St. Lawrence Estuary Area of Interest

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has selected the St. Lawrence Estuary as an Area of Interest (AOI) for potential designation as a Marine Protected Area (MPA) under the Oceans Act. The purpose of this Marine Protected Area is to ensure the long-term conservation and protection of marine mammals that are year-round residents of the St. Lawrence Estuary (beluga whale and harbour seal) or seasonal migrants (blue whale), as well as their habitats and food resources.

Following consultations with interested parties and the general public, DFO worked with the marine transportation industry and Parks Canada to implement voluntary measures to reduce the risk of collisions with whales in the St. Lawrence Estuary, including a reduction in speed. DFO also worked with the marine mammal observation industry to define regulatory measures for this industry.

An analysis to determine the progress made in protecting marine mammals in the estuary is planned. Fisheries and Oceans Canada would also like to identify tools that could fill in any gaps to reach conservation objectives for the area.

Geographic Boundaries

The area covered by the Area of Interest totals approximately 6,000 km2 and corresponds to the summer range of the beluga whale, to the large majority of sites used by the harbour seal population of the St. Lawrence Estuary, and to large blue whale feeding grounds. It coincides with the part of the St. Lawrence in which pressure on marine mammals is the highest.

Estuaire du St-laurent

The Area of interest is adjacent to the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park, a national marine conservation area created in 1998. It does not include the territory of the marine park, but is complementary to it.

Marine Mammals

The St. Lawrence Estuary, an essential ecosystem

The St. Lawrence Estuary contains high concentrations of krill and capelin, making it a feeding ground of critical importance for many species of marine mammals. Every year, large numbers of cetaceans, including large whales, migrate to the area to feed and build up their energy reserves for the breeding season.

The St. Lawrence Estuary is also an important habitat for beluga whales and harbour seals, which inhabit the estuary year round. The wide diversity and high density of marine mammal species found in the estuary, the proximity of watching sites and the relatively calm waters of the estuary make it one of the best sites in the world for watching marine mammals.

Status of marine mammals

About a dozen marine mammal species are regular or occasional visitors to the estuary, mostly on a seasonal basis. Of that number, close to half are species at risk according to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and are or could be protected under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). They include the blue whale (endangered), St. Lawrence River beluga (threatened) and fin whale (special concern).

Aquatic Species at Risk in Quebec
Fisheries and Oceans Canada – regional website (Quebec)

Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

Threats

Marine mammals in the St. Lawrence Estuary are exposed to many threats due to human activity: disturbance or destruction of their habitat, exposure to toxic chemical materials, risks of collision with ships, exposure to noise and disturbance.

Documentation

Report on the Public Consultation on the St. Lawrence Estuary Marine Protected Area (MPA) Project – March 2010 (PDF only)

Additional Information:

Proceedings from a Scientific Workshop on Marine Mammals, their Habitats and Food Resources – 2008 (PDF only)

Links of Interest

For more information about the ecology and health of marine mammals that occur in the St. Lawrence Estuary and the threats facing them, please refer to the following sites and articles.

Sites

Baleines en direct (in French only)
Group for Research and Education on Marine Mammals (GREMM)

Center of Expertise in Marine Mammalogy (CEMAM)
Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park (SSLMP)

Réseau d’observation des mammifères marins (ROMM) (in French only)

Articles

A Natural Food Storehouse for Whales – The Result of a Fragile and Unique Ocean Equilibrium
Feature article, DFO Science – February 2011

Pollution a Possible Culprit in the Threatened Status of a Beluga Population
Feature article, DFO Science – July 2010

Contact Us

Oceans Management Division
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
850 route de la Mer, P.O. Box 1000
Mont-Joli, Quebec, G5H 3Z4
Telephone : 418-775-0854
E-mail : oceans-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Site d'intérêt de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent

Pêches et Océans Canada a choisi l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent comme site d'intérêt qui pourrait mener à la création d'une zone de protection marine (ZPM) aux termes de la Loi sur les Océans. Le but de cette ZPM serait d'assurer, dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, la conservation et la protection à long terme des mammifères marins qui y vivent à l'année (béluga et phoque commun) ou y transitent (rorqual bleu), de leurs habitats et de leurs ressources alimentaires.

Après des consultations tenues auprès des parties intéressées et du grand public, le ministère a travaillé de concert avec l'industrie du transport maritime et Parcs Canada pour mettre en place des mesures volontaires de réduction des risques de collisions avec les baleines dans l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, incluant une réduction de vitesse. Le ministère a aussi travaillé avec l'industrie d'observation des mammifères marins afin de définir des mesures d'encadrement pour cette industrie.

Une analyse est planifiée pour établir les progrès accomplis pour protéger les mammifères marins dans l'estuaire depuis la sélection du site d'intérêt. Pêches et Océans Canada souhaite également déterminer les outils qui pourraient combler les lacunes pour atteindre les objectifs de conservation.

Limites géographiques

Le territoire couvert par le site d’intérêt, d'une superficie approximative de 6000 km2, correspond à l'aire de répartition estivale du béluga, à la grande majorité des sites fréquentés par la population de phoque commun de l'estuaire, et à d'importantes aires d'alimentation du rorqual bleu. La zone retenue coïncide avec celle où les pressions sur les mammifères marins sont les plus fortes dans le Saint-Laurent.

Estuaire du St-laurent

Le site d’intérêt est adjacent au parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent créé en 1998. Il n'inclut pas le territoire du parc marin mais est complémentaire à celui-ci.

Mammifères marins

L'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, un écosystème essentiel

L'estuaire du Saint-Laurent est une zone d'alimentation de première importance pour de nombreux mammifères marins qui y retrouvent de fortes concentrations de krill et de capelan. Chaque année, de nombreux cétacés, dont les grands rorquals, y migrent pour s'y alimenter et emmagasiner des réserves énergétiques en prévision de la période de reproduction.

L'estuaire du Saint-Laurent est aussi un habitat important pour le béluga et le phoque commun qui y résident à l'année. La grande diversité et la forte densité d'espèces de mammifères marins qu'on y rencontre, la proximité des sites d'observation et la relative tranquillité de la mer font d'ailleurs de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent l'un des meilleurs sites au monde pour l'observation des mammifères marins.

Statut des mammifères marins

Une douzaine d'espèces de mammifères marins se retrouvent de façon régulière ou occasionnelle dans l'estuaire, la majorité sur une base saisonnière. De ce nombre, près de la moitié sont des espèces en péril selon le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et sont protégées ou pourraient l'être en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). C'est le cas, notamment, du rorqual bleu (en voie de disparition), du béluga du Saint-Laurent (menacé) et du rorqual commun (préoccupant).

Espèces aquatiques en péril au Québec
Pêches et Océans Canada – site régional (Québec)

Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Menaces

Dans la zone de l'estuaire du Saint-Laurent, les mammifères marins sont exposés à de nombreuses menaces dues aux activités humaines : perturbation ou destruction de leurs habitats, exposition aux substances chimiques toxiques, risques de collision avec des navires, exposition aux bruits et dérangement.

Documentation

Rapport de la consultation publique sur le projet de zone de protection marine (ZPM) Estuaire du Saint-Laurent – mars 2010 (PDF seulement)

Information complémentaire :

Compte-rendu de l'atelier scientifique sur les mammifères marins, leurs habitats et leurs ressources alimentaires - 2003 (PDF seulement)

Liens d'intérêt

Pour en savoir davantage sur l'écologie et la santé des mammifères marins qui fréquentent les eaux de l'estuaire et les menaces auxquelles ils sont exposés, consultez les sites et articles suivants.

Sites

Baleines en direct
Groupe de recherche et d'éducation sur les mammifères marins (GREMM)

Centre d'expertise sur les mammifères marins (CEMAM)
Pêches et Océans Canada

Parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent (PMSSL)

Réseau d'observation des mammifères marin (ROMM)

Articles

Un garde-manger naturel pour les baleines ou le résultat d'un équilibre océanique fragile et singulier
Article vedette des Sciences – février 2011

Population de bélugas menacée : la pollution au banc des accusés
Article vedette des Sciences – juillet 2010

Nous joindre

Division de la gestion des océans
Pêches et Océans Canada
850, route de la Mer, C. P. 1000
Mont-Joli, Québec, G5H 3Z4
Téléphone : 418-775-0854
Courriel : oceans-qc@dfo-mpo.gc.ca