même souvent impossible de résoudre avec assez de précision la distribution verticale d’un taxon ou d’une espèce donnée pour répondre à des questions particulières. Le problème s’accentue lorsque l’on tente de documenter la position dans la colonne d’eau et les conditions de développement de stades larvaires d’espèces de poissons ou d’invertébrés benthiques. Dans plusieurs cas, les concentrations des différents stades de développement pour l’espèce visée sont souvent faibles et le temps de développement s’étend sur plusieurs semaines.

Dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche sur l’écologie des larves et le recrutement de la crevette nordique Pandalus borealis, il était nécessaire de connaître la distribution et l’habitat thermique des différents stades de développement, de l’émergence du premier stade zoé jusqu’à la descente vers le fond du premier stade post-larvaire ou juvénile.

Cycle de vie : stades larvaires

Cycle de vie : stades larvaires

La durée de chacun des stades larvaires varie selon la température. Dans le nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent, on compte une période d'environ 3 mois (mai à juillet) de l'émergence des larves (I) jusqu'à leur descente au fond (VI).


Adapté de : S.A Pedersen, Danish Institute for Fisheries Research, Denmark.

Afin de complémenter l’échantillonnage en mer et comme aide à l’interprétation des données de terrain, il a été nécessaire de procéder au développement et à la fabrication d’un modèle réduit (échelle 1/15) de la colonne d’eau typique en trois couches thermiques du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent. Il a été alors possible d’étudier la position et le comportement de chaque stade larvaire de crevette en présence d’un gradient marqué de température et d’une couche d’eau froide.