About Us

DFO Quebec Region’s main activities are the management and protection of marine fisheries, marine science research, waterway management and shipping safety as well as fish habitat protection in inland waters and marine environments.

These activities are divided into five major programs, Fisheries Management, Coast Guard, Science, Small Craft Harbours and Ecosystems Management. Most programs and activities are managed from the Regional Office in Québec. The Regional Science Branch and the Regional Ecosystems Management Branch are located at the Maurice Lamontagne Institute in Mont-Joli. Four branches play a supporting role in these programs, namely: Policy and Economics, Communications, Human Resources as well as Real Property Assets, Environment, Safety and Security.

The Quebec Region has a staff of more than 1 000 employees in some fifteen cities and villages. It provides a variety of services to clients that are even more diversified: commercial and Aboriginal fishermen, the shipping industry, port authorities, pleasure-boaters, environmentalists, socioeconomic associations, educational organizations and the scien­tific community.

Quebec Region Map

Our Vision

Safe, healthy, productive waters and aquatic ecosystems, for the benefit of present and future generations, by maintaining the highest possible standards of service to Canadians and:

  • conservation and sustainable resource use;
  • scientific excellence;
  • marine safety and environmental protection.

À propos de nous

Les principales activités du MPO de la région du Québec sont la gestion et la protection des pêches maritimes, les recherches en sciences de la mer, la gestion des voies navigables et la sécurité de son trafic maritime ainsi que la protection de l’habitat du poisson, en milieu marin et d’eau douce.

Ces activités sont regroupées en cinq grands programmes, soit la Gestion des pêches, la Garde côtière, les Sciences, les Ports pour petits bateaux ainsi que la Gestions des écosystèmes. La majorité des programmes et activités sont dirigés du bureau régional situé à Québec. La Direction régionale des sciences et celle de la gestion des écosystèmes sont situées à l’Institut Maurice-Lamontagne, à Mont-Joli. Quatre directions assurent un appui auprès des programmes, soit les directions Politiques et économique, Communications, Ressources humaines ainsi que Biens immobiliers, environnement, sécurité et santé.

Le personnel de la région du Québec se compose de plus de 1 000 employés répartis dans une quinzaine de villes et localités. Il dispense de nombreux services à une clientèle des plus variées : pêcheurs commerciaux et autochtones, industrie maritime, administrations portuaires, plaisanciers, écologistes, regroupements socio-économiques, organismes à caractère éducatif et communauté scientifique.

Carte région du Québec

Notre vision

Assurer aux générations actuelles et futures des eaux et des écosystèmes aquatiques sécuritaires, sains et productifs, en maintenant des normes élevées en ce qui a trait au service aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes et à :

  • la conservation et à l’utilisation durable des ressources;
  • l’excellence scientifique;
  • la sécurité maritime et à la protection de l’environnement.