Scientific facilities
Maurice Lamontagne Institute

The Maurice Lamontagne Institute covers an area of 25,000 square metres and has over 70 labs for research in biology, oceanography, hydroacoustics, physical sea condition modelling, and biochemical and ecosystemic modelling. It also has a genetic testing lab, a dissection room and rooms for hydrography, mapping and remote sensing work.

The tank room is a specialized wet lab measuring more than 2,000 square metres that can hold tanks of varying sizes as well as high-tech equipment. Salt water comes directly from the St.Lawrence. Experimental studies on the reproduction, physiology and behaviour of marine species and ecosystems are conducted in this lab. This system, one of the largest of its type in Canada, accommodates large-scale experimental studies, which is essential for conducting on-site testing, validation and controls of observed and monitored environmental conditions.

Tank Room

In addition, seven controlled-atmosphere units are available for research as part of smaller-scale experiments in various fields, including the acidification of marine waters.

The experimental basins and certain laboratories are fed freshwater or sea water (filtered or unfiltered) by gravity from reservoirs. Salt water comes directly from the St.Lawrence Estuary. This system, one of the most important in Canada, allows large-scale experimental studies in laboratories.

The Canadian Coast Guard operates a large vessel maintenance shop. Nearly 85 vessels and small craft undergo maintenance there annually. The Institute’s scientists have access to a fleet of Canadian Coast Guard vessels and helicopters. Two vessels are dedicated to scientific research in oceanography and fishery science.

Our scientists rely on four scuba diving teams made up of about twenty experienced divers with certified modern equipment for work in cold coastal areas (-2 to 20°C) at depths of up to 40 metres.

The research centre also houses the 250‑seat Estelle-Laberge auditorium and various meeting rooms.

Installations scientifiques
Institut Maurice-Lamontagne

Institut Maurice-Lamontagne Carte de la Pointe aux Cenelles Atrium de l'aile scientifique

L’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne occupe une superficie de 25 000 mètres carrés et compte plus de 70 laboratoires pour mener des travaux de recherche en biologie, en océanographie, en hydroacoustique, en modélisation des conditions physiques de l’océan, en modélisation biogéochimique et écosystémique. On compte également un laboratoire d’analyse génétique, une salle de dissection, ainsi que des salles de travail pour les travaux en hydrographie, cartographie et télédétection.

La salle des bassins est un laboratoire humide spécialisé de plus de 2000 mètres carrés pouvant loger des réservoirs de différents volumes et des équipements de haute technologie. L’eau salée provient directement de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. On y mène des études expérimentales sur la reproduction, la physiologie, le comportement des espèces marines et les écosystèmes. Ce système, l’un des plus importants du genre au Canada, permet d’effectuer des études expérimentales à grande échelle, ce qui est essentiel pour tester, valider et contrôler in situ les conditions environnementales observées et monitorées.

Salle des bassins

Sept unités à atmosphère contrôlée soutiennent des expériences à échelle réduite dans différents domaines comme l’acidification des eaux marines.

L’alimentation en eau douce et en eau salée (filtrée ou non filtrée) se fait au moyen de réservoirs qui alimentent, par gravité, les bassins expérimentaux et certains laboratoires. L’eau salée provient directement de l’estuaire du Saint-Laurent. Ce système, l’un des plus importants du genre au Canada, permet de mener en laboratoire des études expérimentales à grande échelle.

La Garde côtière canadienne gère un grand atelier d’entretien des navires. Près de 85 navires et petites embarcations y sont entretenus chaque année. Les scientifiques de l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne ont d’ailleurs accès à une flotte de navires et d’hélicoptères; deux navires sont dédiés à la recherche scientifique en océanographie et en sciences halieutiques.

Les scientifiques comptent également sur quatre équipes de plongée subaquatiques composées d’une vingtaine de plongeurs expérimentés bénéficiant d’équipements modernes et certifiés pour réaliser des travaux en zone côtière froide (-2 à 20°C) jusqu’à des profondeurs de 40 mètres.

Le centre de recherche abrite également l’auditorium Estelle-Laberge (250 places), ainsi que des salles de réunion.