Maurice Lamontagne Institute

Localisation of the instituteThe Maurice Lamontagne Institute (MLI), located near Mont-Joli, in the province of Québec, on the shores of the St. Lawrence Estuary, is part of Fisheries and Oceans Canada's network of a dozen research centres and is one of the world's major francophone marine sciences centres.

Inaugurated in 1987, the Maurice Lamontagne Institute has some 300 employees, and also welcomes post-doctorate fellows, visiting scientists and students. Many state of the art projects are carried out in collaboration with the fisheries and commercial shipping industries, as well as with universities.

 

Maurice Lamontagne InstituteThe Maurice Lamontagne Institute houses the Regional Science Branch and the Regional Ecosystems Management Branch of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Quebec Region. Its mission is to provide the federal government with a scientific basis for the conservation of living marine resources, the protection of the marine environment, and safe maritime navigation, as well as to ensure the application of legislation designed for the integrated management of the marine environment and the protection of fish habitat.

Research, monitoring and assessments are conducted, among other things, in relation to fisheries, marine mammals, oceanography, and habitats of the Estuary and Gulf of St. Lawrence and Northern Quebec. The Canadian Hydrographic Service at the Institute is responsible for approximately 60 nautical charts covering the navigable waters of the region.

How to reach us

Maurice Lamontagne Institute
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
850, route de la Mer, P.O. Box 1000
Mont-Joli, Quebec CANADA
G5H 3Z4
Telephone : 418-775-0500
Fax : 418-775-0730

To find out more about the organisation's structure and its employees : Government Electronic Directory Services

Institut Maurice-Lamontagne

Localisation de l'institutL'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne (IML), situé à Mont-Joli, au Québec, en bordure de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, fait partie du réseau d'une douzaine de centres de recherche de Pêches et Océans Canada et est un des principaux centres francophones de recherche en sciences de la mer au monde.

Inauguré en 1987, l'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne compte quelque 300 employés et accueille également des chercheurs poursuivant des études post-doctorales, des chercheurs visiteurs et des étudiants. Plusieurs projets de pointe sont réalisés en collaboration avec les industries des pêches et de la navigation commerciale de même qu'avec les universités.

 

 

Institut Maurice-LamontagneL'Institut Maurice-Lamontagne abrite la Direction régionale des sciences et la Direction régionale de la gestion des écosystèmes. Sa mission est de fournir au gouvernement fédéral une base scientifique pour la conservation des ressources halieutiques marines, pour la protection de l'environnement marin et pour la navigation maritime sécuritaire, et d'assurer l'application de lois visant la gestion intégrée du milieu marin et la protection de l'habitat du poisson.

On y effectue entre autres des recherches, du monitorage et des évaluations reliés aux pêcheries, aux mammifères marins, à l'océanographie et aux habitats de l'estuaire et du golfe du Saint-Laurent et du Nord québécois. Le Service hydrographique du Canada y est responsable d'environ 60 cartes marines qui couvrent les eaux navigables de la région.

Nous joindre

Institut Maurice-Lamontagne
Pêches et Océans Canada
850, route de la Mer, C. P. 1000
Mont-Joli (Québec) G5H 3Z4
Téléphone : 418-775-0500
Télécopieur : 418-775-0730

Pour en apprendre plus sur la structure de l'organisation et sur ses employés : Services d'annuaires gouvernementaux électroniques